Pawleys Island, SC 
Warrior Run DGC Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #7
4 / 305ft.   4 / 315ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Great for a quick round

5+    1/5/2023   1/21/2023
Review By: James21892
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 14.9 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: +well kept
+Good for a range of skill levels
+Bathrooms in the park (not near course though)
+Pet waste station
+Pretty clean
Cons: -only one bench
-teeboxes are turf
-need to watch for people walking on the course that aren't playing
-parking near course is in sand/dirt

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Lovely 9-holer with thoughtful design

1    12/25/2021   1/3/2022
Review By: DumfriesLizzie
Played: 94  Reviewed: 81  Exp: 4.3 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I see why others are raving about this little nine-holer. It is quite well-designed.

You open with a difficult hole that has a tight gap and a creek to get over. If you're not a power thrower with accuracy, I suggest you just lay up to the edge of the creek which is OB. Then throw your second shot as the bomb. Otherwise, you might not get through the gate, hit a tree, and go OB or deep into the rough on the right.

The retention ponds force you to play with strategy and care at holes 2-4 and no. 7.

The signature hole is no. 5 (I think) which had its basket in the long position the day I played. I think the others were in their short positions for the most part. No. 5 is about 450 feet and starts through a tree-gate (unless you are throwing an enormous Annie, righties). There is no marked mando, but first you get through that, and then throw your big bomb down the lane. That was a lot of fun!

Number 6 is gettable; I played Annie's basically off the pad to ensure I didn't go in the woods to the right. Didn't do badly. On no. 7, I also played Annie's to stay out of the pond. Also didn't score too horrendously. Number 8 is your feel-good hole; you're going to par, birdie, or ace it (smile). Number 9 is potentially gettable as well. You start on a rather open tee pad. If you can lace your drive through the wooded late fairway and green (over the same little creek that is at no. 1), you will be in business. If you think you won't make it, a short drive or layup to the creek should give you a par.
Cons: It was incredibly windy the day I played. I don't know if that is common here, but if it is, even more reason to play with caution and keep your discs out of the water.

The baskets of nos. 2-4 and of no. 7 are right at the edges of the retention ponds, so there is great potential to lose your discs at any of these holes. It is hard to pay that kind of a price at any course, so certainly not multiple times on the same course. I think what it means is that you have to learn to play conservatively and not take big risks. Indeed, that is the strategy of golf, isn't it? While there is always the risk/reward element, minimizing the risk has to come into play to some degree. My drives were actually rather back-door with subsequent layup pitches. Yes, I gave up strokes, but for me, (any day) walking away with my disc is more important than walking away with a slightly better score.

Like so many disc golf courses, other folks are determined to be here even though they don't have to be. Walkers, runners, dirt bikers, ATV riders, etc. I had one walker who just kept walking into my shot at no. 9. Truly, I wanted to strangle him, but that is not legal (smile). While I appreciate people may want to use the old horse trails for their sport (whatever it is), when disc golfers are present, I truly wish they would just go elsewhere. And while not crowded, there was a decent number of us dolfers there on that day. We had somebody on a dirt bike and his buddy on an ATV on the course as well as several walkers.

The park and the course are rather isolated, though surrounded my homes (forest though in between); it is a residential park among several subdivisions. Still I don't think I would be here too early or too late if I were alone. The park is very well-maintained, and there were absolutely no suspicious people walking around. Just if you did encounter such, you'd be out of earshot.

It's only nine holes, but I played two discs to make it 18.
Other Thoughts: I think it's a sweet little course, and I will certainly play it whenever I'm in this area. Was very enjoyable.

I played in December. Although it was nearly 80 degrees that day, I don't expect that is the norm. Even in South Carolina. However, I suspect playing in the hot summer (90+ degrees) might be rather miserable. It's a parkland course, so you are indeed exposed to the sun on a good chunk of the course. I imagine with all that water too, it probably is bug city in the summer. The locals can speak to that better than I can. I imagine spring, fall, and winter are all pretty delightful here, even if it's *only* 60 degrees.

The rest of the park is pretty small. Very much a linear park. There is a baseball field, maybe some other facilities (playground for kids?). I believe there is a restroom building. There is a practice basket that is right at hole 1.

I was on vacation in SC and played this course between Splinter City and Socastee (all on separate days). Those two wooded courses definitely challenge you if you are not a woods king or woods queen. This parkland course might lift your spirits if you manage to stay out of the water.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Can you dig it? Can you dig it? CAN YOU DIG IT?

1    11/24/2020   12/13/2020
Review By: DiscGolfCraig
Played: 499  Reviewed: 473  Exp: 18.7 Years
21 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Warriors Run is a well-designed, extremely enjoyable nine-hole layout. It's has a rough, wilderness feel while not actually being in the wilderness.
- This is an excellent nine-hole course. One of the better ones I've played. It has some creative layouts (#1, 2, 8, & 9), some challenging ones (#2, 5, & 7), and some easier, birdie/ace run chances (#3, 4, 6 & 9). All told, it's an excellent layout.
- This has all the makings and feel of the low country's scenery and nature. There are elements of creeks & ponds, sand, slight hills/dunes, and coastal grasses and foliage. Throw in the wooded layouts on #8 & 9, and you know you're playing a South Carolina coastal course.
- Two holes stand out above the rest. #2 is outstanding in terms of its intimidation factor standing on the tee. It's only 270 feet from the tee; however, you're either throwing over a pond, (throwing right to left) or having your disc come back towards the water (throwing left to right). Several live oaks, including one in front of the tee force players to keep their tee shots low (at least off the bat) and/or far enough right to avoid smacking the tree near the basket. With wildlife around, I would be using extreme caution thinking about fishing out a disc from Spring to Fall. In Winter, go crazy.
- #7 is the other excellent memorable layout on this course. A 315-foot layout with a second retention pond running the length of the left side of the fairway and a series of live oak trees in the middle and right of the fairway. Look at the picture on this website and you'll see the tight fairway and lack of good landing spots. From there, two more live oaks protect the basket. It will take a great tee shot to see a birdie putt. Par on both #2 & 7, without having a disc near the water, is a good, safe feeling.
- #3 & 4 are fun, short holes. #3 is 213 feet, with water past the basket. Makes a simple tee shot just that much more nerve-wracking. #4 is 237 feet. Open tee shot to a basket protected by trees along with a drop-off just past the basket. An aggressive tee shot could leave you 40 feet past the basket.
- Course has a nice, easy loop to it. If you follow this line, it's easy finding the tee marker for the next hole.
- Course is seemingly isolated from everything else. That said, I did notice markers for a running trail (hence the Warriors Run title perhaps?), and while playing, I came across more walkers than disc golfers. Maybe the locals just use this as a walking trail.
Cons: The biggest setback is the turf tee pads. It would be nice seeing concrete ones here.
- Tee signs are rather basic, only showing hole number, par, and length. On the few blind tee shots, mainly #5, it would be nice showing where the basket is located, rather than needing to walk the hole first to spot it.
- Wildlife risks? In the summer, I'd be keeping on eye on the ground the entire time I'm walking. There are many reptiles I wouldn't want to come across in their natural environment.
- There were small dips in the ground throughout the course. I had one misstep catching my foot in one of these dips.
- Here's the quirk about this course. Coming off 17, it feels like you're bordering on wilderness. It's a beautiful sports park, then there's a disc golf course in the 'less upkept' portion of the park. Turns out this is the complete opposite of that feeling. Just beyond the trees on all sides is more neighborhoods. As such, that would explain the walkers coming and going from the surrounding neighborhoods. So, instead of being an escape to nature, you're in a natural area surrounded by residential sprawl surrounded by natural areas. Got it?
- This course has a higher lost disc factor than many nine holers. As stated above, I'd use extreme caution trying to retrieve a disc from the water.
Other Thoughts: courses. I think this is the best overall of the lot.
- On DGCR and the PDGA site, the course is listed as Warriors Run. On UDisc, it's named Stables Park. The park is called Stables Park. The disc golf course, at least according to the giant sign by the first tee, is Warriors Run. I suspect people call the course by both names.
- This course feels close to being out of the way. It's only 30 minutes from both Socastee and Splinter City in Myrtle Beach, but it feels like two different locales. I guess getting away from the tourist traps of the Redneck Riviera have a lot to do with that.
- This course does a solid job of requiring multiple shots to score well. I also appreciate how most holes allow you to pull out multiple shots/angles to the basket. Even on #2, you can throw a high sweeping RHBH or a low stinger, on-a-rope shot.
- Being a coastal course, I suspect a lot of tourists/first-time players. This will be a good introduction to low country disc golf.
- I had a blast playing here. I knocked out Splinter City, here, and East Bay all in under 3 & ˝ hours. Between that and having played the other Myrtle Beach courses two months earlier, this one most exceeded my expectations. That said, I'm giving this course a 2.5 rating, one of the highest marks I've give to a nine-hole layout.

21 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 Good Addition To Georgetown County

1    10/7/2020   10/21/2020
Review By: MrFrosty
Played: 764  Reviewed: 387  Exp: 29.8 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Warrior Run is A fairly new 9 hole ( 2017 ) course in multi use Stables Park Field Complex . There is a decent amount of parking at the end of the park , which is the beginning of the course . There is a Port O Let near the ball fields .
The Equipment - What will catch your eye first is the pink rimmed putting basket off to the side of tee #1 .There is a kiosk here with a broom behind it , but unfortunately , no map . The tee pads are turf , plenty long for run-ups . The tee signs are average and only on the long tees ( The short tees are natural and just marked with pegs ) , giving hole # , par, distance and hole sponsor . The baskets are numbered Yellow banded Discatchers .
The Landscape - The course was clean and the fairways cut the day I was here . Other than a basket sitting in a slightly lower shelf ( #3 ) and a basket placed on a tiny ridge ( #5 ) the course is flat . You would expect that , since the park is so close to the beach . There are a couple of retention ponds that are utilized on some of the holes . Sometimes it is obvious , like to the right of #'s 1 &2 , and sometimes more hidden , like the very back of the green on #3 and to the left and all along the #7 fairway , hidden from the tee . Oddly ,this favors more of a park-style course . Course designer Jonathan Poole did a good job of adding in trees when needed , and even having a short tunnel shot at the end .
Course Appearance/atmosphere - With the water and the sandy fairways , the course is at least average in appearance . The atmosphere here is slightly above average . The holes are spaced enough that you don't feel confined . You might want to wear a hat or put some lotion on . A lot of the course is in the open . There are dog walkers and locals strolling around once in while .
The Highlights - I liked a lot of the holes here . #1 starts you off with a drive between 2 trees to a fairway with overgrowth and trees to the left , and water slightly down a hill to the right . The basket is placed behind a tree to the left . #3 is a putter/approach shot , over some tall grass to the green which has part of the retention pond hidden behind it . #7 is a good hole . make sure you walk about 50 feet in front of the tee so you can see the water to your left . The basket is going to be perched with the water in play on the front and the side of the green about 315' away . You will lose your disc if you go into this water . #9 is a short but tight tunnel shot with very little green to work with . The basket is just in front of a strip of some murky water .
Signature Hole - #5 ( 363' , 453' ) It is the longest hole , and doglegs to the left a little more than midway to the basket and in between a row of a few small trees . The basket is on the left behind brush and perched on a small hill .
The Time - It took me 30 minutes to play this course . a group of 4 will get through in about an hour . The course finishes next to the parking lot .
Don't be surprised to see some wildlife while playing .
Cons: #1 Safety - As I mentioned before , there are the curious and the oblivious that might walk through one of the fairways . It happened to me once during my round . There must be a connector to a couple of subdivisions near the back of the course . Please give them the right of way .
#2 Disc Risk - The water retention areas , and the high wildlife grasses can put your drivers and midranges at risk . I know that losing one ruins my whole round . No one says you can't move to the right or left of the tee pad to keep the disc loss potential lower .
#3 Target Group - I had trouble deciding which groups are being targeted for play . Good players will eat this course up , and probably have fun doing it . Locals and average players will like this course , being just challenging enough . Once word gets around about this course , vacationers and less experienced players will come to sample this course . The combination of some wind mixed with The Water Of No Return , and you have some sad players , especially if the have only 1 or 2 discs . Which brings me to :
#4 The 9th Hole - There is no map to show you the layout here , which is okay for the locals , but not okay for the 1st or only timers . If you were lucky enough to spot and miss sinking your driver into the water on 7 , you get a 2nd chance to lose one on 9 . The fairway tightens up and the hole is only 225' , but there is about a 3 foot strip of water that your disc will have to negotiate that's right in front of the basket . You can't see it from the tee because the lip of this little gully is just high enough to hide it . The water is nasty looking and you might lose your disc if it skips or soars into it . I missed landing in it by about a foot . Your Welcome ....
#5 It is only 9 holes . I looked around the grounds and think that there might be room for at least a few more holes to add in the future .
Adding a map to the kiosk near hole #1 would go a long way . Also adding turf to shorter tees for the kids would add to their experience , too .
Other Thoughts: A vacationing couple just pulled up next to my car as I was leaving . I was giving both the lay of the land , and the woman said " I'm out " . I told her that there were several holes that she wouldn't lose a disc in ,, and that she would enjoy the nice walk . She picked up her disc bag and I assume she played at least some of the holes . I am not intending to scare people off this course . I actually liked it . I just want anyone playing to have a great time , but take precautions and avoid a bad day . This course is just what South Myrtle Beach , Surfside Beach and Murrell's inlet needed .I remember driving to Myrtle Beach in the late 90's and having nothing to play , Then places like Mars Bluff and Castle Haynes popping up . Now you have many courses to play and pick from .
There is a lot of variety packed into this course , enough to keep you interested . I see a bright future for this place .
My Recommendation - A great getaway from the beach for the vacationers , and the locals will like grabbing a quick round if they have an hour to spare . Although this might not be a good place to learn the game for an intro experience or fora newbie to progress , this course is still good enough to keep an intermediate or Am interested . Travelers driving down highway 17 will like the quick flat course leg stretch , and the Course collector can add this to his growing list of Myrtle Beach Area courses . If vacationing or in the general area , check this course out . it's worth the short drive !!

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Maps would be Great

1    6/26/2020   6/26/2020
Review By: hesterchester
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Really pretty course. Nice, simple holes with a handful of water hazards. The rough wasn’t so thick that it makes it hard to retrieve a disc.
Cons: Maps of the hole at each tee wouldn’t hurt since I assume this course has a lot out of town guests on vacation like myself who are going to play here once. That said, it’s not a huge problem.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/31/2018   7/31/2018
Review By: brnwshd
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.7 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Beautiful area. Love the location of this course and the wildlife.
Cons: Not kept up very well. Ditches full of water and no planks or bridges to walk across them. Didn't see any long tees.
Other Thoughts: This could definitely be a fantastic course with a little TLC.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 thomaso

1    3/8/2018   3/8/2018
Review By: thomaso
Played: 101  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 14.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/11/2018
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great layout, great landscape, a fun challenging course that has true risk reward.Very well designed. Has great new Baskets!
Cons: 9 vs 18 (for now)
Tee Pads (for now)
Only one Long Tee (hole 2)
Signage (for now)
Other Thoughts: Thank you for building this course. It is going to be much better in time.
I think this course should rate favorably to a 9 hole course I play (Central Park in Oak Brook IL) which rates an 3.50, water x1, based on 17 reviews. I really like Stables Park DGC and would go up to to 3.5 with all the improvements done to the Nine Hole Layout. If 18 hole layout, with all improvements would in my opinion rate 4 Plus.PS; (I believe that Nine Hole Courses by nature, should very rarely be rated above 3.5).

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Work in progress oozing with potential

5+    11/25/2017   11/25/2017
Review By: TateASU
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.8 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lots of choice for lines, beautiful scenery and basket placements, amazing 100 year old angel oaks dot the course. Brand new Innova baskets, and lots of risk/reward shots
Cons: Work in progress, natural pads for now, it much signage yet. Some cacti to watch for.
Other Thoughts: This course is moving along fast. Those cons will soon become strengths...

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Proud Local

5+    11/22/2017   11/25/2017
Review By: DNewq
Played: 383  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 22.3 Years
11 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Georgetown County has historically been void of a disc golf scene. Stables Park is an amazing addition to the East Bay Park Course in Georgetown.
- The natural beauty of the course makes it stand out from most others. The live oak trees, Carolina Bay wetland, coastal grasses, all create a wonderful disc golf experience.
- The lead designer is making full use of all of these features. Each hole is unique making it a rewarding and fun round of disc golf from start to finish.
-The course is truly suitable for players of all skill levels. Most holes have multiple routes off of the tee. A beginning player would not be too frustrated with this course. Meanwhile advanced players can take more aggressive routes and must contend with water hazards on holes 2 and 7. The close proximity to the ocean will likely bring above average wind conditions at times as well.
- The designer was also very cautious and careful in acknowledging the foot traffic of walkers and dog owners who use the property. The holes are designed to minimize conflict and interference with these other park users.
- The location of the course is amazing. As a local I can access the park on my bike via the Kings River Road bike path. If you are visiting from elsewhere it is conveniently located off of US 17 and very close to the beach, Brookgreen Gardens, restaurants, shopping, etc.
Cons: - The course is brand new so with that, common features such as permanent tee pads, signage, etc are not yet in place. That will come and only make this course better
- I generally prefer 18 hole courses over 9 hole courses. I believe the long-term plans are to expand this course to a full 18 hole layout which would be great!
Other Thoughts: I rated the course a 4.5 based on the uniqueness of the property and the long-term potential I see at this course. If I were to grade the course as is I may downgrade it slightly to a 3.5 to 4.0 due to natural teepads and other improvements that are not yet in place. Either way, I would say this is a must play course. Have fun and appreciate the fact that this community finally has a disc golf course to enjoy. The future is bright!

11 of 15 people found this review helpful.

  My opinion.

2-4    11/24/2017   11/24/2017
Review By: Penguin27
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Plenty of options from Tees.
Course clearly marked.
Scenery with the trees in great.
Dog friendly
Cons: Water hazards can be unforgiving but that builds skill right? And that's fun.
That's all I've got
Other Thoughts: Super fun for someone to begin playing DG at. Easy shots with technical options available. The Risk/Reward value is good.

Keep an eye out for a lizard.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.