Blacklick, OH 
East Side DGC Share
Uploaded By: sisyphus Hole #1 (Taken 2/2019)
3 / 241ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Fun in a small package

2-4    2/2/2019   2/2/2019
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 314  Reviewed: 296  Exp: 7.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: While the East Side Grace Church nine hole course was never designed for competitive disc golfers, it's definitely my cup of tea when it comes to a quick, fun round with my best DG buddy Troy. We're grandmaster age guys who are kind of known for our short game and weaving through wooded lines with a Comet in hand, and that's exactly what this church course features.

The clever design hits you right off the bat with a tight downhill fade shot (all descriptors based on rhbh) that will tease the overly ambitious into trying to ace run it or "park" the basket for a deuce, when the smart play would be to control a putter (or the aforementioned Comet) to the middle of the fairway where you can approach clean. The tree kick potential for trouble is really high for just a 241' hole. If you see that as fun, then you might like to visit!

We came by the day after the area got 4" of snow, but still played around the course twice in just over an hour. The signage is excellent, and you simply follow the awesome course map situated at the pine row to the right of the church proper. Baskets are very basic, but have been sited creatively to give you variety: a big, sweeping hyzer, a straight fade, a very gentle turnover, a run up through a neat gap to the hilltop by the pavilion, and a bigger turnover (or forehand drive) out to the hanging basket you saw as you arrived, round out the first six holes. Finish with a clockwise trio back to the stump-elevated basket, and you'll want to play it again, too.
Cons: Obviously, there's no long-arm hole on this course, and the baskets are single chain 'sensitive', but force a good approach and a soft putting touch. The design does leave a number of tee areas (natural: we threw from beside the tee signs) in play from other holes (especially 5), and a couple places where the fairways cross. But then again, this isn't a competition course. With mature guidance, groups of all skill levels could still share the space.
Other Thoughts: I'm comfortable giving a fairly generous rating here due to the fun factor and quite good design, and am looking forward to stopping back in here on other trips to the Columbus area!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Nice Little Church Course

1    9/2/2018   9/10/2018
Review By: MrFrosty
Played: 444  Reviewed: 72  Exp: 26.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Being that this is a brand new course on church grounds , I am going to review this as a church member , or advertisement as in " we have a disc golf course right next to a great church , or a newbie course . I drove up on a Sunday to play a few courses , this being my first stop of the morning . Even when church is in session ( thanks for letting people play during Sunday service , Pastor Marty ) , disc golf is okay. Facing the church , the course is on the far right side . You can see baskets next to what looks like a small utility building . The first hole is a slight left turn downhill throw to a blind basket about 240' . It would be nice to have a spotter on this one , as the rough is very rough and you will spend some time looking for your disc if it goes off the fairway . Once you reach the bottoms , it is more level . You walk a few steps to your left and throw a dogleg left (I think it is more than just 220' ) . The next 2 are short throws . in the bottoms level and pretty easy . #5 goes up the hill to a basket that sits on the side of a small hill . This is the place to take a small break if you want one , as there is a small sheltered area with picnic tables right next to where you tee off . #6 , a narrow throw slightly uphill to a hanging basket ( pretty cool ) . #7 throws across #6 fairway to a basket guarded by one tree . #8 , which would be my signature hole gives you one of 2 choices . Either you throw a left to right short fade to the hidden basket partially in the woods , or throw through an obstructed window slightly right to left . Your last throw will be another short drive starting from the edge of the woods to an elevated basket perched on a tree stump ( Thumbs up on that one , Pastor Marty ) . 9 holes of disc golf suited for a quick round . Lots of thought went into this course including clearing a lot of ground for the fairways . Easy to follow after finding the first tee , except maybe 4 to 5 where you can easily make a left turn and walk forever before realizing that the tee was supposed to be on your left . For a short course , a hanging basket , and an elevated basket . The people from this church are very nice . Port O Lets next to holes 1 and 9 . Course map at the building near hole 1 .
Cons: I came her after rain from the night before , so I did not go to the bottom of #1 to see where the hole was because of the mud . It tends to be muddy from 1 thru hole 5 . There are places you can tell to tee from , but no real tee boxes . The baskets are the real cheap kind that shake and single chain , and will reject your putts or approach discs , unless you carry a blowfly rubber disc . Course is very short so this is not an advanced player's hangout . Only place to sit is #6 tee . The rough is very rough . a couple of the blind baskets could cost you some time looking .
Other Thoughts: The cons section of this review makes it look like I dislike this course , which I don't . This is a great starter course , and also something that the church members can do as a group , since the holes are short . Just outside of Columbus , it is an easy reach for a lot of people living in the center or east side of the city . You can use this as a warmup for the much longer Walnut Hill course . Check it out , especially if you have under 100 rounds thrown so far . Thanks , Pastor Marty .

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great course to warm up

1    4/21/2018   7/13/2018
Review By: MoKit
Played: 18  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: • Course map near hole 1
• Hole markers at every tee location
• Mild Par 3 holes that are great for entry level players to get some experience, or for moderates to play a warm up 9
• Cool concept of hanging basket on hole 7 (I believe it is 7, I've slept since then)
• Cool stump mounted basket on 9 (again, I believe it is 9)
• Great use of mostly vacant land for this course
• Plenty of Parking in the Church parking lot, just park on the west side of lot and you are closet to hole one
• Convenient location off Broad St.
• Mix of wooded hills and open flat grass with structure obstacles
• Well maintained
• Benches at the pavalion near hole 6
• Pretty certian there is a water spicket too
Cons: • For skilled players this is a breeze with minor challenge
• Moderately quick, like the subject of my review states, great to warm up, with intentions of playing several in one day
• The bottoms at hole 1, 2, and 3 can stay muddy due to creek nearby
• Holes 7, 8, and 9 are rather tight, this is a one group at a time area, usually not a problem due to the course not being in high popularity
Other Thoughts: • Watch the creek at the bottom of hole 1 it can swallow discs and carry them away
• Great course for the money that was invested by East Side Grace, Marty did well!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

“Cute”

1    3/28/2018   3/28/2018
Review By: DiscinOhio
Played: 124  Reviewed: 120  Exp: 10.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Look, I'm not going to bash a cute little church course set up by the pastor. I'm going to applaud East Side for making a nice little place to toss the disc.

- Colored course map and a welcome sign right at the entrance to the course. Tells you exactly where to go to find the first tee.

- Nine colored tee signs with an easy to spot basket for every hole.

- Plays partially through a heavily wooded area and partially in the open

- Great for beginners to learn the game. Gives a nice introduction with some fun basket locations (hanging basket, on a stump, etc)

- Public Restrooms right by the parking area

- Easy to navigate, as most tees are literally right next to the previous basket. The signs make it easy to find the corresponding basket

- #1 is the best hole here! Steep downhill shot through the trees with the pin sitting right next to the creek!

- Nice friendly church setting, please respect the hard work put in to make the course a reality for the kids!
Cons: - Well, the longest hole is about 240' so anyone but a pure beginner won't find any challenge whatsoever.

- The baskets are cheap little temporary baskets that can't catch even the softest putt. You'll have to play by the "if it hits the chains, it counts" rule.

- Most tees are either in the previous holes fairway, or right next to the previous basket. Holes 7 and 9 cross fairways, so really only one group can play at a time

-No tee pads, benches, or trash cans anywhere around. Not a huge deal on the benches because you can knock out the course in 15 minutes going solo.
Other Thoughts: Like I said earlier, kudos to Pastor Marty (who I assume is the creator) for putting together a cool little place to throw. While it won't get much attention due to its level of difficulty, the kids will love it!

If you're HAVING TROUBLE FINDING THE FIRST TEE, drive around the school/church in a loop until you see a canopy that says "Grace Christian School". The walkway to the first hole is right by the row of tiny pine trees adjacent to that canopy.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.