Douglasville, GA 
Boundary Waters Park - 2 Share
Uploaded By: craigd Hole #9 (Taken 4/2018)
3 / 450ft.   3 / 450ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
A Slightly Less Illustrious Younger Sibling

1    6/27/2020   6/29/2020
Review By: Shadrach3
Played: 60  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 1.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Although not quite living up to the old course, BW-2 still showcases good variety with some very nice technical holes.

-Amenities: Similar to the first course. Good baskets color-coded to avoid confusion. Concrete tees. Signs with hole number, par, and distance. Sufficient bridges and cleared paths for in-hole and between-hole transitions.

-Terrain: Like the other course, good variety. Opens with a downhill shot towards the lake just as BW-1, then dives into the thick and lush woods for a while. A few holes with moderate elevation, especially towards the end. One element BW-2 has that the other doesn't is additional water--a creek comes into play multiple times and there's a pond to throw over.

-Variety: Nice. (1) is open with the water hazard. (2)-(8) are mostly short and technical through the woods, with gentle hyzer shapes, straight shots, and a par-4 with multiple options through the woods (hole (4)). (9)-(12) take you into the open with a little more room to work with, and (13)-(18) delve into the technical again but with better length.

-Shot Shaping/Gameplay: Almost matches the variety. (2)-(8) will please needle-threaders and are achievable by technical rec players. I think many of the holes (13)-(18) will be nice if you're having a good day and able to throw 250+ feet through tight woods. You'll often be able to pick your line on the back half of the course and both FH and BH are in play. The creek also makes a really nice hazard, often creating a small green to force careful approaches. Multiple par 4's in the woods will value smarts over power. Some holes I enjoyed: (1) in the long position is over 700', a par-4 playing down to and around (or I suppose over) the lake. (12) goes from the open down a gentle left downslope over a creek to a hanging basket in the woods. (15) plays dogleg left through the woods, with the long pin position in the open field for a par-4. (18) is a nice finishing uphill mostly through woods with the basket opening up at the top.

-Navigation: Pretty flawless. With clear paths. Some confusion possible from (6) to (7) and (16) to (17).

-Multi-Tees/Pins: One or maybe two holes have a back and front tee. Several holes have multiple pin placements, sometimes changing the par.
Cons: Not enough variety to be up to snuff with BW-1.

-Over-Technical: Don't get me wrong, I love some good technical holes. But (2)-(8) feel like gimmicks that don't really bring shot choice and risk-reward into the gameplay. Ultimately, I think it was this stretch that made me feel like the course was overall a little closer to 3.0 than 3.5. (13)-(18) are also all technical, this time requiring good distance to succeed, but IMO it is too many holes that looked very similar, some of which didn't have pretty lines.

-Open Holes: Excepting the very good (1), the open holes are pretty bland. This is because they all throw through the same flat field. They aren't terrible by any stretch.

-Beat Down: As with any technical course, if your game slips things can get ugly quickly. I don't take points off for this.

-Rough: Can get rough.

-Signage: Would be nice to have tee maps. I didn't notice their absence as much on BW-2 as on BW-1.

-Goose Droppings: Watch your step on (1).

-Lost Disc Potential: Due to the creek and a few patches of extra tall rough around it (not to mention a possible water carry on (1)), BW-2 presents a higher disc loss risk. I found one in rough on my play and fruitlessly helped another golfer search as well.
Other Thoughts: I'm having trouble rating BW-2. I enjoyed BW-1 much more, but as I reflect on the back nine at BW-2 I feel more favorable towards them than I did playing earlier today. I've decided to award BW-2 an upper end Good--a 3.25 if you will. It falls shorter because it has a little less variety (so many tightly wooded holes) and the underwhelming short shots of (2)-(8). Some holes feel like they've been jammed to fit the remaining park space. My numerical rating is always subject to change as I play more courses and get a better feel for where this course fits into the continuum.

Nonetheless, BW-2 makes a fine addition to the park. Technical players will enjoy this course more than BW-1. The whole complex feels like the 4-star version of the IDGC pairing of Jackson and Warner--both courses hold their own well, I think one presents superior gameplay, and it's always enticing to come play. Check out Boundary Waters and you should have a fun day.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Atlanta Has An Unfair Amount Of Great Courses

1    9/22/2019   12/5/2019
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 436  Reviewed: 423  Exp: 6.4 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (3.696 Rating) Similar to Boundary Waters 1, but offering a healthier dose of heavily wooded holes.
- UNIQUENESS - Several holes stood out to me on this layout. The starting hole is a delightful open bomb-it play with water on the right. My personal favorite hole goes to (12). A tree gap down fairway to hit on a slight annie. Then the shot becomes blind and heads over a 10 foot gorge where the basket hangs from a tree branch above. I also enjoyed several of the short technical plays, although hole (4) needs some more thinning. Finally, the finishing holes on this course are outstanding. Several long wooded plays over sloping terrain. It's a great mix of holes and I wish there were more courses like this in my local area.
- RAW BEAUTY - All star looks, but not rock star. I scored it just into my personal top 50 with 410 courses played as of this review. I've played an even mix of great courses and crummy courses, so unless you've only played 4 star courses, you'll likely find the overall beauty here eye-catching.
- CHALLENGING - Like the first course, BW2 is going humble a large swath of players. Rec players are going to average over par out here, but they'll have some looks at a few birds. The course requires decent power and some smart well executed game play. Getting greedy is going to cost players extra shots on several holes.
- CHARACTER - Concrete tees, Prodigy baskets and adequate signage. I do wish they had stayed with DISCatchers for the chains.
- MAINTENANCE - The grounds were well maintained and clean on my appearance.
- LOCATION - Two courses on one site.

Cons: Only very minor complaints.
- NAVIGATION - Passable, due to the course map by (1), but could be much easier with a few more navigational cues between holes.
- TEE SIGNAGE - The tee signs are sub-par being just a number and distance.
- BEGINNER FRIENDLY - I wouldn't bring a beginner here. Just a bit too complex. There are some heavy ivy and thorny areas to avoid and losing a disc is possible. I'd take a newer player to Frog Rock instead.
- TERRAIN - There's a substantial steep 4 foot to 10 foot deep gouge that comes into play... which is flipping awesome. That stated, those with joint issues may find that the numerous appearance of this feature to be overwhelming.
- PARKING - Park on the grass... wherever I guess.
- TIME PLAY - 90 minutes for a quick two-some, so be sure to schedule appropriately. The course does not loop, although 13's basket isn't too far from the improvised parking area.

Other Thoughts: The 400th course I ever played and I threw it right after BW1. GMcAtee and I couldn't decide on which to throw first as local reviewers Moose and Craigd scored both courses a 3.5. Although I have also given both courses a 3.5 score, I am personally going to give a tiny ratings edge to BW2. Course 2 offers a few more heavily wooded holes over BW1, which is an element and style I personally favor. BW2 is also touch more picturesque, especially when comparing the last six holes of each. Anyways, this complex is an awesome 36 holes of intriguing disc golf. Anyone in the Atlanta area with about an 875 player rating or higher, needs to schedule time for a pair of rounds out here. For those traveling through the Atlanta area looking to play one of the top tier courses, I would say this one falls just outside that distinction. However, if we graded the complex, instead of courses individually, I'd give this place a solid 4.0.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Technical, Wooded, and Challenging

1    6/10/2018   6/10/2018
Review By: TaylorAF
Played: 22  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Tee pads are concrete

-Baskets are new, in perfect condition, and the bright orange is easy to spy from far away, even through the trees

-Each basket provides an arrow directing you to the next tee, making the course very easy to navigate

-Most of the course was wooded, which provided great shade for hot summer days

-The shots required on each hole varied greatly-- both tight and wide open, both long and short, dogleg left and right, etc.

-The course flows nicely. There is no doubling back or long walks between holes.
Cons: -There are no maps at the beginning of each hole. Most of the time you are able to see the orange baskets from the tee pads, but the few times that the baskets were not visible...maps would have been nice.

-Without the option of multiple tee pads, this course is not very beginner friendly. It also ensures you must commit a solid hour and 15 minutes minimum to play the course solo, not providing you with a more time efficient option.
Other Thoughts: It is extremely convenient having two long, beautiful courses in the same park. The course is very well-designed, exquisitely laid out, and requires a lot of technical disc golf. At around 6300' it is one of the longer courses I have played, and it provides a great challenge. However, if you are not ready for this challenge, the course can be disheartening. Adding a second, shorter set of tee pads would be idea. Even still, this is a great course that I would recommend playing if you have the time!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Boundary Waters - two

1    2/18/2018   2/21/2018
Review By: craigd
Played: 150  Reviewed: 116  Exp: 11.9 Years
This review was updated on 2/23/2018
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: BW II is the newly installed second eighteen hole course in the Boundary Waters Park. Not to be outdone by the original course, this one has lots to offer too. I certainly don't want to talk too much about the original eighteen in this review of the second, but I have to say as a wooded course fan, this one is my favorite of the two. I was happy to see that the designers were able to incorporate some more wooded holes which added to the diversity of the available golf in the park. My group, an open female, a bomber in his 20's, an advanced player in his 30's, and 2 other masters age guys all played together out here. We agreed that this is probably the tougher of the two courses. Where it might lack in a little length compared to its next-door neighbor, it makes up in demanding more controlled drives and perhaps a little smarter golf in the tighter fairways.

I feel like the designers used some thoughtful design elements out here. They generally kept things fresh throughout the layout mixing in some longer and shorter holes. They seemed to be deliberate in making sure a good mix of open and wooded holes were represented too. Overall it does lean on the wooded side of the spectrum, but the holes were fair and well balanced. Left and right turning shots, both gentle and doglegs, were all here. A time of two you'll even have a strait, frozen rope shot too. Careful basket placement insured that you'd find some challenging approaches. The layout incorporates protected greens with hillside locations, water, and even a suspended basket hanging from chains on a large limb. Speaking of water, besides hole eight's abbreviated water carry, look out for a plenty of times where you can find yourself wet. You'll dance around the pond on holes six and seven but can find yourself in the creek throughout the heart of the course as well. Lookout for the lake on hole one should you find the basket in the long position too. Overall, depending on pads you play and the current pin positions, the layout can measure roughly somewhere between 6000' and 7000'. Relating to the pin placements, you'll find a half dozen or so alternates mixed throughout the course. Some, like hole one for example, can have a drastic difference in length, even adding a stroke to the total par. As far as pads are concerned, concrete is generally a crowd favorite and that is what you'll find. Here you'll discover they didn't skimp on them as they're generously sized and topped off with a perfect finish. There are a few holes with duel pads as well. Tee signs may not show maps of the holes, but they do relay info such as hole number, distance, and par. Orange Prodigy baskets are the targets here and the unusual color adds a little character to the course. Look out for the kiosk with a large course map and pertinent info near hole one. You'll also find a practice basket for a quick touch up on your short game.

The course boasts a community effort with a lot of the funding and labor. Look for permanent sponsor signs highlighting many of the Atlanta metro clubs that sponsored the holes along with the many individuals who pitched in as well. Several sturdy bridges, built by the club, are scattered around as needed and are well built and should be around for a while. Custom benches and other features are spotted here and there. Continuing efforts are constantly being made so you are likely to see new additions to the course on every visit.

Cons: Similar to the original Boundary Waters course, there is not a lot to dislike out here in my mind. Together they bring in 36 holes of disc golf in one park and who can argue with that? Still, there is always something for someone to gripe about. Like anywhere, I'm sure you or someone you know who can find something to pick out. For me, I enjoyed the course and I must dig deep for any meaningful dings. This is an average to above average disc golf course with strengths and weaknesses. There are a couple holes I would have done some different things on, but just personal preferences.

As usual, the prodigy baskets can cause some folks to talk out of the side of their mouths. Let's face it, there is probably not a more disliked basket on the market. But if you know what to expect from them, they are not that bad, perhaps just a little fussy. Usually lukewarm putts are not rewarded on them and that can be frustrating. Put a little extra something on those putts!
Other Thoughts: Few folks are lucky enough to have a two eighteen-hole track/park as their home course. For those that do, it's likely that it's not in a county with three other eighteen-hole courses with another one on the way. Many thanks to the crew out at the Douglas County Disc Golf Club for their continued blood, sweat, and tears making Douglas County one of the top spots in the Atlanta Metro for disc golfing.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Nice addition

1    2/3/2018   2/3/2018
Review By: Moose33
Played: 77  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/10/2018
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The second 18 hole course at Boundary Waters Park is a great addition to the disc golf scene. It has a good mix of open and more guarded holes, and some of the coolest little tree tunnel holes I've seen in GA. It starts out with a big hyzer hole starting just to the left of the other courses number one tee, and winds through the woods and fields on the other side of the park.

The baskets are orange versions of the new Prodigy baskets are easy to see and though I think you have to putt harder into them than other baskets, they do catch well.

The shot mix is quite diverse and I used FH, BH, and even a couple OH off the tee.

The pads are good too, really long and fresh, grippy. The bridges are also very solid and wide which is a nice touch. There is also ample seating, including one awesome bench with old collectors discs(many broken CE and KC Pro) imbedded in it.

Overall really good job for the space.
Cons: The cons are just a few; it's fresh, some holes will break in more and get even better as some of the brush is worn down, but this summer could be tight.

Some holes don't have the clearest lines, you have some small holes, but there isn't a clear fairway.

Most of the holes are nice, but there isn't a straight wow factor that some of the holes on the other course have.

The only other minus is an errant throw on a couple holes could get close to someone on the next or prior, I didn't ever see this happen but you can see a couple spots where it's possible.

UPDATE: there has been a log wall installed behind one of the baskets where you could have been hit previously. It greatly helps this issue.
Other Thoughts: Overall a really good addition to the area, and may have cemented the Douglasville area as a rival to Augusta as the best DG town in GA.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.