Foley, AL 
Graham Creek - Pecan Hollow Share
Uploaded By: TheHipstick   (Taken 7/2018)
Course Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Amazing

5+    9/1/2020   10/17/2020
Review By: MoMo337
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Championship level course. Absolutely amazing. Top 5 best courses I've ever played. This course is a marathon...not a sprint!
Cons: No definitive O.B. on a few holes.
Other Thoughts: If you don't love this course after you havr played it. You're crazy.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not a realistically playable course

1    11/4/2019   11/4/2019
Review By: puaahunter
Played: 45  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 11.4 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I guess the pros are that there are 18 good quality baskets and 18 concrete tee pads in the woods near two other courses. This shows that the investment in disc golf and the community in the area.
Cons: This is not a realistic course that you could play and expect a reasonable round. The holes are just too long, with too many turns, and way too many trees. That’s not a competitive complaint; it’s a comment on sound course design practices. (A reasonable hole isn’t Par 5, 731 feet through a no-fairway forest as you will find at Hole 2!) If you have to add a bunch of extra strokes allowed with multiple Par 4 and Par 5 holes, perhaps the issue is course design.
Other Thoughts: Here’s where I think this course has redeeming value- this is an EXCELLENT practice course. Bring your favorite fairway driver, pick a gap between the many trees, and shoot it. Practice straight, controlled shots. You’ll hit trees. Guaranteed. When you finally get to the green, reward yourself with a putt shot, but don’t bother keeping score. Then, take your newly acquired skills and go play a real course- like the Preserve, right next door. The original concrete tee pads were small which encourage a point-and-shoot style, perfect for fairway driver practice.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Tough it out until the bitter end!

1    7/29/2018   7/29/2018
Review By: MikeK
Played: 296  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 25.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +Possibly the most challenging course in Alabama; the only other course in the state this difficult that I've played is Inverness in Birmingham. I enjoy a tough course and this one is such a challenge, I would have rated it 4.5 but can't because of the ridiculously small tee pads (see cons).
+Secluded, no other park activities at this location.
+Dense forest makes for plenty of shade for hot Alabama summers; also blocks the wind so it doesn't alter your putts.
+Mach III baskets almost new condition.
+Very well-balanced course, requiring players to throw left-to-right and right-to-left shots with high degrees of accuracy.
+Tee signs, while only laminated paper, provided me enough information that I didn't have to walk ahead down the fairway to figure out where to throw on the numerous blind holes.
Cons: -Unbelievably small concrete tee pads. I think they measure 3 feet wide by maybe 8 feet long. Completely inadequate for the championship length of this course. The only possible justification for these minuscule tee pads would be that the course designer is a big fan of the cult of "stand and deliver". The cult of stand and deliver is a misguided group of disc golf lunatics who want to change the rulebook to disallow players taking any kind of run-up before releasing a disc. You can't get a decent run-up on these tee pads, which actually makes these holes play about 10-15% longer than the actual already long distance of this course.
-Not beginner friendly at all; do not play this course if you haven't already played at least 100 rounds of disc golf in your life.
-Luck is a factor on this course, due to the tight width of the fairways in many spots and the random kicks off trees that will happen. You can get lucky and kick off a tree that directs your shot down the fairway, or you can kick off a tree into the rough that will cost you another shot to escape. It's easy to get frustrated when your throws are decent, but not blisteringly accurate, and that little bit of imperfection sends your shot 90 degrees left or right into thick, tall rough.
-Only one set of tees.
-No elevation to speak of.
-All the holes are in the woods, and it's hard remembering the differences in each of the holes. Maybe there are so many long and challenging holes on this course that would be signature holes on other courses, but they all kinda blend together in my mind?
Other Thoughts: Pecan Hollow is one of the toughest courses I have ever played. I shot a 76 my first time through and actually felt like that was a good score and I honestly don't think if I played it five more times that I could beat that 76. Patience is a virtue on this course, and sticking to mid-ranges off the tee even on the 700 and 800 foot holes is a wise decision. It's better to advance 200-250 feet and land in the middle of the fairway than to try and grab another 100 feet or so, and miss the fairway and have no option but to pitch out of the dense rough and small trees that punish off-fairway throws.

There's a sign after Hole 9 or 10 that points towards the "exit". There will be many lesser disc golfers who will give up at this point and bail. But if you have fortitude, guts, courage, or determination, stick it out and keep going! You will be a better disc golfer by the time you finish Pecan Hollow. Why? Because you're going to throw so many shots that you'll get a ton of practice just by finishing. So tough it out!

I can't imagine playing a tournament round on this course, unless it's the only round played that day. A foursome in a tournament on Pecan Hollow is going to take 4, maybe 5 hours to complete. And, keeping score on the par 4 & especially the par 5's won't be easy. It's tough to remember all the shots you made.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Pro 9

1    5/12/2018   5/15/2018
Review By: Mr. Butlertron
Played: 300  Reviewed: 128  Exp: 17.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/19/2018
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:

- challenging layout
- plenty of fairway width for a wooded course
- concrete tees
- new, high quality baskets
- distances on the tee pads
- informative tee signs
- intuitive layout, good directional signage
- multiple courses on location
- outhouse in parking lot
Cons:

- flat course
- narrow, short tees
- small stumps and roots throughout
- parking is limited
- no practice basket
- lhbh/rhfh skewed layout
- some fairways were too similar
Other Thoughts:

The Pecan Hollow is a long, wooded, and technical 18 hole course within a multi course complex. The fairways are flat, cleared of most non tree trunk obstructions, and are clearly defined. Pecan features seven par 5s and two par 4s, which is a stark contrast to most 18 hole courses. The holes are fairly technical, so propper shot placement is the key to success. You'll definitely need to plan your moves ahead of time to keep your lines as simple as possible. Think chess, not checkers.

If pressed, I would say this may be one of the challenging 18 hole courses I've experienced. Travelers new to the course will have to do a lot of guessing off the tee as well as midway through the fairway. Personally, I had a tough time judging dogleg angles and committing to blind shots throughout the course. Lower level players that lack control my want sit this course out, as the overall technicality and length may make for a potentially infuriating round.

You can tell a lot of clearing has been done to reach this point. Baskets are fresh, there are excellent directional cues, and the course is easy to navigate. It has all the makings of a top notch course, with a few exceptions.

The comically narrow/short concrete tees displeased me. I would have preferred much more foot room to drive with, especially when there's such a strong emphasis on hitting certain lines from the tee. Another thing I would have liked to see was a wider variety of fairway themes. The repeated blind dogleg theme started to wear thin after a while. Multiple tees, bakets and permanent signage were missing from the course, but I'm sure they'll come with time.

Overall, this has the makings of a really great course. More work is required, though. Still, Pecan is easily one of my favorite 18 hole courses. I'd list Graham Creek (Prarie+Preserve+Pecan) as equal to or greater than the other muti course facilities in the general area such as Gator Links, Blue Angels, and Chickasabouge.



8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.