Kill Devil Hills, NC 
Casey R. Logan DGC Share
Uploaded By: Hix007 Hole #16 (Taken 1/2019)
5 / 860ft.   3 / 345ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Long Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Hope the PDGA approves of kids under 13 here.

1    4/10/2022   5/12/2022
Review By: DiscGolfCraig
Played: 491  Reviewed: 463  Exp: 18.3 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: When it comes right down to it, there probably are very few courses in all of North Carolina anyone would rather play than Casey Logan.
- Location, location, location. There really isn't a bad day here. You're on the Outer Banks.
- Layout. A heavily wooded layout. Other than the sand dunes on #16, it seems like 17 holes of shot shaping around pines and oaks.
- Dual tees and multi basket locations. This creates lots of layout possibilities. Short layout is 4800 feet. Long layout is 50% longer, at 7200 feet.
- Solid tee signs. Most holes have 'next tee' signs, which are extremely helpful with some fairways so close together. Bridges to cross muddy/wet areas. Brooms on many tee pads.
- High risk/reward factor. With all the trees in play, a shot several feet off line hits a tree and skips deep in the woods. That said, with a lot of holes not having underbrush, you can get creative with your lines - throwing low to the ground/rollers, cutting in small gaps between trees, or tomahawking above the trees.
- The back nine is far longer, and frankly, more enjoyable. And varied. From the longs, the front nine only has two holes longer than 400 feet. The back nine has five longer than 400, including two in the 500s, one at 649, and one at 791. #18 is an excellent closing, multi-shot, 649-foot par 5. Well laid out design.
- Among the highlights of creative pin layouts - #3, 13, & 18 have baskets on raised mounds, #14's basket is feet from the water (a stunning backdrop), and #15 is a hanging basket.
Cons: You notice how I'm vague with my hole by hole description? That's what happens when one hole after another seemingly feels the same. Yeah, it's feels like a broken record.
- Some confusion with layouts. The short layout is marked by yellow tees and baskets. The longs are red tees and baskets. On some holes tees have both red and yellow marking, meaning a single tee pad. On some holes baskets have a red markings on a standard yellow (gold) basket. Then, there are pink baskets on some holes. Did they run out of reds? Then, on #9, you have a yellow basket with red tape and a separate red basket beyond that. What's up with that?
- Hole lengths are all over the board. Between tee signs, DGCR, and UDisc, there was a wide variety of listed distances. Generally, they were in agreement. Then, you get instances like #14. Tee sign listed hole at 335 feet. DGCR and UDisc were at 540 feet. Tee sign was wrong here.
- Some tee signs were missing. And, where was the basket for #16 long?
- Can the tee maps be more accurate too? Needless confusion with some of these issues.
Other Thoughts: Generally, this is a nice course. Casey Logan has some very good aspects. The lesser portions aren't bad, just repetitive.
- There is inconsistency with the longer tees. Some are carpeted. Some are uneven. Some are easy to spot. Some aren't. I'm all for adding a second, longer layout. On a couple holes it's clear they're trying to cram too much in and would do better with a single layout.
- Plenty of birdies to be had playing the short tees. Also, coming from Charlotte, I thought the majority of fairways were more than generous. No hope and poke layouts.
- #15's hanging basket is nice. Too bad the tee sign didn't indicate it was there. So I threw for the only visible basket to discover I was throwing to the wrong spot.
- #1 is a good opening hole. #9 is a great closing hole on the front side. That small murky water on the left is a lost disc waiting to happen. Thankfully, I missed the water by 3 feet. #10 is a fine opening hole on the back side. And #18 is a solid closer. Other than that, a lot of ok-ness.
- I saw a basket for the proverbial 19th hole. Not sure if there's a proverbial tee as well. Or it's just there for fun and throw offs.
- Coming into the course, it's cool seeing the Wright Brothers National Memorial atop of the hill. I had just visited there earlier in the day so it was weird seeing it as the backdrop to a neighborhood/local setting. And to get to the course, you pass First Flight Elementary and First Flight Middle. Much more exciting school names than your standard generic ones.
- This is an excellent vacation course. It's not too demanding, but it's a fun play. You want to escape the family, it's good for that. You want to bring the kids along, as I did, they'll enjoy the walk without tiring out.
- I brought my kids with me to this course. They enjoyed their time here. Don't worry. None was my caddy though.
- This is the best of the local courses. But again, there's never a bad day when you're here. Well, except during and after hurricanes. Otherwise, we'd all like this to be our home course.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Another reason to want to come back to the OBX

2-4    10/15/2021   10/16/2021
Review By: FunkyDung
Played: 23  Reviewed: 12
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Nearly impossible to lose a disc - Very easy to navigate - Signage is outstanding - All yellow tee pads are excellent (a few reds are turf but I'm assuming they won't be for long) - The walk from 9 to 10 goes by the parking lot / porta potty
Cons: Only one for me - it's too far from home!
Other Thoughts: I still consider myself new to disc golf, started right when covid exploded. I stopped by this course October 2020 but was still intimidated by wooded courses at that time so I never played it. There's nothing to be afraid of. Yes, there are trees and you will hit them. But like I mentioned earlier, it's nearly impossible to lose a disc. There's only one swampy creek looking mess near #6 basket (I think, might be wrong). The entire course is wooded except for #16 if I recall correctly, that one you're in the sand. There are brooms on almost every tee box, goofy signs here and there, like Amen Corner. There isn't a single piece of litter anywhere, cleanest course I've ever seen. Could've done without the snake that went across #15 tee pad, but that was just a photo-op. This is definitely the best of the 3 courses in the area - not counting the one in Frisco. I still haven't found that one. One thing that's unusual for me, the signs show distances for yellow to yellow, and red to red. Why not red to yellow, or yellow to red? Missed opportunity there. The first time you play #18, you'll probably be throwing to the wrong basket. The one you can see from the tee pad is not the right one. #18's basket is to the right.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great vacation course

1    9/7/2021   9/9/2021
Review By: kasparaitis
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice wooded layout, easy navigation
Cons: Holes are somewhat on top of each other due to space constraints
Other Thoughts: Mostly par 3's but some technical wooded shots, great for a quick round on vacation. ~2 hours for 2 people using yellow tees and no backup

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Wooded Wonder in Central OBX

1    6/29/2021   7/7/2021
Review By: Doctordisc1965
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained, expansive, and well signed/directed course. Most holes except one have tree canopy so shade abounds even on the hot/sunny vacation days for visitors like me. One open hole was sandy brush area like a preserve which was my 18 y/o son's favorite. Double baskets on most for either Par 3 or Par 4 challenge. Quite challenging even for the most prudent discer because of the abundance of Carolina Pine trees littered along the fairways but you'll like a challenge. Sizable concrete tee boxes with nearby hanging brooms on many to sweep off the needles. Port-a-potty on sight with practice basket next to parking area.
Cons: Too wooded?? Many will feel frustrated by so many trees dotting the fairways and approaches. Seems like a long course and with abundance of trees, not the best for beginners. You'll still have fun, just be prepared for some tree smacks.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Trees abound

1    10/2/2020   10/2/2020
Review By: ric039
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Challenging technical course with lots of trees that you need to dodge. Well maintained. The club has built bridges and step stones in the places that get swampy. Good signs. Multiple tees and some holes had multiple baskets.
Cons: Easy to hit trees. Tee pad composition varied, some were pavers, some were rugs or astroturf.
Other Thoughts: Really enjoyed this very technical course!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

OBX Gem

5+    4/5/2022   7/1/2020
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 81  Reviewed: 81  Exp: 21.3 Years
This review was updated on 4/16/2022
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Amenities: teepads; signage; basket placements; wayfinding aids; stepping stones and bridges where needed; shot variety needed to excel.
Cons: Landscape limitations: all but one hole in the woods; all flat; can be boggy in places; possibly difficult to play after a big rain.
Other Thoughts: Long have I wished for a course on the Outer Banks, and Casey Logan Park exceeds my dreams. The OBX is naturally a tough environment for disc golf: sandy; forested and boggy where it's not sandy; and all land at a high premium, no matter how scrappy and buggy. I followed rumors of OBX disc golf on the message boards here, with expectations for a scruffy pitch and putt at best, if a course ever came to fruition. Well the course at Casey Logan park ain't scruffy at all and while it is mostly par 3 disc golf, it's par 3 with a lot of style and shine.

Two things stand out at Casey Logan. The first is the care and amenities. Two distinct concrete tee pads for most holes, both with excellent signage. A warm-up basket and a hole 19 cool-down basket. An increasing number of holes with two baskets. Lots of benches. Lots of landscaping to the keep the fairways fair. A whole lot of work and love has gone into this course.

The second thing is the landscape, and that's more of a mixed bag, depending on your taste. The course plays through a maritime forest, and only one hole is open. The rest are all in the woods, and some could be a bit boggy. Yet even here the work of the caretakers shines through, with stepping stones and bridges where needed. The designers made the most of the environment they had to work with, with a wide variety of shots needed off the tee, a couple elevated baskets, and one elevated tee on the one open hole. Every hole but one is par 3, yet I used most of my bag on this course. Mistakes will be punished on a course like this, but all of the fairways are reasonable with due consideration for your tee shot, and disc loss is probably not frequent. Big arms may not need their drivers much, however. This course will reward touch and a strong putting game more than distance.

Overall, I rate the course at Casey Logan as Very Good, and well worth checking out if you're in the Outer Banks. The course is first time friendly and a low stress, high fun outing. You may go back to your home course and wish for all special touches of this course, and your touch game will probably be better too.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Just Flat Out Fun!

2-4    3/4/2020   3/11/2020
Review By: lee76007
Played: 107  Reviewed: 102  Exp: 3.1 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very active Club Membership that is constantly improving the course and keeping it maintained. There facebook page is Outer Banks Disc Golf. Plenty of photos, club tournaments, and announcements to be found there. The type of club I would like to associated with, but too far away.
-Its a heavy wooded course, except for No. 16 that stretch's across sand.
-Tight fairways with obstacles (trees). Some canopy. Approaches with a few window baskets. Twisted pine trees bent over towards fairways thru out the course.
-The yellow baskets are the most guarded that I've seen compared to other courses The further red baskets not so much guarded, but a very narrow aspect, a few mounted on berns.
-Not all holes have red baskets, not all holes have back tee pads. Some are shared. Space restrictions.
-Outstanding course map, hole number, and distance posted on a very large board as you pull up in the parking lot.
-Hole signs with par, distance, and map.
-Except no. 16, hard pan surface for skips (my favorite shots). It had been at least 5 days since it rained there.
-Some swamp water on No. 4 and pathway to no. 5. The members are looking out for you, placing foot bridges, walking stones, and a latter to get across the water. Pathway to 5 tee has a latter across some soft mushy surfaces on the trail. There's also a disc catcher to retrieve your disc out of the water at no. 4. Also saw some woodchips placed at softer places on the course.
-Good course navigation. You can either see the next tee pad or direction markers to get you there.
-The long distances on some holes keep it interesting for advanced players.
-port a potty in parking lot area.
Cons: -The tee surfaces are a mixture of rubber matts, concrete, and field turf. Different sizes. No. 16 field turf was lumpy because of sand beneath it. However, may be the best that can be done. There were raised tee wooden markers on the front corners of the tee boxes, stumbled over a few during throws, almost falling once. Best to remove them and just spray paint the color of the tee marker on the front pad. Despite the con, on the majority of the tee pads I hardly took notice and was comfortable.
Other Thoughts: This is a very fun and enjoyable course that I plan on playing a handful of times a year, even though its 90 mins away.
The members have put a lot of TLC into their course and it shows. Compared to previous reviews, I could see the improvements as I strolled along the course.
If there could be some uniformity on the tee pads, and address the one safety issue. The course is a 4.5.
On the facebook page theirs some talk of extending the distance on No. 15 and 16 to make them Par 4's. This would help beginners, and keep it interesting for others. Perhaps my first 5.0? Maybe, and also to see if their are any other improvements that the club has planned, if any at all.
Notable Holes:
No. 3 Yellow, 185 feet basket on a raised sand dune. There are three wooden steps up to the basket to retrieve your disk. Dogleg right. Right side blocked by trees. Threw a left to right on track for my first ace second time around, it hit the steps. Sigh, still waiting. Awesome hole, my first experience with a raised basket of any type.
No. 4 straight down the fairway about 200 feet out is marsh water. Left side on other side of water is blocked out by trees, best to be on right side of fairway. Yellow basket protected by trees, red narrow aspect.
No 5. Yellow is a window basket, theirs a twisted pine tree that's your window in front of basket. Even though I was within birdie distance on my approach, I looked towards the red basket and would of rather of played there, I would of had a better chance at it. Best to go far right on yellow.
No 8 another window basket, a shared basket. Straight down fairway planted on ground, is a white arrow pointing at basket, The basket is off to the left. You need to get your drive to the arrow for a narrow chance of birdie or hit the crooked tree.
No. 15 straight down fairway with bunches of pine trees with some canopy. Need to keep in middle, theirs a narrow pathway for your approach to shared basket. The basket sits on bern and guarded by trees.
No. 17 is a dogleg right with a twisted pine tree at the break on left side of fairway. Got by it first time around with a light disk. Decided to use my heaviest disk for more skip, that twisted tree knocked it down. Basket is protect by trees.
No. 18 only par 4 on course. Straight down fairway about 200 out starts the heavy trees with narrow aspects to yellow basket for your approach, basket is guarded by trees. Red basket sits on knoll, ob behind it. Some canopy. Great finishing hole.

In my opinion:
Signature Hole is No. 16 Red Par 3 465 ft. Is a sand dune hole, the only hole to escape from the woods, and a reminder that your on a beach resort island. Tee box is elevated, sand all the way down the fairway, and a rolly polly fairway. To the left is brush, to the right is a fence and beyond are sand dunes. Cant see the sound. Only hole you'll feel wind, it was calm the day I played. What little wind I felt carried my disc (beautiful flight) to the brush on the left first time around. Adjusted the second time around to throw along the fence and ended barely on left side of fairway on a dune. I can only imagine what moderate and strong winds will do out of the west. Yellow basket sits in the open on left, red basket approach narrows.
Trouble hole is No. 9 Par 3 425 feet doglegs right. A little more than 200 feet down is cluster of pine trees with some canopy all the way to both baskets. Very narrow aspect to yellow basket which is also protect by trees. There is a narrow line to the red basket on the left side. The left side off fairway is heavy trees and brush, your disc could get hung up there. The red basket sits up on a small bern with a narrow aspect surround by trees, behind basket is ob. Throw down off of the tee pad as far as possible, and if you hit trees in the middle so be it. Figure it out from there. Depending on your skill level, a bogey may sound pretty good to you.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  Happy there is a course right on the island

2-4    8/20/2019   8/23/2019
Review By: mubenny26
Played: 66  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.3 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - I am very happy there is now an easily accessible course right on the island, and doesn't require at least a one hour drive to play during vacation
- great baskets
- good use of land and it is very obvious all the hard work put into it
- very easy/clear navigation especially for a course that will have a high number of first timers at it, which is crucial
Cons: - VERY wooded, to the point where some holes or shots are "Chuck and Pray"
- some of the lines are not actual disc golf lines that anyone less than a top touring pro can hit
- righty friendly, and the very few "lefty hyzer" holes do not have a clear path to access the green
Other Thoughts: Speaking as someone who helps work on courses, I can tell you it is very obvious of all the extremely hard work that has gone in to this course. So my con comments above are not meant to take away from that or to be negative. I hope that some additional tinkering can be done to make some of the lines cleaner and maybe make it a little more lefty friendly. Thank you to all who have put in any time to make this course what it currently is!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Hard work pays off

2-4    8/13/2019   8/17/2019
Review By: Sully68783
Played: 52  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 18.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This review is for the yellow pads.

The course is a great example of North Carolina coniferous forest golf. Tight fairways demand precise throws and good form. Despite the sometimes-tricky lines, the design is fair: more experienced throwers will work putters and mids to the yellow baskets; newer players can pursue risk/reward placement and play for par.

Teepads are improving, and are fine for the distances and shots required. Drainage is INCREDIBLE compared to two years ago. I seriously can't believe the amount of work and the results. A dedicated club makes so much difference.

The course is very pretty, and hole 16 makes a great signature hole that is completely different from anything else on the track.
Cons: The autumn olive in the rough seems useful for separating fairways, but a few of them in the fairways could be taken out, both from a design and an invasive vs. native species perspective.
Other Thoughts: Again, it cannot be overstated what an accomplishment this course is. The land near Jockey's Ridge was basically impassible swampland a few years ago, and to transform it into well-drained land while also putting in a lovely course and protecting the land from development is a multi-pronged win for locals and tourists alike. Great job, Outer Banks Disc Golf Club!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Outstanding addition to an OBX vacation.

2-4    6/20/2019   6/21/2019
Review By: psvines
Played: 41  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The best aspect is the location. OBX now has a great course centrally located, within a reasonable drive from most of the vacation areas.
All but one hole is well shaded and provides relief during bright hot summer days.
There is a good variety of holes in terms of difficulty and distance, allowing all abilities to enjoy a vacation round.
Signage is outstanding, there was no issues navigating the course.
Cons: Honestly no major cons. The course is new and will eventually become well worn and beaten down, and help with the grassy areas that need constant attention.
Other Thoughts: Clearly the locals care about the game and the course, well evidenced by the thoughtful design and adequate signage.
We used bug spray and had no issues with biting, even a day after massive rainfall.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.