Kill Devil Hills, NC 
Casey R. Logan DGC Share
Uploaded By: Hix007 Hole #1 (Taken 1/2019)
3 / 259ft.   3 / 248ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Great vacation course

1    9/7/2021   9/9/2021
Review By: kasparaitis
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice wooded layout, easy navigation
Cons: Holes are somewhat on top of each other due to space constraints
Other Thoughts: Mostly par 3's but some technical wooded shots, great for a quick round on vacation. ~2 hours for 2 people using yellow tees and no backup

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Wooded Wonder in Central OBX

1    6/29/2021   7/7/2021
Review By: Doctordisc1965
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained, expansive, and well signed/directed course. Most holes except one have tree canopy so shade abounds even on the hot/sunny vacation days for visitors like me. One open hole was sandy brush area like a preserve which was my 18 y/o son's favorite. Double baskets on most for either Par 3 or Par 4 challenge. Quite challenging even for the most prudent discer because of the abundance of Carolina Pine trees littered along the fairways but you'll like a challenge. Sizable concrete tee boxes with nearby hanging brooms on many to sweep off the needles. Port-a-potty on sight with practice basket next to parking area.
Cons: Too wooded?? Many will feel frustrated by so many trees dotting the fairways and approaches. Seems like a long course and with abundance of trees, not the best for beginners. You'll still have fun, just be prepared for some tree smacks.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Trees abound

1    10/2/2020   10/2/2020
Review By: ric039
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Challenging technical course with lots of trees that you need to dodge. Well maintained. The club has built bridges and step stones in the places that get swampy. Good signs. Multiple tees and some holes had multiple baskets.
Cons: Easy to hit trees. Tee pad composition varied, some were pavers, some were rugs or astroturf.
Other Thoughts: Really enjoyed this very technical course!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

OBX Gem

2-4    8/20/2021   7/1/2020
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 81  Reviewed: 81  Exp: 20.3 Years
This review was updated on 8/22/2021
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Amenities: teepads; signage; basket placements; wayfinding aids; stepping stones and bridges where needed; shot variety needed to excel.
Cons: Landscape limitations: all but one hole in the woods; all flat; can be boggy in places; possibly difficult to play after a big rain.
Other Thoughts: Long have I wished for a course on the Outer Banks, and Casey Logan Park exceeds my dreams. The OBX is naturally a tough environment for disc golf: sandy; forested and boggy where it's not sandy; and all land at a high premium, no matter how scrappy and buggy. I followed rumors of OBX disc golf on the message boards here, with expectations for a scruffy pitch and putt at best, if a course ever came to fruition. Well the course at Casey Logan park ain't scruffy at all and while it is mostly par 3 disc golf, it's par 3 with a lot of style and shine.

Two things stand out at Casey Logan. The first is the care and amenities. Two distinct concrete tee pads for most holes, both with excellent signage. A warm-up basket and a hole 19 cool-down basket. An increasing number of holes with two baskets, and a few more with multiple pin positions. Lots of benches. Lots of landscaping to the keep the fairways fair. A whole lot of work and love has gone into this course.

The second thing is the landscape, and that's more of a mixed bag, depending on your taste. The course plays through a maritime forest, and only one hole is open. The rest are all in the woods, and some could be a bit boggy. Yet even here the work of the caretakers shines through, with stepping stones and bridges where needed. The designers made the most of the environment they had to work with, with a wide variety of shots needed off the tee, a couple elevated baskets, and one elevated tee on the one open hole. Every hole but one is par 3, yet I used most of my bag on this course. Mistakes will be punished on a course like this, but all of the fairways are reasonable with due consideration for your tee shot, and disc loss is probably not frequent. Big arms may not need their drivers much, however. This course will reward touch and a strong putting game more than distance.

Overall, I rate the course at Casey Logan as Very Good, and well worth checking out if you're in the Outer Banks. The course is first time friendly and a low stress, high fun outing. You may go back to your home course and wish for all special touches of this course, and your touch game will probably be better too.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Just Flat Out Fun!

2-4    3/4/2020   3/11/2020
Review By: lee76007
Played: 59  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 2.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very active Club Membership that is constantly improving the course and keeping it maintained. There facebook page is Outer Banks Disc Golf. Plenty of photos, club tournaments, and announcements to be found there. The type of club I would like to associated with, but too far away.
-Its a heavy wooded course, except for No. 16 that stretch's across sand.
-Tight fairways with obstacles (trees). Some canopy. Approaches with a few window baskets. Twisted pine trees bent over towards fairways thru out the course.
-The yellow baskets are the most guarded that I've seen compared to other courses The further red baskets not so much guarded, but a very narrow aspect, a few mounted on berns.
-Not all holes have red baskets, not all holes have back tee pads. Some are shared. Space restrictions.
-Outstanding course map, hole number, and distance posted on a very large board as you pull up in the parking lot.
-Hole signs with par, distance, and map.
-Except no. 16, hard pan surface for skips (my favorite shots). It had been at least 5 days since it rained there.
-Some swamp water on No. 4 and pathway to no. 5. The members are looking out for you, placing foot bridges, walking stones, and a latter to get across the water. Pathway to 5 tee has a latter across some soft mushy surfaces on the trail. There's also a disc catcher to retrieve your disc out of the water at no. 4. Also saw some woodchips placed at softer places on the course.
-Good course navigation. You can either see the next tee pad or direction markers to get you there.
-The long distances on some holes keep it interesting for advanced players.
-port a potty in parking lot area.
Cons: -The tee surfaces are a mixture of rubber matts, concrete, and field turf. Different sizes. No. 16 field turf was lumpy because of sand beneath it. However, may be the best that can be done. There were raised tee wooden markers on the front corners of the tee boxes, stumbled over a few during throws, almost falling once. Best to remove them and just spray paint the color of the tee marker on the front pad. Despite the con, on the majority of the tee pads I hardly took notice and was comfortable.
Other Thoughts: This is a very fun and enjoyable course that I plan on playing a handful of times a year, even though its 90 mins away.
The members have put a lot of TLC into their course and it shows. Compared to previous reviews, I could see the improvements as I strolled along the course.
If there could be some uniformity on the tee pads, and address the one safety issue. The course is a 4.5.
On the facebook page theirs some talk of extending the distance on No. 15 and 16 to make them Par 4's. This would help beginners, and keep it interesting for others. Perhaps my first 5.0? Maybe, and also to see if their are any other improvements that the club has planned, if any at all.
Notable Holes:
No. 3 Yellow, 185 feet basket on a raised sand dune. There are three wooden steps up to the basket to retrieve your disk. Dogleg right. Right side blocked by trees. Threw a left to right on track for my first ace second time around, it hit the steps. Sigh, still waiting. Awesome hole, my first experience with a raised basket of any type.
No. 4 straight down the fairway about 200 feet out is marsh water. Left side on other side of water is blocked out by trees, best to be on right side of fairway. Yellow basket protected by trees, red narrow aspect.
No 5. Yellow is a window basket, theirs a twisted pine tree that's your window in front of basket. Even though I was within birdie distance on my approach, I looked towards the red basket and would of rather of played there, I would of had a better chance at it. Best to go far right on yellow.
No 8 another window basket, a shared basket. Straight down fairway planted on ground, is a white arrow pointing at basket, The basket is off to the left. You need to get your drive to the arrow for a narrow chance of birdie or hit the crooked tree.
No. 15 straight down fairway with bunches of pine trees with some canopy. Need to keep in middle, theirs a narrow pathway for your approach to shared basket. The basket sits on bern and guarded by trees.
No. 17 is a dogleg right with a twisted pine tree at the break on left side of fairway. Got by it first time around with a light disk. Decided to use my heaviest disk for more skip, that twisted tree knocked it down. Basket is protect by trees.
No. 18 only par 4 on course. Straight down fairway about 200 out starts the heavy trees with narrow aspects to yellow basket for your approach, basket is guarded by trees. Red basket sits on knoll, ob behind it. Some canopy. Great finishing hole.

In my opinion:
Signature Hole is No. 16 Red Par 3 465 ft. Is a sand dune hole, the only hole to escape from the woods, and a reminder that your on a beach resort island. Tee box is elevated, sand all the way down the fairway, and a rolly polly fairway. To the left is brush, to the right is a fence and beyond are sand dunes. Cant see the sound. Only hole you'll feel wind, it was calm the day I played. What little wind I felt carried my disc (beautiful flight) to the brush on the left first time around. Adjusted the second time around to throw along the fence and ended barely on left side of fairway on a dune. I can only imagine what moderate and strong winds will do out of the west. Yellow basket sits in the open on left, red basket approach narrows.
Trouble hole is No. 9 Par 3 425 feet doglegs right. A little more than 200 feet down is cluster of pine trees with some canopy all the way to both baskets. Very narrow aspect to yellow basket which is also protect by trees. There is a narrow line to the red basket on the left side. The left side off fairway is heavy trees and brush, your disc could get hung up there. The red basket sits up on a small bern with a narrow aspect surround by trees, behind basket is ob. Throw down off of the tee pad as far as possible, and if you hit trees in the middle so be it. Figure it out from there. Depending on your skill level, a bogey may sound pretty good to you.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Happy there is a course right on the island

2-4    8/20/2019   8/23/2019
Review By: mubenny26
Played: 60  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - I am very happy there is now an easily accessible course right on the island, and doesn't require at least a one hour drive to play during vacation
- great baskets
- good use of land and it is very obvious all the hard work put into it
- very easy/clear navigation especially for a course that will have a high number of first timers at it, which is crucial
Cons: - VERY wooded, to the point where some holes or shots are "Chuck and Pray"
- some of the lines are not actual disc golf lines that anyone less than a top touring pro can hit
- righty friendly, and the very few "lefty hyzer" holes do not have a clear path to access the green
Other Thoughts: Speaking as someone who helps work on courses, I can tell you it is very obvious of all the extremely hard work that has gone in to this course. So my con comments above are not meant to take away from that or to be negative. I hope that some additional tinkering can be done to make some of the lines cleaner and maybe make it a little more lefty friendly. Thank you to all who have put in any time to make this course what it currently is!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Hard work pays off

2-4    8/13/2019   8/17/2019
Review By: Sully68783
Played: 52  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 17.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This review is for the yellow pads.

The course is a great example of North Carolina coniferous forest golf. Tight fairways demand precise throws and good form. Despite the sometimes-tricky lines, the design is fair: more experienced throwers will work putters and mids to the yellow baskets; newer players can pursue risk/reward placement and play for par.

Teepads are improving, and are fine for the distances and shots required. Drainage is INCREDIBLE compared to two years ago. I seriously can't believe the amount of work and the results. A dedicated club makes so much difference.

The course is very pretty, and hole 16 makes a great signature hole that is completely different from anything else on the track.
Cons: The autumn olive in the rough seems useful for separating fairways, but a few of them in the fairways could be taken out, both from a design and an invasive vs. native species perspective.
Other Thoughts: Again, it cannot be overstated what an accomplishment this course is. The land near Jockey's Ridge was basically impassible swampland a few years ago, and to transform it into well-drained land while also putting in a lovely course and protecting the land from development is a multi-pronged win for locals and tourists alike. Great job, Outer Banks Disc Golf Club!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Outstanding addition to an OBX vacation.

2-4    6/20/2019   6/21/2019
Review By: psvines
Played: 36  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 14.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The best aspect is the location. OBX now has a great course centrally located, within a reasonable drive from most of the vacation areas.
All but one hole is well shaded and provides relief during bright hot summer days.
There is a good variety of holes in terms of difficulty and distance, allowing all abilities to enjoy a vacation round.
Signage is outstanding, there was no issues navigating the course.
Cons: Honestly no major cons. The course is new and will eventually become well worn and beaten down, and help with the grassy areas that need constant attention.
Other Thoughts: Clearly the locals care about the game and the course, well evidenced by the thoughtful design and adequate signage.
We used bug spray and had no issues with biting, even a day after massive rainfall.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Nice wooded course

1    5/20/2019   5/22/2019
Review By: bburkholder2
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety of holes make it fun for beginners and more experienced players. Well marked holes for easy navigation. Multiple tees and baskets. The amount of trees help to keep the wind at bay and provide lots of shade for hot days. They also provide ample opportunity to get creative with your shot placement.
Cons: The biting flies are brutal, bring bug spray.
The tee pads could use some improvement.
Watch out for the occasional snake.
Other Thoughts: The local disc golf community is fantastic. Many, many people donated time, hard work, and of course money to make this course a reality. The locals are both welcoming and encouraging. As another reviewer mentioned, if you need discs go to the local hardware store a few miles down the road, just ask a local where to go. As a beginner I found the course challenging but not overwhelming.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course, challenging due to trees

1    5/15/2019   5/16/2019
Review By: TexasT
Played: 11  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent markets show layout of each hole
Nice benches at each tee box with multiple pins and tees each hole
Nice mix of left and right throws required
Beautiful pine wooded scenery
Tight fairways with many trees offer a nice challenge
Great large map showing course layout in case you need it
Cons: Only one open bomber hole that has OB from state park lining the right side; stay left!
One or two holes are tough to find the next tee box but you can take the map picture to clear that up.
Other Thoughts: I thought this was a really fun course and if I had more time I would have played through a second time from the back tees/pins. I enjoyed the well manicured wooded fairways and the trees made it a good challenge. All in all this is a great course for tight skilled shots and it is basically brand new and in terrific shape. For my first time playing it I shot a 6 over from the yellow (front) tees.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.