Sandpoint, ID 
Caliber DGC Share
Uploaded By: Kendall SDGA Pres  



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
I Saved My First Review for a Special Course

5+    8/10/2019   8/13/2019
Review By: Jah Plastifari
Played: 187  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 36.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent Overall Design - Fairways are well designed with landing areas for both sets of tees taken into consideration in the design of the par 4's and 5's. Long tees are designed for 425'+ throwers, short tees for 300'-425'. Strategic small groups and single trees in most fairways make the decision of shot shape and choice of desired landing area very important. The majority of all holes have adequate room to work a disc R to L or L to R off the tee.

Elevation Changes - For a good number of the shots faced elevation will need to be a major factor in disc and shot selection.

True Par 4's and 5's - The forest canopy makes playing high, over the top shots on all but one of the par 4's and 5's extremely difficult. The punishing thick rough also makes this playing style very risky. Eagles on this course will be very rare.

Tees - The turf tees provide an excellent teeing surface. The turf is the same material used for DiscGolfPark tees.

Balanced for Lefties Versus Righties - Overall, throwing left finishing versus right finishing shots seems to be well balanced on this course.

Dedicated Owner - This is by far the best feature of this course. It is hard to believe one person could accomplish what has been done on this property. An estimated 3,000 trees were felled and stumps removed on some challenging terrain to make this course possible. Improvements are continually being implemented. Plans are in the works for novice friendly tees, a clubhouse, and best of all, a second even longer course on adjoining property which has been purchased.
Cons: Rough - The rough can be very punishing. Thinning along the fairways and around the greens is planned. A significant amount of time is likely to be spent looking for errant shots.

Signage - Tee signs are planned for a future improvement.

Unnatural Elements - The dirt road down hole # 2's fairway, and the power line crossing the fairways of # 13 and # 14 are minor detractions from the overall natural beauty of the rest of the course.

Two and a Half Hour Plus Rounds - Not a large drawback, but this is not a "play a quick round after work" type of course.

Fitness Factor - The elevation changes make this course very challenging for anyone with mobility issues.
Other Thoughts: 8,736' from the long tees and 7,772' from the shorts.
Premiums are placed on hitting fairways and being able to scramble when a shot is missed.
350'+ power required for a decent chance to shoot under par from the short tees.

Blatant Personal Opinions:
I estimate I have played over 3,000 distinct holes. My number 1 (#11, 776' par 5) and number 2 (#4, 612' short and 717' long par 4) all time favorite holes are at Caliber. If I sat down and made an actual list, I think another 3 or 4 from this course would make my top 15, and only 3 or 4 here would not be in my top 100.

I have the distance to birdie every hole from the short tees, but finishing a round at even par feels satisfying. My guess would be that even par from the short tees would be a 960ish rated round.

I am a big fan of courses with significant elevation changes. I really enjoy the additional challenge of trying to determine how the disc will react to traveling faster downhill and slower uphill. Caliber hits the sweet spot of just the right amount of elevation change for me.

Once the finishing touches are in place, I am positive a 5 star rating will be justified and I will increase my rating at that time.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

It's the best course I've ever played

1    11/1/2018   8/8/2019
Review By: enny
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: When I say it's the best course I've played I mean it. I've traveled quite a bit in the Northwest and have played Shelton Springs, Milo McIver State Park, Farragut State Park, Pier Park, along with countless other amazing courses. Calibur takes the cake. The grounds are maintained beyond belief and have opened my eyes to what is possible for a privately owned Disc Golf course. The use of elevation is exciting and unique. The course design was well thought out and offers differing levels of challenge. Placement is important on the par 4's and 5's, and if you don't perform your game plan you will find trouble. With that being said, the course is super fair.

The middle section of the course reminds me heavily of Hillcrest DGC (home of the Canadian Nationals). Tight, well carved out fairways playing through dense woods. Be ready to shape some shots.

There is a water feature in play towards the back half of the course. An elevated par 3 with a small hillside behind the basket that reminds me of hole 16 at Trojan Park in Oregon.

There are so many holes that are memorable for their own reason. If you have the chance to get out to Sandpoint to play this place and support the course DO IT. You will not be disappointed.

Cons: When I played it, there were no tee pads. I've learned that turf tee pads have been recently installed.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Best course in the inland north west

5+    8/4/2019   8/8/2019
Review By: Kendall SDGA Pres
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 17.3 Years
Pros: Let'me just start this by saying this is the best course I have ever played. Everything about its construction and vision spells quality and professionalism for our sport.
Paul has built a real gem of a course.
Once you get to the club house and see the manicured green of hole 18 you know your in for a real treat.
After a short little strole you find your self at hole 1 which is one of the best starting hole I have played. A nice down hill shot to get your wings warmed up on. From there you start to wined your way through the forested land with lots of elevation changes,clover filled far ways,and lots of challenging par 3,4s and 5s. All the tee pads are constructed from the latest turf that have been secured on extremely well built wood boxes and back filled with the perfect gravel which leads to great run ups and solid footing with low physical compaction in any weather. Currently there are pro and advanced amateur pads in place with am pads/family friendly pads coming in the future. There is definitely a separation between the pro and advanced Amateur pads for the professional player. Amateurs will find lots of challenge to progress there game.Once you get off the tee you will find yourself in some of the most far challenging farways you could ask for. There are really no holes that favor either a right hand or a left handed players. You just have to play clean smart golf to get low scores. Yes the rough is rough when you get in it but if you find yourself there you didn't execute your shot on the generous farways and should be penalized for it. As Caliber is a newer course and has only been built by a one man wrecking ball you can expect to find some areas that need attention but chances are the next time you play it won't be there and you would only be knit picking. For me words will never be able to tell you how good this course is and how good it will continue to improve for all of use. You just need to go play it to find out for yourself.
Cons: The only con is I am not a better thrower.
Other Thoughts: If you want a challenge for any level of your game you need to stop by and say hi to Paul and go see what Caliber of a player you are.

Unfinished business

1    8/4/2019   8/4/2019
Review By: mile9542
Played: 17  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 24 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful course layout. Awesome turf tee pads. Varied terrain and elevations. Nice fairways.
Cons: The rough is REALLY rough. If you don't place your shot or hit a tree you may be looking for your disk for a long time.
Other Thoughts: Clearly unfinished but still a good course that is fun to play.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Best course in the Inland Northwest!

2-4    5/19/2019   7/25/2019
Review By: Faulkner
Played: 42  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Where do I start!?

Paul, the property owner, is a great host and has created a true gem of a course to play.

This course has everything that an avid disc golfer looks for in a top tier disc golf course. It has wooded yet fair fairways, elevation changes, challenging par 4's and par 5's that require accurate distance placement shots, reachable par 3's and even has a downhill over the pond shot!

Caliber has truly shown me something we are not accustomed to here in the northwest. The course is constantly getting better every round, as Paul continuously does work on improvements. The teepads started originally as dirt but are currently being retrofitted with turf teepads. Turf teepads?! We don't have those around here!

All in all, if you are traveling through and have the time, this is a MUST play. Catching a round with Paul is always a blast and you can sometimes catch a couple of the locals there too who are very friendly.
Cons: Only cons would be that its not 100% to where the finished version of the course will be. But when it's done, I think it will be hard to knock it in any way.
Other Thoughts: Can't wait to make another trip out!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.