Sandpoint, ID 
Caliber DGC Share
Uploaded By: BlazedOrangeHat Hole #9 (Taken 6/2020)
4 / 525ft.   4 / 525ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Idaho Gem

5+    10/11/2020   10/21/2020
Review By: Thorsdad
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent designed turf tee pads.
Hand-painted, to-scale & accurate tee signs.
Seating at each pad with enough space for the whole card with rock/boulder features here and there.
Progressive manicured 'fair'ways with smooth rolling hills of mowed grass & clover.
I can't stress enough how perfect the fairways are designed, rough is rough, but that's the point, stay on the fairways and you'll score well.
Great use of elevation requiring calculated intentional shots.
A good mix of par 3, 4 & 5's, the longer holes requiring skilled placement shots and attention to tee signs if you plan to score well.
Excellent job making every hole unique.
Picture perfect views and geography, feels like you were transported to Europe.. think Konopiste.
Greens are well manicured... true greens, no gimmicky little sucker trees growing within circle one.
Caliber is by far the best all around course I've played. Paul really created a gem here, course designers please take notes.

A big thanks to the entire Stiller family for creating and sharing this place, you guys are awesome humans!
Cons: Could use more wind chimes ;)

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

World class course

5+    10/6/2020   10/19/2020
Review By: Fish head
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: Every hole is picturesque and masterfully planned out. Words are almost impossible to describe this course. It's a must play and memorable experience type of thing!
Paul and his family are such wonderful people and their level of hospitality is unmatched!
Cons: None

1 of 16 people found this review helpful.

Intermediate/Expert

1    10/1/2020   10/18/2020
Review By: notapro
Played: 532  Reviewed: 281  Exp: 17.3 Years
20 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Course is set on a large piece of wooded, hilly private property, so there's no chance of interference with any non-disc golf activities.
- Makes great use of the constant elevation changes here, with very few flat holes to be found anywhere. While it might be classified as moderately hilly, when *every* hole is moderately hilly, it adds up quick.
- Fantastic mix of shorter, reachable par 3's with long, multi-shot Par 4's and 5's that require planned shot placement. The elevation is again used well to make sure there are long/short uphills and long/short downills.
- Some nice risky greens to ensure that the approach and putt take as much thought as the tee shot. Hole #11 is a 776' hole that ends with a raised basket on the fastest green on the course, if I remember correctly, great finish to the Par 5.
- Water comes into play on two holes; both shots have you throw over a small pond/marshed valley. #13 tests accuracy more than distance, while #14 tests distance control more than accuracy. #14 is great because you have to throw far enough to clear the water, but not too straight and far or you miss the bend in the fairway.
- A few longer holes give you the option of going left or right of some forested patches in the fairway; always love to see that in non-wooded courses to allow for some decision making.
- The extra 1,000' added from the long pads is no joke - both long and short holes become much more difficult, not just because of length, but also because of additional gaps and elevation.
- Top-notch tee signs and tee pads. These were obviously built to last, with every hole having perfectly level and groomed teepads sitting atop a mound of compacted gravel.
Cons: - The location of the course, among towering pines, means there aren't many "wooded" holes with tight fairways carved out of smaller trees. This is more of a personal preference, almost even an aesthetic gripe, then a design issue.
- The terrain here is also very forgiving for errant shots. The rough on the sides of many fairways don't punish mistakes the same as wooded courses. Even on a few shanks, I wasn't punished and had a great look to save par.
Other Thoughts: - I stumbled upon this course by sheer luck, two nights before when looking at the Farragut courses for the 10th time on the DGCR map browser. Boy, am I glad I did. I was stoked to be able to play the course on such short notice! The highlight of a 10-day, 26-course road trip.
- This is the first review I've written in 6 years, but I promised I would! This course is easily in my personal top 20 for both challenge and enjoyment, a solid 4.5 worth going out of the way for.

20 of 22 people found this review helpful.

Dream Course

5+    10/10/2020   10/17/2020
Review By: Johnny Mogul
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Amazingly designed course. Mix of 3,4,and 5's. Rolling hills, elevation change, trees, and overall well manicured. Pros and Am pads that are so well put together and thoughtfully built. Can't say enough about Paul and his dream course. Lucky enough to live 15 minutes away. Well done paul !

2 of 12 people found this review helpful.

A true Gem

5+    10/5/2020   10/17/2020
Review By: JaredPerson
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The detail that went into, not only the design of the holes, but the overall experience of the round simply cannot be understated.
From the moment you drive into the property you are greeted with a view of Hole 2s immaculate teeing area (and i call it an area on purpose, these are not just tee pads)...its at this moment you realize two things...holy cow thats the nicest tee pad ive ever seen, and two, thats one heck of a hole.
When you reach the parking lot, park and meet Paul, you will instantly be pulled into the majesty of the property. Hole 18 staring you in the face as you pay your greens fee, hole ones chains rattling as the first group of the day putts out. The entire place a buzz with players excited to tackle a hole that ate thier lunch the day before. And all this before you make your way to the practice green......
Sounds to good huh?
Well no joke, this place truly lives up to the hype.
I remember the first time i was invited to come out and see the property and play a round. I was told, " man you got to see Pauls course he's building, its Amazing!" and i replied, "Oh yah for sure! cant wait!" thinking the entire drive up about the previous private courses ive played...full of charm and the property owners unique vision, but more often then not, putting on old retired baskets, chomping thru some thick under brush, throwing off of dirt tee pads... And I love those courses! But what Paul created is something entirely different.
As i Played hole 1...2...3...4..i felt like i was transported to some European course id only seen on videos....rolling fairways full of poplar and aspens...i looked over at my playing partner and asked, "is this like the best course in the world?" Awe struck and feeling the same as me he only nodded his head. "I think it might be."
That was three years ago, and today it is only better:

Amazing tee pads
Well groomed and cared for Fairways
A thoughtful and enjoyable design with hole concepts id never seen
FUN! (its such a fun course!)
And the real icing on the cake, an Amazing owner who is 100 percent dedicated to improving and maintaining the land.
Cons: None, i gave it a 5 because i truly believe its perfect
Other Thoughts: Just a huge Thank you to Paul and the Entire Stiller family for creating this place....i plan to enjoy it for years to come!

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

A world class gem hidden in the North Idaho panhandle

5+    9/11/2019   10/16/2020
Review By: Simmeltron
Played: 48  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 16.4 Years
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is simply one of, if not the most, amazing course I have ever played. Probably gave that award to Milo in the past, but this place is literally standing toe to toe with it. Because of the large amount of land and Paul's ability to design fairways via excavator, he has created a truly extraordinary course up there. No overlapping fairways or even much chance of an errant throw landing on a different fairway. Fairways are fair, rough can be punishing if you shank your shot or ricochet off a tree. There are lots of rolling hills, uphill shots and downhill bombers, every arm will be challenged and you better hope you have your head in the game and your body responds in kind! There are new Discmania turf teepads on the course now which are are pleasure to be able to throw off of. Almost all of the holes, save a few, have two tee placements: "Advanced Ams" and "Pros".
Cons: As the "Advanced Ams" tee says, this is not a course for novice players. It will stretch you to the limit and then some. It is also VERY physical so bring lots of fluids, a powerbar, good disc golf shoes, and prepare for a beast of a course.

That said, none of those things are cons. Can't really think of any to be honest!
Other Thoughts: This is a destination course that any lover of disc golf should have on their bucket list. You must see it to believe it!

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

If this course doesnít deserve 5 stars, I donít know what does.

2-4    9/1/2020   10/16/2020
Review By: The Albatross
Played: 36  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 11.4 Years
3 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: I don't know what you can really say, it's just perfect. Everything is obsessively well thought out and executed - tees, signs, fairways, greens, you name it. This is the benchmark.
Cons: It's too far away from where I live.

3 of 17 people found this review helpful.

Such a great course

1    8/11/2020   10/14/2020
Review By: Altron333
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1
16 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Great tee boxes
- To scale and very informative tee signs
- Well laid out holes. Lots of variation, no "filler" holes, a lot of holes have multiple options.
- Isn't a backhand only course, but there also aren't holes that are forehand only.
- Lots of the holes have several options to get to the pin. A good test of your mental game/decision making.
- The owner, Paul, is super friendly and nice.
- Can't say enough good things about this course. It was overall just a ton of fun.

Cons: - The short tees are considered "advanced amateur" and the pro tees are definitely intended for pro level players. Not really a con, but this course would not be very fun for a beginner.
Other Thoughts: Overall, just a really great course that was put together with a ton of care. I got to play a round with the owner while I was there and he had put so much thought into making it a great course for everyone. This would be a great course without the teepads and tee signs, but those things are the cherry on top of the cake. The course is challenging, but all gives you all the tools to attack it at your highest level.

16 of 17 people found this review helpful.

I guess 5ís exist

1    9/21/2020   9/22/2020
Review By: EdDopp
Played: 51  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 26.8 Years
4 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: I could give a big long list of how amazing this course is but I think the fact I logged in for the first time since 2009 just to review a course speaks for itself.

Challenges your shot selection and requires course management skills to putt a good round together. Natural rough that punishes shots accordingly. Lack of gimmicky hole or holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a clear top 3 all time for me and possibly the best.

4 of 18 people found this review helpful.

 Pipe Dream

5+    8/31/2020   9/8/2020
Review By: Full Time Recreation
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The desgin of this course utilizes all the asepct of the property very well.

Paul did a good job bringing the old school ball golf design to work for disc golf. Using elevation and exact angles all while incorporating the natural elements into play; prodominate wind direction, sun light, visual miscues.

The construction of this couse is top notch. Every attention to detail was accouted for; gravel pack around teepad, tuff pad constution, landing zones, saftey mitigation. neighoboring land condiseration
Cons: Caliber is a championship level course and is intended to be a place to test your ability, both physically and mentally. This is only a con if you are not at the level of skill needed to make it through this course while being able to enjoy all the challenges that come along with it.

This same notion gives private courses their place as they can cater to a higher skill level while leaving to local municipalities to provide courses designed to be inclusive. It is thought that lower skill level course design impacts a larger user base. (research pending)
Other Thoughts: This is a destination course.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.