Dallas, TX 
Weichsel Park Share
Uploaded By: aclay Hole #4 (Taken 11/2019)
3 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Not inspiring.

1    9/8/2020   9/8/2020
Review By: jughandle10
Played: 12  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good picture of the course map by the parking lot, important to take a picture of it. Convenient Location to downtown and uptown dallas. Good signage on each hole. Uses the land well to maximize length and difficulty
Cons: The teepads are being renovated and should be done soon. They will have added a 2nd set of boxes. It's not soon enough in spite of the temporary markings. I played on the original boxes and was happy i didnt sprain an ankle. I couldn't run up on any of them and didn't have a single decent drive. Hole 2 apparenitly floods easily, so i took the long route, and after weakly sidearming about 225 feget landed inches from was almost certainly human feces (to big to obe a dog). That was tilting though probably just unlucky. Litter abounds, and in spite of the trees you do not feel like you are communing with nature in any way. Some of the current drives are badly impacted by overgrowth. Grass was very high in several places it shouldnt be including the putting zone on 8. Hole 5 is a hazard risk to traffic if a lefty is on the tee, or any righty who pull hooks their drive as badly as I did
Other Thoughts: Wanted to give this 1.5 stars but did meet a couple of nice people on the course. One was sharing how they were renovating it and planning to make it more of a destination and are fundraising actively for that. I wish them well for that reason.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice technical 9-hole

1    3/26/2020   3/28/2020
Review By: jammindiscs
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Layout was fun! Nice elevation change. Great signage, and a good addition to other Dallas courses.
Great variation of shots from hole to hole. From open, to lightly wooded, to hilly, and straight ahead shots there is a little bit of it all. A convenient practice basket in the front. And easy to read kiosk.
Cons: A few tee pads need work. Sometimes there is flooding near the creek. Every now and then a homeless person. If the city does not pick up trash it can build up.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

nice layout

1    3/2/2020   3/2/2020
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 335  Reviewed: 273  Exp: 13.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -lots of obstacles to make some interesting holes: mature trees, a creek, and small elevation changes
-good layout that is easy to follow
-tee signs showing hole number, distance, basket location, and next tee
-new Patriot baskets
-a couple of interesting holes that make you shape a line, lots of low ceilings
-course map and practice basket right next to the parking lot
Cons: -the park is small but it doesn't feel crowded
-holes 6-8 are fairly close together but shouldn't interfere much
-the park itself is a little dirty/sleazy but the course is helping to clean it up
-the gravel tees are pretty awful. there is space around them to use but some of the tee areas are on uneven ground. the tee on hole 4 has some broken up concrete and is totally unusable.
-no real creek crossings. there are stepping stones on hole 1, a place to go around on hole 5, but no good crossing on hole 8 (i found it best to walk past tee 9 to go around to the green for hole 8)
Other Thoughts: Weichsel Park has a fun little layout. The course circles around the park. The first few holes play from slightly elevated teepads shooting down into the "bowl" of the park. On these holes you need to stay under the ceiling while throwing slightly downhill. They aren't exactly short holes so it's a challenge to stay under the ceiling but still get distance. Holes 3 and 4 both dogleg right and hole 5 is the open bomb across the field with the creek just before the green. The remaining holes make their way back to the parking area and make use of more low ceilings and creek side greens.

The course is easy to navigate and quickly played. It's a perfect place to kill some time while waiting for a flight to come in at Love Field. There is also a bunch of food options within a few blocks.

This is a great place to get in a quick round or get some putting or field practice. There are a variety of shots to practice and lines to shape so a beginner could learn a lot about throwing the disc here. The tees are pretty poor but fairly easy to avoid however they will get worse with time. Maybe concrete could be in the future if the course gains traction and a local group. Some better creek crossings would be a big help too.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Weichsel Park

5+    9/19/2020   11/23/2019
Review By: aclay
Played: 186  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 36 Years
This review was updated on 9/19/2020
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -- Good course flow.
-- Good variation in hole length (265-420 feet) without having really short holes.
-- Good use of the elevation available.
-- Water (small creek) is in play on numerous holes.
-- Practice basket.
-- Excellent map and tee signs, with next tee marked.
-- Two tee pads per hole.
Cons: -- The original tee pads are perhaps the worst I have ever seen. They are easily the worst tee pads that are not natural (dirt or grass) that I have seen. However, in the past 10 months, natural tee pads (two per hole) have been installed. At this point, they are marked by orange paint on the ground and some logs. Not perfect but much better than the original tee pads. In some instances, the signs need to be moved (and perhaps updated).
-- Creek crossings are not good. There are no bridges, etc. Getting to basket Nos. 1 and 5 is especially tricky (although you can walk the long way around by the roads to the right to avoid these two creek crossings), as is the crossing from No. 8 basket to No. 9 tee.
-- During the day, the park seems OK, but there is plenty of evidence of homeless people living there.
-- Lots of trash.
Other Thoughts: -- As you enter the small park, you will pass the No. 1 tee on your right.
-- Be aware as you walk up the No. 9 fairway. The first basket you see will be the practice basket. The No. 9 basket is left and by the creek.
-- Lots of OB is marked. Some of it is for safety reasons to separate holes/fairways. Other OB seems to be for design, and I am not a fan of that.
-- The practice basket has a circle marked, but it is not 10 meters (33 feet). It is in the 28-30 foot range.
-- Right behind Rusk Middle School.
-- So close to Love Field that I felt as if dozens of planes were going to land in the park. I also wondered if I could have hit a plane with a driver. Not likely with my rag arm, but I can dream.
-- Lots of standing water. It's hard to say for sure whether this is a big issue or not, but Lytle Park a few miles away had no standing water on the same day on my first visit. On a subsequent visit, there was even more standing water.
-- The individual holes, especially if you had decent tee pads, are much better than the overall course. If the tee pads were fixed, and if standing water is not an issue most of the time (seems unlikely), this could easily be a 3.0 disc course, and possibly a 3.5 disc course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

this course has a great layout

1    9/10/2019   9/10/2019
Review By: ivanhenson
Played: 288  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 9.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Whoever laid out this course did a fabulous job. They used elevation changes in the creek whenever they could. Brand new baskets and Great Signs tee pads are being added. There is some real distance on this for a 9-hole it is not a beginner's 9-hole course several over 300 feet and even some over 400. The creek and the trees and the elevation change make every hole interesting.
Cons: This is an urban park. There is trash everywhere and several of the giant trees have fallen down in are in the way. You will also see homeless people's bed stuff everywhere however if you played during the day be homeless people aren't in the park. Also try to avoid talking to people in the parking lot there can be some shady stuff going down but if you play during the day everything is fine
Other Thoughts: This is a great 9-hole course it is not for beginners if you're in the Dallas area you should swing by and play. I enjoy playing even though the tee pads aren't poured yet

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.