Norfolk, VA 
Poplar Hall 9 Share
Uploaded By: DerekTonn   (Taken 10/2018)
Course Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
A Solid Course

5+    4/10/2021   11/20/2019
Review By: lee76007
Played: 59  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 2.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/10/2021
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -A combination of open, wooded, and upslope holes. Only 9 has any type of tee box challenge with a gap.
-A good course for beginners to start on, some holes competitive for Intermediate, and Advanced will have there way with the course. I have seen families and elderly couples on the course, a well-rounded representation of Disc Golf Players.
-Good navigation counterclockwise. Good player flow around the course, compared to a few other courses where players are moving at a snail's pace. Course route is kept away from rest of park.
-Theirs a reverse route on the course. That's what the second set of 9's distance's listed are for, the reverse route. Those tees are a combination of sidewalk and grass.
-Tee signs have par, distance, map, and next tee arrow.
-As of this past week, all tee pads are now concrete.
-Parks dept. does a good job with course upkeep.
Cons: -Hole 7 sign is missing, Mando signs on 7 are missing as well, along with 8. Perhaps the mando's were taken down? Fine by me.
-After a heavy rain holes 2 and 5 can become very muddy. In front of 7 basket a pond can develop.
-The reverse route some of the fairways are forced, and I would not recommend on a busy weekend, can disrupt flow. Still haven't found 17 tee. There are no tee signs for reverse route. The tees on sidewalk are spray painted, and in grass a small flag.
-A busy park on the weekend with no restrooms.
-On a weekday, a few cars could be parked doing their own business.
Other Thoughts: Its good that the concrete tees were installed this past week at the time of this update. I played here last month a few times, for the first time in 14 months. The woodchips were so rutted out, the tees could not be used on a few holes. Good job by the local club getting the concrete installed!! On my 2 visits last month, I was about to knock the rating down by a full point along with a few other issues, but thankfully hadn't done the update yet.
I still find the wooded holes challenging enough, and the course enjoyable. But this was one of my first handful of courses I had played and I've played at least 20 others since then. I now have a lot of other courses to compare Poplar Hall too, so, my overall rating is not going to change, despite the upgrades to the tees. It takes about 25 minutes to play a round.
Notable Holes:
No. 4 Par 3 at 247 feet theirs a clump of pine trees straight thru to the basket, but the gaps are only about 10 feet for 100 feet distance. Best to go left to right around trees. However, need to hit the brakes. The basket is protected by guardian trees, just a few feet past the basket is a roller down slope. With the guardian trees, I've had C1 putts where all I could do was pitch out closer to the basket.
No. 7 Par 3 at 263 feet is a dogleg right thru a tunnel of trees, but not too narrow and down slope. There used to be mandos to make sure you threw thru the gap of trees and not along the service road straight to the basket. I like the service road for the skips and straight to the basket. Still need to be careful, have the trees on the left and a clump of bushes along the right of the service road. Shoot thru the 40-foot gap and up and over a few park signs, you could have a make able birdie putt.
No. 16 Par 3 at 280 feet on the reverse route. Throwing off the walking trail {pavement) with the outfield fence sitting at 6 feet high, and 15 feet in front of you. So, you need to get the disc up and over past the outfield and on to the fairway, about 100 feet distance. The basket is the No. 4 basket sitting on top of the ridge. The reverse roller is 40 feet up. I threw a high turn over the only time I've played the reverse route, and a good throw that landed on the up slope, only to have it roll about 30 feet back toward me. A lay up for par.



Signature Hole is No. 5 at 280 feet, which is one of two open holes. No trees from tee to basket. Half way up the fairway it rises up a hill, to the basket which sits on top of a knoll. Behind the basket are trees, which do not come into play. In the evening the sun will sit behind the basket and trees. On the left is a fenced softball field along the fairway, it will come into play only if you throw a wild shot to the left. However, on the right that does come into play is the service road, and on its right is a marsh area with very tall Catskills. Best to throw straight down the fairway. Also a creek, that's too far away in the marsh to cause a problem. Imagine playing in the evening in the summer with a softball game to the left, and marsh area to the right with the sun setting behind the basket. Very scenic, and the softball field makes it unique.
Trouble hole is No. 6 at 245 feet. Also an open fairway along as you stay middle and far to the right as possible, without throwing into the Marsh area. The basket is a sharp dogleg left at least 200 feet down the fairway for a chance at a birdie, but well protected by a large and wide bushy tree on the left. It could be the most well protect basket in the Norfolk/Virginia Beach area that's only guard by one obstacle. If you throw left and long into the tree that's a bogey. Any where on the left side of the fairway, your flirting with a bogey. Throw as close to the right as possible, and if your long enough, you'll have a chance for a birdie. But, the landing area is very small, smaller than a C1. If your a long distance thrower, you could also reach the marsh area, it too dog legs left with the hole.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Low Country Nine-holer

2-4    3/9/2019   3/11/2019
Review By: Hix007
Played: 79  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 19.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great little low-country, southern pines course.Played this for a tournament and it didn't disappoint. Perfect beginner course as none of the holes are longer than 300'. Challenging hyzer and anhyzer tee shots, but little to no rough. All the pine tags and leaves keep the underbursh to a minimum. Seven wooded holes, with two open holes that have a creek running down the righ-hand side of the fairway. Walking paths, roads, mandos and the creek make for some challenging OB to contend with.
Cons: The raised mulched tee pads can be slippery when wet. This is s new course, so they haven't installed signage, benches or a course map. it was easy to navigate as long as you know you have to walk around the baseball fields when you finish #4 and go to the tee for #5. No bathrooms or Porta-potty.
Other Thoughts: This is a short course, so big arm throwers will want to play elsewhere. If you want to practice your short game though, this little course is a good indicator of accuracy. If the park is busy, as there are two baseball fields, basketball courts, a playground and a shelter, there is limited parking (probably 40 spots including the road). There is a flagged set of long tees, and it does change the line to throw on about half of the holes.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/5/2018   5/5/2018
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 117  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 13 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is new and raw. It is the only course in Norfolk and the entire area could use more courses, so this is most welcomed. It mostly play through a wooded area with a couple open shots. I think the distances are perfect for introducing the sport to a new city while still being challenging.

Other Pros:
- logical navigation
- long tee areas
- nice use of space available
Cons: The course is new and the details to make it better are lacking right now. So you won't have benches or tee signs yet. You may need to walk up the hole to find the basket and then back track if it's your 1st time.

Other cons:
- rough is very thick and hard to retrieve an errant throw
- mando signs are being hidden by the leaves growing in
- I had to kick the wood chips in the tee boxes to get them even for where i wanted to throw from
Other Thoughts: I hope this is a start to grow DG courses in the area. This is a fun 9-holer and that can get more people playing. The extras will come so just be patient with the course until then.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Good change of pace for local area

5+    3/24/2018   3/24/2018
Review By: FaullGuy
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Poplar hall 9 is a brand new course and gives a great change of scenery compared to other local courses (Bayville I'm talking about you!)

The course itself is well laid out for the small area that it takes up. All 9 holes are par 3 and the layout makes it easy to get par (yet not to easy) however to get a 2 on a hole you HAVE to get a good drive. Unlike other local courses where birdies may sometimes feel like a par this course, in particular, it feels good to get a birdie.

This course will challenge you with multiple lines that you can take to get to the basket. Overall the holes are wooded for the most part but fairly open all at the same time.
Cons: This is a brand new course (literally put in a week ago) so there is still finishing touches that need to be done:
Teebox is a wood rectangle outlining a natural pad and no signs to show the hole or direction to next hole. (I assume more will be added with time)

Being a new course fairways are fairly crisp (exception to hole 9 still trying to figure out the exact line for that one) but could still use some "course maintenance".
Other Thoughts: All in all a great course to change up the scenery and to challenge yourself with something new! Highly recommend this course!

Hole 1 and hole 6 are standout to me.

And water doesn't really come into play unless you had a bad shot.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.