Tomball, TX 
B. Schmitz Park Share



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Can I have my 15 min back?

1    4/14/2018   4/17/2018
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 488  Reviewed: 264  Exp: 30.3 Years
7 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: It has baskets
if you use the UDisc app map, you have a few elevated tee shots
Cons: Everything but the actual baskets.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the worst courses I have ever played. 9 baskets in a flood control area.

Here is a hole by hole review
Hole 1, wide open pitch and putt down the hill
Hole 2 wide open shot on the edge of the hill
Hole 3 wide open shot over basket 2 to basket 3
Hole 4, wide open longest hole on the course
Hole 5 Wide Open shot throwing off the top of the hill again
Hole 6 Wide open shot along the side of the hill
Hole 7 Wide open pitch and putt
Hole 9 Wide Open pitch and putt with the hill behind the basket.

That is just it, there is not one single tree or anything for that matter between the tee area and the baskets.

Nothing is marked so you either make up your own holes, or use the UDisc map to play the course.

I did not try to play the map made up in the files section, it just would have prolonged the agony of playing this course.

Would I play here again?

under no circumstances. There is absolutely zero reason to play this course unless your like me and just want to bag it.

Now if you live in the area and want to introduce people to the game, this might be a good course for that. Might be a good course to bring the local Scouts out to and help them earn the Frisbee badges, can use the field to teach them Ultimate and other disc games.

But as far as a disc golf course. This is not a course, this is a practice field.

Don't play here

7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Nope. Nope nope nope.

1    4/5/2018   4/5/2018
Review By: blake833
Played: 75  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 8.2 Years
16 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: There are baskets in a field.
Cons: There are only baskets in a field.

The baskets are wantonly placed in an open field. Actually, field is being generous. The baskets are wantonly placed in a neighborhood drainage basin. A deep one. And they are all at the bottom. Calling this a "disc golf course" is being very generous. Because it is not a course, it is just a bunch of baskets.

There are no tees. No signs. No maps. No distances. There is nothing. To be a 2 rating, DGCR qualifies that course as "Reasonable," yet this is the farthest from "reasonable," much less a course, I've ever seen. It's 9 practice baskets basically.

It's hard to critique anything else, because there is nothing else there. No fairways, no obstacles, no tees- nothing. Are you getting the picture yet?
Other Thoughts: Other thoughts... hmmm......

I guess I can say that the baskets are new and seem to be decent, but honestly if they were just the cheapest traveler baskets or freakin Mach X's it wouldn't make a difference. You're still not actually playing a real course.

Only go here to bag it. Even beginners deserve more than this, because there's nothing her to help you practice throws and disc flight. It would be better to have one basket in an open field, or just playing catch, to get used to throwing discs, instead of leading on someone into thinking this is a real course. People who call this a disc golf course probably call flour a spice. Or try to teach their pet rock/chia pet tricks because they think that's a real pet. This is a disc golf course in the same sense my sister's childhood rocking horse competes in the Kentucky Derby.

I don't even know what else to say. I'm not even angry, just amazed that someone tried to design a disc golf course without ever visiting one. Just by description. I am trying to imagine a scenario where someone thought, "you know what we need? Nine baskets in this field. That'll do it!" and decided to stop there.

There is no good conclusion to this review. I've never reviewed a facade of a course before, so I don't even know how to sum it up. But I hope you got the picture and know this course may be the best of the worst, and you go play it just out of curiosity in the same sense as people who intentionally watch very bad movies.

16 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 Not so bad if you live near

1    4/1/2018   4/4/2018
Review By: de.chapin
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: 1. It's close if you live in the Lakewood Forest area.
2. It's a reasonably long course if you play it that way. See 9 basket long layout I've posted on the media tab.
3. We play the first basket up near the street and throw down into the retention area - sort of cool.
Cons: Other review is correct, no obstacles whatsoever. ..except for a couple of soccer nets if you throw it a certain way.
Other Thoughts: For folks just wanting to practice long throws or beginners who need a clear line of site to the basket, no matter where their disc lands, it's a cool little bit of fun in the neighborhood. I wouldn't drive across town for it, though.

3 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Worst 9 Placed Baskets in Houston

1    3/30/2018   4/2/2018
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 227  Reviewed: 167  Exp: 6.2 Years
17 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is fairly easy to spot within the Gettysburg neighborhood in Tomball. There is no designated parking, but parking on the street is not an issue. You will be able to see all 9 baskets from the street as the course sits in a retention pond about 15' below the street level.

The baskets are all new Mach 3s. They aren't the top of the line baskets, but they definitely are not the worst baskets out there. There is ample space in the park with no other things happening in the space besides a few soccer goals. A walking trail runs at the ridge of the retention pond, so no worries about hitting anyone. There are some options for really long safari holes.
Cons: A few weeks ago, I reviewed Jersey Village DGC and called the baskets there the worst placed baskets in Houston. Well, this takes the cake!

There is literally no obstacles whatsoever. It is 9 baskets sitting in a swampy area. There are no tee signs, no markings on the baskets, nothing.

Being in a retention pond, the course holds water. There is a an additional ditch that runs in the middle of the course that seems to chronically hold water. I played a couple days after a rain storm, and I took off my shoes to avoid them getting wet.

I have seen courses played in retention ponds that utilize the side of the ditch as some added elevation. These baskets do not utilize it at all.
Other Thoughts: There is really no reason to make an effort to get out here. It is a bit of a drive off of any major highway (15 minute drive from SH249) and there is nothing here other than baskets in a field. There is no course layout, no tee markings, no numbers on a basket. I would not recommend playing here even to the biggest of course baggers.

It is cool that this sits in a neighborhood to introduce new players, but it even falls short of being a passable intro level course.

17 of 18 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.