Columbus, IN 
Ceraland Lakeside Share
Uploaded By: lukejones Hole #10
5 / 684ft.   5 / 885ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Am Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Enjoyable and walking disc golf course

2-4    9/10/2018   2/10/2019
Review By: thejonesian
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good walking distance and you are expected to be out for a long round, most holes are easy to find, as well the course has more variety in layouts and that creates more enjoyable in throwing and trying different windows on each hole.
Cons: No concrete tees! Beware, some holes will be blocked or overtaken when there are events going on certain fields. There are some holes are too long and they comes in streak of 3-4 holes in row before the distance cools down.
Other Thoughts: Scenic views! Wide in horizon and not too woody, in my opinion, it is balanced course. This course is something that I would come back and play at least once or twice a year (coming from northeast of Indianapolis).

P2P (Pay To Play), but I do not mind. Restrooms, water fountains, plenty of shades, good parking spots, well groomed course and some more just waiting on concrete tees.

and to add, great place for a day or weekend trip-- buddies or families. Columbus is always rated a top spot to visit, as is Nashville which is not far down the road.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good play

2-4    12/30/2018   12/30/2018
Review By: BoilerUp
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Well laid out, good mix of par 3s, 4s, & 5s. Plays very fair.
Cons: No tee pads .
Other Thoughts: Good use of elevation for a fairly flatter area. Like the layout of most holes, most are fairly difficult from pro/orange tees.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Lakeside beauty

1    11/24/2018   11/24/2018
Review By: Dgpro
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.7 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Not a lot new I can add, to the reviews below....though I am a bit bewildered by the most recent review which seems exaggerated and wonder if we played the same course.....

- The property this course sits on and use of land for the course is fantastic
- Good space and separation for each hole....none run into each other as the reviewer implied below
- Love that several holes play around water.....ams can avoid it easily. If playing the pro tees, you might not throw your favorite disc on some of these shots!
- Love the flow and variety of holes between par 3's, 4's and 5's
- I personally prefer natural tees
- Nice practice area
- Several holes are memorable and have great character. Favorites are 3, 5, 6 , 7, 12, 14, and 18.
- Used most discs in my bag
Cons: - Signage overall looks to have a temporary feel
- the park can be busy in the middle of the summer.... not a big problem for disc golf but had to contend with people fishing on a hole
- would be great if tees were marked to know what side of the tee sign to play from.....most holes were obvious though
Other Thoughts: Definitely worth the trip to play as you've already seen from all the reviews already

Would be great to see some tournaments here....perfect property with plenty of space for that

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

A fantastic piece of property with lots of potential

1    11/16/2018   11/16/2018
Review By: Ryno-5 DGT
Played: 260  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 14.7 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Ceraland is a huge sprawling sports compound with tons of activities for the family.

Pros
Nice new baskets still in great shape
The property is absolutely beautiful and very large. Water hazard potential and rolling hills.
Lots of long holes to really let a disc fly
Baskets have tape telling you where to find the next hole
Cons: Every hole has a missed opportunity for a better fairway and overall design.
Although the course sprawls a large majority of the property and plays around two parts of a lake, many of the holes are jammed into a tight space and even play into each other in several places.
The course layout makes nearly the least amount of sense possible it struggles to really flow and play well.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed throwing ceraland but was overwhelmingly disappointed by the use of the land. This course could be one of the best in the state if not the best but a redesign id desperately needed. It's obvious somebody passionate about playing put the course in but it falls short on so many levels. Hopefully since there are no concrete tees someone will rework this design.

Hole 18 is awesome and would be even better another 100 ft back.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

First time at Ceraland!

1    10/29/2018   10/29/2018
Review By: Chrisrbaker
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tons of great Par 4s and 5s.
Tons of variety in shot making and shot shaping.
Lots of options available in both tee shots and second shots.
Great use of land including elevation and water.
Cons: Permanent tees will make this course one of the best in the state.
Holes 13 and 18 need some clearing to create a defined line.
Some low hanging branches need to be cleared on some of the holes to open up the lines.
MachII baskets are not the greatest, but I realize that sometimes you are on a budget. Had some bad spitouts on dead center putts.
These changes would bump this up to a championship level course and easily a 4.5 out of 5.
Other Thoughts: First time playing Ceraland!

Hole 1: Challenging starting hole, gap off tee is fair, great par 4 that gives you a variety of looks for your second shot depending on where you end up
Hole 2: Great Par 4, two landing areas gives you two routes to the basket
Hole 3: Not sure about this hole...gap is very fair off the tee, but once you get to the middle of the hole there just isn't very much room to land anywhere. Also, if creek on right is played OB it isn't really well defined. Clearing the first landing area a bit may make this hole more playable and give you a chance to make a rewarding second shot with a FH or turnover.
Hole 4: At first I thought this wasn't a very good hole with a very hard right turn as well as going uphill, but we were able to get a turnover fairway driver up to a 45 ft putt. I think a big sidearm player could probably also get close enough for a putt. Not my favorite, but not a bad hole. Trimming some of the branches off the left side of the tree you have to get around would make it a more rewarding a fair hole IMO.
Hole 5: One of my favorites! Downhill, gap to hit across the creek with OB street long is a fun hole to throw. Rewards a well thrown putter or mid, but you try to throw a driver and you will have a hard time hitting the gap or not skipping long and OB. The creek isn't terribly well defined as OB though, so some cleanup of brush and rocks in there might help with that.
Hole 6: Decent Par 4. Not a lot of reason to try to take the right side tunnel, just putting it out in the open far left gives you your best angle at the elevated surrounded basket which is cool.
Hole 7: My favorite hole on the course. Smaller version of some of the Ledgestone Open Eureka lake holes. Hit a landing zone 250ish out and then have a beautiful second shot over the water. Probably a Par 4 on the easier side, but nonetheless a very fun and gorgeous hole to throw.
Hole 8: Great Par 4 (listed as Par 5). Very fair gap off the tee which will put you in a lot of different types of second shots depending on where you land. Listed as a Par 5 on uDisc, this is definitely a par 4. Playing partner and I both took 3s with 2 good shots that certainly didn't feel like Eagles.
Hole 9: A good downhill short Par 3 mixed in here is refreshing, but the main center line was clogged with low hanging branches. I like the options of being able to take a few different routes to get there, but the low branches on the middle line need to be trimmed up, or there is no point taking the center route. Not a ton...maybe give 10 more feet of clearance up so there still is a low ceiling on that line, but a shot is available there.
Hole 10: Fun Par 5. Finally get to air shot out a little, although accuracy is still at a premium. We thought we might have lines down some of the other tunnels, but there really is a premium on staying in the middle of the main middle tunnel. The tree lines create some very nice natural OB that swat down any attempts to get to the basket from the outside of the main tunnel. Only thing (and this is nitpicky) is to move the basket out just a little from behind the line of trees so that it can be a little more visible down the main tunnel. I could see this hole being an easier Par 5 to score on for pros as they could potentially throw two 450 shots and get an Eagle 3, but maybe that Eagle would be well earned there. For a player of my 350-400 ft arm speed, it's a fantastic Par 5.
Hole 11: Another decent Par 3 that you feel like you need to get. Nothing special here, but you need these kinds of holes mixed in on a course this big. Somewhat low ceiling and tree on the right side still makes it challenging.
Hole 12: Really, REALLY great Par 5. Throw as far as you can, with a little bit of a premium on finishing right. Then throw uphill turning right to the main tunnel down to the basket. Then we had options on our 3rd shots to go straight at the basket, or throw a RHBH hyzer out over the road and skip back towards the basket, all at the same time the basket is on a very tricky downhill slope at the end. Super challenging, but a REALLY great hole.
Hole 13: Not a fan of the tee shot here. Really feel like you are throwing at a wall of trees off the tee and just hoping you miss one. After that, the second shot is challenging uphill, with plenty of different options to the basket. Get rid of one or two trees in the little creek line off the tee and you have yourself a really great Par 4.
Hole 14: A great risk reward tee shot here over the water. How much do you want to try to bite off to give yourself an angle to get up to the basket? We didn't quite know where the basket was playing the first time, so we laid up short just inside the tree line, but playing it again, I would try to bite off more of the water carry and get up to the more open left side off the tee near the dead tree. Another good Par 4.
Hole 15: Another placement shot Par 4. It's a good hole, but at this point we've already seen so many of these.
Hole 16: Kindof a longer version of Hole 9 with probably 3 different options off the tee...flex FH is available as is something straight down the pipe. I took the low skipping hyzer with a fairway driver down the right side gap and flared down past it to about 35 feet. I like this as get-able, but not super easy Par 3.
Hole 17: I really like this Par 3. It asks you to throw a very defined line. A RHBH hyzer that flips up to flat but then has good finish back to the left all while going uphill. The nice thing about this hole is that there is at least a little height to work with on your line here, which makes the 355ft, Par 3 very fair and rewards a good shot with a chance at a two.
Hole 18: Just a little disappointed with the finishing hole here, because I'm not sure what it's asking me to do. Beautiful and fun shot to throw from the tee (again, another great risk/reward with how much of the water carry do you want to try to bite off).....but where am I trying to place it? Tiny gap with awkward angle to basket on left side even if you get through it, and no line to go through if you get to the right. I love the placement of the basket down in the cove back down towards the water, but I think the gaps to get into that cove need to be widened on the left side and cut out of the wall of trees on the right side. With these clearings, this could be a really amazing finishing hole. When we first stepped up to the tee we thought this was a bit like a smaller version of Winthrop Gold Hole 18 that they finish on for USDGC. Open up the gap a little down to the basket and I think it could still be that.

Overall First Impressions of Ceraland Lakeside:
This course has so much potential to be one of the best courses in the state. Once permanent tee pads go in here, it will be infinitely more playable just like BC3 has become, where you get to throw all these amazing shots and not worry about footing. Long Tee signposts are in some weird spots currently, where players might not sure which side of the sign to throw from, and sometimes it seems like the sign is right in what should be the middle of the teepad. In the meantime, adding a couple painted markers like BC3 or painted stones would help define the tee area until pads can be poured
I like most of the low ceiling shots, but I think some trimming is needed on some of the lower hanging branches as outlined above. Players would still be forces to throw some low lines, but have a higher likelihood of being rewarded for a good shot instead if nicking a random branch. Really only Holes 13 and 18 need some strategic clearing of some trees to make them less flukey and more playable, and Hole 3 might need just a tiny bit of widening in the middle of the fairway to create a reasonable landing zone.

Thanks for putting in the work to design and install this course! I gave almost an entire year of my life to Deer Run, and I understand all the time and effort that goes into a project like this. The land, water, and elevation usage are all FANTASTIC. It is a perfect piece of property for a discgolf course. Looking forward to going back and playing it again soon!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

May The Force Be With You

2-4    8/26/2018   8/28/2018
Review By: LaserGlide68
Played: 159  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 25.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/29/2018
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Shot Selection-need backhand and forehand.

Plenty of diversity in looks at the Basket, some shots are doglegs, some straight bombs. Alot of thought went into the layout.

No pure wooded sections, but trees throughout, to shape shots around.

Water comes into play on 3 Holes, 7, 14, 18. The designer added a shorter basket on #7, so those who don't want to risk losing a disc, don't have to throw over the lake.

Good distance Course, short tees at 6,531', longs 8,484'. Three sections of holes where the shortest shot is 435', gives you that relentless feel.

Has some gentle elevation changes at times, couple of larger hills,.and the Course itself is very attractive, especially playing around the lake. Able to catch shade throughout, some Holes being exposed to the sun.

Awesome family place, as you look around you wonder what activities they don't offer!

The Tees signs are informative, and also have links to the local Club's Facebook page shown as well as a barcode you can scan to download the map from.

The Course plays away from most other activities, although it does criss-cross a few spots that people may be walking along, not a big problem though.
Cons: Currently, no benches, there are picnic tables throughout the general area, would be nice to have some scattered throughout at different points of the Course.

No trash cans by the tees, but they can be found by the shelters, campsites...

Natural Tees, I don't mind, but with the solid distance many of the Holes offer, people would prefer to have concrete to get good run-ups on.

There a couple of picnic tables set up in the middle of #7's fairway, possibly rendering that one unplayable,

Other Thoughts: Luke (Skywalker) Jones has done a fabulous job re-designing what was previously a decent Course into a very solid Intermediate and up outing.

This one offers many challenges throughout, very fun Holes. The distance will beat down beginners, and test the Intermediate and up players.

He notes John Houck as an influence, and while I haven't had the honor of playing a Houck-designed Course yet, this really gives you an idea of what John's design philosophy must be.

With Brown County Country Club, Deer Run DGC, and now this great re-design, this area of Indiana offers a fantastic day of destination-style DG.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

great course with wide variety

5+    7/2/2018   7/8/2018
Review By: Hoosierhodge
Played: 35  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -I am a big fan of all the par 4's and 5's. It seems so few courses have well-designed longer holes. Every time I play, I learn more about the course and what combinations of shots give good results. Throwing my longest driver is not always the answer on this course. Placement is key on several holes (2, 8, 10, 12, 13, 14, 15, 18). Find the lines that maximize your strengths.
-The variety of shots required is refreshing. This encourages me to work on all aspects of my game (backhand, forehand, turnovers and I might even try to learn a roller now), including a no-fear putt as I'm trying to sink a 30 ft putt with a drop off behind the basket (multiple holes).
-Course has long and short tees. I have been shooting a bit under par from the shorts and a bit over on the longs. The short tees don't force water carries so that works well for my wife.
-As long as you don't completely shank a throw, thick underbrush does not come into play (except for hole 3 which I play extra safe). Most frequently, a poor shot is penalized by to trees blocking the ideal line or forcing a low throw.
-Although this is a mixed-use park, the disc golf areas are largely free of people. I have seen a couple of people fishing by hole 7. Before Memorial Day and after Labor Day, the entire park will be virtually empty based on my other visits while living nearby.
-Hole 5 is a fun ace run downhill to an island green.
-Hole 12 is a killer par 5. Several lines and line combinations to choose from.
-Hole 18 is a signature hole over the water. There are multiple paths into the basket depending on how aggressive your tee shot is.
Cons: -There are no teepads. I typically pretend the tee sign is the back left of an imaginary teepad that will hopefully be a reality eventually.
-Some holes use the park's internal roads as OB. Traffic is relatively rare but I do pause and wait for cars from time to time.
-Not as picturesque as some of the top rated courses due to the mixed-use nature of the course (though there definitely are some beautiful spots).
Other Thoughts: -Although no benches or trash cans at the teepads, there are multiple shelters along the way.
The course has city water at all of the spigots if you need to refill your bottle while playing. There are spigots near the hole 8 short tee (near boat house) and at the campsites by 14 long tee.
-There are bathrooms east of the 17 basket across the street and southwest of the 14 long tee.
-It typically takes me about 2 hours to play a round with one other person. Given the significant amount of shade, I don't get as tired on this course as some others like BC3 and am often anxious for a 2nd round if time allows.
-Ceraland has a great deal of other amenities to enjoy if going for a day. I like visiting places where my wife and kids can tag along. Some of the playground equipment is a bit old but the kids still have fun. There are playgrounds by the practice basket and hole 4's tees. The pool is also fun and there are other random things like a shooting range, go-kart track (bring your own kart), paddleboarding in the lake, fishing, etc (I don't think a fishing license is required since this is private land).
-If you're like me and reading reviews to find a disc golf stop on a family road trip, I highly encourage this place.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great course, lots of variety!

5+    7/7/2018   7/7/2018
Review By: owudiscgolfgal
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 11/21/2018
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Beautiful park, one that you can enjoy great disc golf at but can also bring the rest of the family to for a day of swimming, putt-putt, and even camping.
- Has both Pro and Am tees, and the Am tees are not just an afterthought like at some courses. Very fair and fun Am tees (I'm an average player).
- Such a gorgeous property with multiple views of lakes, and great variety of holes (lakes, wooded, parkland, par 3s, 4s, and 5s)

- recent trimming has creating improved the aesthetics and playability
Cons: - Probably could use some benches and/or trash cans on the course, but that's minor.
Other Thoughts: - I'd personally rather have flat natural tees (like this course has) over short concrete tees (that too many courses have and make me feel I'm going to trip)
- Great place for a day or weekend trip-- buddies or families. Columbus is always rated a top spot to visit, as is Nashville which is not far down the road and has two other good courses.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Design insights

5+    10/24/2018   6/24/2018
Review By: lukejones
Played: 70  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/27/2018
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My review may be a bit biased but I'll do my best to lay out some of the ideas that went into the course design. I'm a huge fan of John Houck and his design methodology and incorporating more par 4's and 5's similar to ball golf as well as hazards that penalize making par a very good score to walk away with. I'm doubtful this course comes close to the serenity and challenge of Selah Ranch, which I've played, but Selah did provide some inspiration. If a short pitch and putt course is your preference, this may not be the course for you. This new layout is a bit of a monster in terms of the land used compared to the prior much shorter pitch and putt dual tee 9 basket course it replaces. The course wraps around the front and sides of the lake and utilize many of the more scenic and interesting parts of the property. There are now several places the course can be accessed as alternative starting locations. The intended hole 1 starts behind the pool in front of a stone office building. Alternatively one could also park behind the putt putt course at hole 2 and start there, or in the back closer to the campground playground you could start at hole 4. Or park at the boat dock where the original course started from and start at hole 8. Or start from hole 14 near the back NE part of the lake next to the campgrounds....several options is the point.

A higher priority was given to attempt making the best envisioned hole vs the easiest possible flow and navigation. There are a couple long walks between holes due to a routing challenge between holes 6 to 8, but overall, the lake views on some of these walks and hole designs make it worth it in my opinion.

Here's a rundown of the types of drives and approaches to expect for a right handed advanced player....all of these are from the long tees. (I may later update with the short tees, but basically expect par for the most part to be the same but no forced carries over water for the shorts)....

1. Par 4 Tight technical dog leg right with Mando. Big anhyzer, sidearm or roller to medium sized landing area protected by road OB on left. Moderately wooded medium length approach to the basket protected and sitting between 2 very large trees.
2. Par 4 Big hyzer around tree to open landing area or long straight drive towards road for shorter approach. Medium length approach through moderately wooded area to the basket with moderate slope on the back side and a drainage ditch on the right to contend with.
3. Par 4 Tight Technical, downhill straight hyzer flip to small landing area alleyway protected by woods and a creek on the right. Drive requires extreme precision to avoid bogey or worse. A well executed drive will allow for a fairly open medium length uphill approach over the lake spillway to the basket.
4. Par 3 Steep Uphill big anhyzer or sidearm to a basket protected by heavy brush and trees on the right and very steep drop down a hill just beyond the basket.
5. Par 3 Steep and straight downhill ace run to island green protected by OB road behind the basket, Woods on the right and a creek in front. There is a bail out area to the left short of the small creek which requires a lengthy possibly obstructed putt for a birdie chance.
6. Par 4 Moderately wooded straight uphill to landing area. Alternatively a big hyzer to the right is possible but this puts the OB road more in play. Downhill approach initially protected by trees but opens up. Basket is nestled in a large 4 trunk tree. Stay short or to the right of the tree for a simpler putt to the basket; the left side is more blocked making for a challenging birdie.
7. Par 4 Short Big hyzer over water to landing area...no more than an overstable putter or midrange needed really. Stay right as close to the lake as possible for an easier mid length forced carry hyzer over water approach shot. A big arm could potentially carry all water to the basket in 2 but unless you're one of the top pros, layup. Anything left on the layup is likely jailed making a birdie highly unlikely.
8. Par 4 Dogleg right. Blind approach to a basket on the edge of a four ft or so drop off. Good birdie hole to make up for any bogies on the first 8 holes.
9. Par 3 Downhill straight drive to moderately wooded basket. Be careful to not go too long as water can be present behind the basket after it rains. Challenging, but very aceable.
10. Par 5 Hyzer flip or anhyzer or even big sky anhyzer through 3 distinct alleyways/routes. A small drainage ditch at the bottom of the hill usually collects water so keep drive short or go big to avoid. Second shot is uphill and slightly open coming from an ideal drive, and the landing area should be carefully considered to have a good look at the basket for the approach shot to get a well deserved birdie.
11. Par 3 Hyzer or anhyzer route around a tree right in front of the tee to a protected basket between a couple additional trees.
12. Par 5, time to air it out....straight, hyzer or anhyzer drive to a sparsely wooded landing area. The second shot leads to a much tighter landing area through a more moderately wooded area providing many different routes to the basket from there for birdie. The basket is on the back side of a steep downhill drop making the birdie putt a bit of a tester.
13. Par 4 Technical straight downhill tunnel to landing area. 2 tunnel routes really off the drive. The approach will likely be a bit longer and uphill, slightly to the right to the basket protected by several mature trees.
14. Par 4 Testy, straight or slight anhyzer downhill forced carry over water to medium sized opening between the trees. The Hole plays diagonal from the tee making the longer drive to the intended landing area more rewarding and birdie much more likely as the uphill approach is medium to short in length. Staying right on the drive avoiding water will likely lead to a very difficult approach through the trees making birdie unlikely.
15. Par 4 Slight anhyzer low ceiling to the intended landing area. 2 alleyways made by rows of mature trees can be seen on the tee but the left route is more rewarding making this a dogleg right. Position on the drive is very important to have a clear shot to the basket for a birdie chance.
16. Par 3 Moderately wooded Hyzer, straight or anhyzer route, slight downhill to basket. Careful not to skip way long as the ground behind the basket slopes downhill Moderately.
17. Par 3 Uphill alleyway route defined by 2 lines of mature trees. Definite scoring advantage on this hole to big arms.
18. Par 4 Open drive off the tee forced carry over water diagonal on left to landing area protected by a clump of pines on right. Very tight and technical approach through the pines to the basket which is downhill and nestled close to the waters edge.

Main pros:
- Good variety of holes. Hopefully you'll use a good chunk of your bag
- Risk reward potential on several holes
- Scenic
- Trash cans available in various spots near or on the course
- Restrooms
- Use of elevation. Very fun downhill drives on a few holes.
- Good exercise! May be a con for some, but it's healthy
- Well maintained property. I see the $2 gate fee reasonable and fair for the experience.





Cons: Main cons:
- No concrete tees...yet. The course is still young.
- Longer walk between 6 and 7 and 7 to 8. Walk is quite scenic which is a pro
- Signage could be improved
- No benches
Other Thoughts: Other thoughts:
- This is my new home course and one that has many great elements that keep me wanting to come back....good mix of fun and downright frustrating but fair holes making par a very good score, similar to ball golf.
- There is great potential for another 18 hole course through the woods and whether this course is successful or not from Ceraland's perspective will help dictate whether they are willing to invest in the sport.
- very thankful for all the volunteers that helped get the course in the ground!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.