Fayetteville, NC 
Arnette Park Share
Uploaded By: YonderScott Hole #17 (Taken 2/2009)
3 / --   3 / 225ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
1 2 Next >
 The First 12 Holes Arenít It

2-4    6/20/2010   1/31/2011
Review By: Olorin
Played: 385  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 38.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Every hole is in the trees, so if you come here you'd better like tight woods courses. Accuracy and control are essential.

Design:
*Terrain- the back 9 has some valleys, gullies, hills, and ravines.
*Hole 13 is a fun, scenic, downhill ace run to a small valley surrounded by trees.
*On the back 9 some basket positions are precariously placed on hill crests to add considerable risk and interest.

Basics:
*Navigation- there are some next tee arrows
*Lost disc potential is low; even thought the courses is all in the trees there isn't much underbrush, so there are only a few places where you might lose a disc

Amenities:
*Bag holders on every hole are a nice touch
*Score card and course map available online, but it's very basic. It does the job, but it's nothing fancy.
*Benches- some scattered around
*Bathrooms- not too far from the course, near the park entrance.
Cons:
Design:
-Elevation changes are limited. The first 12 holes are totally flat. 13 Flat/ 3 Up/ 2 Down.
-Terrain variety is minimal. 18 Woods holes. The front 9 holes are almost all the same so it feels repetitive and hard to distinguish the holes. Some of the holes are overly tight. On the back 9 there's a little more variety but they're all wooded too.
-Length variety is limited. 1<199/ 11 of 200-299/ 6 of 300-385. There are a few longer holes, but mostly they feel pretty similar.
-Hole 1 was just a little tricky to find. It's a bit of a walk from the parking lot.

Basics:
-Tee signs: very basic with length only. Many of the lengths are incorrect so use the score card lengths instead.
-Tees: too short, and I didn't think the black asphalt is the greatest material
-Baskets: many have gotten kind of old
-Navigation: tees 3 and 6 are hard to find. Baskets 6 and 16 aren't seen from the tee so need scouting.
Other Thoughts:
Course Level: White (most suited for Intermediate players rated 900.)

~Fairway shapes favor lefthanders with 10 holes dogleg right. 6 St/ 2 Left/ 10 Right.
~Short tees: there are shorter tees marked by yellow circles (the tops of cylinders). Most of them are just on the same line, just shorter, so not much is really added to the course. Only beginners would ever use them.

I enjoyed holes 13-18 the most. The first 12 holes are too flat, too tight, and too repetitive for my taste. For the course my overall enjoyment was below average, so there's not that much to draw me back. I wouldn't make a special trip to play here, and if I was in Fayetteville I'd play Mazarick first. But if I happened to be driving by on I-95, and I couldn't get over to Mazarick, I'd probably just play the back 9.

A note about my rating: My rating is a subjective measure of my enjoyment of the course, on the day I played it, and it is NOT intended to be a measure of the quality of the course. My ratings are given "on the curve" in relation to all other courses I've played.

~My more detailed "Overall Rating" notes and "Hole-by-hole Ratings" are available in the Files section.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasant surprise

1    11/6/2010   11/6/2010
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 201  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 8.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in a large park with picnic tables, grills and playgrounds. Very simple navigation. Never had a problem finding a tee pad. The only one that was a little counter-intuitive was 18, but if you print the map and scorecard it makes it very easy. Good tee pads on every hole. Signs with tee pad number and distances. However, it is obvious that the distances on the sign are not correct. Use the scorecard distances.

Course starts out being a pretty basic course through some pines with no undergrowth. Some tightly wooded fairways up to 372' long. No open bombs, just basic disc golf. You really need to have some control to get birdies. No real easy shots. But nothing that will overly punish you due to the lack of undergrowth. After you cross the road, and move into the back 9, the course really get a little more character. The lines get tighter, and your errant shots will hurt you more. The woods are thicker, there is some OB, including a barb-wire fence. And there are ditches, gullies and a small ravine. Baskets are positioned in a few spots that add some risk to your upshots. Miss, and down the gulley you go. Hole length varies, but you do have a few holes over 300', with one almost at 400'. this is no pitch and putt.

This course also has a good mix of straight shots, lefts and rights.
Cons: Almost no elevation. One hole does tee off a small hill, but that is about it. Maybe a slight uphill in a spot or two, but nothing that will greatly affect your shots.

It is all wooded. No wide open shots for you to throw those long distance drivers.

Not any signature holes that you will be bragging about for a week.

Only one tee pad per hole. There are some yellow markers for shorts, but they aren't worth playing.
Other Thoughts: Just a nice solid course. I wasn't expecting a whole bunch based on earlier reviews, but I would definitely play this course again if I am in the Fayetteville area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fair on a good day

2-4    5/5/2010   5/5/2010
Review By: kurtzee
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is set around a community park (Baseball feilds, picknic areas, etc...), which provides a great place to play disc golf. The course design is pretty good, good use of the terrain. Hole 13 is worth a step back to enjoy the scenery. There are arrows by the baskets to direct you towards the next tee (always a welcome site in my opinion), although some of the numbers get ahead of themselves.

This course will test your accuracy and technique. Its a good one to dial down and work on getting the disc straight.
Cons: Hole #1 starts off right by a childrens play ground. On a busy day there will be kids running and playing through the woods where holes #1 thru #6 are located.

Some of the holes (#6 espescially) have no clear path to the chains. So use your throw and pray techniques.
Other Thoughts: If you are fond of some discs, don't use them if you don't want to hit some trees. Odds are... you WILL hit trees!!

Bring a good attitude! :)


1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/25/2009   10/2/2009
Review By: DWill
Played: 238  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 39.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are tee signs at each hole, providing hole number and distance to the basket. Two sets of tees on each hole, longer tees are asphalt, while the rec tees are natural. Course was fairly easy to navigate, even without a map.

The fairways are defined, despite the tightly wooded course. Some elevation changes on the back nine, as well as OB areas marked by the road. The course is separated from the rest of the park, so there shouldn't be too much pedestrian traffic to worry about.

This course is located in a nice family park, with ample parking and plenty of other activities to do for the non disc golfing family members. Bathrooms located near the course.
Cons: The Tee pad for #13 is hard to find, and might be missed if you aren't paying attention. Some next tee signs are incorrect and can be a little misleading. On some of the holes, there is a lot of foliage that may make finding your disc on an errant throw difficult.
Other Thoughts: I thought this was the best of the Fayetteville area courses, which isn't saying much in my opinion, because the other two are one star rated at best. This course is fairly flat and well shaded, so it doesn't get too hot during the summer.

I thought too many of the holes faded to the right, and they started becoming a bit repetitive, and didn't provide enough of a challenge to use other shots. The holes aren't particularly long, but accuracy is at a premium as most wooded courses are. Perfect throws will lead to fairly easy birdie attempts.

The course is very convenient to I-95 and is a nice diversion if you need a break from driving to play a little disc golf.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    2/17/2009   2/18/2009
Review By: YonderScott
Played: 54  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 9.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful wooded course. There are tee signs on every hole(except #17). There are benches on several of the holes. The design takes advantage of the available elevation. If you played this course on a regular basis it would force you to become accurate. The baskets were in excellent shape and the tee pads were concrete with enough room. There were markers for shorter dirt tees, these were painted gold. After you play you can take a short hike down the river trails for great views of the Cape Fear River.
Cons: The front 9 is flat and each hole plays about the same, though the fairways do vary from a left to right fade. Can be a bit hard to find for a first timer. Some of the next hole markers are incorrect.
Other Thoughts: I went back and forth on what kind of rating to give this course. I would rate the last 7 holes a 4, but the first 11 are a 3 at best. Nothing wrong with them, just alot of the same. If it's your first time going there take a right after you enter the park. Start looking to your left and you will see the baskets for 2, 3, 4. Go past this until a dirt lot on your left. The first tee is up past the playground.
-Favorite hole was #13, a nice downhill shot. #16 was really nice, with a deep unforgiving creek bed lining the right side of the fairway.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

7/12/2008   7/13/2008
Review By: caiman
Played: 56  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 13.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Every hole is in the shade, making for a good summer course. The course does not interfere with the rest of the park, although the main park road is in play on a few holes. Conveniently located close to I-95.
Cons: The holes get fairly repetitive. A few holes have some character due to elevation change and nearby creeks, but for the most part, it's just straight through the trees. Many holes don't have much of a fairway. Hole #13 is susceptible to flooding, rendering the hole unplayable at times. The #1 tee is hard to find if you don't know where you're going.
Other Thoughts: A good course to play if you're already in Fayetteville, but probably not worth it if you're coming from out of town.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.