Ash Grove, MO 
Ash Grove City Park Share
Uploaded By: Dubbel Hole #2 (Taken 2/2013)
3 / 227ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
R Rated Ash Grove DGC Plays Around City Park!

1    10/11/2018   10/27/2018
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1313  Reviewed: 1262  Exp: 40.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I played Oak Grove DGC and then Ash Grove DGC in the same hour. If neighboring cities, Walnut Grove or Fair Grove had courses, I could've played three or four Groves in the same afternoon. What, no Coconut Grove nearby? Ash Grove seems to be the local hangout for the grungy, nasty middle school crowd from Ash Grove. Be prepared to witness what teenagers with their foul mouths and anti-social behaviors are thinking and saying. Extreme caution for your children is advised!

The city park is a decent sized small-town park with a swimming pool, volleyball courts, gazebo, play area, etc. The course starts out front of the pool. I was unable to locate the # 1 tee pad. The basket is out past the dumpster. Hole lengths here range from 163' to 262'. The baskets are DGA models with the always hard to read red numbers. The pads are natural and there are old school fiberglass signs. I'm shocked that they haven't been totally destroyed. The course plays around the large central field then heads out to other parts of the park. My favorite hole was # 5, a short 188-footer which requires a low tunnel shot. The course plays at beginner/recreational level, just right for this little city course.
Cons: The course starts kind of bland and unexciting. The first three holes lack much pizzazz.

Recreational/beginner challenge
.
Natural pads.

Foul mouthed teens can offend.
Other Thoughts: If I lived here, I'd play this course often. I don't think it gets much play because I was getting some weird looks from the locals wondering what my agenda was. It's an OK little course, not quite as cool as Oak Grove, although the middle stretch, holes 5-6-7 were quite enjoyable.

Probably not a course you'd travel any distance to play (unless you're a crazy, obsessed course bagger) but worth trying if you're ever in Ash Grove for any reason.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Beginner course

1    10/23/2013   10/24/2013
Review By: Tribefan
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short course, easy to navigate, fun, beautiful park.

Good for beginners and those just looking to work on throws.
Cons: No skill needed. I (as a beginner) was able to par 7 baskets, bogied one and birdied one.

Grass tees. Ground was lumpy, hard to get decent flat ground.
Other Thoughts: I was the only person playing so moved through 9 in 30 minutes. This is a beautiful park, quiet and fun. Most tees are 160-225 so could be your first ace!!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Simple and Easy

2-4    11/25/2012   3/25/2013
Review By: nealyb
Played: 19  Reviewed: 9
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy to play, short, can play through 3-4 times in just a few hours. Great for beginners, in an areas where there aren't alot of courses.
Cons: All the holes are pretty shot, a little dodgy to navigate. Baskets are not in great shape, and some of the 2nd set of tee pads are tough to find. The course itself is a little tough to find, and in a town in the middle of nowhere.
Other Thoughts: Worth playing if you live around there, but not really worth playing if you have to drive very far.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Anything is better than nothing...

2-4    2/9/2013   2/11/2013
Review By: Dubbel
Played: 53  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 15.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1.Good course for beginners.
2.Easily navigable.
3.Has a sign on every hole.
4.Has some elevation change and a few trees.
5.It's a quick play. You can play the course in 20 minutes.
6.No danger of losing a disc.
Cons: 1.Most holes are wide open, and boring even for beginners.
2.Have to cross the road multiple times.
3.The longest hole is only 262 ft., and it is wide open.
4.Most of the brick markers for the tee pads are missing.
5.On most holes you're either throwing over the park's driveway, or the jogging trail.
6.The chains on the baskets are too light, and on long putts, unless you hit the center pole, there is good chance the disc will pop out.
7.Grass tee pads.
Other Thoughts: Any disc golf course is better than no course, but this one probably isn't worth the drive. If you're familiar with Springfield's disc golf courses; this is like a shorter Oak Grove with fewer trees.

This course only needs a few improvements to make it a decent course: cement/rubber tee pads, and change a few holes to add more obstacles and distance.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Short on Distance, Long on Fun

2-4    10/16/2010   10/20/2010
Review By: DaddyD
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 9 Short holes make it a really quick course to play, I agree with reviews that it's great for beginners--a perfect course to introduce someone new to DG.

The holes with trees are interesting. Hole 1 has has several different types of trees on the right side of the fairway. Hole 5 has a big tree to throw under. Hole 6 is tucked right inside a small stand of trees. Hole 9 has another big tree to throw around.
Cons: Holes 2, 3, 4, 7 and 8 are both short and wide open, so they pose little challenge, but it looked like the management might be digging holes to plant more trees that will make hole 8 at least more complicated.
Other Thoughts: The management of the park has removed a section of the fence, so you don't have to climb over, but you do have to cross a street to go from hole 5 to 6 and from hole 8 to 9. The other crossings are actually over an oval walking path.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 5 Roads And A Fence To Climb Over

1    6/15/2010   6/23/2010
Review By: Donovan
Played: 239  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 31.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course uses the whole park for its 9 holes. This is certainly a beginner course with simple straight forward holes. There is some very slight elevation and tree use here, but both were used well. The baskets are all in fine shape. There are some tees signs with next tee on them. The grass/dirt tee pads are not in bad shape here. There is a bathroom at the pool near the first tee and the first tee is left of the pool and play ground area when facing it from the parking area. It is near the edge of the park.
Cons: You will cross a road 5 times and jump a fence while navigating this little course. Navigation should be simple enough, but it did take some guess work as not all the tee signs were really accurate. The holes all felt like they were about the same length and in fact there is only a 100 foot differential with the average hole being about 203 feet.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor was a little boring for me. The whole course took like 15 minutes to play once I figured out the layout. There is no challenge and although this is a nice beginner course, it is probably not worth a trip out to play it.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Learning course

1    10/21/2008   10/21/2008
Review By: ben.literofcola
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great course to learn on. any beginner can come and throw this course to just figure out how to handle their disc.
Cons: No real challenge for anyone who knows what they are doing.
The starting markers are not terribly clear.
Other Thoughts: I brought my Youth group out to this course and they loved it. For a beginner course the place is well kept up and nice to just walk around in.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.