Rocky Mount, NC 
The Community @ NCC Share
Uploaded By: teej Hole #10 (Taken 5/2018)
3 / 248ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
The full 18 is worth your time

1    4/22/2020   4/23/2020
Review By: KenanFlagler01
Played: 165  Reviewed: 160  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/25/2020
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: "The Community @ NCC" -- the new name for the full 18-hole course at Nash Community College -- is a nice course that mixes open and wooded holes, has some true water carries, and tests your accuracy as well as your distance. If you're in the Nash County/Rocky Mount area, this one is worth your time. A few years ago this was a beginner-focused, 9-hole course. Now it's a full 18 and I would say the sweet spot is intermediate players, but with something for beginners to advanced.

+ Excellent mix of wide open and long holes with technical wooded holes (of all distances: short, medium, and long).

+ You're always going to get bonus points from me for beautiful water carry holes. The Community might have the prettiest one I've ever played. There is a fountain in the middle of a small lake directly in your straight line to the basket (at least a 350-foot carry). If you have that kind of distance, you can attack the basket...just don't run it through the fountain as I'm sure that water will knock your disc down! If you don't have that kind of accurate distance (like me), you can cross the lake at a more narrow angle and play for par. Very fun risk/reward hole.

+ Love the true par 4's on this course, including open and wooded ones.

+ Great use of sidewalks and roads as "artificial OB," adding to the fun and the challenge.

+ Very fun elevation on a few holes. One of my favorites is hole 2, which is a long, open, downhill hole with the basket near the edge of the water. Very pretty and fun hole.

+ The course is well-maintained: the grass is cut short, no trash. (The wooded holes are a slightly different story; more on that in a minute.)

+ Great variety here for the types of shots needed. I played some flex shots, flicks, hyzers, and dead straight. And really all types of distances too. I used every disc in my bag, I believe, which doesn't happen often.

+ Nice new baskets.
Cons: There are a few cons which knock this course down to "average" for me. (This would be an above-average course with some tweaks, although some of these might be tough.)

- The biggest con for me is how narrow and overgrown some of the wooded holes are. And of course I lost one of my favorite discs on a hole like this (hole 8)! There are just some super narrow fairways, which isn't a bad thing necessarily, but the odds of going off the fairway are high. And if that's the case, you don't want super overgrowth that you have to walk through to look for lost discs.

- Navigation is very tricky here. You need the UDisc app to figure it out. Very little signage to point you where to go.

- The concrete tees are narrow and short, especially for some very long holes where you will want to rip drives.

- I played during the COVID shutdown, so I didn't have to worry about pedestrians or cars. But I can imagine that when school is in, you have to be pretty careful and yield to others. I would say there are any real dangerous holes, although a couple are near roads. Just be aware of your surroundings.
Other Thoughts: Overall a very solid course. I might be taking out my frustration of a losing a disc on the rating just a tad. This is a borderline 3.0 course for me. And in the winter months -- when the underbrush is a little more manageable in the middle section of the course -- it probably is a legitimate 3.0+ course. Go check it out.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Definitely an upgrade!

1    8/30/2019   3/27/2020
Review By: pmay5
Played: 191  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 17.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good DISCatchers, most are new.
Concrete tees (on most holes) and a great improvement over the rubber mats that were on the previous 9 hole course.
Nice variety of open and wooded holes, even though several of the open holes use a campus road as most of the "fairway".
Good water-carry hole, just be sure to study it before you throw. The far bank angles right to left, away from you. So if you are throwing a RHBH, your fade will take you to furthest point to carry.
Cons: Several of the holes have potential dangerous situations:
#1-preschool playground runs down the left of the fairway, with the basket beyond the playground. Maybe just a straight, opening hole, down the hill?
#5,#6 and #17 - use a campus drive as a large part of the fairway. Would be tough to throw if there is much traffic on the road.
#14 and #15 - use an amphitheather and garden as the fairway. These are both fun to throw, but could be unplayable at times.
Several of the wooded holes - appear to use a gravel walking trail as the fairway. Could lead to a painful beaning, or several delays.
No tee signs or next tee signs. I would not have been able to play this course if it wasn't for the UDisc map.
Rough to the right of #5 & #6 looked pretty tough and a pain to go into.
Several of the wooded holes were cleared, but thick rough off the fairway.
Need a Mando on #18, to prevent throws over the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: Much like the tee pads, this new 18 hole course is a great improvement over the former 9 hole layout. With that said, this has become a much tougher, challenging course than the former course. If that was the goal, then they accomplished it. I'm just not sure if a lot of the Community College students are going to grab a few discs and go out and play this course in between classes. Its definitely not a pitch-n-putt.
I understand why 5 and 6 had to be run down the campus road, to get to the other end of the woods, for the wooded holes, and have 2 more open holes. But, with thick unforgiving rough down the right side, they are tough to play. So maybe future work can start to thin out the rough down the right side.
#12 is a cool water-carry hole, but like other comments, the rubber tee mat needs to be larger, or just removed and use the deck to tee from.
I think once the rough gets beaten in on 4, 8-11 and 13, those holes will be a lot more enjoyable and easier to play.
#7 is a nice, flat, straight ahead hole with a couple different routes to use.
The course actually finishes pretty nice, if you can play 14 and 15, then 16 borders the pond, but not too close. #17, when the road is clear, is a good uphill hole, with the OB road lurking. Then #18, with a large tree guarding the basket, it tempts you to try and cut off as much of the fairway that you can, without clipping the tree. With this being a little downhill, it gives you a last chance to rip one!
Good job on this course enhancement, I hope the signage can be added and maintenance continued on this, the 6th 18 holer in a town of 55,000. Wow!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Nash Community College, a small gem

1    2/1/2019   7/9/2019
Review By: aredoubles
Played: 145  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 4.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very nice addition to the Rocky Mount area, and seems like an overlooked small gem. There's a nice mix of open and wooded holes, with a variety of distances and lines that should be reasonable for all skill levels to enjoy. Clearly, local disc golfers worked on carefully designing this course, and it shows in how nicely the holes play.
An obvious highlight is the water carry on hole 12, teeing off from a nicely built wooden deck. Also unique is hole 15, which plays downhill through a landscaped garden.
Cons: - Roadways, paved walking paths, and unpaved wooded hiking trails are in play for quite a few holes, presenting quite a few distractions, and some safety concerns. Most of the open holes have good visibility, where you usually won't be throwing blind into these trafficked areas. But do proceed with caution on the wooded holes and the hiking trails around them, especially since quite a few of these holes have a blind finish. I didn't encounter any hikers during my round, but it's surely possible.
- Navigation can be an issue. The uDisc course map will be essential to have along, but sometimes it's still not clear which path to take. And sometimes the teepads are not obvious either, and are just marked with stones that you have to look for. Distances are also not marked, and will again require consulting with the uDisc map. Perhaps these amenities will improve soon.
- The water carry on 12 could use a much larger teepad.
Other Thoughts: Quietly, this is a very nicely-designed course, with quite a few fun holes to play. Better navigation and tee signs would be an easy way to bump up this course's playability. If you can find a quiet time without much traffic around the college, perhaps weekends, this course might be a lot more peaceful and stress-free to enjoy. I played on a weekday morning, and that may not have been the right choice.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Challenging course!

5+    11/17/2018   11/23/2018
Review By: ecupirate82
Played: 48  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 14.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very challenging! Course is different from most other courses in the rocky mount area. Makes you use a wide variety of shots. Beautiful course and campus!
Cons: Needs signs and directional arrows to help with navigation. The school is supposed to be getting these soon (per staff). Bigger mat needed on hole 12.
Other Thoughts: Should be one of the best courses and most challenging in RM once completed.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Pretty campus

1    11/9/2018   11/11/2018
Review By: eric_vdberg
Played: 886  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 37.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pretty setting, concrete tee pads, new baskets.
Variety of distances and flight paths.
Cons: No tee signs or distances.
Missing tee marker blocks on several holes.
Navigation is tricky for at least 6 holes.
At least 3 holes play next to or over roadways.
Other Thoughts: Directional arrows are needed for transition between most holes.
Tee # and distances spray painted on the tee pads would be quite useful.
Painted or taped basket spokes pointing to the next tee pad would be useful, but only if the basket and poles are fixed in place.
The course is designed with a skilled player in mind, possibly missing it's target audience.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.