Carrollton, TX 
Castle Hills Share
Uploaded By: Pizza God Hole #5 (Taken 4/2018)
4 / 445ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Some Real Natural Beauty But...

1    8/10/2020   8/21/2020
Review By: jughandle10
Played: 15  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I think this is the prettiest walk in DFW for disc golf courses. The photos don't do it justice. Especially as you play on a sunset. The mowed fairways are nice for players without as big of an arm and several holes you can legitimately ace and the right mix of risk and reward on several places
Cons: Extremely weather dependent. First time I tried to play it was too wet. The high grass hosts a number of snakes and flesh eating bugs and god knows what else. I think the best time to play would be late october in a dry spell. Absolutely unplayable in the april showers DFW tends to get. Wide open but Dallas area courses tend towards that anyway. This is the extreme form of that, but as compensation if you err badly you will be in high grass and lose a disc.

As mentioned elsewhere you really need to take a picture of the map at the start. 1's basket is blind and unintuitively placed to say the least. Much of the signage has been vandalized.


Other Thoughts: I like this course more than I should and am waiting for the right weather to go back and play it again.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

maybe one day...

1    7/26/2019   7/27/2019
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 340  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 14 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -great course equipment: Veteran baskets, concrete tees, good signs
-elevation on the first two holes
-ponds in play on 3-6, 16; also a creek on hole 7
-mowed grass on my visit: ~6" plus a short-cut path from tee to green and green to next tee
-a few interesting holes: 1, 2, 4, 6
-a few fun ace runs on 15, 16
-shared tee on 9/15 is a circle of concrete, well-done!
-potential for future development of the course area
Cons: -17 hyzers and then hole 18's anny shot is courtesy of a double mando through the power poles about 20-30' off the tee
-completely wide open on 18 holes
-the only obstacles are water, tree lines with thick rough, and deep ravines with thick rough
-design relies on pinched green areas on the edges of rough and/or water; fun for a couple holes but gets old
-broken sign on hole 1, no course sign/kiosk/map
Other Thoughts: Castle Hills could one day be a good disc golf course. The start is there: great baskets, tees, and signs. There is water in play and there are ravines and rough areas to avoid. There is even some elevation in play on the first two holes. The pros pretty much end there.

The course is completely wide open. There is not one tree in a fairway. So throw 17 hyzers to baskets that are either out in the open or tucked around the left of a tree line with thick rough. Then throw an anhyzer through a double mando of power line poles about 20' off the tee on hole 18 and you've survived the course. If you can manage not to hyzer early and avoid the ponds and rough then your discs should survive too.

So for the time being you can fry in the heat when the course is dry enough to play and your main obstacle is keeping out of the ponds and rough with the wind as your only challenge. The good news is that maybe one day when the neighborhood is finished they might plant some trees and do some landscaping that could make this course more interesting and more accommodating. Some well-placed trees in the fairways and around a few tees plus a few benches would go a long way on this course. Perhaps a few extra sleeves for a short pin on 1 & 6 and a long pin on 2 & 15. If I'm already dreaming, I might as well dream big.

If you lived in the neighborhood, this is a decent course. If you live somewhat nearby then it's an option for a change of pace when the weather has been dry. If you're on the other side of the metroplex or a traveler, you will drive past way better courses to get here.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Castle Hills

1    6/3/2019   6/3/2019
Review By: aclay
Played: 194  Reviewed: 99  Exp: 36.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -- Cement tee pads. They vary in size some, but all are long enough. 9/15 and 11/13 share tee pads.
-- Very nice Veteran baskets
-- Water is in play to some degree on several holes, but for the most part you have bail out options.
-- Navigation is decent. If you look at the map to familiarize yourself with the general layout, you should be fine. No. 1 tee is between the cul-de-sac and the water directly in front of you. The sign is missing.
Cons: -- Mud and water everywhere, especially in places it should not be. Many times you are walking down a fairway on solid, if a little muddy, ground. The next step you are ankle deep in water. No. 1 tee was completely covered and obscured by mud. We've had a lot of rain recently in DFW, but with the houses just up the hill, and the creek below, it seems likely water is going to be flowing across the course most of the time.
-- Very little maintenance. Grass/weeds were tall in lots of place. I've seen worse, but this was bad.
-- Too many open, mundane holes. The baskets that are guarded all tend to favor RHBH/LHFH.
-- No amenities (course map, benches, restroom, practice basket).
-- Baskets are not numbered. From many tees, you can see multiple baskets. From others, you can only see one basket, and it is NOT the basket for that hole.
Other Thoughts: -- For the most part, the best holes have the worst fairways. No. 4 is an interesting 255 foot straight shot between two ponds with deep crap (and a creek at some point) behind it. Nice risk/reward. The problem is that you almost can't get from tee to basket. More than half of the fairway, which looks dry from the tee, is under water. The large stones mentioned in other reviews (some almost as big as a Smart Car) help, but not enough. No. 6 has you throwing between two ponds to a basket protected on the left by trees. Unfortunately, this fairway has the same problem as No. 4. No. 8 is probably a water carry most of the time, but you can't see the water because of reeds and grass that are WAY taller than me. If you don't want to risk life and limb walking through that, you trek almost 100 yards perpendicular to the tee and then 100 yards back to the basket on a 285-foot hole.
-- Nos. 1 (uphill to a basket in the trees that you can't see from the tee), 4, 6, 7 (hyzer following the creek), 8, 9 and 11 (both hyzer shots with baskets protected by trees) are the only interesting holes.
-- This feels like a wasted opportunity. The best feature on the land is the creek that borders it, but the creek is barely in play, and there are no water carries.
-- With some work and added amenities, this course could get to 2.0, maybe even 2.5, but given its location and the extremely limited amount to play it likely receives, that seems unlikely.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Unfinished Business

1    9/17/2018   9/17/2018
Review By: Bulldog Baggins
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wide open for working on your distance. Very nice surrounding neighborhood. Nice signs, tees, and baskets.
Cons: Wide open. NO shade. Feel it's unfinished still. Landscaping being done all around holes 1-3 and between rain and sprinklers it's too muddy. BUGS and SNAKES.
Other Thoughts: The surrounding neighborhood construction makes it kind of a pain to get to during weekdays. The "parking lot" won't hold much and is really rocky.

Due to this being in a flood plain in Texas it will hardly ever see prime playing conditions. For it to be mowed, 80 or below, AND dry will be few and far between. Hope for some trees to be added in the future.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Wide open. No crowd.

1    6/2/2018   6/3/2018
Review By: ivanhenson
Played: 380  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 9.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There probably will not be too much of a crowd here ever. It is wide open. For a community course, it's longer than most. A few nice lengths nothing to short or too long. Great new tee pads. Great baskets. They mowed fairway to guide you.

When it rains the water holes will come into play a little.
Cons: NO SHADE at all I played in the heat it was awful. No trees.

Baskets have great cement pored but sit a few inches higher so adjust.

Not much variety.

When it does rain i fear the fairway lines will be to narrow and the reads and rough will be super grown.
Other Thoughts: Please use the directions provided. Google does not have these new streets.

Also the 1st hole is up the hill towards the houses. Once you do that one the flow is easy to follow. They have 2 tee boxes that are for 2 holes. A circle one and one on the back.

Good walking distance but no shade.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not the most exciting course to play

1    4/28/2018   4/30/2018
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 989  Reviewed: 353  Exp: 33.1 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Ah, makes the best use of the land possible (which is not saying much)
Developer is doing a good job building amenities (putting very large stones down for muddy area crossing)
Cement Tee pads
Very nice Veteran baskets
Cons: Tee signs not installed yet
very few tree's on most of the holes
Other Thoughts: Ok, this course was actually installed this last week. The ground is still very rough and my cart was bouncing around a lot. I talked to a local guy walking on the path and he said the grass is normally waist high, hopefully they keep mowing it.

For the most part, the course is a lot of hyzer shots where landing can be important. The only true anhyzer was playing though the electric polls on hole 18.

Hole 1 up the hill to a basket tucked into a nice little hole surrounded by short tree's. You can only see the top of the basket from the tee.

Hole 2, 400 ft down towards one of the ponds.

Hole 3 throws with the pond on your left, unless you shank it off left, the pond does not come into play.

Hole 4 is a nice short birdie oportunity throwing between 2 ponds with Indian Creek behind the basket in the rough.

Hole 5 is just like hole 3, Wide open shot with the pond on your left.

Hole 6 tee's off between 2 ponds and is a nice little hyzer with deep rough on the left side of the basket.

Hole 7 is a nice penisula style of hole with Indian Creek on your left and deep grass/rough on the right.

Hole 8 is a skip right to left hyzer shot. Basket is not that far behind the brush.

Hole 9, round tee pad throwing across the marsh. Warning, if it is not dry, walk around.

Hole 10 was hard to find, you can't see it because it is in the edge of the rough in brush.

Hole 11, long hole with the basket in a clearing near the creek

Hole 12, wide open with the basket on the hill near the road.

Hole 13, I assume you use the oversized tee box for hole 11 to throw the wide open shot to the basket.

Hole 14, reachable wide open ace run

Hole 15 throws from the same circular tee box as 9, short wide open ace run.

Hole 16 throws over the edge of the pond to the basket near the electrical lines.

Hole 17 yet again, another wide open shot

Hole 18, check the photo's, perfect mando to make it a nice turnover shot to the basket.

Would I play here again.

Well, the course is 3 miles from my house, I am sure I might play here again, but then it has been over a year sense I played my home course that is also 3 miles from my house and I am the course pro :P

In general, this is a boring course, the wind is the biggest factor because it is wide open and there is some trouble areas near the ponds.

I do not know yet, but if the developer or local club plants some tree's, this could eventually become a decent course.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.