Mount Dora, FL 
Nature Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: The Miniac Hole #5 (Taken 5/2018)
3 / 235ft.   3 / 275ft.   3 / 345ft.   3 / 385ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Blue Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Concrete is complete!

5+    2/25/2019   2/26/2019
Review By: TA81Joe
Played: 43  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Most importantly - ALL the concrete pads are finished and done very well!!

It is great how different it plays based on the tee and basket combination. When we get there late close to dark, take the shortest combination and it will not take long. Take the longest, and it will really challenge you.

The elevation change is excellent and challenging. I am hoping it will make me better at disc golf.
Cons: Watch out for the off-road bikers as you go through the course. This is not a big issue - just be aware!

A couple of times, there were random people walking through the course (not playing), as well as bikes off the trail.
Other Thoughts: There is a nice playground for the kids.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Elevation in Florida!

2-4    1/1/2019   1/2/2019
Review By: edwardnaylon
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice variety of shots. Beautiful property. Well laid out and lots of elevation. I think it has the most elevation of any permanent course in FL. Each hole has 2 fantastic baskets and short and long tee pads which lets you play each hole 4 different ways.
Scenic course with some real picturesque holes. Fun for all levels. Little risk of losing any discs. Some nice par fours.
Cons: Right now only about half the holes have concrete pads and the temp pads are on pretty steep inclines which makes footing and run up difficult.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for all skill levels, long to long plays tough for 1000 rated players and the short to short is good for those just starting. Great piece of land w very good design. Has bathrooms near the parking lot. Once all concrete is in, this will rate higher.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Very Nice Course!

1    8/13/2018   8/18/2018
Review By: JLethal2
Played: 37  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I personally really enjoyed this course for its unique layout given the property it is on. I felt this area of land is spot on for a semi challenging 9-hole layout. When you hear "9-hole course" you almost immediately think its going to be smaller in size but that really isn't the case here...the holes are all decently sized with several playable options. Each hole has 2 baskets and 2 tee pads which provides great variety to each hole allowing you to play potentially 36 combinations. I am a big fan of courses with any kind of elevation and this course is a rare treat for a FL course...pretty much every hole involves some kind of elevation which was a pleasant surprise. I especially loved hole 3 which to me is the signature hole of the course playing downhill to the lake. The course overall is on just a beautiful piece of property in general and is truly a nice gem for the disc golfers of Mt Dora. You can really tell that the golfers around here take pride in the upkeep of their courses. It feels like you are stepping out of the normal Florida terrain and playing somewhere a bit more north which is very refreshing for this area. Restroom access is right by the parking area which is another convenient feature of the course.
Cons: There is very little negative thoughts I have about this course other than I wish there was more of it. I would love to see more land cleared and more holes added to make it a fully functioning 18 hole layout. At a full 18 holes with the same characteristics it has now, it would be by far my favorite course within a 100 miles of my home (Daytona Beach). Not that the multiple tees & Pins don't help that but I like a full 18 hole course for official purposes, tournament use...etc. Parking was a little lacking even though I was by myself but I really only counted about 10-12 parking spaces so that would pose an issue if a big group were to venture here to play.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I can't say enough good things about this course. I decided to drive over from Daytona to check out the 2 Mt Dora courses on a random Monday off and I am glad I did...I usually don't travel far to play 9 hole courses but this one as well as Lincoln Ave as a warm up were definitely worth the drive over for the day. If you are in the Central Florida area and appreciate very nice attention to detail and upkeep for disc golf courses you should come check this place out.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 More than just 9 Holes

5+    5/12/2018   5/14/2018
Review By: ClandestineSofa
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Brand New! Beautiful shiny new baskets.
- Florida course with some elevation challenges. 2 uphill drives (#6 and #4. #9 has got some hill in it too) as well as 3 downhill drives (#3, #5, and #7)
- Length. Playing Long Tees to Long Baskets makes for a solid 9 holes with 4 par 4s.
- Options. 36 different holes to play. Two pads and two baskets on every hole make this course play much different than your usual nine hole course. Not up for long holes? Play short to short or long to short or even short to long! I personally really enjoy short to long.
- Not just longer tees and baskets. Many of the different tee/basket options really do work to create very different holes.
- Hole #3 - Really one of the prettiest drives I've ever played. A downhill shot with trees to contend with, but not so many that you can enjoy the view of the lake from the pad.
- The city mows the property frequently and is extending into the areas that the new course has created.
- Great line options on nearly every hole. Most holes don't restrict you to a backhand or forehand line as some courses will, but at the same time the lines are not wide open, which also makes this course great for practicing lines.
- Great signage that makes navigating the course easy-peasy.
- Shaded tee pads. As summer approaches I was happy to find nearly all of the tees are in the refuge of shade.
- Nice restrooms on site.
Cons: - Not entirely finished. There are rubber tee pads at the time of this writing (5/14/18) but there will be concrete pads installed in a few months.
- Only 9 holes. But with the options of long and short tees/baskets its hard to feel that this is just another 9 hole course.
Other Thoughts: - The park is on city property with a playground at the start, as well as a mountain biking trail that crosses the path to hole #7. As a local who wishes to play this course for years to come, I'd hope that everyone is courteous to those using the playground and mindful when near the bike trail.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

nice course

1    5/7/2018   5/13/2018
Review By: Flicker55
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: close to Lincoln DG park and has better restrooms. Only played once but loved it. Nice water hazard on hole 4 or 5 I think and it was a beautiful look at the lake.
Other Thoughts: For Floridains who are not used to hills, this one has a few hills to traverse. Nothing terrrible but just as a note. Nothing bad to say it was a great course. I drive 1 1/2 hrs to play there and will continue to do so.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Incomplete, but fairly sweet

2-4    5/5/2018   5/12/2018
Review By: The Miniac
Played: 356  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 43.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nicely manicured grassy areas mixed with oak groves and great woodsy areas with a fair share of central Florida topography, which comes into play on every fairway.
Dual tees (White & Blue) and Dual Baskets (Red & Yellow/Gold). So every fairway has 4 options!! This allows for 4 distinct levels of play at any given time. I think this is a very versatile option for any course with thoughtful (dual) tee and pin positions.
Playground and restrooms on site.
2.5 blocks from Lincoln Avenue (entry-level) disc golf course, which is fun and also a part of the Lake County Disc Golf Trail.
Cons: Only 9-holes... but 36 options!!
Course is VERY new. It still needs branch clean up in many areas and mowing in newly tamed areas (mostly 7,8&9) and a few more limbs in the fairways, including by Gold basket #9.
The rubber mats are good mats, but mats will rarely be flat or sans lumps.
This is a mixed use park. Bikes and pedestrians will ALWAYS have right-of-way!
Bike Paths and beyond will ALWAYS be Out of Bounds. NEVER throw across a bike trail... EVER!
Parking lot is only a dozen spots. Not enough for tourney or even a decent league.
Other Thoughts: 9th Avenue park (aka: "Forres") dgc in Mt Dora, FL is the newest Hosfeld-designed 9-hole course on the Lake County Disc Golf Trail. Set in a former citrus grove, now oak grove, (along with pecans, camphor and a few orange trees) the course begins just beyond the practice basket and is separated from the playground by a thick, healthy row of oaks. The White tee fairway has two rows of thick oaks between it and the playground.
Hole 1s Blue and White tees run down parallel alleys to a more open area, Red basket is just beyond a dry retention area. Gold basket beyond the retention and into the oaken alley.
#2 fairway has a slight rise, followed by a slight dip. The Blue to Gold fairway requires a RHBH LtoR flex or an amazing counter spin hyzer-flip, to reach the pin, which still has a nice green in the middle of the oaks. This hole may be redesigned before concrete pads, but the jury's still out on that.
#3 is unquestionably the signature hole in this nature park, with a fairway sloping down to Lake Franklin. The Red pin falls plenty short of the water. The Gold pin isn't as close to the water as this designer would have liked. The current distance was requested by parks peeps. (It is, however, rumored that the Gold basket will become elevated, by, like, 2', in the not-too-distant future... which should make a run at the Gold much more interesting on the drive, on the approach or on the putt)
#4 is the 1st of 4 par 4s on 9AP. The #4 fairway climbs the hill, away from Lake Franklin and back onto the rise, where the Red pin lies, and beyond into the groves where the grassy Gold pin area slopes gently away to the right.
#5s Blue tee rests just behind a beautiful oaken arch and canopy. The first 100' of the fairway rises slowly, then drops away slowly on the other side. An aggressive shot will likely have to stay low over the crest of the hill.
#6 goes up a steep hill and back down semi-steeply for another par 4 on a grassy green. The White tee will move back and to the right before the tees go concrete. The walk to #7 crosses 2 bikes trails. HEADS UP!! LOOK LEFT!
#7 has a fun downhill Y-shaped fairway Red to the right and Gold to the left, with a nice patch of woods to fill in the Y at the split.
#8 is only 401' from Blue to Gold but the uphill and the dogleg make for a challenging par 4, requiring placement over power. Though power with placement works even better. The Red pin will move farther to a new green soon.
The walk from #8 to #9 goes between two mountain bike trails. Two fences will serve to keep feet and wheels on their respective trails. The 89 walk also crosses another bike trail. HEADS UP!! LOOK RIGHT!
#9 Blue and White fairways both punch out of the woods into their respective fairways. The Blue fairway has some mogels at the end of the Blue tunnel, before going over the dry retention area (which I'm told might be marked as OB during future tournaments)
I think the 9th Ave dgc is elegant in its simplicity and fairly efficient in its implementation. Fairly intuitive navigation and plenty of directional arrows where there are walks. You have the chance to play finesse disc golf or open up a bit.
A perfect counter-point to the entry level Lincoln Avenue park dgc, a mere 2.5 blocks away.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.