Glenn Heights, TX 
Bear Creek Baptist Church Share
Uploaded By: TheHipstick Hole #1 (Taken 3/2019)
3 / 274ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 meh

1    4/2/2019   4/3/2019
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 982  Reviewed: 352  Exp: 33.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: mmm, recruit baskets I guess
Back holes have a couple of trees
Cons: Back holes are boggy most of the year. Lots of mudbug mounds.
No tee signs, but most of the tee boxes are easy to find. You can get distance from the DGCR scoring app
Other Thoughts: Not much of a course, but then it is a church course.

9 baskets in a field behind the church.

1st hole's tee is near the parking lot and throws across the field. Then you go up towards the street and throw back across the last fairway to a basket behind the one tree (and picnic table)

hole 3 is wide open, hole 4 is the longest on the course and wide open.

then you get to the actual disc golf holes. Although they are all short.

Hole 5 is a slight hyzer, as is 6 and 7 around a tree or two, or an overgrown baseball backstop.

Hole 8 is a shot into an area that has old piles of dirt with the basket sitting on top of one. Easy 200ft shot, but at least it is interesting.

Then 2nd longest hole going back up the hill, wide open to the parking lot.

Would I play here again? Nope, only played it to bag it, no reason to ever play here again. There are good courses nearby. But for the church, this is a good course to get the kids out and introduce them to disc golf.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Bear Creek Baptist Church

1    3/23/2019   3/24/2019
Review By: TheHipstick
Played: 164  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 17.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 9 Dynamic Discs Recruit baskets.
Nice open area to play.
Great course to learn how to throw your discs in wind.
Not to many obstacles to finesse around, however wind is major factory.
Easy flow of the course.
Cons: Hole #5 seems to always be muddy, other any during the summer.
If the ground is wet at all, can be very muddy.
Other Thoughts: If your looking for a fun and exciting course, this isn't it for you. However, for what they have to offer on this particular plot of land, they made decent use of it. I met Ryan the course designer and played the round with his son. They are really nice people, they didn't create it for the avid DG, but more to introduce people to the sport and for that I commend him.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Not worth it

1    11/22/2018   11/23/2018
Review By: ivanhenson
Played: 380  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 9.9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1 good hole. New baskets. It was mowed.
Cons: TEE ONE is near parking lot North west corner parking lot and road.

1 and 2 criss cross each other have to back track for 2. Back east holes are swampy and on a 9 hole a 3rd not playable is bad.

Not worth coming out of your way at all.

Other Thoughts: TEE ONE is near parking lot North west corner parking lot and road

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Bear Creek Baptist Church

1    6/14/2018   6/14/2018
Review By: aclay
Played: 194  Reviewed: 99  Exp: 36.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/17/2018
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -- Navigation is fairly simple, once you find No. 1 (the tee pad is near the parking lot and the road, Hampton Road). Follow the mowed path, and you'll be fine.
-- No. 8 is an interesting hole, particularly compared to the rather blah design for the other holes. No. 8 is about 200 feet with the basket set on the back edge of a series of a dozen or so 3-foot high mounds/hills. The basket is also guarded by a few trees.
Cons: -- Very tell grass. The mowed paths are decent fairways (if a little narrow), but grass off of that was chest high in places, and at least knee high in most places. You aren't likely to lose a disc, but you might spend quite a bit of time searching.
-- No tee signs. This is a new course, so I hope this will change, but for now ...
-- Natural tees that are not very level. Tee boxes are marked by three beams (two sides and the front) in the ground. However, often the ground on either side of the tee area is better than the ground in the tee area. Holes 1 and 3 have a plastic number nailed to one of the beams. On No. 2, the number was lying on the ground beside the tee. Nos. 4-9 had no markers.
-- No numbers on baskets.
-- The fairways for Nos. 1 and 2 cross.
-- Very little shade.
-- Hole design definitely favors RHBH throws, although most holes are open enough to throw either way. Only Nos. 5-7 really favor the RHBH or LHFH throw.
-- No restroom. I carried my own water, so I didn't look for that, but I saw hoses that I assume were attached to a faucet somewhere.
Other Thoughts: -- The Dynamic Disc baskets look temporary (the wheel is still attached on each basket), but they are in the ground.
-- Unless I lived very nearby and/or was really pressed for time, this is not a course I would play again.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.