Daytona Beach, FL 
Tuscawilla Park Share
Uploaded By: RussMB Hole #4 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 203ft.   3 / 266ft.   3 / 334ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Long Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 40
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Nice open course (in the ghettos)

2-4    9/1/2018   9/1/2018
Review By: WhereTheIDivides
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Toilets next to hole 5.
- Lots of water everywhere though park though ditch canals. No lakes.
- Well kept and lawn is cut.
- Out in the open with trees covering the park but not too much. This allows the ground to have grass. No need to feel in danger unless you go to holes 11-12.
Cons: - Smack dab in the middle of the ghettos.
- West side has swamp area.
- They list everything as par 3 but some should be par 4 (like hole 6, 13, 18)
- Hole 6 can not see basket teeing off. Next to swamp one 1 side and water on the other.
- Holes 11-12 through swamp. I heard a gator growl while in there. Then after 12 you have to exit the park and walk along the south road, which does not have a sidewalk, just to get to hole 13.
- Hole 14 is on a tiny island on a few feet wide. Make sure you have a disc gator or pole. Also keep looking around so a gator doesn't jump out of the water at you.
- Many of the baskets have signs to the next pad but most point in the wrong direction. You need a map.
- Some holes through over roads (5, 13, 15) but not a biggie. It's a 1 lane road so not an issue. It just is not normally acceptable.
- Hole 9's basket is up next to a fence.
- Hole 13 is on a tiny hill behind trees along a ditch. This is designed for you to lose a disc.
-There is a 'C' or 3rd pad for kids. These are not marked. I didn't even know they existed even after playing 3 times.
Other Thoughts: - Enter the park on the west side (all 4 sides have roads) to park near holes 1 and 18. Entering from south side and you have to walk.
- Zip lines around the park which are cool. Don't listen to others. They do NOT interfere with disc golf.
-2 Pads and 1 basket (3 positions that they rotate). Just have 2 pads and 2 baskets. No need to rotate.
- Hole 1-10 are fine. Then i'd suggest just going to hole 13 (skip over 11-12).
- Hole 7 is across a pond. Best to toss to the right of it, then behind the basket, then tap it in (if you don't want to lose a disc).
- I like the course. The short is fine and the long is for advanced players. Being out in the open at lunch time with roads all around and you feel a lot safer in the area.
- They should just drain the swamp on the south-west side of the course. This would open it up for more area for people to do stuff.


2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Better than most

5+    8/1/2018   8/25/2018
Review By: JLethal2
Played: 33  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has been around a long time and has a devote following. The course is maintained well and the pin positions are often changed by the local club to provide several variations to the round. There are also 2 concrete Tee pads per hole and are a decent size. Baskets are DISCatcher which are a better quality basket imo.

The flow of the course is also well designed with the front 9 starting and ending right at the parking area as well as hole 18 also ending right at the parking area. The front 9 is also a bit easier and progressive leading into the more challenging back 9. The course takes you on a nice tour of the entire park and utilizes the full property to the extent.

While it does not have many hazards there are a few water holes which are fun and provide that little extra challenge to avoid losing any plastic (Especially from the Long tees). Hole 7 is the signature "Water hole" on the course and particularly fun and rewarding to play when you can park the drive.

The course has a nice mixture of shots that will be required for all player types. Forehand, Backhand, lefty's, righty's will all get to experiment a bit here. Also a nice blend of semi shorter and a few longer holes...like I said before it is progressive from the front 9 to the back 9 in terms of distance.

Good parking area near the course start as well as permanent awning and 2 practice baskets.
Cons: The location of this course is not what I would call Ideal. While the course is very nice in terms of Disc Golf design.. this particular part of Daytona Beach is less than desirable. There is a high percentage of homeless and shady characters in and around the park at any given time. You will literally play through people who are either shot out, doped up or passed out right in the fairways at times.

Another negative feature of the course is that it is located in a shared park with other park goers, a playground and now the infamous Zip Line course which is back up and running after an almost 2 year hiatus due to Hurricane Matthew knocking down several trees in the park. But the people who are here to Zip Line are oblivious to the Disc Golfers. Much of the front 9 of the course will go through the Zip Line lanes so beware of Harnessed up tourists looking to get in the way of flying discs.

While there is a few water hazards which are a fun challenge to deal with, you won't find any elevation here. The course is rather flat and uneventful in that sense which will always be a con for me at any course.

There are no restrooms located at the ideal parking area for the golfers (which is near hole 1). There are restrooms in the center of the park but I dare say I have never ventured in there.. You never know what you may be walking into to. But there are plenty of oppurtunities "along the way" to pause for the cause.
Other Thoughts: All in all... Tuscawilla is my home course and where I played my first ever round of disc golf almost 8 years ago so it will always be sentimental in that regard. It is a very nice disc golf course if you can deal with some the headaches of the park. It has a lot of history as being a reputable disc golf location and is widely regarded by the local clubs. I still enjoy playing here when we don't feel like travelling outside of town and it always provides a fun challenging round of golf. If you are visiting the Daytona area I would definitely recommend playing the course just be aware of some of the cons (no pun intended) I mentioned above.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Life in the Fast Lane

1    5/29/2017   7/21/2017
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 311  Reviewed: 290  Exp: 4.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (3.171 Rating) A city park course with lots of comfort items and extras.
- CHALLENGING - The blue tees here are really going to challenge advanced players. There are 30 scored blue tee rounds on this site, and only one person shot below par for their singles round. My initial guess is that a 950 rated player will struggle to crack par. I personally played the white tees and found them to be near optimal difficulty for my 900ish player rating.
- CHAINS - Although the DISCatchers are older, they are still in wonderful shape and catch well.
- TEES - There are two sets of concrete tees, and the distance and difficulty separating them appears to be spaced well. There is also a small concrete slab (4ft x 4 ft) down fairway on just about every holes to make a red tee layout. This red tees also appear to be a nice difficulty differential compared to the white tees. There is no hole signage for these small pads.
- CHARACTER - In addition to the tees and nice baskets, there's lots of other course extras on this course. There's a fair amount of tee shading. There is tee signage at both blue and white tees describing hole and distance. There are three basket placements at just about every hole and I think a few also had a fourth placement. There's also a great finishing shelter with picnic tables. You'll also find a practice basket, toilets, water, benches and bag hangers. Finally, I'll mention there's a memorial on (7) to honor a fallen member.
- SKILL LEVEL FRIENDLY - The multiple tee format allows this course to be appreciated by a wide swath of skill levels.
- QUICK PLAY - A compacted layout allows this one to be played quicker than you would think for 6,500 foot layout. I played my round in about an hour. figure a group of four at the appropriate tees will run about two hours.
Cons: A solid course with a few issues
- SIGNAGE - Probably above average but they have seen better days as many appear a bit beat up and fading away. There were pin location markers on the hole signs which is typically a great feature. Unfortunately just about all of them were wrong or missing. In addition, the arrow below the basket to direct players to next tee was almost always pointing in the wrong direction.
- COURSE MAP - The course map available to download on this site is not the greatest looking or detailed. However it is better than nothing and you'll need it sometimes as the course navigation ques, as stated above, appear to be incorrect, or at least they were on my visit.
- SAFETY HAZARDS - I almost never care about throwing along roads and paths as a 30 second wait doesn't effect my experience of a course to wait for that lone car or pedestrian. However, Tuscawilla has some pretty substantial throwing hazards. There are major roads boarding the east and north side of this park where cars are almost always present and they are traveling at high speeds. Grip locks do happen, especially for newer players. I was especially uneasy about throwing (14 and 17) where you're a grip lock away from pinging a car.
- WATER HAZARDS - I'm so glad to have played this course during the dry season. A few of the larger ponds were almost completely dry. Playing this course during the rainy season has got to be an entirely different animal. There are ditches everywhere on this course, where I assume that after a good soaking you could see water coming into play a dozen times. It will probably be easy to retrieve a disc in this ditch, but it will likely impact your experience after your 2nd and 3rd introduction into the water.
- PALMETTO BUSHES - There are few holes with this awful plant. The palmetto bush usage is most pronounced on hole (11) where they line both sides of the fairway. In addition, on the day I played, the basket placement was in a defined pocket surrounded by these suckers. I was very ecstatic to walk away with a par.
- ELEVATION - Other than the 5 foot deep ditches and ponds, this course is entirely flat.
- UNIQUENESS - About average or touch below that. Most holes have either a light to moderate tree spacing loosely defining the fairways. There is only one true tunnel shot on (11). There are a couple pockets to hit and water can come in to play a lot if its during the rainy season. There are no par 4's or 5's, but (13) could easily be moved back a bit to add a par 4. A lot of holes also have the same general look in feel.
- SPACING - Not awful by any means but not ideal either. Several holes parallel each other with only a spattering of trees defining the lines. I'd keep my head on a swivel if other groups are on nearby holes.
- TRASH - A surprising amount of trash in the park during my round. Trash was most pronounced in the ponds and dry ditches.
Other Thoughts: The first course I've hit in the Daytona area. By looking at other metro area reviews, this one is clearly the top course. I'm sure if I lived in the area, Tuscawilla would be my home course or in my rotation. Not the top destination course when compared to courses within 50 miles radius. I think the courses in Debary take that notion.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Tusk-A-Willa!

5+    12/11/2015   12/11/2015
Review By: xGIRTHx
Played: 30  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has two tee pads as well as multiple pin positions. Its quite scenic despite the fact that its located at a busy intersection in Daytona. There are lots of variations to each hole as each pin position makes a big difference as well as amateur/pro tees selection. There are many different "hazards" that make this course unique as well. Holes 5, 7, 13, and 14 have water and there are a few holes that could land you in the woods on an errant throw. It is a challenging course that can make for a rewarding round or a real frustrating one depending on how you throw.
Cons: The zipline they installed in the park in the last couple years make for a lot of pedestrians on busy days. You also get the occasional transient enjoying the many activities this park has to offer such as fishing, sleeping, swimming, secluded drug use, random yelling/singing etc. Its not that often and the usual obstructions come from people in the park oblivious to disc golfers. There are also a couple holes that on the farthest pin positions should be a Par 4.
Other Thoughts: This is the course I learned to play on and even after 5+ years of fairly regular play I still enjoy it. It is well worth a play and even for the oldest course in the area it still holds up. It is quite scenic and the abundance of trees only add to the enjoyment of the round as well as provide options on how you approach each hole.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Kept me coming back!

5+    7/27/2015   8/7/2015
Review By: Jiggy202
Played: 59  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 8.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Nice large park that is kept up really well. This course fits in nicely here and no hole feel squeezed in.
-2 well marked concrete tee pads, multiple basket placements, and decent hole maps on the tees
-Bag holders with hole #s and tee identifier marked on them at ever tee pad.
-Course brings water hazards into play quite often but nothing overly difficult
Cons:
-Navigation between holes is a little confusing in a few spots. Next hole signs on the baskets were often incorrect.
-No scorecard/map available onsite that I could find.
-Zipline course crosses fairways and can be hazardous to play. Keep your eyes and ears on alert before throwing
-Had to warn more than a few people, mostly parents watching their kids zipline, that we would be throwing in their direction.
Other Thoughts:
This is a nice course that fits into this park really well. The course has a nice mix of open and wooded holes. I like how the different pin positions really change the play of the each hole and they do change the pin positions (monthly I was told). Navigation can be pretty difficult the first couple of times through. A few of the next hole signs were definitely not correct/misleading. The main 2 sets of tee pads are great, no complaints at all. The beginner tees can be difficult to find, they are the 2x2 unmarked cement pad hidden in the long grass of the fairways. The rough here can be really brutal if you end up there, so you are forced to make decent shots to score well. Lastly the zipline course and discgolf don't mix very well, it's a hazard but if you are paying attention it shouldn't be a major problem. Overall this is a course I kept coming back to because it offers a lot and it's in a good location.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/4/2015   4/7/2015
Review By: MountainGoat
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Multiple pin placements for each hole.
Long and Short pads on each hole.
Excellent variety in shot angle and distance.
Regular maintenance of the grounds.
There are signs (See Cons)
18 Innova baskets.
Cons: Bums hang out in the park.
People walk around aimlessly in the park, kids too.
Ropes course gets in the way of shot options and people can pop into view out of nowhere.
Signs are all but impossible to read due to mold, signage for where to start/gofromthere are awful to non-existent.
Water is not fairly represented on the signs.
Other Thoughts: If this were a park dedicated to disc golf I would rate it a 3.5 with room to make it to 4.5 with the signage being updated and all that. The way it currently sits as a mixed use park with a playground for kids, trails for dog walkers, tolerance for bums to chill, and a ropes course, I am going to have to say to avoid this one. The course in Debary is infinitely better and unless you have no other choice you should just be there instead. Hitting kids up in trees is no fun, and tbh I think the ropes course is quite unique and probably a better mix for dog walking and swinging than 175g flying discs. I will probably be hated for this but they should just be done with this course as it's an accident waiting to happen. Too bad because the layout is certainly fun. I would rate the layout and playability of this course a 3, but with the human hazards around it's just not fun to play.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  a fun place to play

1    7/18/2013   8/8/2014
Review By: boursin
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: great variety of shots needed, good for the average player. Some water to keep you honest. hyzers and anhyzers needed. the holes were not very long but they were a bit technical with water making them a bit tricky. tees are good, the scenery is good, the zip line makes for an interesting distraction. Well maintained.
Cons: Fire ants were everywhere and the mounds of them were a foot or more high off of the ground. Poor signage to the first hole. Some holes a bit difficult to find for a first timer.
Other Thoughts: Had a great time and will definitely play it over and over again the locals were very good to show the way to the next hole, saw a few homeless people but they were not interested in us.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 So this is Florida

5+    9/1/2013   9/4/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 7.3 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The ocean is a breeze away. The ground is kept (barely) dry by a network of canals. The course is spotted with swampy ponds that, if they weren't in so public a park, would be crawling with gators. This is Florida and Tuscawilla embraces its identity.

The course is well maintained, with two sets of tees, each sporting a sign laminated into a knee-high rock. While the signs themselves are exceedingly unhelpful, they are really nice at identifying tees in a natural manor. The rocks are nearly identical, so they are easily spotted while blending into the environment.

The course itself is solid fare. Water is in play at several holes, but none of the holes boast a memorable carry. There are factors at Tuscawilla that scream 3.5(the atmosphere, the upkeep,) to me, but others that leave me thinking 2.5. (more on that later) So it settles around a three.

There are a few interesting holes. Seven is one of the rare water carries I've seen that favors RHFH/LHBH throwers. Thirteen is the longest hole, and features a pagoda of sorts. (So tempting to enforce a self-imposed double mando and throw between the pillars)

But at Tuscawilla, the best is saved for last. For the last few holes, a canal curves through the fairway, making for a few distinct lines and landing places. After the blah of seeing that canal uselessly border the far right of the fairways, its creative use on the final holes redeems Tuscawilla in a fantastic way.
Cons: But the water is not always used to the effect that it could be. Fifteen has a fantastic pin placement butting out into a small pond, but the tee is just too close. Too short of a hole for the water to pose any true risk/reward. The opposite problem affects fourteen. The first time I was here, the pin was on a small island in a doughnut shaped lake. It's not there anymore. That island looks so sad with no basket on it.

The water is also occasionally where it's not supposed to be. The drainage is acceptable here but it is Florida and there can be a lot of rain in the summer months. Fairways can be soaked. While this is the better Daytona course, Reed Canal is probably a better choice if it has been rainy.

The bigger issue here, which keeps Tuscawilla from a 3.5, is some of the navigation. I've played here several times, and I keep playing from seven to eleven. Eight through ten are oddly placed, as you have to go back down to the middle of the seven fairway to find the eight tee. Then from ten it's a bit of a haul that walks through seven, to find tee eleven.

Then of course there is the adventure course. Numerous holes feature zipliners as moving targets. I mean, the people on the adventure course are in the middle of the fairway.
Other Thoughts: So that's what it is. A solid course with some solid flaws. But there isn't a better course within an hour of Daytona.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  Beautiful course

1    6/28/2013   7/1/2013
Review By: keepgoing
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course is well maintained and very pleasing to the eyes! My wife and I had a great time on the course. We were on vacation and played two courses and this was the best one.
Also we had help from two awesome and very friendly locals who were extremely helpful with navigating the course!!
Cons: Well there is really only one and that is the lack of direction on this course. Even with taking a picture of the course map it was tough to navigate.
Other Thoughts: Just a few more course signs and it really would be perfect. It has a nice mixture of obstacles and technical throws to get everyone excited to play this course!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/14/2013   6/14/2013
Review By: RussMB
Played: 130  Reviewed: 109  Exp: 14 Years
This review was updated on 6/17/2013
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Located in a beautiful park in Central Daytona, in between the Speedway and the Beach.
-Tee area: 2 sets of tees per hole; Tee signs with map, distance, and position indicator. (position indicator is a little round white piece of wood with (P1,P2, or P3 written on it). Tee signs are embedded into these larger rocks near the teepads.
-Not beginner friendly, this is a course more for seasoned recreational to professional. Beginners could get extremely frustrated here. Especially when requiring accuracy at long distances
-Basket with 2 to 3 alt positions.
-Shelter house with bulletin board and map. Map on the outside facing the course.
-Has a few good risk/reward shots, Blind Dog legs, Second shot placement par 4's, and a full water carry on 7,
-9 plays back to the parking lot, giving one the option for a quick 9 or a stop off at the car.
-A good mix of open field and wooded shots. There is also a good balance of right/Left handed shots. Those shots also rotate with the pin position. 12 may favor right handed players one week, the next week it will cater to left handed players
-The course makes use of the surroundings, offering blind shots, water carries, and an island hole. There are also a number of long distance shots, as well as a few par 4 and 5 shots.
-Tuscawilla is a very challenging course that will test you in accuracy, distance, and accuracy at long distances.
-One set of tee's offers up a challenge for the seasoned player who has confidence and control with their drives, while the second tee still offers up a strong challenge for the recreational player without being too frustrating.

FWIW
-Zipline Tour is available in the park. Wished I had time to do that as well.
Cons: -Navigation is brutal, there is a map, but it could use an update. I took a picture of the map on my phone, and it was hard to follow since it was faded. Knowing where you are going is vital to this course.

-I noticed that some of the pin position indicators had not been changed to reflect the location of the current basket. This would require a walk down the fairway to locate the basket. Some holes you won't see the baskets until you are almost pin high. That's okay occasionally, but when you have to do it frequently, it tends to get frustrating. (This con really falls into a first timer category)

-This goes back to the Navigation, but some of the holes transition awkwardly. If you don't know where you are going, you may be stuck looking for the next tee in the wrong place. I almost threw down 11 after 7, because I saw a teepad. When you finish 12, you have a long transition to 13 where you follow the road a good ways before you get to the tee. I ran into this a few different times.

-I don't know if this is common, or if the grass just hadn't been mowed. I am aware that we had Tropical Storm Andrea dump a ton of rain on Florida. My discs could land in the grass and get swallowed. A lot of time was spent looking for Discs in open fields.

-This is an "is what it is" just part of Coastal Florida. The rough is brutal, and if your disc goes in, you may be looking for a while. Don't get me wrong, it's Beautiful to look at, but it's hard when your disc goes into the middle of it. It's the kind of rough where you can't see the ground in the trees.
Other Thoughts: You will use a variety of lines and discs here. The course starts out fairly simple, but like a tractor pull, the further you go, the harder it gets. You'll throw a variety of different lines, and use a number of discs in the process. It's an impressive course that showcases the ecological side of Florida. One third of this plays under a canopy, where you have to work the lines through the trees, one third is open field, and another third is playing alongside very thick jungle like rough. You'll definitely want to bring liquids, as this course can take a while to play. Tuscawilla is in the center of Daytona, so you are surrounded by gas stations and restaurants.
I had really been looking forward to playing here but I was met with a lot of first time frustration. I got turned around, threw on wrong baskets, threw from the wrong tee's, etc... There are a number of issues that will make your first visit difficult. On the flip side, after you have played here, your return visits may give you a better, more enjoyable experience. Future visits will not be met with the same circumstances. The best way to prevent this from being a bad first impression is to meet up with a local and have them guide you through the course. The reason I say that is because Tuscawilla really is a great course! The frustrations can hide the true enjoyment of playing at Tuscawilla.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.