Walhalla, MI 
Walhalla Woods Share
Uploaded By: MasonCountyDiscGolf Hole #2 (Taken 6/2018)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
WOW!

1    8/26/2018   8/27/2018
Review By: Fiftyace
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Spectacular holes... all 24. This course is a dream course in it's infancy. Brand new chainstar baskets, well maintained fairways and rolling forest holes that have tight lanes, but will only challenge, not make you swear. Some tighter lanes here, some wider lanes there... Clean fairways... Great 'letter' holes near the water that include a 200ft down hill, window shot to a basket next to the water... landing area is 'the circle', no fairway. Just a great course!
Cons: Natural pads. Though not really a negative as the beauty and awesomely manicured fairways make this a must play.
Other Thoughts: If you have ever pictured a disc golf course in your head... this is the course. 180-almost 600ft holes... this course will challenge and reward you at the same time. Ran into the owner that was working the course in preparation for STates next weekend... was really nice and excited that players were starting to come and appreciate the playground he created.


I was happy to pay the $5... this course is well worth it!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Walhalla Woods definitely worth the visit

1    7/15/2018   7/15/2018
Review By: SteveHultquist
Played: 427  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 24.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well laid out, good use of land. Each hole has good charisma, and appropriate level of challenge for hole length. I love the flavor this course brings to the table. It can be punishing for errant shots, however, plenty of opportunities to erase bogey strokes. I will definitely look forward to playing here again.
Cons: Only con is tee pads are natural and will get rutted out without regular tee manicures. I'm sure this is in the works so it's not that big of a worry for me.
Other Thoughts: The picturesque holes and amount of challenge this course offers, more than makes up for a more rigid tee pad. I had no slippage with them mind you. This is a destination course most assuredly. Once the course is worn in, it will definitely get a bump up the scale as far as the rating goes.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course, but unfinished.

1    7/8/2018   7/11/2018
Review By: cthorsgard
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Technical fairways.
Good combination of long and short holes.
The course forces you to be accurate.
Great layout going right back to the parking area.
Beautiful, rolling fairways situated next to a lake.
Easy to navigate with all the arrow signs.
Cons: Tons of debris (in the cleanup stage from the looks of it) in piles.
Unmarked stumps.
No signs that show position or distance. (plenty of arrow signs telling you where to go, though)
No concrete tees yet - almost fell a couple times where the sand is deeper.
Other Thoughts: Seth was super nice and came out to talk with me. Some of the family even provided a little gallery for us for our hole 1 tee off. :D

Overall the property is phenomenal. Despite it being in the cleanup stage, this course is easily in my top 10. With signs, cleanup and large concrete tees, this course would rival Flip and Bluegill.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

God made this land expressly for disc golf.

5+    6/10/2018   6/13/2018
Review By: MasonCountyDiscGolf
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 6/19/2018
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Course lies in the heart of mid-Michigan multi-environments.
-Minutes from all the mecca of the Mason County Courses (Beauty, Beast, Goliath, Leviathan, Labyrinth, the Edge, and Whiskey Creek). An hour north of Flip City.
-Has aspects of both placement shot disc golf and run the basket style disc golf.
-Intense elevation changes (comparable to other Midwest courses)
-Secluded from masses
-True water hazards
-The same "Field of Dreams" quality that Flip City has but in it's baby stages.
Cons: -Pretty much all the negatives that a new course in its infancy can possibly have.
-You had better be in shape for the course.
Other Thoughts: This review/rating is strictly based on the few months this course has been available to play and HOW it plays and not the amenities that will surely come in time and with continued effort on the gracious owner's part. I could never give this a 5 until then. Even making this a 4.5 is a stretch but in the end it's about the purity of play.

First off, I am in love with this course. It has been property that's been in the owner's family for years. Seth is a great disc golfer in his own right and has played on this land for years upon years, figuring out the where and hows to lay out a 24 hole professional course on such an incredible and diverse piece of land. I, personally, have never played such a diverse environment course east of the Mississippi till now.

Imagine if god created land with natural fairways and greens laid out in a wooded environment that changes between heritage old woods, pines, luscious young saplings, and a variety of Midwestern growth. Up and down hills, across hills, a basket on a secluded lake, one over a swamp pond...there is just so much here.

Currently the course is marked out in a simplistic way with arrows from baskets to the next dirt tee pad (which happen to be some of the best and longest man made dirt tee pads I have ever played). The course takes you on a ride like no other. There is a perfect mix of lefty, righty, flex, bomb, anahyzer, placement, and run it holes scattered throughout. It caters to the accurate player and at times the power player, but never does it feel out of balance. It also never feels like a hole is just thrown in for the sake of flow. They all fit and you'll always be looking forward to the next hole. You'll step up to a tee and know this was the only place a fairway and hole could be. It literally feels like nature dictated the course before it actually was a course.

Things to keep in mind. This is a long and time consuming course. Plan a half day outing at the minimum. Bring bug spray. Under a canopy 90% of the time so the sun tends not to be huge issue. I would dare to say not quite cart friendly. I'm sure it could be done but I cringe thinking about dragging a cart up the "wall" on hole 12.

I'm not sure where to go on in this review here other than to say this is surely going to be a crown jewel in time with more love, more attention to details, more traffic. As for now it is an opportunity to play an incredible piece of property heavenly made for pure disc golf playing. Seek it out, understand it's still a baby, throw plastic in the woods, and smile.... a lot.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Pines, Ridge, Pond, and a Lakeview

1    6/3/2018   6/12/2018
Review By: Mushin No Shin
Played: 768  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 13.6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Seth is a Righteous Dude
Thanks for sharing your DG Paradise!!! Thanks for Mowing on your Sunday, Dave :D

Super Fun Course!!!

Course Map/Scorecard is extra useful for first timers, with extra info about the blind holes

Great Variety of Shots

Awesome use of the Ridge and other Elevation

Smart Design *did I upward spiral outta the Pond!?*

Also... there is a Pond, that comes into play!

Plays Mostly in Pines :heart: Property also has a Hardwood section

Couple 'Unique to Walhalla' Holes... you'll see!!!

Pairs nicely with Flip for a Fantastic day of Frolf... in my experience :)

Has Mason County Disc Culture

New Baskets

Back of Walhalla Woods has some Stellar Views
Cons: Ladies don't have PortaJane options

It's just off Hwy 10, but on the wrong side of the Lake... for Me :p
Other Thoughts: Course goes out as one big 24 hole Round, before returning to your Vehicle

I'm indifferent to Tees
The Teepads at Walhalla are currently Natural, Flagged, and in Good Shape... many were like a soft carpet, with all the Pine Needles :)



3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.