Darlington, PA 
Big Beaver DGC Share



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0
Reviews: 3
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Very peaceful and secluded.

1    1/5/2019   1/10/2019
Review By: Jags
Played: 32  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/12/2019
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: You are in for a treat if you are playing Big Beaver for the 1st time. Driving down the small backroad made me realize that this might be a little more secluded than most courses in the surrounding areas. At the bottom of this road is ample parking spaces to choose from. Hole #1 starts to the right of the parking lot. This hole is the most open shot on the course thus far. Don't get me wrong...it's not a gimme, with guardian trees protecting the basket, but after this...your in the thick of it. Hole #2 is a massive uphill shot that actually has a switch-back trail that takes you to the top after your uphill drive. This is where good disc/shot selection can make or break your round. BB I feel is very fair when it comes to basket placement. It has about equal shots for lefty's & righty's. The front 9 loop finishes right where you started. This area has some great courses and BB is a great addition!
Cons: The course is still under construction. Some of the fairways are still rough around the edges. There are some wet spots on the fairways where water is trying to drain from one side to the other. In time this will be addressed I'm sure when all wet spots are figured out. Also some of the tee pads are a little rough and need some more work done to them. But, that's understood when you realize that some of them had to be literately carved out of the hillsides. On some of the fairways a little more clearing may be required for some low hanging branches but the course is still young. Some tripping hazards remain from small trees that were cut to clear lanes. Most are painted just be vigilant. I would not recommend trying to bring your cart here. You are climbing hills every other hole. This course is quite a workout so be warned.
Other Thoughts: Big Beaver is a very wooded course with a lot of elevation changes. I don't have the biggest arm so this is the kind of course I like. Reminds me of Linbrook if you've played the area. This course was literally carved out of untouched woods. You can tell all the hard work that went into this course...and it's not even complete yet. I can't wait to see it completed. Keep up the good work BCDGA!!!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Under Construction

5+    6/10/2018   7/13/2018
Review By: jzap
Played: 57  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.7 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Seclusion is the best asset here.
Variety of shots.
Good cardio workout.
Peaceful setting.
Chainstar Baskets.
Close to home.
Free parking lol.
Shade trees.
Multiple Tees.
Cons: Under Construction:
- permanent tees to go in
- 18 holes to be finished by 2019
- signs
- terrain is tough (stumps, roots, etc)
Other Thoughts: I gave this course a 4.0 because it is indeed Excellent for only being a semi-finished 9 holes.
You appreciate the amount of work that goes into designing and building a course.
It takes a lot of volunteers and a lot 'favors' to get a course done, but it takes dedication to get it done right, and this course shows that.
Good job so far. This course is very fun and challenging and gives you a pretty good workout.
And don't worry if it pours down rain, the tree canopy is dense and protective, which hides the sun too.
Hole #2 might be too hard to climb in the winter, but you can put spikes on lol

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

One Angry Beaver!

1    7/4/2018   7/4/2018
Review By: DiscinOhio
Played: 110  Reviewed: 105  Exp: 9.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/30/2018
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * 7-30-18 UPDATE: So I just learned that the course is under construction, and 18 holes is on the way for late 2018 to early 2019. I'm bumping my rating up to a 3.5, and I'll be back when the course is completed to re-assess. It'll be an awesome 18 holer when it's all finished up, they're doing all of this without heavy equipment so props for that!

So I don't know what the significance of beavers is in this area, but there's at least 8 towns with it in their name. Big Beaver, Little Beaver, New Beaver, Beaver Falls, etc. Anyways, let's get to the course...

+ Big Beaver is a wild 9 holer with crazy elevation changes and some fun signature holes all packed into a long 9 hole loop. #2 literally plays up a cliff. If it's your first round of the day, you'll probably be gasping for air, while smiling if you're able to score par.

+ The course is mostly secluded in the dense woods and is set aside for disc golf. No pedestrians to speak of in that part of the park.

+ Elevation is intense and will seriously impact your round. This provided difficulty and uniqueness to give the 9 holer replay value.

+ Good mix in distances and shot selections. THREE sets of tees for most skill levels. I wouldn't say the reds are for beginners or rec players though.
Cons: - I was bouncing back and forth between a 3.0 and a 3.5, but I'll keep it the lower one for now. No tee signs for densely wooded par 4's can make navigation a little tough.

- Natural tees were very slick, a more permanent option would be nice. Maybe planned for the future.

- While most of the course is very tough, there's a couple of 200 footers that seem out of place when you look back on the rest of the course.

- Most fairways are littered with branches and debris. A few spots in the rough are very thick with poison ivy and prickers.

- Only 9 holes, so the max rating for me would be a 4.0. I think a back 9 is in the works, and with this terrain, that would be a big time workout.
Other Thoughts: Big Beaver will be a higher rating than a 3.0 once more permanent options are installed. This could be a crazy difficult 18 hole gem if a back 9 is ever installed. For now, it's a solid play if you're in the area and looking for a good challenge.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.