Florence, KY 
South Fork Park Share
Uploaded By: InnocentCrook Hole #5 (Taken 10/2018)
3 / 255ft.   3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Most picturesque course in the area

1    10/30/2018   11/2/2018
Review By: MrFrosty
Played: 444  Reviewed: 72  Exp: 26.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Not even knowing that there was a park in the southern part of Florence , I was very interested in playing South Fork Park . Make sure that when you enter the park , park as soon as you can on the left hand side of the parking lot . There is no signage pointing you to the cement path on the right side of you across the road . the restrooms for the park are located to the left of the path .There is a kiosk , but it does no mention disc golf . Follow the path downhill to the bottom which will wind you right and you will be facing hole number 1 . This course was well planned out and a lot of work went into it , along with a lot of cash . This is the best looking 9 hole course in the area , bar none . The course flows very well , with the exception of 4 basket to 5 tee , which you will have to backtrack on the side of the fairway and on your right , climb a giant man made hill ( pretty cool ) to the top .Great cement tees ( plenty long enough ), new Mach 5 baskets , and fantastic looking & informative signage compliment this new course . As I said before , they spared no expense creating it . The course itself After hole number 1 , a boring and generic 331' level throw with nothing around the fairway or basket . After 1 , the holes become more interesting . #2's tee, slightly elevated , forces you to throw you straightaway drive over a creek . If you make it over the creek , you cross over it with what looks like a brand new bridge. #3 tee has 2 new planted trees that haven't forced your line yet , but eventually will make you throw a right to left drive with a possible creek and treeline in play down the right side . #4 has the same hazard , just not the trees forcing your line right . Instead , you might want to chance a middle of the fairway throw , then a clear path to the basket . You will backtrack down the left side of the fairway and climb a large hill to the top , where #5's tee sits . You will throw from top of a large man made hill to another , about 250' away . It is a big risk reward toss as , if the wind picks up , or your throw is a little too energetic , or your disc picks up and rolls , you could end up at the bottom .#6 tee sits on the right side of this hill , a shorter 200' toss onto another hill only a little tighter fairway , same risk reward . Behind 6 basket sits #7's tee . Sitting a little left of the tee box , and a little downhill , there seems enough room and the hole is short enough that you controlled midrange/driver should be enough to cover the 280' - 290' distance . #8's tee is an elevated one to the left and behind #7's basket . You are throwing a short 175' back over the creek ( see #2 ) with some small trees just to the right and left side of the creek and 2 trees guarding the front of the basket . #9 , to the right of you , is another fairway much like the fairway on 4 , with trees and brush down the right side and wide open space on the left . Be careful of the disc golfers walking up the fairway on #1 , which you share some of this open space with . You will end right back where you started . A round can play pretty quick . If I had not played with new friend Connor , I would have been done in about 30-35 minutes . This course sits about 1.5 miles from where I work , but I would gladly drive 30-40 minutes for it . There were several people on the course when we played , all of them nice . Hard but not impossible to lose a disc here . Signature hole , even though pretty easy , would be #2 ,
Cons: #1 The course is pretty easy . Nothing too challenging and nothing over 404' .If you can keep your drives straight , you will score well here . #2 Maybe looking for the course . There could be a sign to point you down the path where the course is , and maybe a sign or 2 pointing you the way from 4 to 5 . #3 ? I was looking at the lay of the land . I know that it might use up a lot of the park , but is it possible to expand to 18 holes in the future ? You would increase your disc golf population X 5 . Not a criticism for a 9 hole course , but a bench or 2 along with a trash receptacle here and there would complete this course .
Other Thoughts: What a great addition to the area ! I didn't even know this park was here before the course was on DGR . Who would have thought that going into a couple of subdivisions here would pull you into this park . The course sits on its own away from the other park amenities . For a course that was just added this year , it is already broken in and ready to try . While this might not pose a challenge for some , the scenic aspect of this new course should bring you back more than a time or 2 . Got a spare hour ? Come see this . If you have all day , couple this with a round at Lincoln Ridge , Idlewild or Boone Woods . My advice ? If you live in Northern Ky or Cincinnati , PLAY IT !

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Unique Course Location

1    8/16/2018   8/16/2018
Review By: Ace1
Played: 37  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 27.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is fairly open. This is a good beginner course for sure.

The walk is very nice and picturesque.

There are a number of similar shot type holes. Course allows you to practice your shot again if the first hole you encountered didn't end as you would like.

Hole 7, in my opinion, will be the signature hole there with the semi-tunnel shot toward the walking bridge along the creek.
Cons: Open holes 1&9 are parallel and potential to hit players coming in opposite direction.

Hole 2 errant or short shots may require a long walk since crossing the stream requires a backtrack to the footbridge.

Holes 3&4 straight to slight left with trees along right side fairway, almost a repeat.

Holes 5&6 are placed on man made dirt mound that most likely were result of subdivision up the hill. Shots are tee to top.

There are many walkers and bikers in the park. Even with yelling warnings, people sitting or standing near baskets not aware that baskets are having flying plastic objects being thrown in their general direction and getting the dirty looks even after warnings issued prior to throwing.
Other Thoughts: I appreciate the parks department investing in the sport. I think the layout is what is given the shape of the park area available. I think this course has potential in the coming years pending how it is developed.

If there is enough property there to add another 9 holes, I think it will be a good alternate course to Boone Woods which is not to far away. I am curious to see in the coming months and years of how the community accepts the course being amongst the walking/biking paths and potential complaints of the flying discs landing near them.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Lives up to the hype

2-4    7/7/2018   7/7/2018
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 314  Reviewed: 296  Exp: 7.8 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I've been hearing some excitement about this new course in Florence, and had to give it a whirl. Turns out it's worth the hype. It's already the best nine hole course in Northern Kentucky, and definitely comparable to the really top notch Mason Sports Park near Kings Island, in Ohio. When you pull into the park, you're impressed with the amenities, woods, views, and elevation. Then you hike down the paved path, expecting more, and... well, it starts with an open field shot. Hmmm. Easy peasy, that's a threesie! But wait, give it a second, because hole 2 is beautiful: it crosses the stream (ignore Egon's important safety tip) to a green cut nicely into the wall of woods. Follow that up with a lane hole with a green bordering the stream, long, repeat the challenge on 4, and start thinking ahead to the mound top shot on 5.

Likely a signature pair of holes, you climb a 60 foot high mound (Feel the Berm!), and toss across to a second, with all rollaway if you don't spike it down Just So. Then you go halfway down that mound to the hillside 6th tee and throw to the third mound. This one feels shorter (by that I mean shorter, less distant, as well as lower elevation), but has the same fun challenge. Finish up with a downslope lane shot with more creek long and right, then the ace run 8th across the creek, and back out to the beginning field for the much longer hole 9.

With perfect, level, concrete tees, awesome yellow Mach V's with deep cages, and the hint of top notch signage on its way to go on the varnished, capped signposts, the park department here has spent some money on us. The massive bridge across the creek appears to be there for the paved path (that does NOT come into play for the DG course), but serves well when the water runs high.

Overall, a good course to challenge recreational to intermediate skill levels, and to get a surprisingly decent workout up and down those mounds!
Cons: The course layout and flow is fine, and the challenges are, as well, but I thought it odd to have adjacent, similar holes three times in a nine hole run (1&9, 3&4, 5&6). The rough is thick & unforgiving near the green on 2, and to the sides of 3, 4 & 9, though I expect, based on the relatively heavy play this course is already getting, that we'll see it tamed sooner rather than later.

I really only have one complaint, and that is that the seventh teepad is blind and at the foot of the hill, on the left side, where overthrows on 6 will come fading in hard. Eventually it's gonna spell trouble. Of course, the park might put up a net like Minneapolis' Bryant Lake Park did to protect folks teeing off on hole 11...
Other Thoughts: It's funny that my first experience with manmade hills in a park (Terramont) was just a couple of weeks ago on a trip to see my folks in Texas. Just as that is unique to the Houston region, South Fork's three mounds are unique course features here around Cincinnati.

Reviewer Background as of this writing: played 312 courses and written 294 reviews, via skills hovering around a 900 rating, with folks ranging from age 7 to 87, so I try to write reviews helpful to all.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

N. Ky's best 9'er

1    7/2/2018   7/5/2018
Review By: InnocentCrook
Played: 134  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 19.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/6/2018
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Quality tee pads of good size and brand new (yellow!) Mach 5 baskets with number plates.
-Mix of longer holes (350+) where a discer of average skill will be able to let it loose and shorter ace runs (175-275) and a few in between (275-350). These are my best guess at distances as nothing was marked at the time of this review.
-Creek comes into play on 6 of the 9 holes. (2, 3, 4, 7, 8, 9) You get to cross the creek on 2 and 8 and play alongside it for the others.
-Very easy to navigate. Other than the transition from 4 to 5 I believe the next teepad is visible from the previous basket. Even without tee signs my brother in law and I were able to navigate it pretty easily the first time through.
-Decent mix of shot shaping required despite being a very open course.
-Where the Ohio side of Greater Cincy has a bunch of 9 hole courses, N. Ky has been lacking. RA Jones and Walton were just added within the last 5 years or so. Then we have Highland Park and Alexandria in Campbell County. Those 4 are nothing to write home about. Adding a quality 9 hole course was sorely needed and South Fork delivers.
-The course is probably challenging for lower Intermediate level players and below. Upper Int. and above should be bagging some birdies for sure. That said, it's got a lot of fun throws for people of all skill levels.
-Hole 5 is hands down the signature hole. 2 large man-made, perfectly round hills of about 30-40 feet in height. Throw from the peak of the tallest one to the peak of the next with a slight elevation drop, probably about 250' in length. While it's not the most challenging hole, it has an interesting visual element that can't be denied.
-The run of holes from 5-8 is just flat out fun with the aforementioned 5, then 6, a short ace run from the right side of the middle hill to a basket on the peak of the last, much smaller, man-made hill. 7 plays downhill along the creek and is a natural RHBH fading midrange or fairway driver. This is the "tightest" fairway on the course but is still wide open compared to most wooded holes in this area. 8 is a short (<200') ace run across the creek with the basket set in between two large trees.
-Course is in a VERY populated area smack in between Florence and Union and should help attract some new players.
Cons: -Holes 1 and 9 are pretty similar and have a high chance of throwing into each others fairway.
-Holes 3 and 4 are two of the longest holes on the course and are also pretty similar to each other. (Long-ish hole with creek running along the right hand side, pin set moderately close to the creek.)
-While the fairways are mostly wide open, if you do get into the patches of rough, it's very thick rough.
-Tee signs not yet installed, but I played this course just days after the pins were installed.
Other Thoughts: -Very pleased that the City of Florence Parks gave the A-OK to install a course that should get lots of play based on being in a very nice neighborhood park.
-This course will probably make it into our collection of weekly evening rounds with Boone Woods, Idlewild, and Lincoln Ridge with much less regular stops at Mt. Airy and AJ Jolley.
-Park amenities also include a volleyball court, a nice shelter, restrooms, playground, and basketball court, and a walking trail (which doesn't interfere with the course!)
-Easily the best 9 holer in the Northern Kentucky area. Not as challenging of a 9 holer as the course at Mason Sports Park on the Ohio side, but a lot of fun none the less.
-No trash cans so be a good neighbor and pack out your trash.
-Course is in a very heavily populated residential area so please be courteous of the people who live in the area surrounding the park.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.