Waleska, GA 
Reinhardt University Share
Uploaded By: Cerealman Hole #3 (Taken 7/2020)
3 / 228ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Solid for Beginners

1    12/11/2020   5/4/2021
Review By: Shadrach3
Played: 152  Reviewed: 106  Exp: 2.6 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A pleasant environment offering a beginner-level challenge.

-Basics and Flow: The tees are clear, though they and the signs have major issues, see cons. Chains are good. This means that it's pretty easy to follow from hole to hole throughout the course.

-"Friendly": My label for the combination of easy-to-play, well kept up, and hard-to-lose-discs.

-Minimal Shaping: Although all the holes are short, they do utilize a minimum of shapes. (1), (5), (6), and (8) present trees to throw around, while (2) is a very challenging hole requiring either a huge RHFH hyzer or a precision gap hit. Elevation adds some interest, whether side hills on (1) and (9) or more direct ups and downs like (3), (4), (7), and (8).

-Beginner Friendly: With the longest hole topping out under 300', Reinhardt presents a good starting course. I encountered a couple learning to play, and I think these holes were the perfect difficulty. New players can make par on all of the holes, and even have a birdie opportunity on (3)-(5).
Cons:
-Amenities: The tees are deteriorating boxes of rubber mulch that are too small to be useful. The signs on them are apparently from a previous iteration of the course and have incorrect distances.

-Gap: (1)-(5) play in one area of campus, but then there's a long walk to the grassy space where (6)-(9) are located. This is annoying, and without a map, would be very difficult to figure out. The only parking convenient to (1) was all marked reserved, so there's also a walking gap between parking and the first hole.

-Hole Overlap: Definitely could be some issues if multiple groups played. (3)-(5) are almost on top of each other, as are (6)-(9). A couple of times I had to wait for players to tee off on the next hole before I could throw my first shot on the previous hole safely.

-Lack of Challenge: For a rec or better player, Reinhardt will be easy breezy. Anything but a birdie on the 130' hole (5) will be an embarrassment, with every other hole presenting a good chance to two as well.
Other Thoughts: Reinhardt is a perfectly lovely beginner course. In terms of challenge for most players, it is pitiful. Overall, a solid Passable worth a play for locals with only a little experience.

-Personal Vendetta: For me, Reinhardt holds the dubious distinction of being the first course where I lost a disc down a sewer. A one-day-old putter didn't get off the ground enough and skittled along the road and through a drainage grate on (2).

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Restored Reinhardt course offers relaxing round

1    7/25/2020   7/28/2020
Review By: Cerealman
Played: 339  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 12.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: On a beautiful rural campus in the speck of a town called Waleska, the Reinhardt University DGC offers a short but enjoyable disc golf experience.

The wow you might experience on this course will come from the scenery on the first few holes, which offers views of lavish lawns, rolling hills, manicured flower gardens and swans swimming on Lake Mullenix.

This course is a good choice for beginners, as it offers variety but is rather forgiving. For more experienced players, they'll see Reinhardt University DGC as an opportunity to bag a bunch of birdies.

While all of the holes are under 300 feet, they do offer unique challenges. The first couple holes require navigating a few trees with some minor elevation changes near the pin. Hole #3 is only 228 feet but requires throwing over a hill to a blind basket. Hole #4 is slightly shorter but requires an up-the-hill drive to a basket partially protected by a huge tree. Hole #5 is the shortest hole on the course and the down-the-hill fairway offers a choice of a late fade or trying to sneak under the branches. Hole #6 is another blind shot; this time, the basket is tucked in at the end of a line of evergreens on the left side of the fairway. The last three holes are fairly open, and Hole #9 circles back to use the same basket as Hole #6.

The baskets are Discatchers, and while they have seen some wear, they were in good shape.

Excluding the walk between Holes #5 and #6 (see below), navigation was uncomplicated. The next teepad is fairly close to the previous basket minus the aforementioned exception. However, it did take a few minutes for me to find the first teepad; it's right behind the Hasty Center and is literally a few feet from a back door.

I listed Hole #2 as containing a water hazard. To the left of the fairway is a lovely rock garden intersected by a small stream that expands as it flows toward the lake. Unless your drive fades hard or hits a tree and receives an unkind ricochet, the water shouldn't come into play.
Cons: The teepads are the worst part of the course. The teepads are made from wooded 4x4s and are extremely small. I didn't lay down in the mulch-filled area, but I doubt they would have contained my nearly six-foot frame. There isn't enough room for more than a step or two, let alone a full run-up. And because the teepads are elevated, it'd be a bit treacherous to opt for a running start. Plus, the teepads are in rough shape with grass growing in and around the mulch. Teeing off next to the teepad might be preferable.

The tee number, distance and par are on a little plaque at the back of the teepads, but a couple of the distances are inaccurate. Apparently, Holes #5 and #8 use to be longer. But now, Hole #5 is down a short hill and closer to 180 feet instead of being 280 feet and across an open, sloping hill. Hole #8 use to have a 360-foot option; now it's probably about 260 feet and tucked in next to the tree line.

An outdated scorecard and some apps might list several of the holes as par-4s, but considering all the holes are decently open and not longer than 285 feet, all the holes would be rated as par 3s now.

The course is divided into two different areas. The first five holes are on one section of the campus, then it's probably a quarter-mile walk to the remaining four holes. Use the DGCR course map for navigation!

The course is a bit isolated as the closest disc golf courses to Reinhardt University are about a 30-minute drive.
Other Thoughts: When I ventured to this course, I didn't know what to expect or if the course was even operational. I rationalized the trip to my family by promising an 18-inch pizza from Perrotta's in nearby Canton (the cheese- and olive-covered pie was excellent, by the way).

I was pleasantly surprised at the beauty of the Reinhardt University campus. And while the disc golf course wasn't award-winning, the course is clean and makes good use of the property and elevation available. Tiny teepads aside, there are no glaring errors in the design.

The previous reviewer said Reinhardt University has the "potential to be a great beginner 9-hole course." With the recent renovation, this course is on its way to realizing that possibility.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Needs A Lot of Work!!

1    10/30/2018   10/30/2018
Review By: transform.nbr
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - It is a pretty campus
- It allows you an area to throw a disc
- Discatcher baskets
Cons: - The course design is pretty terrible
- The course map is very off
- No directional signs
- Large walk between 5 and 6, but yet there is nothing guiding the way.
- 2 of the 9 holes are missing (4 & 8)
- 2 of the 9 Tee pads are missing (5 & 9)
- Tee pads are dangerous. Way too small for any type of step throw. (Course is small so small pads are ok, but these pads come off the ground 5 or 6 inches and in places have rebar sticking up through the wood.)
Other Thoughts: The only other review is pretty spot on. I don't have much to add. This is my first and I have played probably 100 courses in my life. I was excited about this course because its the only one in the area and the campus is really pretty. But the course needs a serious reworking. To quote the previous reviewer "Holes 4 & 8 were non-existent, and holes 5 & 9 were missing tee pads." This has still not changed.

Sad thing is that this course has potential to be a GREAT beginner 9 hole course. All they need to do is put in a little effort and it would be surprisingly nice. As it is though I have to say it is an unplayable 9 hole course. 4 out of the nine holes are either missing a tee-pad or a basket . . . AND the Map is pretty worthless after hole 3.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Needs reworking

1    8/4/2018   8/4/2018
Review By: Foyboy89
Played: 40  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: the campus is really nice
and there is a kiosk with scorecards and course maps
Cons: -No practice basket
-Tee pads were extremely small like 4'x4' Holes 6 and 9 shared the same basket, Holes 4 & 8 were non-existent, and holes 5 & 9 were missing tee pads
-Unrealistic Par Scores
Other Thoughts: I'm assuming there was a 9 hole course before several campus renovations and new constructions that required a few holes to be moved or eliminated and they have not been replaced. Its a shame, The campus was such a beautiful well-maintained space that could host an amazing course if a little bit more effort went into it. as of right now two College campuses in GA (Sothern Poly and Reindhardt) have made attempts at a 9 hole course and neither of them turned out that well. You would think with Student Activities budgets and a Disc Golf Club at the school a better course could be created but this was just a pain to play and the par is unrealistic it should be a Par 27 but despite only having a single hole over 300 feet it lists 4 par 4 holes.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.