Grove City, OH 
Scioto Grove DGC Share
Uploaded By: DiscinOhio Hole #11 (Taken 8/2018)
5 / 418ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Tight teepads ruin technical layout

2-4    6/1/2019   6/12/2019
Review By: Puckstopper
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 18 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Creative use of space

Feels totally different than anything else in the area. Uniqueness would normally be a HUGE plus in my book.

Forces me to THINK about shots instead of just throwing. I've come up with a couple of creative lines/throws here that I'll incorporate on other courses
Cons: Sits in a low-lying area and retains water. It's been muddy every time I've been here.

Needs LOTS more play to beat in the rough areas. I've left a couple discs behind. This will get better in time, but it's tough out there at the moment.

The teeny tiny teepads.
Other Thoughts: I really want to like Scioto Grove. It has many features I like such as high risk/high reward shots, unique feel, good use of elevation and has holes that reward all types of players. However, having been out there 3 times now I've decided it's unlikely I'll be back. The teepads are so short that they affect my run-up which leads to lost accuracy. Loss of accuracy leads to errant shots which proceed to fly into the deep rough, leading to me spending more money at DIsc Golf Mart. To be clear, we're not talking just a foot or two short. I'd guess these are 4 feet shorter than the pads at Hoover. There are a lot of flaws which I'll forgive, but tiny teepads that (usually) aren't level with the ground behind them isn't one of them. My biggest beef with this is that it's really difficult to fix teepads after the fact. Trees can be trimmed. Baskets can be moved. So on and so forth. I realize the budget may have been limited but I'd rather have seen a good 9 hole course here with better tees.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Scioto Grove

2-4    10/20/2018   10/29/2018
Review By: ad166809
Played: 46  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I love the baskets out at Scioto. They are in really great shape and catch everything.

Tee pads are nice and concrete. Brand new so not a lot of wear and tear.

The maps are well done. They have good yardages.

Scioto does an excellent job of using elevation. There are a lot of downhill tee offs and uphill baskets. You have to be very accurate on these uphill shots. I love playing down into the valley.

This is in a Metro Park so there are bathrooms around.

There is running water at the bathrooms.

Great variety of hole distances. You really have to make the birdie holes count out at Scioto because the long holes are very tough.

Huge variety of shots required at Scioto. I seriously used so many discs. XXX Opto, Firebird for Thumbers and Tommys, OS Buzz, Blizzard Krait, some Westside fairway driver, Shark, Gator, Valkyrie. I used them all for specific things.

For sure a mix of tight and technical and open bombs. The valley provides some great open bomb holes. There are some some really tight holes out here like #2 and #13.

Scioto is extremely challenging. You must be deadly accurate on your mid ranges. Your putts will look easy but it will be a high to low putt or vice versa. The tight gap holes provide a challenge for the long arms and the open bombs are just a little out of reach for the more accurate players.

Parking is great and right by #1. A little walk back to your car from #18.

Scioto does provide some fantastic scenic beauty. This park is really really nice. I played it as the sun was going down and was extremely impressed with how cool the course looked.

Not very crowded as it is so new.
Cons: I have to give the course design a negative right now because honestly it is a little unsafe.

The giant hill after the tee off on #3 is hard for even experienced discers to use. I couldnt imagine what this would be like after a hard rain.

Foliage maintenance is not very good either. It is new so I expect it to be cleared out a little but I have lost a disc here both times I have played it.

No epic holes that I can think off. I was going to say #11 but it there isn't anything crazy epic about it.

No Camping

This course is new so I doubt there are a lot of events out here. It is pretty hard so even if they do a tournament out here it might have to be a doubles event.

The locals are honestly not that great. The put the course right next to the archery range and talk about a completely different crowd.
Other Thoughts: Overall the scenic beauty and challenge that Scioto has to offer makes it probably the best of the Metro Park courses. It is so new it might have to go through some of the growing pains to bring it to its best potential. The ropes on the course have to be changed into stairs and soon or someone will get injured badly. I would play this course maybe once a month if I lived in the area. Go check it out if you live in Columbus.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

New Course , Great Design

1    9/2/2018   9/10/2018
Review By: MrFrosty
Played: 448  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 26.2 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Okay , this is the first course in Columbus where I automatically gave it a 3.5 on course design alone . I drove over from Area 51 to here , the newest of the Columbus area courses , and also an automatic must-play for southwest Columbusans just south of I-270 . FYI ; when driving in to find the course , go in the 2nd entrance ,( the main entrance ) and remember to make 3 right turns during your long drive in . You will arrive at a small lengthwise parking lot unsure if you are in the right spot or not . Better save some time and either ask someone ,or park and walk forward through and out of the lot to a basket you will eventually see and the tee pad to it on your left of the walking path . This will be one of the only times that you could come into contact with non disc players . You will make a left from the basket into some woods for hole 2 , a short 228' tunnel shot with brush and a small tree designed to make you pay for inaccuracy . #3 is the first of your top of the world shots . You can't really go check the topography of this hole ahead of time , so you will have to take my word for it . Throw a rock or approach disc downward slightly right to left off the narrow pass on the hill . The basket sits on kind of an inlet with water the length of the fairway on the right , and a big pond that is hidden from your sight on the left and behind the basket .I would have named this my signature hole if it had not swallowed up my Beast driver . The reason you will not be able to go down and see where the danger lurks is because you have to let yourself down the hill by rope . I still have a blister over a week later because of this . After this hole , you walk to your left and throw short to a basket that is hidden and protected by the same pond from 3 the guards the right of the basket and fir and regular trees that protect the . left side . Then the course pulls you up part of the hill to another elevated shot that will send you to the lower section of the course and force you back up the hill to a tight narrow shot uphill . Great basket placement ! Many of these holes are not the longest in Columbus , but are among the most unique . Holes that take you from top of the world drives almost 400' to back up the hill into narrow gaps into tight greens . The course designer spared nothing in the way of elevation . My signature hole would be #11 , a tee sitting sideways on the hill with either a safe hyzer left to right downward , avoiding most of the blocking trees , or the risky straight shot that eventually drops right to left . After your hopefully well placed drive , you have to shoot a narrow upwards approach that will drop straight down over the hill to the basket which is protected by a jail of several small trees . This is the longest hole at 418' . Another good hole is #12 , which is a downhill throw through a tight alley , spins a hard left into a tight fairway to an uphill basket . Better have a spotter for this one . The course eventually pops back out to the main low area for several remaining holes that have baskets on hills , baskets protected by bushes , etc . #17 stands out in my mind as a fairly long throw to a base of a small hill protects by bushes all around it , then go back down and tee off again toward this hill where your drive hopefully sits somewhere on this steep hill between the base and the top , where you missed all of the brush on either side . This final basket sits at the top of the steep hill and force you to use a rope to climb to the top to finish your round . The course enjoyment gauge is way up on this course .Dependable but short cement tees. Fantastic tee signs . Great visible green Mach baskets You will play holes that you never see in this area . I will surely play this course again very soon .
Cons: Bearing in mind that this course is brand new , I still have to point out the cons . #1. The rope . With the elevation being such a great plus on this course , attention should have been made to how players can get down #3 and up #18 specifically , but not solely . PLEASE CONSIDER INSTALLING STEPS ON THESE !!! #2 . After some rain , this course could be hard to navigate . Lots of spots and hillsides could become muddy fast . #3. No trash receptacles ,no benches , and course can become a little confusing with several baskets visible in the valley .#4 maybe some course cleanup with excess brush , like the mess on #12 . #5.Even though the signage is A+ , the navigation can be taxing for first timers . A necessity would be someone from Metro to put an informative online map here .Maybe some Next tee signs or tape to show where to go . Also some Disc Golf Course Signs directing you to the course itself . The park will have to watch the parking lot carefully , because the small spot they currently have could be outgrown by the course they installed .
Other Thoughts: I'm sure the cons I wrote down will be corrected , since the course is in it's infancy stages . Regardless of what I put down , this will soon be THE course to visit in Columbus aside from maybe Brent Hambrick ( or maybe not ) . This is a FOR SURE PLAY when in Columbus and will be a destination course soon . It may not play long , but it plays incredibly enjoyable . I don't want to fist bump or high five the person that made this course possible , I want to buy him some beer !!!

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Rough but decent

1    8/27/2018   8/27/2018
Review By: Xelto
Played: 31  Reviewed: 26
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Mixes up distances and appearances of throws
* Elevation and water in play
* High-vis baskets
* Decent but not amazing signage. The course is farily easy to get around; I only had one point where I had to backtrack.
* Concrete tees
* The repelling ropes to get down #3 and up #18 give the course a certain flair. This is both a positive and a negative.
Cons: * Seriously needs landscaping. Scruffy appearance, and you may trip once or twice over rocks or low-cut tree trunks.
* Tees are short and small
* The baskets aren't numbered. This isn't a major problem (the course has a reasonably obvious layout), but there were a couple times I had to check twice to make sure I knew where I was throwing.
* Road noise in spots; part of it is near a major throughfare.
* Some areas of rough are overgrown enough to make disc-hunting a pain
* Until they put in a few sets of stairs, getting down #3 or up #18 requires use of a repelling rope (provided), unless you want to risk a nasty fall down a hill
Other Thoughts: Based on some of the other reviews here, I went in with high hopes. The course didn't live up to my hopes, but I wasn't disappointed by going, either.

The course is set at the back part of a large park with some activities, but a lot of wetlands reserve areas. The part with the course looks like it was a dumping ground for rocks over the years, and a few other things (there's a car frame with tires, but nothing else, by one of the holes). It's nice that they're finding a constructive use for the area, but the large number of rocks poking up mean that grass is nearly impossible to grow, and most of the trees in the area are short and scrubby. I tripped over a couple roots from where they cut trees down but didn't fully clear out the stumps. Hopefully, that will clear up over the years, but given the number of rocks, I'm not expecting any nice lawn-type grass growing on the course ever.

The baskets are real nice, high-vis coating on both the rim and the basket. Tee pads are big enough for most people, but not for anyone who wants a good run-up on their drive. Some of the tees aren't flush with the ground, so be careful if you have a big follow-through with your drives.

The course itself... I want to like it. I really do. I like the way they mixed technical with distance throws, elevated with flat, and varied enough from hole to hole in both distance and appearance that I rarely thought that I had just seen that hole before, hadn't I? until near the end, when there comes a number of distance throws through the scrub in a row.

There are some unique holes (#3 and #5 have been mentioned elsewhere, and I'll add in #7, a decently long throw that combines technical, distance, and a bit of elevation all in one package, with multiple possible throwing lanes), and if I got tired of the number of long, straight throws with stubby trees scattered at random toward the end, that's a personal preference (I'm a technical thrower more than distance) than a flaw in the course.

I wish I liked the course more, and I'm having troubles figuring out why I don't. I have two guesses: first, a few of the holes seemed like they were designed simply to be difficult, rather than fun. Second, I think that the scrubby nature of the place got to me. I know this sounds silly, maybe even petty, but graceful distance throws over nicely cared-for lawn have a certain beauty to them. Long throws over rocks and weeds...less so.

That doesn't mean this is a bad course. I did give it a better-than-three rating for a reason. And it has a few really cool holes. This course will be a welcome addition to the rotation of anyone who plays Columbus regularly. And it's not a bad course to hit if you're in the area--probably the best in Columbus, definitely the best on the south side of the city. But it's not worth heading out of your way to get to.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Now THIS Is What Columbus Has Been Missing!

1    8/1/2018   8/1/2018
Review By: DiscinOhio
Played: 124  Reviewed: 120  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/27/2018
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Man, was that an experience. First off, shout out to everyone who made Scotio Grove DGC a possibility. It's an awesome place to throw, and easily takes my top spot for best course in the Columbus area (And one of the best I've played to date).

+ Scotio Grove Metro Park is just acres upon acres of beautiful meadows and woodlands. There's a ton to do within the park itself, and adding disc golf is going to be a huge hit with the locals.

+ So you'll be hard pressed to find a course in Ohio as unique as this one. You just feel like you're in another country, it's like nothing this area has seen before in terms of disc golf.

+ Almost every hole is really unique in some way, shape, or form. From intense elevation changes, to scenic views and water carries, you won't be short on fun or challenge on any hole.

+ The tee signs are awesome! Colorful with just the right amount of detail. Concrete tees on every hole, some elevated to avoid water build up.

+ While a good portion of the course plays in a large meadow with scattered trees, there's a few holes that take advantage of the wooded area towards the back end of the property.

+ Like I said, there's a ton of awesome, signature tosses here. My favorite hole here, and probably one of my favorites to date is #3. This guy plays off of a huge drop off with a peninsula green. I picked up a birdie, but anyone who miscalculates the distance will be in the drink. DO NOT go and try to retrieve your disc, because there's a chance the hole gets removed if people keep going in. So DO NOT retrieve discs out of the pond.

+ Navigation is pretty straight forward, just use the UDisc app to navigate around.
Cons: ISSUES THAT WILL BE ADDRESSED

- Some more clearing needs to be done around a few of the baskets. Since the course is so new, I'm sure this will be addressed down the road.

- The steep elevation areas don't have stairs yet. There's a rope to help you down, but it's extremely dangerous, especially after rain. I took a tough fall on #17 leading to some blood :(

- Could use some benches along the way, I'm sure that will be an addition down the road as well.

ISSUES THAT ARE PROBABLY HERE TO STAY

- The parking lot is already pretty small, and it's shared by other park goers for the archery range and trails.

- Concrete tees look solid but they're on the shorter side. Also, the tee signs are a little too close to the boxes for my taste.

- There's going to be a little bit of overgrowth until things get worn in, so don't expect beautiful fairways yet. It'll be a little rocky and long for now.
Other Thoughts: The fun factor is on another level with Scotio Grove. I was a big fan of Mr. Andrick's design at Clear Fork in Mansfield, but this one takes course design to an incredible new level!

PSA:

This is a Metro Park, not some random city park in the middle of dumpsville. I'm already noticing litter and other issues, so PLEASE be respectful and don't be a you know what. Show the Metro Parks that disc golfers can co-exist with the beautiful property so we can have more opportunities like this in the future. Just don't go jumping after discs in the pond, and take out what you bring in.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

“Different” Course in a super nice park

1    7/19/2018   7/19/2018
Review By: Cplage45
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice hole designs
- good tee signs
- in a huge metro park with lots of activities
- makes you throw all types of shots
Cons: - fairways in the main area of the course are pretty much dirt and rock
- trails/paths (hole #3 has a steep hill but there is a rope to help)
- other tee pads and baskets are in range on some holes
Other Thoughts: Ignore the 1 star review. This course is in an area with not many other options. I was skeptical after reading the 1 star review, but man was I glad I tried it. The course has some of the best hole layouts I've seen in Columbus. Sneaky elevation. Hole #5 is my personal favorite with the straight shot going down hill and back up and steep hill and OB lining the right side right side. Hole #3 is also great as others have mentioned but hopefully the City installs some kind of steps on this hole to get down. Some of the holes are in the same area (6-7 holes) and it's very open, but they are still great holes. Many blind shots, which can be scary, but make for a good change of pace. Also, the course is of good length, right in the middle where a beginner can play and an experienced player will still be challenged. Definitely give this course a try.
PS: hopefully the course breaks in nice after it is played on, and the city will most likely help out. Great potential with time and some care and love

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Scioto Grove DGC

2-4    7/18/2018   7/19/2018
Review By: BossStar420
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 21.2 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course offers you every shot in the bag. BH, FH, OH even some crazy rollers (if you're brave). It has up hill shots as well as downhill shots. Water will test you on a few holes which I personally loved. The pin placements on the water holes are ideal and leave plenty of bail out room, but is still an awesome challenge. #3 is my favorite hole out there. While there are some longer holes, there are many within reach which is a great mixture. The course flows extremely well. Anyone who has spent any time on a DGC should find this easy to navigate and newcomers should find very minimal confusions points. Concrete pads and brand new Prodigy baskets as well as very nice tee signs line the track.
Cons: While this is a new course, the rough is high in just a few spots making a shank or a simply bad throw kind of hard to find at times. I am sure with the crew this course has that will be maintained and under control within no time. That would really be my only complaint.
Other Thoughts: This really is a wonderful course for central Ohio. It is like nothing else I have ever played around the area. You almost feel like you're somewhere else, and lets face it, we need that sometimes. Just like any other course, play smart, play within your skill level and dont try to be a hero and you will be just fine at SGDC. I can not wait to see how this course progresses over the seasons with the land it is on and the crew it has working on it. Get out and play it!!!

I would have rated this course a 4 alone on design, but the fact you get that somewhere else feeling bumped it up!! #LetsGo

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great new addition to Central Ohio

1    7/15/2018   7/17/2018
Review By: All Day
Played: 44  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.7 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Easy to navigate
-Great signage
-Challenging for all skill levels
-All shots required
-Elevation
Cons: -Rough is thick in some areas, but this is expected with a new course.
Other Thoughts: Disregard the one star wonder reviewer who clearly has no idea of the work involved to design and install a disc golf course. Scioto Grove will test your backhand, forehand, and overhand, and it reminds me of a bit of an Eagles Nest and Buck Creek hybrid. Uphill shots, downhill shots, dogleg holes, and water hazards provide an exciting and challenging round, and this course will only get better with traffic and continued hard work from those who donated their spare time and free labor so that others can trash it with an unwarranted low rating.

The signature hole 3 is indeed surrounded by water, and requires accuracy off the tee. Want to know how I solved it? I parked it with a backhand and banged out a birdie. Boom.

Check this course out for a nice new addition to Central Ohio. Just don't invite that last guy, because nobody wants to play with that guy.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/15/2018   7/16/2018
Review By: Chain Clanger
Played: 22  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 18 Not
Cons: I don't want to just sit in harp on this course but being that we've had 35 years of developing and designing courses and this is the best that someone could do with the city's money is sad. The pads are too short, there's nowhere to putt everything's up against the bush and shots are blind for no reason and they put baskets by water hazards just to be cute in areas that are just going to cause people to lose their discs so the people who built it can come along and fish them out (There was already two guys doing specifically that on hole 3 because they didn't continue playing the round they collected discs and went back to their car. My buddy and I both watched them.) Anyone new to the sport will surely be uninterested in coming back.

2 of 20 people found this review helpful.

Legit Course!!!

2-4    7/15/2018   7/15/2018
Review By: PRA88
Played: 54  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 23.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well designed, very challenging course that has a lot of good throws. Easy to navigate w/ nice tee signs. Hole 3 is a fun throw w/ punishing water hazards (a con for some people). Plenty of elevation especially for Grove City. Concrete tee pads are nice although a few may be on the small side.
Cons: The rough is being addressed soon but is a little thick still. Not much shade & as always in nature there will be bugs. A few of the tee pads are on the small side as stated above, but not too big an issue. No trash bins, but not sure Metro Parks believes in them, believe it's carry trash in carry trash out. No benches (yet).
Other Thoughts: Still needing some cleanup & clearing, the course looked pretty good at its opening. I suggest bringing a couple discs you don't mind losing, to the rough & water. Although water is in play you are never "forced" to throw over water. On hole #3 the water sneaks up quickly, if you don't want to lose a disc, you might want to lay it up short (it is a quarry 20-40ft deep). Having a spotter on some holes will help (7,8,11), but definitely on hole #12. This course will be rough for some people, but I think it offers a challenge most will gladly accept. Bring plenty of water!!! Reminiscent of off-trail hiking, course can be very straining at some points. Alternate pins in the future. Legit course!!!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.