Churchville, MD 
Mill Brook DGC Share
Uploaded By: swatso Hole #5 (Taken 7/2018)
3 / 206ft.   3 / 266ft.   3 / 243ft.   3 / 303ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Red Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Mill Brook is a must-book!

1    8/29/2018   11/11/2018
Review By: Ryal
Played: 34  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 1.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Two tee pads and two baskets for every single hole with the same colors indicating the same difficulties each time!
+ The signage is great. Both tee pads for all holes have their own 'current tee' signs featuring the distances and pars for both baskets and basic but intuitive diagrams of the landscape ahead. 'Next tee' signs are plentiful and plainly visible.
+ For the longer walks in between holes, there are follow-up signs to reassure players that they are still headed in the right direction.
+ A lovely practice pin area with benches, young trees, and a tall hill.
+ All tee pads are flat and sturdy raised platforms of rubber atop gravel and wooden frameworks.
+ The occasional hill or valley add a dynamic touch the course.
+ Trees everywhere encourage players to focus on accuracy instead of power.
+ The course plays mostly within a quiet and undisturbed forest setting.
+ More than a few water hazards add a nice basting of risk to the course.
Cons: - Just three wide-open holes to let loose at full power.
- Some of the fairways feel a bit too narrow. Holes 8 and 13 jump to my mind as key examples.
- I don't remember seeing a lost disc box when I played in August 2018. (I could be wrong about this. I didn't look everywhere.)
- Some of the holes feel repetitive in how a few are similarly flat and similarly wooded.
- Very few benches and almost no trash cans outside of the parking lot. Please do not litter!
Other Thoughts: My favorite hole here might be 15 because of how it snakes through the trees with a downhill left before finishing flat to the right. I find it fun to play holes that change direction partway through. My least favorite hole here could be 13. To my mind it felt the least engaging.

As for the course as a whole, Mill Brook is an excellent example of what wooded disc golf can be. The course is very approachable to players of any experience level with its two sets of tees and pins. Absolute beginners can feel that they are getting good training at tree-dodging just as easily as more seasoned dolfers can feel that they are tackling a challenging course.
For fifteen of the eighteen holes, players are surrounded on all sides by trees. This means that Mill Brook focuses on tactics and accuracy more than it does power and distance. Successful play will be accomplished by breaking the holes into smaller chunks and dealing with the obstacle at hand. Beginners will appreciate how straightforward the holes are at the shorter distances, and experienced players will enjoy the course's demand for accurate play from the longer distances.
This also means, however, that some holes will inevitably feel copy-pasted. For some of the holes a player might see the landscape ahead and think that they've already played a hole very similar to it. Woods are woods when in the woods.

I do want to say that the course does toy with one's expectations somewhat from the start if they've never been there before. From the practice area and the first hole in that wide open field, a player can see quite a few other baskets dotting the hillside, which fooled me into thinking that this course takes place out in the open. Not so! Once I was directed to hole 2, the feel of the course changed dramatically for me because I wasn't anticipating it.
As soon as one leaves the open field and embarks into the forest, a player feels as though they have been transported into some other realm where the only thing that matters is disc golf. Nothing else can be seen except for trees, gentle slopes, streams, tees, and baskets. It was quite a gratifying experience to play the course with very few man-made objects in sight.

Speaking of man-made objects, there are foot bridges to help players cross the many streams found throughout the course. These water hazards do a great job at forcing the player to focus yet aren't so deep that you cannot get your disc back. I love courses with character, and Mill Brook is a great example of one.

So, in closing, make it a point to play at Mill Brook if you find yourself in the area. Leave the big gliders in the car because the only open holes are at the beginning, middle, and end. (Literally, they are holes 1, 10, and 18.) Yes, it is disc golf deep in the woods with some lines that I feel might be overly constricted, and it has a largely flat landscape. That combination may bore and/or frustrate a few players.
Still, if you wish to experience a peaceful course with a fair assortment of obstacles and different throws, Mill Brook will be a good fit for you.
P.S. Be sure to pick up a long stick along the way to scout ahead for spider webs!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A nice walk in the woods

2-4    9/22/2018   9/23/2018
Review By: schnauzerguy
Played: 32  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Well maintained
-Nice tee signs
-Two tees and two baskets on each hole
-Good sized tee boxes
-Nicely built bridges (see other thoughts)
-Lots of nice wooded shots
Cons:
-Can be marshy/muddy after a lot of rain, but not detrimental to play
-No benches or facilities throughout the course (see other thoughts)
-Lots of nice wooded shots :)
Other Thoughts:
This new course in Maryland has a lot of potential and is already a favorite. My group played Short to Long and Long to Short. Some of the lines on those layouts could use a little work, but for the most part are fair. The course has some awesome bridges to cover the creek at quite a few points, however, they haven't been anchored down and the recent rains had floated about half of them down-creek and not in usable places. This should be corrected as the course maintainers continue to improve the course. Since this is an out-and-back course, there are no bathrooms, water stops, etc. Plan accordingly. Recommendations for future improvements would include some benches near some of the more rigorous hills.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Very Enjoyable Woods Course

5+    9/14/2018   9/14/2018
Review By: listentomorejazz
Played: 48  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - The course area is Disc Golf Only. Ample parking and even good warm-up/practice fields nearby
- Two sets of rubber tees that are of a good size and quality
- Two sets of new chainstars on each hole
- Very distinct lay-outs and challenges between the short to short vs long to long and all in between. Short to Short is a total birdie fest, where long to long is a very challenging course
- Next tee signage is excellent, makes navigating a wooded course simple.
- Good elevation gains and losses, sometimes sneakily so
- Signage for both the short and long tee pads
- Absolutely beautiful piece of woodlands. You couldn't ask for much better terrain to design a course. Large hardwoods, limited under growth, cool rock formations and most importantly, a significant stream system that runs through the property. When that gets roped off for tournament play it's going to be deadly!
- A lot of love has gone into this course. The tee pads, bridges and clearing have all been very well done and make for a more enjoyable round
Cons: - The 1st, 10th and 18th holes are nearly wide open, the rest are entirely wooded. 18 is not an ideal finishing hole, but a few tree bunkers could go a long way
- Lack of par 5's and oddly distanced 3s and 4s ('tweeners). Wish it could have been a par 60-65.
- I find too many of the shots on long to long... awkward. I have no problem with difficult holes, but too many lines seemed unreasonable or not tailored to the natural flight of a disc. 3 and 15 are the best examples. Not sure why there's a uncomfortable 100' hyzer followed by 300' shot.
- I also find the course is overly reliant on S shaped shots off the tee. These are not necessarily cons for everyone and didn't heavily affect the rating for me, but worth giving the feedback
- The dampness of these woods makes the rubber tee pads a little suspect. It's been a very wet summer, but you can tell from the flora that it seldom dries out under the canopy down there. They stay fairly slick in the humidity after rainfall
- At this point there are no benches. I haven't docked the course because of how new it is and I fully expect they will be installed based on the stunning amount of work already done, but if they don't get installed it's a major con. This course is a hike and there is no point in which its convenient to run back to the parking lot
- Minor gripe; there's no bathrooms near the parking lot. I'd assume you can use the Recreation Center if really needed, but some may be dismayed by the lack of facilities
- Baskets can seem invisible in the dark of the woods, especially the first few times through
Other Thoughts: I hope beyond hope and pray to God that the course managers DO NOT LEAFBLOW THE FAIRWAYS!!!
This is a gorgeous and delicate native ecosystem that suddenly has a lot of boots going through very wet ground. If the leaves aren't able to fall and create mulch every winter, compaction, erosion and tree fatality could ruin this course very quickly.
It was noted in a previous review that the bridges were knocked ajar by some recent rains. Its a shame because they put a lot of work into them, but it will only take a few hands to get things reset. Plus, it doesn't affect the playability of the course.
The course is still getting shaped- there's a lot of low ceilings and branches in fairways that may be clipped on an established course but were wisely left here to allow the course to beat in on it's own. Still, some holes feel unnecessarily choked up.
Very, very fun course to play. Doesn't necessarily take every shot in the bag, but there's enough holes that you replay in your mind that evening to keep warranting trips back.
Fairly convenient off I-95, maybe twelve minutes.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


2-4    9/3/2018   9/3/2018
Review By: Fuzzpuddle
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Set in a nice public park, but well out of the way of other use areas. Feels like an exclusive course. Nice practice area with a basket and an open field. Lots of trees and picnic tables for pre-tournament assembly.

Beautiful scenery playing through the woods with lots of old hardwoods and plenty of shallow streams along the way.

Multiple tees and baskets on every hole offer limitless layout possibilities. For all skill levels.

Course is clearly marked, and trails between holes are obvious and clear.
Cons: A few of the bridges have been dislodged and moved downstream by high water.

Some benches at tee pads would be a nice addition.

Biggest con is hole 18. A big open shot uphill that does nothing more than return you to the starting area. Some well placed trees could make it more interesting in the future.
Other Thoughts: For a new course, it feels like it has been here for years. Very well thought out course, with excellent use of terrain and vegetation.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

One of the Best Public Parks Courses In the Area

1    8/9/2018   8/9/2018
Review By: Caelstrom
Played: 23  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Summary: Mill Brook is an excellent public parks course that will challenge every level of player. In addition to providing an enjoyable and thought-provoking round of disc golf, the section of woods this course takes you through is really serene with beautiful woods and several stream crossings. This course is well worth the visit on its own, and given its proximity to Scarboro Hills (another great course) it can make a worthwhile day trip for those travelling a long distance.

Pros:

- Tee pads are large, well-constructed rubber mats over gravel framed in by railroad ties.

- Baskets are Discraft Chainstars, each clearly marked with either a yellow or red flag to differentiate which basket you are shooting at as well as provide a wind reading.

- Tee signs are basic but provide a decent image for each hole as well as distance measures and recommended fairway options.

- Every hole has two tee and two pin options - it's almost like having four courses in one.

- All of the wooded holes (Holes 2-17) are well designed and require a thoughtful approach to disc golfing. You will definitely have to think about your disc selection and your throws. No repetitive throw-one-straight-down-the-fairway style holes here.

- Signage across this course was excellent, clearly guiding you to each hole. I can't imagine anyone getting lost navigating this course.

- Course includes a nice warm-up area with a practice basket and lots of picnic tables among newly planted trees that will one day provide good shade to the area.

- The course designers/installers clearly thought long and hard about this course. The layout is fun and challenging, the wooded fairways were intentionally laid out - no random tree clearing, and elevation changes were used well. Simple but nice wooden bridges provide for easy navigation across numerous stream crossings.

- With the pars set up the way they are, I could see even professionals being challenged by this course. It could definitely host some upper-level tournaments and I don't think players would be disappointed.
Cons: I had to really reach for these, because the course is really a great course. The things the separate this course from the absolute best courses out there are:

- Despite the large size of this park and the numerous fields, there were no bathrooms (permanent or portable) anywhere near this course. I'm sure the park has them somewhere, but at least a port-a-pot near the parking lot would be very helpful.

- Holes 1 and 18 were just long open drives with very little intrigue to them. Perhaps a tree or two could be used to put some thought into the holes, or maybe some OB/mandos/islands?

- There were essentially only two varieties of holes: wooded, and completely open. Hole 10 was the only thing close to a transition hole. I found myself reaching for many of the same discs fairly frequently because of this.

- There were no benches or trash cans along the course once you entered the woods.
Other Thoughts: While I am hardly a well-traveled disc-golfer I would say that Mill Brook is definitely one of the best overall courses I've played in the Northern Maryland/York County PA/Lancaster PA area. I think the only course I would rate higher than this right now is Muddy Run.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Bulk of the Bell Curve

2-4    7/28/2018   7/29/2018
Review By: swatso
Played: 563  Reviewed: 373  Exp: 10.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
2xteepads + 2xbaskets, creating layouts averaging approximately 240/290/320/375' per hole.

Area dedicated to disc golf / away from other park users. Near start, there is an open field for drives, basket for putting, information kiosk, picnic tables near newly-planted trees.

Teepads are rubber, atop gravel, surrounded by a wooden frame, level. Baskets have red or yellow flags on top.

Teesigns are sufficient. Signs on various trees and arrows on bottom of baskets, along with detailed map, make navigation mostly simple.

Fairways have been well tramped down, as well as the paths between holes, lined with limbs - for a new course, it is already well broken-in.

Cons:
Not much, very minor ...
- crabgrass is attempting to take over teepads 1 and 18
- teesigns a bit basic, but sufficient
- minor flow considerations for first time/infrequent visitors
-- a "long" walk from 2 to 3
-- from basket 7A,most obvious tee is 3Blue
-- a bit of a re-trace/uphill walk from 15 to 16

Some may consider its maximum layout length of ~6700' as insufficient to be considered an upper echelon course.
Other Thoughts:
Course is set at the back of a newish public park. While the course begins (#1 downslope) and ends (#18 uphill) in the open, the remainder of the course is set in the woods, with the exception of #10 (teepads in/at edge of woods, baskets in/at edge of woods, disc will spend most of its time in the open).

The terrain which host the majority of the course is quite nice - hardwood trees of various size, the canopy thick enough to keep the undergrowth under control (attractive ferns, mostly), but thin enough to allow some sunlight in - it's not like playing in a tunnel. A shallow brook, and some seasonal runoffs (it has been raining a lot recently) wind through the course, near baskets, tees, and through fairways. Small, flat slabs of stone are scattered about, along with a few stone piles, and the remnants of a stone wall - reminds me of some New England courses I've played.

The throwing lanes vary from broad to narrow, most being somewhere between these two descriptions, and nothing ridiculous/unfair. The throwing paths tended to have chokepoints mid-fairway, and/or guardian trees (rock on #8) late. While there are plenty of trees, most errant throws should have a reasonable chance to save a par, or at least minimize the bogeys.

The elevation comes in many flavours - down, up, across - but nothing too extreme, and most of the gentler side. Shot-shaping also offered a good blend of right/left/S/straight, again, mostly avoiding the extremes There won't be a lot of bombing taking place - placement and shaping will triumph over distance.

Some memorable-to-me holes:
#6 red-2-yellow offers you a choice - a more open fairway along the left side, requiring a sharp right turn towards the end, or a tree-laden, left-turing shot going along the right side. A cluster of trees mid-fairway prevents the direct route
#9 - initially flat, the fairway then begins to climb upslope, while also bringing mid-sized hardwoods into play. The red basket is over to the right, with many trees in the way, while the yellow basket, while straight, is farther up the slope, past the stone wall remnant.
#11 - a valley shot. The lowpoint is the brook, at roughly the 1/3rd point, with a few trees to miss on the way down. As the slope climbs above the creek, the trees begin to thicken, with the red basket requiring a bid of fade, but the yellow basket far/straight up the slope, at about the same elevation you started.
#15 - downlope, brook along the back. Red basket is short and a bit left - very much a touch shot. Yellow basket is about even with the red, but way over to the right, with many trees to stop an early-turner, and the borok to claim a late-turner.

Hole #18 may be the blandest (open, upslope) of all, but serves the purpose of returning players towards tee-1 or the parking lot.

While I wouldn't necessarily bring a newish beginner or a top pro to this course, it is a great course for the majority of players, from an experienced novice (oxymoron) to a lower pro. Considering how (relatively) close it is to Scarboro, Iron Hill, and Muddy Run, this confluence of Maryland, Delaware, and Pennsylvania offers some very fine disc golf opportunities.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 One of the top courses in the area

1    7/21/2018   7/24/2018
Review By: Brewswanger
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: First time playing the course and loved it immediately. Even though it's a new course it looks like it's been there for years, in a good way not like a run down way. The holes are challenging but forgiving at the same time. I played long pad to short pin which was perfect for my skill level. I could see the short to short location being good for some one that is relatively new to the sport. I see the long's being challenging enough for the seasoned player. I'm glad this course is so close because I will be playing it a lot for sure.
Cons: The only negatives I see is hole 18. Everything is pretty much in the woods except 18. 18 is all out in the open and you are throwing up hill. It's not terrible but it's the least exciting hole to end your round. That being said, all the other holes made up for it.
Other Thoughts: Great course, having the different pin and pad positions makes the replay ability very high.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.