North Monmouth, ME 
Beaver Brook DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #17
3 / 150ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
History preserved?

1    8/21/2017   8/22/2017
Review By: Seabrook
Played: 26  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 22.2 Years
Pros: This is the original course that Steady Ed designed. It is short and tight course through a beautiful pine forest. This course was not designed for the modern golf disc. So leave the drivers at home and bring your putters and maybe a mid-range.

Brand new signage at every tee, looks good.
Cons: No tee pads, The ground is rocky so no run-ups which is fine, with the short holes you can stand to throw. This didn't bother me.

No tee markers. I think they had used irrigation flags at one point but some are gone. A little permanent marker for the front of the tee is all that is needed.
Other Thoughts: This was first course in New England, one of the oldest in the US and designed by the great Steady Ed. It was created back in the 70's and have done little to modernize the course since. This course is more of a snapshot on how disc golf used to be played in the 1970's.

Don't change it, don't modernize it. Keep it like it has always been with the old baskets, short layout, etc. Preserve the course as a reminder how the sport began.

Looks like a nice camp site, will have to stay next time.

 

2-4    5/18/2012   2/18/2013
Review By: Franklin Flyer
Played: 27  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of the most historic disc golf sites on the east coast possibly being one of the first sites in the U.S.
Cons: I was discouraged by the signing or lack of it. Some signs where 90 degrees from the direction of play so I am looking out thru the trees for the basket in the wrong direction. Also some basket post ID numbers where 90 degrees from play and could not be read from a distance until you walked up to the basket.
Other Thoughts: One of my personal theories is disc golf courses should be adequately signed for visitors and first time course players, not just the locals who know where all the baskets are.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/29/2012   9/29/2012
Review By: mainediscgolfer
Played: 23  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 9.4 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: None
Cons: I can't really say anything good about this course there was not a single tee pad and the terrian for the tee pads was horrible the baskets looked like something made out of someone garge I will not go back
Other Thoughts: Think it could be better if they would do a lot of work to it

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Beaverbrrok Campground

5+    8/20/2008   8/21/2008
Review By: Huff
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/2/2009
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful Maine woods, some challenging disc lines and interesting land contours through what is a dominantly technical course. On site campground, campsite general store and small disc pro shop.
Cons: only Open Memorial - Labor day. This is a very short course. there are No tees boxes of any sort and often the tee area are very uneven which means tripping on roots and rocks. in 08 they went from a 4/6.00 fee system for single game/dayrate to 6.00 day only. it doesnt look like the spring growth was trimmed in 08 or 09 and some holes are being over encroached by foliage now. The baskets: are single chain, the paint is almost completely worn off from them leaving them a dull gray that makes them very hard to pick eye out the wooded background. Baskets are very beat up and very few of them are truly round any more.
Other Thoughts: Unfortunately the higher fee's on a course that isnt as well maintained or have as many amenities as other courses nearby has alienated the local DGers. what used to be a perfect course to sneak in an after work round is now too pricey to play unless you have time for multiple rounds. As of 08 they now issues wrist bands to DGers. I highly suggest bringing back the single game rate or lowering the all day rate and marking the wrist bands accordingly. My friends and I have only played this course a couple times this year verses multiple times a week in previous seasons. You drove the local Dg business away Beaverbrook! :(

2009 update:

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center