Edinburg, VA 
Swover Creek Brewery DGC Share
Uploaded By: esnyder22664 Hole #2 (Taken 6/2020)
3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
A hidden gem

5+    10/28/2020   10/29/2020
Review By: Ngdodge
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Dedicated disc golf course, no traffic besides golfers
-Attached to a brewery that has good beer and amazing food.
-restrooms available during brewery hours
-Hardly ever crowded.
-course has great variety of elevation, open and wooded holes, as well as some elevated hanging baskets.
-Turf tee pads
- moderately difficult course for those looking for a challenge
Cons: -Course needs a little more signage for finding next tees
-not all tee pads are level
-course could use some cleaning
-Not very beginner friendly with some blind shots and thick rough -Easy to loose discs if you toss them over the fence (It's OB and Private Property. DO NOT CLIMB THE FENCE!)
Other Thoughts: The 18 hole course is relatively new as of summer 2020. It was originally a 9 hole course that was pretty casual to pick up and play while spending time at the brewery having a beverage and some food. This course has some major potential and has some very unique holes you won't find at other local courses. The back 9 has some teeth to it and can demand some tight lines through the woods, otherwise you will be scrambling in the brush and thorns. With the elevation changes on the course, it can be a bit of a hike to navigate 18 especially going up and down the hill around holes 9-13. The only true OB on the course is the road by #1 and the fence line that boarders holes 7,8,9, and 12. I love this course a lot and have gotten the opportunity to work on it some. It is still in the early stages of development and will continue to change and improve as it continues to be worn in and cleaned up. It is less than 6 months old in its current 18 hole configuration and has grown and changed for the better during that time. September saw it's very first C-Tier tournament and I believe it will continue to host tournaments in the future as it improves. The course is free to play, but patronage to the brewery is encouraged as the course was installed by the owners of the business, staff and volunteers. This is one of the courses I learned to play on and have gotten to help improve, It is dear to me, but I know needs continued work and care to rise to its full potential. If you are an avid disc golfer or just a casual one, this course is worth checking out if you are in the area.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Work in progress, but amazing potential

1    6/21/2020   6/22/2020
Review By: Monocacy
Played: 180  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 20.5 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wow, the full 18-hole course was more than I expected. Most brewery courses that I have seen are fun, friendly, and manicured. This is a big, wild, challenging, wooded beast, on an amazing property for disc golf. The course has a ton of variety, with left and right turning holes, big uphill and downhill drives, and a nice mix of two-shot holes, challenging par 3s, and short technical holes.

The front nine is mostly park-style with mown grass fairways and a few trees to miss. This gives you a chance to loosen up your arm and dial in your accuracy. You will need accuracy on the back nine.

On the back nine the course has more teeth. Still lots of elevation changes, but tightly wooded fairways require accuracy, distance, and (most likely) the ability to scramble from the rough.

Well-defined fairways, often tight but always fair. Quite a few downhill bombs that were a blast to throw. Several treacherous hanging basket placements with sloped greens that require risk-reward decisions. Orange tape on trees showed the direction of the basket in a few places, which was helpful.

Tee signs are fairly basic but provide hole distance and general direction. The course is just off I-81, so it is easy to hit for the traveling player.

The Swover Creek Brewery itself looks like a ton of fun. We played before they opened for the day, but there was a taproom, lots of covered outdoor seating, and a dog park. The folks who worked there were friendly and super-helpful.

The place just has a really nice vibe.
Cons: Natural tee pads, particularly on the woods holes, are some of the worst I have seen - sloped, uneven, short, and lumpy. I threw standstill on many holes, not by choice, and even standstills were hindered by the uneven surface. Better tee pads would greatly improve this course.

Tee signs are located on the front corner of the tee pad, which can interfere with the desired line or the throwing motion. On one hole I smacked my hand against the tee sign on a backhand follow-through.

Rough is thick in places. Despite spending a decent amount of time in the rough (strictly for the benefit of the DGCR community), no discs were lost.

Mosquitoes swarmed in a few areas despite liberal application of DEET. Poison ivy was noticeable along a few fairway edges.
Other Thoughts: This is a hard course to rate. On the one hand, the course has amazing potential and I had a blast playing it. The land is perfectly suited for the style of disc golf I love to play (woods with elevation), and obviously a ton of thought and work has already gone into this course.

But. The course is new and raw. Tee pads significantly detracted from my enjoyment of the course. I want to be worrying about hitting my line, not falling on my face or smacking my hand on a poorly placed tee sign.

The course map was pretty basic but the UDisc app made navigation pretty straightforward. There are a few places where you will see multiple baskets, so check the tee sign, map, or app. Or just trust the tee pads, which were consistently oriented in the right direction.

Baskets are a mix of newer banded baskets and older single-chain baskets that have been enhanced with cross-links. All baskets caught reasonably well, so I take responsibility for any missed putts.

Many baskets were blind from the tee, and many holes required two shots to reach. Generally fairways were sufficiently well defined that we were comfortable teeing off without knowing exactly where the basket was. We did scout ahead or use a spotter on a few holes.

I would love to play this course again with better tee pads. Preferably later in the day, when the taproom is open.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Great vibe, fun hangout course

2-4    6/22/2019   6/22/2019
Review By: d_Cas
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/14/2020
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Property has a great vibe
Pizza and beer sold on premises makes it a fun afternoon hangout spot
Good use of elevation
Two hanging baskets are a fun addition
Lots of different shot shapes to try out
Good mix of left/right shot shapes
New holes are mainlywell designed. This is no slouch course any more.
Cons: Most baskets have been upgraded to axiom baskets, but really are still not a long term solution.
High grass/thick rough is a lost disc hazard on some holes
Natural teepads, some uneven footing
Wooded holes need some fairway work.
Other Thoughts: The course was fun enough and close enough to play again. Most of the holes are played in the same field, which can get kind of old. It's not a course that you throw the same shot every hole, however. There are 9 holes and about 7 distinct shots required. If the course added another 9 with some woods mixed in then I'd come back all the time.

Update 6/20

Since this review was originally written, the owner/designer removed 5 of the original holes and added 14 new holes in the woods on the mountain behind the brewery. In general, the new holes are very well designed. There's lot of elevation and great shot shaping. The original 9 holes looked like a back yard course. The new 18 has a Blockhouse vibe. It's a very nice piece of property, and a lot of fun. With the restaurant and brewery on site, combined with the potential for the course, I really believe this could be a destination course for the state. Teepads and baskets would bring it up to 4+ stars for me.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good use of a small piece of elevated land

1    8/31/2018   9/4/2018
Review By: eric_vdberg
Played: 961  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 37.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Quick to play.
Elevation on every hole (5 uphill, 4 downhill).
Shots are challenging despite the relatively short distances.
Map available at bar which makes navigation easy.
Food, drink & restroom available on site.
Cons: No distances at tee posts or on map yet, although the distances in the hole info tab should be pretty close.
Light chain, portable baskets.
Only open half the week.
Driving from the south highway exit, the roads are very winding (just one gravel road when driving to/from the north highway access).
Other Thoughts: I played it within a month of it being installed, so it is not quite complete yet. The brewery plans on adding distances and potentially another 9 holes if the course gets a lot of play.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.