Statesville, NC 
Bell & Howard Chevrolet DGC Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #3 (Taken 3/2010)
3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 2 9 holers

2-4    4/11/2012   5/11/2012
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 214  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/13/2012
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love the back 9. It has variety and is a very fun course.

A few holes on the front were fun as they went through the woods and offered some variety
like the terrain on the back especailly the hole that used to be 10...think its 18 now
Cons: The front wasn't as fun. It was holding water and it had not rained in several days.

the back 9 is on the other side of a creek which is uncrossable for the most part. I had to hike to get there(I was droped off to play) So when you finish with #9 youhave to get in the car to drive around to hole 10

Apparantly they changed things up on the back 9 and the course has changed. Hole 10 starts in a completly different spot than it used to be. I had no idea about this since I headed into the course having only glanced at the course page and got directions from a friend.

Be careful not to be confused on the back by following the bike trails
Other Thoughts: This course is really two 9 holers imo. They are completly different from one another and are not a a loop in any way and the fact that you have to drive to hole 10 is odd and takes away from the course
If they were seperate I would rate the front a 1.5and the back a 2.5 but they are not so 2 it is.

I had fun actually playing this course and would likely enjoy it more if I had a car and didnt have to hike forever to get to the back 9. If you are close and trying to kill some time check it out other wise I would recomend a road trip to somewhere else

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    2/12/2012   2/13/2012
Review By: Tpro
Played: 43  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.4 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The Front 9 has a nice looking set up, backing up against a soccer complex. There are also walking paths and nice restrooms. TONS of parking!!
-Although the front is wide open the wind usually plays some factor. Nice concrete pads other than hole 3 and 8 (they are asphalt). There is a good chance to birdie every hole on the front 9.
-Hole 18 has new stairs to walk up/down.
Cons: Walk across a pipe or drive around the corner to the back 9 and thats where the frustration begins. Very limited parking!
No new signage although im sure it will be going up soon. New holes 10 and 11 are pretty stupid quite frankly. Both holes have power poles 30-40 feet of the tee pad that force you to throw awkward shots. Hole 11 where (with the pole) I would throw a high Spike hyzer but there are two sets of power lines blocking the shot so its either throw a crap shoot dummber up over the trees or lay up for 3. 17 is now an anhyzer that plays maybe 350 into a basket position that a heavily guarded by small trees. The problem with this hole is that not only is the teepad painted onto a road but it also brings powerlines in play again! For a LHBH player it doesnt look that hard to throw a straight hyzer under the lines but for a RHBH player it forces you to throw the high anhyzer line or throw a half shot (lame). I chose the high anhyzer and it lucky worked out and put me pin high within thrity feet. But its certainly not a high percentage shot.
They lost to really fun holes in 16 and 17 im guessing because of the flood plain.
Other Thoughts: Holes 12,13,14,15,16 and 18 are the same (old 11,12,13,14,15 and 10 respectively).

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    2/12/2012   2/12/2012
Review By: badsmurph
Played: 146  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 17.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: teepads are nice except ones on asphalt (slick). looks like alot of work has been done in the past two years since i've been there.
Cons: the new 10 and 11 have power lines in the lanes and really take away from course. like the old holes a lot better. still don't see a fairway for 14 i believe. also sign need to be changed.
Other Thoughts: maybe another two years until i get back out here. only lane i saw on 11 was a thumber over the trees to the left which was parked but shady

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Bell & Howards

1    3/28/2011   4/11/2011
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 193  Reviewed: 153  Exp: 5.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Bell & Howard's Chrevrolet (B&H) consists of two unconnected 9-holers in the same suburban park. The front nine is flat and weaves inbetween the grassy park area and a small patch of trees. The front nine ends with a shot through (or around) a high tension wire tower. After hopping back in the car and driving the minute or so it takes to get to the back nine, the real fun begins. The back nine has moderate elevation changes and moderately wooded fairways that sometimes offer a few paths to the pin.
- #10's green presents a bit of a rollaway risk. #13 has a nice double path fairway with a risky direct route and a more indirect but safter hyzer layup.
- Concrete or blacktop sidewalk tees. All of good shape and size, although one was really sandy.
- Very detailed signs show things such as "Rock Sluice" and "Power Tower," as well as the more common "Walking Trail" and "Park Sign" on the hole map. Distances, par, and hole number included along with local sponsers.
Cons: - The flow is not at all obvious without a guide. One can play the front nine and easily believe that is all there is. Nothing really points out the existance of the back nine. Also, the back nine's flow itself isn't obvious the first time through. Having to either cross the drainage ditch (a dicey proposition at best) or drive to the back nine presents a bit of an inconvenience.
- The back nine abutts a sewage treatment facility that can really stink up a round.
- Lots of standing water on the front nine in wet or wintery conditions.
- No benches or trashcans.
- With the power lines, sewage treatment area, nearby apartments and Parks Department buildings B&H just isn't in abundance of natural beauty.
Other Thoughts: - B&H is largely a deuce-or-die style course where scoring well on the flat, more open front nine helps put one in good shape for the more challenging back nine.
- Apparently a bridge over the drainage ditch/stream that separates the front from the back nine is planned. Not having to drive between front and back halves would be a nice plus.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/27/2009   5/27/2009
Review By: honeycu4
Played: 53  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 18.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Almost two completely different 9 hole courses. Front nine open and easy. Back nine narrow and much more difficult. Never crowded.
Cons: Kind of a junky park. Front and back nine are not located next to each other and there is a long walk between them. A few holes on the back nine have less than ideal layout and could be tweaked to provide better flow. Doesn't get played much so many over hanging limps and narrow fairways.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.