Boyne Falls, MI 
Boyne Mountain Share
Uploaded By: FoleyT  
One of the holes on the front 9



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 One of the better ones

1    5/17/2009   7/31/2009
Review By: rlbontrager
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.6 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Fun course, quite a bit of variety.
Cons: Not the most accessible of courses. If you've never been to Boyne Mountain before, parking and finding the right building for the "front desk" can be a bit confusing. Also, the course isn't the most well maintained. Seems like they throw in the baskets in the spring and don't touch anything again until they take 'em out in the fall.
Other Thoughts: When we were there, they gave us a free shuttle to the top, and, judging from other reviews, getting to the top free seems pretty common. Just be aware that there is supposed to be a charge for riding to the top.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wow. Simply put, wow...

2-4    5/24/2009   5/26/2009
Review By: Rupert M
Played: 73  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 16.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/12/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: You can't beat the scenery. Easily one of the true beauties in Michigan.
We went on Memorial Day Sunday so the chair-lift was running and FREE.
Check-in at the hotel's front-desk and get a scorecard and map. Very useful.
Great variety of holes, long-short and tight-wide.
Orange cones on top of baskets aid in finding your target, use a spotter on the many blind holes.
Uses the land well, criss-crossing the entire mountain through the woods and in the open all the way down. Bring a camera.
Cons: Some tee-boxes are made up of deep dune-sand, as well as a lot of the course itself. Very slow walking.
Get a map as there are some questionable 'Next tee' situations.
Can get windy.
Look out for bikes and walkers. Some holes throw down bike paths.
Not many 'economically friendly' eateries in the area.
Other Thoughts: A real pleasure to play here. A true gem of a course. Despite the deep sand and me losing my Red Champion Wraith on the first hole, it rivals most/any place in the state.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf Bliss

1    9/23/2008   9/23/2008
Review By: Merkaba311
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Breathtaking beauty.

Perfect variety of holes and perfect use of elevation changes. An even amount of downward and upward holes and the elevation is used exactly as it should be on each hole.

Professional-level scorecards with a map of the holes, footage of each hole, and par for each hole.

Recreational as well as "Pro" tees. Well marked paths guide you to each tee.

Virtually impossible to lose a disc.
Cons: You have to "check-in" at the front desk of the hotel to request a shuttle. I guess they thought I was a guest because they said there's no fee and the website says it's $7. Not real sure on that one...

It took 20 minutes for the shuttle to get there and another five minutes from there to get to the first tee.

The shuttle is a full-sized van, so if you're playing with seven people or more, you'll need multiple shuttles.

It's possible to walk to the first tee but you had better be in peak physical shape to even attempt it.

Walking uphill in sand can become tiresome on a couple of holes.

No place to put trash so there is a lot of trash scattered all over the course.
Other Thoughts: I think I have a new favorite course :)

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/6/2008   9/11/2008
Review By: DR.M
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.4 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A great course if you like hiking and disc golfing. each hole is great with its own special needs. beautifull course and great for people who want a chalenge. Holes are long and the only short ones are in the woods.
Cons: No map. hard to find your way around. but once you figure it out you get used to it.
Other Thoughts: I had to keep asking the park manager where the next tee was. This was the first ever course that i played this is where i discovered the game. Almost like flip city but without the rocks. bring somthing to drink unless you think you can go 18 holes without water or somthing. very beautiful.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 skip this course for now

2-4    9/10/2008   9/10/2008
Review By: taxman
Played: 5  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 22.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/21/2008
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: of the 3 courses in the area this is the "most professional".

ride the lift to the top of the hill (for a small charge) or walk. and then wind your way down the hill. the holes are on the longer side for me, but it is a fun course. you can ask for a scorecard/map at the main lodge and they also have discs available if you haven't brought your own.
Cons: it can be difficult to know where to park so that you are close to your car when you are finished.

edit: holes 8,9,10, and 11 have been altered by Boyne. they've added a cabin up on the hill that sits not far from the basket for #8 and they have lots for sale for home sites. the ground is all sandy from the earth being reshaped and the changes to the holes listed make them quite a bit more boring.

also the woods area around holes 13-15 have been thinned. now all of the trees that they removed are laying in piles all over the fairway. particularly a big huge pile right in the way of your approach shot to the green on 15.
Other Thoughts: previously i had rate this course a 3.5 to 4. but with that way the course sits now (see my edit) i can't give it better than a 2. it has potential to be a great course but Boyne Mountain just doesn't seem to take care of what they have and have have made steps to worsen the course.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/4/2008   7/13/2008
Review By: NEWBY1151
Played: 83  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/26/2008
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Riding up a ski lift for disc golf was pretty cool, I was not charged just had to get pass from front desk, nice variety of wooded holes with lots of elevation changes, score cards and rental discs available at front desk,challenging and fun,great views of Michigans mountains,overall it was a fun course to play I would play again,
Cons: Tee pads are natural with some a little sandy and easy too lose balance, a few holes are a bit confusing on which basket is which,
Other Thoughts: This course is pretty long bring water,If your in the area I would recommend checking this course out,

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Tons of fun - a must play!

1    5/14/2008   5/14/2008
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/4/2011
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Absolutely gorgeous scenery and vistas. Lots of fun to throw up and down hills. Plenty of variety and challenge.

Honestly, it was a long time ago that I played this course and maybe shouldn't be reviewing it. I just remember how great the vistas were and playing some really fun holes.
Cons: Some chance of losing discs. Maybe a bit strenuous of a hike for some.
Other Thoughts: Don't be a dirty discer. Leave the course cleaner than you found it!

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Spectacular

8/25/2006   5/6/2008
Review By: FoleyT
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 9.5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Set on a ski slope, starting at the top and winding its way through cross country trails and then down the side of another slope. Spectacular views and scenery, and the hole designs are creative and challenging. Some elevation changes, some woods, some sand. Free to play if you want to climb the mountain (very strenuous workout), but you can pay to get a ride to the top. Well marked and fairly easy to navigate (ask for scorecards in the Lodge at the concierge desk)
Cons: Seemed to be a lot of trash around the tees, which is a shame considering how beautiful the scenery is otherwise.
Other Thoughts: On our 2006 Northern Michigan Disc Golf vacation, this was the highlight of the trip, and we considered playing the course again in the afternoon, but opted for nearby Avalanche Park instead.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.