Shreveport, LA 
Highland Park Share
Uploaded By: AByrd Hole #3
3 / 238ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Solid 9 Hole Course

1    11/21/2016   11/28/2016
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 196  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a real solid 9 hole course at the edge of Shreevport. It features a lot of elevation, a little bit of water and a good amount of trees on each hole making no hole on the course wide open.

I notice that navigation is a reoccurring con in the below reviews, and it could be. The map on this website is super helpful, and also shows the alternate tees that I do not believe are marked, but are played by the locals. As of playing the course in November 2016, all of the main nine tee posts are there with faint hole numbers and distances written on them. A little TLC may be needed on them, but it is not a determent to the overall appeal of the course.

There were a few memorable holes on the course including hole 2 and hole 8. Hole 2 played uphill and had a tight but fair window to hit. Hole 8 played downhill with a dry creek bed running through the middle of the fairway. The fun factor is high here!
Cons: The tees were pretty poor. I know hole 1 had a carpet tee that was in rough condition, and I played from the side.

The erosion was pretty bad on the course. Hole 8's basket was sticking way out as the land around it has run down. There is no grass in the whole park just red clay, which does not do too many favors for the course's erosion issue.

Hole 4 was a pretty unfair hole, and I felt it deserved to be noted. It is the longest hole on the course and there was a cluster of trees 100' in front of the basket, but 300' from the tee that it is a very tough line to hit without a good deal of luck.

There is a little bit of interference with other park users mainly the walking trail. Nothing too blatant like other places I have seen, but it was worth keeping your eye out.
Other Thoughts: This course needs a little bit of work with tee markings, but it still is a solid course. It reminds me a lot of Iron Spike in Palestine, TX, which is my favorite 9 hole course that I have played: http://www.dgcoursereview.com...e.php?id=6775

I was driving through Shreveport on a road trip and wanted a quick stop, and this was perfect for it. I enjoyed my round and would definitely come back.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    9/14/2015   9/14/2015
Review By: Doofenshmirtz
Played: 61  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 4.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Highland Park is a short, 9-hole course with plenty of elevation. A midrange is all you will need off the tee on most holes, but there are a few that are long enough for a fairway driver and even one hole on which a distance driver is justified if you want to go for birdie.

I had a lot of fun playing this course. It helped that there was a good crowd out on a Saturday afternoon and we could follow the group ahead of us who knew their way around. The holes use the available elevation very well and this is probably the most well laid out 9-hole course that I have ever played.

There are plenty of trees to provide challenge and enough elevation require good placement of upshots lest you risk some long rollaways.

There are no truly wide open holes because this park is pretty uniformly, moderately wooded. A number of holes play across "valleys" and through trees. Other holes are either downhill or uphill with only one or two holes with no elevation. There is small stream running through holes 5 and 6 to provide some extra challenge.
Cons: Poor tees, poor signage and lack of any onsite course map can make this course a very frustrating one to try to play. There is little indication of tee boxes and the fact that there are multiple, unmarked teeing areas for each hole can leave you with the impression that you didn't really play a single set of tees so much as the one that you found first for each hole.

The old, post signs apparently used to have meaningful information on them regarding the tee number and distance but most of that info has worn off. Standing on the tee box, you may not be sure which basket to throw to and I can imagine wasting a lot of time here if there is no other group to follow or no local to play with. This problem is the primary factor in only rating this course as a 3 disc course.

This is obviously a very popular course and the traffic has led to considerable erosion. This affects teeing areas and the areas around most of the baskets. The hills that this course is on are made of red clay which probably gets very slick after rains.

The look of the neighborhoods to the north and east of this course do not give rise to a lot of confidence of the safety of your vehicle. The is not a lot of parking space at this park and so parking on the street may be your only option.

This is a fairly small park and that leads to some cross play issues with tee boxes a little uncomfortably close to baskets. When the course is busy this will delay play somewhat.
Other Thoughts: In many trips to Shreveport, I have overlooked this and Clyde Fant DGC in favor of the excellent Ford Park. But, given the fun factor of this course and the fact that I can play it quickly now that I know the layout, I'll probably be playing this course more often.

Even at only 9 holes, with some signs, tee pads and maintenance, this could be arguably one of the best courses in Shreveport. As is, it is not a course that I would recommend to someone who has never played it before unless you are playing with someone who knows their way around.

If you want to try it, make sure and print out a map to have with you. If you don't and their aren't other players at the course, you are going to spend more than half your time trying to figure out where to throw from and where to throw to.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    8/20/2011   8/20/2011
Review By: AByrd
Played: 56  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A great design for practice of midrange or fairway drivers.
Varied elevation allows for an equal mix of uphill, downhill and level shots.
The shade from the many trees is welcome during the summer months.
Cons: Red clay in some areas is very slippery after a rain.
Surrounding neighborhood has a higher crime rate than normal.
Other Thoughts: Philip "Highlander," a local player, has done an outstanding job in taking care of this course.
Handicapped Mini's are held on Saturdays at 3pm during longer daylight periods of Spring through Fall and at 2pm during the Winter.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Number 1 in the Hood G

1    7/18/2009   7/19/2009
Review By: teamudgp
Played: 57  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 18.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/6/2011
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has great elevation, the most I've seen in this area. Multiple lines to take on each hole make it fun. It's also a great workout as walking up and down the hills really burn your calves. All the baskets are in good condition.
Cons: No grass! Erosion is out of control. Needs better navigation
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course and I recommend playing it once and do it early.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

My original home course, when it was a frisbee course in the 80's

5+    5/24/2009   5/24/2009
Review By: NDABRUSH
Played: 57  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 8.9 Years
This review was updated on 11/30/2016
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: makes great use of limited acres. The land is perfect for dg if you like elevation sprinkled with decent amount of trees,yet there are no pray and throw it shots. You always have at least 1 or usually more ways to attack the pin. If you are not a higher level player then this course is not just a bunch of ace runs but there is nothing wrong with birdies for us lower level players and hole 12(alt tee) can be aced by almost any one because of the distance and elevation help. Good place to break in new disc, even when you hit the fairway.(more under cons) I have never played a 9 or 18 hole course that had alt tees used as effectively as these. It really is like playing 18 different holes and they are even numbered 10-18, usually most courses are marked with a colored at the top wooden post without distance and number. Actually has kind of a signature hole where the pin is protected by a bridge that goes over a shallow stream but an ace is still possible. no crossing fairways. not usually busy. plenty of benches and a few trash cans. bring some steaks and charcoal and a cooler. this is one of the most shaded courses that I have played, which helps in the summer. If you are a lower level player and only have the time for 9 holes then try tees 10-18. they are a little shorter and easier and actually have a possible ace run, hole 12.
Cons: No restrooms. you can really beat up your discs on this course without hitting 1 tree. The ground has tree roots that come back to the surface or something. needs better signage and tee pads. hole 8's fairway has broken glass so watch out. If you are a pro or close to one then this course will not be a very big challenge if one at all because the pins are in the same spots as when this course was a frisbee golf course. 1 walking path that usually is not busy.
Other Thoughts: This 9 hole course has something that is very rare in Louisiana, elevation. This course is very fun to play and really is like playing 18. Good job to whoever put in the alt tees.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Big fun / small challenge

2-4    7/28/2008   10/28/2008
Review By: RustyP
Played: 52  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 12.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of elevation changes for such a small park/course - this element adds the most to the "fun factor" of the course, if you ask me.

Also has a good mix of short/long, which surprised me when I first saw the size of the course.

Alternate tees on each hole to make for a full 18-hole course.

Overall I wouldn't say it's a very technical or challenging course, but it IS very fun to play with several ace-able shots and 1-2 unique holes (I really enjoyed the one over the bridge).
Cons: Not the nicest neighborhood...but personally I've never had any problems. I wouldn't attempt to play it at night.

The course doesn't flow that well unless you know where you're going...and the alternate tees just make it more confusing. However, if you take your time and look around, you should be able to navigate it without a guide.

Some of the tee areas had a lot of large gravel, roots, or broken glass in/around them.
Other Thoughts: Anytime I go to Shreveport to play Lake Bistineau (best in the area), I usually stop by Highland for a quick 9-hole round of ace runs on the way home. There's a great bar/grill between here and Clyde Fant DGC called "Fat Boys" that has delicious burgers.

The park is centrally located and pretty easy to find.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/25/2008   9/25/2008
Review By: aillet
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Interesting elevation changes (20' between tees and chains) and groupings of pine trees make shot selection fun. The holes are short enough (avg. about 250') so that beginners to middle of the pack players can score some birdies. The course is close to downtown, so a lunch game isn't out of the question.
Cons: The course layout is very confusing if you have never played before. You need someone who knows the course to walk you through once. The tee boxes are nothing but dirt and broken glass. It is hard to figure out where to go from one hole to the next. The neighborhood is not the best, evident by a homeless person's sleeping bag and pillow in the number 9 basket (or is it number 16, or both, I'm still not sure). Maybe baskets have dual purposes these days, catch your discs, and personal storage units.
Other Thoughts: I'm not saying I wouldn't play here again, and who knows, I may end up really liking the course, but I wasn't impressed.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Highland Park, Shreveport

2-4    9/20/2008   9/20/2008
Review By: bikedoctor
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very good course to play in a time crunch. I can walk 9 holes in 25 minutes. In a real crunch I throw from both tees, thereby walking the course once and still get an 18 hole score. (+1) Good place to play if you need to work on accuracy.(+.5) The elevated tunnel shot on 7 is a good place to set up for multi disc practice.(+.5) I have trouble getting my dirves over 300ft. but I found the drives to be very rewarding on this course as they tend to be under 300. I like having to drive at a basket that is 30ft. above or below in relation to the tee box. The tee box was hard clay. I found less stress on my lead knee's ACL as my heel had a very easy time rotating on the clay.(+.5) The putting game is also very unique as the extreme hilliness of the course chanllenges the golfer to find balance and make an awkward position work.(+.5)
Cons: No facilities.(-.5) The terraine does allow the discrete #1 behind a tree but having facilities with a water fountain could move the rating up to 3.5. Great place to look for that hard to find piece of glass for your broken beer bottle collection. One knee putting was difficult but could be overcome through the use of a towel or beat up roller disc.(-0) The neighborhood is in a less than desirable area that I would not feel safe playing alone at night like I would at Clyde Fant or Ford Park. The occaional vagrant keeps your eyes scanning so no one surprises you.(-.1) Markings are faded and you cant play after even a little rain because the clay turns into earthen poo.(-.5)
Other Thoughts: I like to play this after work because I have just a little time before supper and not as hard as "epic" courses. This would be the course I would like to have in my backyard ... without the glass, vagrants and used condoms. But they have picnic benchs and BBQ pits and the minis really are a blast. When the Shreveport Disc Golf club gets an event on this course it really becomes fun. Plus your in the heart of the city so its close to every fast food grease trap you could desire. After a couple of months of playing Highland you start to think of it as your ugly sister. Anyone bad mouths her in public your ready to fight but at the end of the day you know she needs some work; but you love her anyway. Kev.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

6/5/2008   6/5/2008
Review By: ChrisULM
Played: 17  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 10.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course to work on driving with midranges and putters. They did a good job designing the course to deal with limited space. Not a very challenging course but it is very fun to play. Good for beginning players.
Cons: Nearly all the holes are short (in the 150-250ft range). The surrounding neighborhood is questionable.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

7/12/2007   1/2/2008
Review By: aclay
Played: 114  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 32.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use or terrain and limited space. Most tee shots are either downhill or uphill. Alternate tees often offer different flight paths instead of just adding distance. Mostly shaded, which helps in the heat of the summer.
Cons: No facilities (water or bathroom) of any kind. Many tee shots go over a walking/jogging path that winds through the course.
Other Thoughts: It's a reasonably enjoyable course. The placement of the alternate tees makes 9 holes feels more like 18.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.