Disc Golf Store
Streamwood, IL 
Sunny Hill Park Share
Uploaded By: geognerd Hole #8 (Taken 11/2012)
3 / 200ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Beginner/Intermediate

2-4    10/9/2010   10/10/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 420  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a multi-use park, but the disc golf is well separated from everything else.
- Best feature of the course is the large, sloping hill that contains most of the holes. A good downhill shot at 367' and an ok uphill basket at 328', as well as some more gently sloping shots. Even the flatter holes have a slight up or down angle which makes some lines just a touch tougher or easier.
- Good use of what little trees there are, especially by the baskets. Some small rows of trees and other small clusters add some difficulty to otherwise open holes.
- There are some marshy/swampy areas in a few of the fairways, depending on the recent weather. Not a real challenge; the field is wide open, and most players can throw right over it with no issue.
- A few holes require some line shaping due to medium sized trees or protected baskets. But, a typical RHBH hyzer can be serviceable.
- Great signs, good baskets, tees were dirt and getting pretty rutted.
Cons: - A couple of holes on the longer side, but overall the course is short. The downhill slopes make the holes more fun as opposed to difficult, and makes the course play smaller.
- Very few obstacles in the fairways, almost any line can be used to get to the basket. There are some trees and rough by some of the baskets, sure, getting there is a no-brainer.
Other Thoughts: - Fun course with some decent elevation here and there. A few challenges are present with wet areas and protected baskets, but overall it is wide open. Rewards both accurate shorter drives, and some longer uphill and downhill drives.
- Great for beginners and even some intermediate players, too easy for a seasoned player with decent length.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Chi Town 9 Bagger

2-4    9/4/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 317  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 13.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is located in a very nice small multiuse park. There is a building with restroom facilities.

When you arrive at the park you will see #9's basket tucked in the trees to your left. The 1st tee is located to the southeast of the basketball court. #1's basket is located near the building.

This course is mostly open with a variety of distances. It's a pretty short course. Many holes have some type of obstacle protecting the pin. This is a very beginner friendly course with no rough to lose discs.

The course does have some minor elevation changes. #5 is a nice long downhill toss.

Tee signs are adequate. Not bad for homemade. Has #, distance, and brief hole description.

Good Mach 3 baskets with number plate on them.

Course is easy to navigate.
Cons: Dirt tees. They will definitely be muddy after rain. Some are rutted and uneven.

After heavy rains/wet times of year there are many places that hold water.

This course is not a challenge to more adv/pro level players.
Other Thoughts: Shady Oaks Park in Streamwood is just down the road. It's much more difficult and offers more challenge it that is what you are looking for.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Good Beginner Course

2-4    7/10/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: Countchunkula
Played: 123  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 8.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a decent little nine hole course in a suburban park. The course is mostly open but has enough elevation change to make the holes interesting. This would make a great beginner course as it has very little rough to lose a disc in and the holes are long enough to require some distance with out being frustrating for those who can't throw far. There are 3 fun downhill ace runs and an uphill shot with the basket placed near the top of a fairly steep slope. The baskets are older mach 3's and although they don't look that nice, they still catch just fine. There are long tees, but you would need to play with a local since they are grass and are not marked in any way. Tee signs are pretty good for such a simple straightforward course.
Cons: The course is pretty easy, and only a couple of the holes require you to shape lines. The rest of the holes are pretty much wide open. The tees are dirt and a couple of them are very uneven. The worst tees are on shorter holes so this shouldn't be too much of a problem. The only navigational problems are between hole 1 and 2 (walk to your right around the building and you will find 2) and between 5 and 6 (walk toward your left and towards the road).
Other Thoughts: While not a bad course, its really nothing special. Don't go out of your way to play this one, but it's a nice quick round if you happen to be out in the area. Nearby Shady Oaks is a challenging, varied 18 hole course that is well worth a stop.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 C = As average as the come for 9 holers

1    3/18/2009   4/19/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 368  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.5 Years
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- C-
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- C+
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- C
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- C-
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor…more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 They remembered the fun

2-4    11/29/2008   11/29/2008
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 130  Reviewed: 83  Exp: 19.9 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course designers remembered to add a little fun to this one. They used the elevation changes to design in several elevated tee ace runs. A few of the baskets are tucked into some tree cover, so they added a little challenge where they could. # 4 is an uphill shot with some rollaway potential. The course flowed pretty well, although I looked for the tee for # 2 for awhile. Most of the tees were a decent distance away from the last basket, yet still easy to find. All in all, it was a fun little course.
Cons: In the end, it is a 9-hole pitch and putt. The tees were rutted and in bad shape. There was a nice bulletin board between the parking lot and # 1's tee that said "Sunny Hill Disc Golf" on it with exactly zero information on it. # 4 played pretty close to # 2 & # 3; it looked like it had room to move over closer to # 5 to avoid that conflict.
Other Thoughts: This course is no great challenge, but given the size of the park it's a good local course. By no means should you go out of your way to play here, but if you find yourself in the area it's a fun place for a quick 9 holes.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.