Bakersfield, CA 
Hart Park - Suicide Flats Share
Uploaded By: bigrocc01 Hole #10
3 / 279ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    8/14/2013   8/14/2013
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 63  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 11.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course has variety and is very, very scenic. There is just enough water to make you be careful but not enough to ruin your round. Some very long and challenging holes that are strategically placed among the trees makes getting a birdie fairly challenging on most of the holes. I really like when a course takes you somewhere, where it is not all open and all the baskets are visible from across the park. This course takes you all over the park like you are on a disc golf journey, wondering what is just around the corner. Nice locals. Beautiful view of the mountains. Course loops back around during the round thanks to to great course design and forethought. Last, two courses in the same park...hard to beat that! Gave this course a 4.0 due to all the great features just listed. I hope to play this course again.
Cons: A lot of straight and hyzer shots with very little need for anhyzer. I am sure this changes as there are multiple basket positions. The trees almost felt a little ridiculous after a while as I hit tree after tree after tree and then even hit the little powerline that goes across one of the holes on the back 9. Navigation challenges, a few next tee signs are needed in a couple of places and it just leaves you looking around for the tee sign, which are hard to see from a distance on 3 of the holes. The grass was a little high when I played it. Also, beware some of the trees as they are very thick and like to eat discs (unless they are blue :)
Other Thoughts: Great course in a huge park that is multiuse but not enough to really get in the way (except, I hear, on holiday's). If you are in Bakersfield, try this course and Sharktooth mountain as well! Fun, fun, fun!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Surprising Disc Golf Oasis

1    6/7/2010   6/9/2010
Review By: JHern
Played: 82  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 7.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: We were returning to NorCal after visiting NorAZ, and looked on the map to see where we might be able to stop and play a round or two of disc golf. Bakersfield was perfect, and we arrived around 5:00 PM, just when we wanted to be off the road for a while (hwy 99 can be trafficky during rush hour).

We were amazed to find, after following Comanche Rd for about 9 miles from hwy 58 (we checked it, though the course description directions say 8 miles), a wonderful oasis full of trees, manicured grass expanses, ponds, lakes, streams, etc., unfold in front of our eyes. We found ourselves in a manicured park next to the Kern River, with great shade trees, ponds with bull frogs, dozens of peacocks, scores of cats, a handful of skunks, and even a large snake! And of course, 36 holes of disc golf.

We had hiked to the bottom of the Grand Canyon the previous day in blistering desert heat, so as attractive as the Shark Tooth course sounded in principle, the lack of shade and the steep topography were not nearly as attractive to us as the wonderful shade and green expanses of Suicide Flats.

The holes were a lot of fun. Some of the positions were set over 700', which made for a fun challenge to score a 3. Most other holes were in the 350-460' range, and only a few were under 300'. The creeks and ponds come into play on a few holes, giving a nice psychological challenge and a serious gut check. I watched my wife chuck her Tee-Rex right into the middle of the pond on hole 6, and we also got wet on a few of the later holes as well (although we recovered the discs).

This course requires you to hit some narrow gaps and tunnels, and there are usually several routes to choose from. For big arms and strong overhand throwers, some of the tree lines are low enough to allow over-the-top routes. The grass was a bit too grabby/sticky for rollers when we were there, but if it ever stiffens up I can imagine this would be a great roller course, which would also mitigate the risk of hitting tree branches and such.

The tees were fantastic, and all the baskets were in great shape and quality (Mach 3). There was even working water fountains near the 1st tee (in the small round rock building).
Cons: A lot of the fairways/available routes were hockey sticks, favoring RHBH/LHFH throws. I never once felt the urge or need to throw a forehand shot. I only once thought about it on number 8, but instead I hyzer-flipped my Valkyrie and parked the hole with little trouble.
Other Thoughts: There is no visible sign that you are entering "Hart Park" as such. It just kind of appears around you. I'm not sure how to describe better directions, but the 1st tees for both courses are near where the road forks in 3 different directions.

The bathrooms were a little dubious, but heck, at least they exist! I'll take almost any bathroom in a pinch.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Small arms need not apply

1    12/7/2009   12/8/2009
Review By: sideArmSal
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Beautiful setting, lots of trees, well groomed grass. Long holes, big arms and rollers will love it. It is like having two drives on half of the holes.
Cons: Danger of pedestrian interference. Watch out for the many large gopher holes on the front 9.
Other Thoughts: Great course! This combined with Shark Tooth make Hart Park a must play.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Whip out your Rollers

1    9/19/2009   10/6/2009
Review By: DaKineSurfer32
Played: 407  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 13.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - very nice sign & information kiosk in between the two Hart Park courses
- nice, new, large cement tees
- great risk/reward shots dealing with water (canals/Kern River), and the park lakes
- awesome layout, and good use of mandos & longer holes to separate the technical ones
- shiny new baskets, easily visible
- forces a player to use every shot in the book
Cons: - as of the first Sharktooth Open there were no signs on this course, so navigation is tricky. make sure you look at the map before playing your round
- no water (only the rock structure by the course map has drinking fountains) or bathrooms close by
- kind of in the middle of nowhere
Other Thoughts: As far as the navigation issues that I mentioned in Cons, 1-5 are easy to follow, after you throw 6 you have to walk across a bridge and then 200' back to the basket to get your disc. After six, walk back toward the bridge, and tee 7 will throw through ALL the trees toward the road about 360' away. It's a bit difficult to see the basket from the tee. After 8, Tee 9 is down by the canal to your right. After 9, walk across the street and tee 10 is about 150' up the road and on your left. Lastly, after 15, walk past the basket, up toward the road and across the bridge to your left. Tee 16 is on your right, immediately after the bridge. Hope this helps any first time navigation issues!

As far as newer courses go, Hart Park has some of the best. You come to Hart for a challenge, and use the four 9 hole course in Bakersfield as your ace run/birdie courses.

Suicide Flats is extremely roller friendly due to many low ceilings.

If you're looking for water, and don't want to wait for someone in the stone building with the drinking fountains, there is also a well surrounded by a cut-off, 50 gallon, bright blue barrel by Sharktooth Mountain 17.

I thought the Flats was a little bit better than the Mountain because of the solid tees and multiple pin locations. It is an awesome addition for the Central Valley and Bakersfield area. I recommend playing both Hart Park courses to anyone passing through.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 The Flats

5+    9/7/2009   9/7/2009
Review By: ibgollie
Played: 59  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 9.1 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: As another reviewer said, this course was designed to be the complement the mountain course. This course is shady and grassy, but still very challenging and holds good risk/reward situations. Where the mountain course has elevation to challenge you, this course has trees, OBs and water to trip you up.
-Big concrete tee boxes
-Big, long holes with a balance of shorter technical holes to get your birdies on. To play this course well you must grind out pars on the long holes and take advantage of the birdie holes.
-Great park setting with scenic holes that have the Kern river, or the lakes in the park as backdrops.
-Lots of water fountains, bathrooms and shade.
Cons: -Until we finish the tee signs navigation can be tricky in a couple spots.
Other Thoughts: Ignore the other post about "gang violence" that was bogus and a sheriff's training facility is at the park, which is probably why he saw a lot of police. Also the county was working on the river system for a few days and the canals were dry. Trust me, the water holes are indeed water hazards.

Bakersfield has 4 other courses that are designed for beginners. The 36 holes as Hart Park were designed to be challenging for 950+ rated players and for tournament play. If you want a birdie fest go into town. If you want a strong test of your throwing skills and course management in a beautiful, peaceful setting, then come to Hart Park. You will not be disappointed.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the trip!

5+    4/13/2009   4/14/2009
Review By: lamb
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Huge 'county park' setting.
*Lots of trees to not only add to the challenge but provide shade in the Bakersfield heat.
*Two canals/creeks run through the course. And the Kern River can come into play on a couple of holes.
*Minimal civilian traffic.
*Plenty of drinking fountains, picnic tables, and BBQ grills.
*Course will challenge everyone. Lots of long holes but accuracy is just as important.
*Course does not favor right/left, backhand/sidearm players. A lot of varied shots are required.
*No real elevation changes but after playing the Shark Tooth course that will come as a relief. Distance, water, and trees more than make up for the lack of terrain.
*Baskets are in great shape and marked clearly.
*Although not all of the tee pads are installed the ones that are there are huge.
*Friendly locals who would be more than happy to show you around (and show off their course).
*Informational kiosk near Tee #1 but try and grab a map online to bring with you. http://kerncountydiscgolf.spo.../aboutus.aspx
*All-in-all an excellent course that will only get better as pads and signs are installed.
*Lots of ducks, geese, and peacocks if you're into that thing.
* A great compliment to the Shark Tooth course. The 36 holes at Hart Park are absolutely worth making the trip to Bakersfield.
Cons: *Still a work in progress. As of April 13th there are 12 concrete tee pads in place.
*No tee signs as of yet.
*Although there are plenty of drinking fountains be sure to bring plenty of cold water April-October.
*Park is a bit isolated. Bring your own lunch or be prepared to drive 10-15 minutes to the nearest (overpriced) market. Same thing for gas.
*Every so often people will park in the line of fire.
*Park rangers are friendly but can be hard nosed.
*You cannot drink beer/alcohol in the park without a permit...which you have to purchase in town.
*Be careful where you park and take the 25mph speed limit seriously.
*Keep an eye out for peacocks over on hole #15.
Other Thoughts: Admittedly, as a local, I'm a bit biased. But I've yet to meet anyone from out of town who didn't give the courses at Hart Park rave reviews. Players from Sacramento down to Ventura/Sylmar/LA have made the trip and loved it.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 36 Holes Where?

5+    3/3/2009   3/17/2009
Review By: bigrocc01
Played: 83  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 18.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Long arm course where you get to watch your disc fly far or roll far. Course plays over a vast part of the park and over some water. Shade and water fountains for the HOT Bakersfield summer. Locals are cool and always willing to show you around. Newly installed concrete tees are the right size for the throws.After playing eight holes you are close enough to the starting area to grab some MORE BEER!
Cons: No signs yet.(They're coming) 1st time playing you'll definately need to print a map from this page.If you expect a birdie every hole this will be a con
Other Thoughts: The best time to plan a trip to Bako to play both Skark Tooth Mountain and Suicide Flats is in the spring(March-April) There is a nice camp ground very near Hart Park at Lake Ming.(only $11 during off season.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.