Janesville, WI 
Lustig Park Share
Uploaded By: WIpilot Hole #12
3 / 448ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Great course!

2-4    6/10/2016   7/30/2016
Review By: Texasmouth
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great course with some fun wooded holes. A few of the holes were very challenging even for a skilled player. A few of the holes were "Aceable" holes. Has nice clean bathrooms. Vending machines. Not much to dislike about this course.
Cons: The next hole was hard to find sometimes. Would be nice to have the number of the hole on the baskets. Otherwise a really fun course.
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses I have played at. I played while visiting family and I was really pleased. Would definitely recommend. I played early on a weekday and I was the only one on the course. At night it was a bit more crowded.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Lusting for Lustig? Maybe.

1    4/26/2016   7/26/2016
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 256  Reviewed: 176  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course set in Lustig Park in Janesville, WI.

Nice Chainstar baskets, all in decent enough repair and well mounted. Several holes had multiple pin positions. There was some really nice pin positions here, with real chances of roll-aways, and lots of risk/reward putting.

Concrete tee pads, all in decent enough shape. Mostly long and wide enough. One tee position per hole.

Really nice use of the terrain here. The park is basically all rolling hills, but with a decent amount of elevation change. Most of the holes have some aspect of up or down to them. The first hole is a nice downhill wooded shot that gets you right into the action.

Tons of mature trees here are the other main obstacle. Nearly all the holes have multiple lines if you search hard enough, and they were nearly all plenty fair. Only a couple really tight spots, and even those weren't necessarily unfair.

A nice array of distances, from very short to a nice 460+ downhill bomber. It never felt like you were throwing the same distances too many times in a row, especially with the hills in play.

It would be pretty tough to lose a disc here, as there's very little heavy rough. A nice perk on a course with so many trees.
Cons: There's not a ton to hate here. The tee signs are old and outdated, and the navigation suffers because of it on your first spin. It's not terrible, but you can get turned around, especially around holes 13-14.

Dual tees and more alt pin positions would be nice here, but you'd probably just end up with a bunch of shorter holes if it was done.

This place can be pretty busy, being the only good course in the area. Lots of 2 disc chuckers, and lots of other park patrons roaming around the pavilion areas. The course also has a few holes that run next to the road, with a real chance of hitting vehicles on errant throws or bad tree kicks.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is just a solid course. It's not crazy hard, but it's not overly easy, either. You can work on a plethora of different shots if you want to because of the layout of the obstacles. This would make for a great course to hone your skills if it were your home course. Definitely worth a spin if you're in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

The Ratings are right on

5+    3/28/2015   1/15/2016
Review By: Spike Hyzer 23
Played: 84  Reviewed: 81  Exp: 23.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course is a modestly wooded and modestly hilly city park that is far better than most city parks. The course has been improved dramatically over the years and it now has great length to go along with an exceptionally good use of the landscape and foliage (which is mostly very big and mature trees).
Cons: The course isn't marked that well. The signs are vastly out of date and not reflective of the new distances. One tee sign is planted at the back of a tee pad, preventing a player from using that angle and taking his legitimate 3 meters off the tee pad to start. This is one of my pet peeves if you've read my reviews and I have a message for all course designers:
FOR SAFETY AND LIABILITY REASONS, PLEASE MAKE SURE THAT YOUR TEE SIGNS ARE A MINIMUM OF 3 METERS AWAY FROM THE TEE PAD AND PREFERABLY TO THE REAR AND LEFT.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Lustig Park

2-4    10/3/2015   10/3/2015
Review By: thejetmechanic
Played: 17  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lustig is an 18 holer locacted in a really nice city park. Nothing fancy, yet definitley not boring. Disc golf is taking off in southern Wisconsin, and this course being busy is a direct result of that. The weekends here get busy, but I've never had to wait to play.

*Well kept grounds. Props to whoever maintains the course. Not a lot of brush to punish throws unless you really shank one.
*Massive tee pads
*Lots of parking near hole 1
*Very clean bathrooms and functional beverage machines also next to hole 1
*benches and garbage cans located on nearly every hole
*Lots of true par 3's keep it competitive
*A handful of baskets are right along the wood lines or slightly in the woods offering an interesting drive/approach shot
*some varrying elevation also adds somewhat of a challenge and a lot of fun on hole 12
*nice quiet neighborhood surrounds the course
Cons: *signs could use directional indicators of where the basket lies. The signs only list par and hole distance
*hole 16 sign completely missing
*can get a bit confusing distinguising which tee and basket is next on the front 9 because the holes are crammed together (I suggest snapping a pic of the course map on your smart phone before starting for reference while navigating)
*Crowded (not complaining, its great for the sport)
Other Thoughts: I love this place. For a typical course located in a city park this place uses the elevation and basket placement quite well. Facilities are well kept and in order. Difficult to lose a disc here. I would travel to this course if I didn't live in the area. Props to the guys running this place.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Shady Course

1    6/12/2014   6/12/2014
Review By: Dfixmer
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Simple front 9 and varied back nine.
-Clearly marked and well maintained.
-Lots of shady trees.
Cons: -A few missing signs.
-No score cards or individual maps.
-Lots of bugs!
Other Thoughts: Tee boxes are in great shape. Lots of people playing- very popular.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    8/5/2013   9/13/2013
Review By: Trrasico
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What I love about this course is its mixture of open and nicely wooded areas. The trees are all huge old oak trees and spaced out. There is almost no risk of throwing your disc into the wilderness and losing it, or having to dig through dense forest to find it. I have been playing this course for the past 5 years I think and in my opinion, its the best course in the area. (Madison has it beat, but thats an hour away)
Cons: Gets somewhat busy but the majority of the time you can play without waiting for the people ahead of you.

Course can be kind of confusing to navigate first time playing, but my advice is to look for the metal plaque/inlay on the end of the cement tees. That little metal square is always at the BACK of the tee, so hopefully that will help you throw to the right basket if there is any confusion!
Other Thoughts: I believe that Alcohol is NOT allowed. Park has clean bathrooms and a water fountain next to the first tee. Well-maintained.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice course

1    5/28/2013   5/28/2013
Review By: Harry Manback
Played: 45  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.3 Years
Pros: -Really nice use of the trees
-Challenging enough to keep you focused
-Multiple basket locations to keep that "new" feeling
Cons: -Not too much variety
-Seems like a sketchy area
Other Thoughts: Very nicely wooded course. Enough trees to force lines, yet still forgiving enough to not be an annoyance. Seemed to be some sketchy people when I played but nothing I was too worried about. Only one wide open hole with all the rest in varying levels of woodedness.

 Plenty of fun shots here

1    5/20/2013   5/21/2013
Review By: dehaas
Played: 70  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 14.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: GIANT concrete tee pads (some larger than the patio at my house).

Alternate basket placements.

Course was well kept; an appropriate amount of garbage cans and benches at tees.

Course uses slight elevation changes in park to its advantage. Many holes are under 300 feet but play longer due to elevation.

Good variety of shots (straight, righty, lefty).

All holes are reachable (many ace runs), great use natural lines shaped through large old trees.
Cons: Course has tee signs with distances, but no diagram of the hole itself. The front half of the course has many baskets and tees in view so knowing exactly where to throw might be a touch confusing for first timers.

Lots of bugs at the course, and I played around noon. I'm not from the area, so that may just be normal around these parts.

Many of the tees are near the basket from the previous hole. Lots of casual golfers (good thing), so watch out for errant shots that might come in at you from various angles.
Other Thoughts: Overall I had a great time at this course. The old trees shape lines throughout the course and pretty much every hole is reachable. The alternate pin placements looked like they aren't simply 10 feet away from the original placements. It's definitely a fun course to hit up if you're in the area.

Hole 12 will make you want to empty your entire bag, killer view of the park and a sweet golf hole.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/30/2012   10/30/2012
Review By: Hinduannex
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Has great mix of open wooded long and short nice baskets
Grounds kept very clean
Bathrooms on site along with vending machines
Teepads nice and in great shape
Overall a solid fun course
Cons: My biggest concern is some of the crowd that plays here.
You'd think you were playing in the yard at the county jail at times
Other Thoughts: Worth a stop love changing it up and playing here

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Kinda Boring

1    8/10/2012   9/19/2012
Review By: steven2361
Played: 225  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 8.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great concrete tees and decent signage. There a couple cool holes like 7, 12, and 16. 7 is a nice downhill 400 footer. 12 tees off very high and you must keep your drive from hyzering out ob to have a look a birdie. If you have a big arm you may want to throw a fairway driver on this hole. 16 is a tough birdie to get as you must first navigate through a tightish gap and then glide way right slightly uphill. There a couple tighter wooded holes here but not very many.
Cons: The lines here are not challenging at all. The sparse large trees just are not enough to force any lines. You can basically throw the same shot over and over on most of the holes. The course is also rather short and there is not many opportunities to throw drivers.

I was a bit confused on where to go next after the big downhill hole. Go to the hole on the right not the left after the downhill hole.
Other Thoughts: They did what they could with the land I suppose.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.