Reedsville, WI 
Rollin Ridge Share
Uploaded By: koogs Hole #15 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 314ft.   4 / 450ft.   4 / 430ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 94
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Exceptional

1    9/2/2016   9/9/2016
Review By: dmsfun
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: I planned to camp overnight and get 2-3 rounds in, and had such a good time, ended up staying 4 days. There is wifi at the campsite also, so was was able to get some work done. Most courses have a mix of some great holes, with a few open, .uninteresting ones, but there aren't any filler holes at the ridge, all are fun and challenging, and lines can be very different from the 3 tees. Spotted Cow and many other varieties are served at the clubhouse bar for after rounds. Owners are very friendly and accommodating.
Cons: Some of my discs are a bit less stable than they were before playing 8 rounds here; as lumber hits are assured. Just one minor caveat with the campsite near the clubhouse, which is a bit noisy at night from the trucks on the Hwy. I plan to return again this fall, and will camp at the sites near 9 or 15, farther away from the road.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding Course

1    8/24/2016   9/5/2016
Review By: Kennan J
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There is very good signage, and it is almost impossible to get lost
Unlike most wooded courses, this course doesnt have a bunch of sticks, logs, and lots of leaves on the fairways.
Concrete teepads on every hole
Three different tees and baskets on each hole to make the course that much more of an amazing experience
Practice basket along with a driving range (which is basically a batting cage with a teepad)
Proshop with almost every disc on the market (For people wondering the size, it is a large room so you won't be disappointed.)
The bar/clubhouse is a great addition to the course
The staff is very friendly, inviting, and will help you with any problem you might have
There are wooden bridges that keep you out of swampy areas and the wet areas
Some teepads are put on the bridges which is an interesting twist
Excellent use of elevation both on the fairways and the baskets
Some open bomber holes are a nice mix with the woods
The alternation between long, short, and in between holes was nice
Most if not all holes have benches where you can sit
Not large amounts of bugs, and they have bug spray by course map if you think you might need it
Large range of shot varieties during each round here
OB is marked clearly by ropes
Cons: Water in low areas, and can be muddy. (I recommend not wearing your nice shoes)
The front 9 repeats the same teeshot often
Other Thoughts: This is a must play course. If you're going to be in the area make sure to stop here, you won't regret it.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Ratings are inaccurate

1    7/5/2016   7/5/2016
Review By: StevieWraithVaughan
Played: 104  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Everything. It's all about service and making the disc golf experience epic at Rolling ridge. From the property to the layouts, baskets pads, hole options. Ability to camp on-site. A clubhouse with a bar and food that awaits after hole 9 and 18. Lost a disc on hole 2 and it was fished out of the marsh and waiting for me by the time I finished my round.
Cons: I don't live closer.
Other Thoughts: After playing the #2 rated course in the country Flip City, I realize many of these reviews are likely biased and based on factors that shouldn't matter. Basing it strictly on the course itself at least should be rated #2 because I haven't played Selah. Not to dog on Flip because it was fun and a great course, but it isn't even the second or third best in Michigan. RR is far superior to any course I have ever played.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

World Class Disc Golf

5+    6/26/2016   6/28/2016
Review By: SneakyJedi
Played: 88  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 7.3 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Phenomenal amenities, equipment, and course upkeep

- Varied, exciting golf that you can tailor to your own skill level and desired level of challenge with 3 pads and 3 baskets per hole

- Very good course flow, and hole 9 ends back at the clubhouse easily allowing for two 9-hole loops or a mid-round break

- Dedicated disc golf course, no other activities on-site
Cons: - Low lying areas retain water for a long time, though bridges, woodchips, and wooden planks are placed throughout to help as much as possible

- One or two fairways push the boundary between challenging and "some luck required"
Other Thoughts: If Flip City is disc golf's Field of Dreams, then Rollin Ridge is its Yankee Stadium. This course combines some fantastic golf with truly phenomenal amenities to provide one of the best disc golf experiences available. I've camped on site for a couple of separate weekends now, and the fun level is really a cut above that offered most other places.

What really sets Rollin Ridge apart from a lot of other top courses are its amenities. Everything here screams professional and well done. The equipment is all top of the line with Mach X baskets, long concrete tee pads with marked foul-lines and extra run-off, and the best tee-signs I've seen anywhere with large, colorful depictions of the fairways with each basket position marked and its distance from the pad given. All of this is color coded as well. There is ample signage directing you to each of the next tee-pads, and the course abounds with large, wooden structures, both decorative and protective in nature. Each hole also has a bench and trash can.

As for amenities, it all starts with the clubhouse. On-site bathrooms, including a shower for campers, a bar, multiple TVs showing the latest Central Coast Disc Golf video and other sports, and a large selection of discs and disc golf apparel and accessories. Outside there is a deck with multiple tables, multiple practice baskets, a batting cage like driving range, and large colorful course map and scorecards. All of this is available for only $5 a day or $25 for a weekend of camping, an incredible value. There are several campsites available both nearby the clubhouse, and at two other locations further out on the course. You can fill a large wagon (also available to move gear from your car to campsite) up with firewood for $10.

The staff here is very nice and accommodating. I have always had my questions answered politely, and enjoyed many conversations with those on site. They routinely go through the pond on Hole 2 for discs, and a friend had his lost disc shipped back to him for no charge.

All of these fantastic features would be hollow if the quality of golf was lacking, but thankfully the golf is top notch as well. The three pads and baskets per fairway means you are guaranteed to find a layout suitable to your desired level of challenge (Red tees to Black baskets being my personal favorite), but all offer great and varied lines, even within the same hole. You will encounter: long, open fairways that challenge even those with the biggest arms; short, technical, wooded fairways that demand accuracy and line-shaping; elevated baskets and baskets located near cliffs and roll-away greens; water carries, uphill shots, downhill shots, dog-legs, and more. This course is never boring and always has something for you to think about.

A couple of holes could use a handful fewer trees to make the fairways more well-defined. As is, they walk a fine line between being challenging, and requiring luck to not hit a tree. Many have mentioned the low-lying areas of this course hold water for a long time and are frequently marshy. It had rained earlier in the week during my last visit, and while the ground was soft in many places, it was muddy in only a limited area by Hole 14. Bridges, woodchips, and planks are placed to limit the detrimental effects of water in these low areas, and outside of some serious landscaping requiring a lot of earth movement, just about everything that could be done has been.

Rollin Ridge is the gold standard for what private, pay-to-play disc golf can be. Different people prefer different types of disc golf. As excellent and varied as the shots at Rollin Ridge are, some will prefer the style of golf at other courses. However, to my mind, the amenities and equipment here are beyond reproach, and I am sure will only be improved over time. Do yourself a favor, and make plans to camp at Rollin Ridge for a weekend. You can spend an entire weekend here and not play the same layout twice, or travel 30-60min in just about any direction and play several other high quality courses in the area. If you have the opportunity, you shouldn't pass it up.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.


5+    5/1/2016   6/26/2016
Review By: discingcaddie
Played: 44  Reviewed: 3
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Best facilities/pro shop/ concessions I have ever seen on any courses in the United States. I like the "choose your own adventure" style of play with multiple pads/ baskets.
Cons: There are four to five holes in rather swamp like areas that stay wet no matter the time of year (bring boots). The lines required through several fairways overall are extremely technical and could be very frustrating to beginning level to even advanced players.
Other Thoughts: The facilities are the best in the country, I'm just not a huge fan of the overall design. Its a top 50 in the country course. Not a top 10

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

The way of the future for disc golf

1    5/29/2016   6/20/2016
Review By: J.Bolton
Played: 26  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/22/2016
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The staff was and facilities are awe awesome. It can best be described as walking into a golf club house. Pro shop with just tons of inventory, driving range, bar with pool table, putting area, scorecards and pencils, free bug spray, and a legit lost and found where they'll call you if you mark your disc.

The course is awesome, three different concrete tee pads and three different holes per hole. Playing from a different set of tees here is like playing an entirely new course.

The signage is flawless and professional. Easy to read and follow without making you guess where to go next or how to throw.

A mixture of open and wooded holes. The wooded holes are not impossible though. If you can hold your lines and shape your shots it's definitely do-able. This is the number 3 course in the nation so if your looking for an easy open field course look else where cause this is a challenge but extremely fun.

Cons: The parking lot is gravel...seriously that's it.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed the beautiful blend of this course...length for those bombers, technicality for precise shots, water, man made obstacles and natural, favors righties and lefties. It all just flowed really well.

There was a number of other people there but it wasn't bad as most people who enjoy this sport are courteous to one another and let the fast/smaller groups play through.

Curious of the camping on site is because its on the course (must not be too close though because I did not see any tents while playing) I guess but ill find out soon enough as I have recently booked a weekend off either hole 9 or hole 15.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Slightly Overrated

2-4    4/29/2016   5/2/2016
Review By: Wetlawnmulch
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 18.5 Years
4 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: 1 - The experience, the workers were very welcoming, multiple teepads, multiple baskets.
Cons: 1 - Wetness, the course was really soggy on the lower section
2 - The orange and red colors are too close, it was difficult to differentiate on a few holes.
3. - General layout of course. Some holes have a general lack of "fair"way.
Other Thoughts: Our group was greatly disappointed. This was one of our last destinations we haven't visited on a 10 year annual 4 day disc golf weekend. This course just wasn't fun. We're mostly from the Twin City area so technical courses aren't foreign to us, but this was beyond technical. Guy at the clubhouse said they lose about 30 trees a year to weather so they don't want to cut down any trees, and it shows. It will be interesting to watch the DGPT.

4 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Epic

1    3/4/2016   3/4/2016
Review By: JuStYwHaT
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.3 Years
0 Helpful / 21 Not
Pros: First time playing. Played short to short and need to work on my game I guess!
Would be fun to see how long to long would go.


Time to work on my game.
Cheers
J
Cons: I hit every tree on the property. But, I need work on my game.
Other Thoughts: Can't wait for the dubs tomorrow

0 of 21 people found this review helpful.

Top 5 for a reason

1    6/6/2015   1/24/2016
Review By: B3NDER
Played: 120  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 11.3 Years
20 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: FIRST AND FOREMOST, THIS COURSE IS 5 BUCKS TO PLAY FOR THE ENTIRE DAY! WE ARE TALKING ABOUT 5 BUCKS TO PLAY THE NUMBER 3 COURSE IN THE NATION (according to DGCR at the time of this review, Kids under 12 play free.)

This entire facility is disc golf exclusive, so you needn't worry about looking out for joggers, picknickers and other randoms.
There is a huge pro-shop on site with a great selection of plastic. (Also onsite: Pool table, bathroom, shower)
Practice basket for refining your putting, as well as an onsite driving range to practice your form or rips.
Each hole has multiple tees and baskets to allow you to really switch up your experience. (Orange Pins, Red Pins, Black Pins)
Benches and trashcans for each hole (Which explains why this course was immaculate in terms of upkeep)
Each hole had a tee sign with the layouts of each basket/tee pad, allowing for the maximum amount of course layouts (most holes are 9 possible layouts)
Course runs together nicely, each basket is located relatively closely to the next pad, and plenty of signs to route you toward the next tee.
Some teepads are guarded with wooden walls to keep errant drives from the hole before from hitting you (Hole 2, Hole 8 ((mid,long)) Hole 17)
With each hole having multiple pads as well as baskets, the combinations for "layouts" is extremely variable. You can end up using every shot in your arsenal to try and really get the feel for this amazing course.
Great use of the elevation throughout the course, with plenty of uphill as well as downhill shots to add to the variety. You've got your mix of tight, technical wooded holes that will make you really think about disc selection, there are a slight few chances to really air out drives (Hole 3 comes to mind).
Course is regularly fogged to keep the bug count down.
Cons: Having only played this course once myself, it was actually pretty difficult to find any sort of cons. I have jotted down the few things I gathered, plus what a few locals I played with had to say:

Some of the holes with lower elevation can experience a good amount of 'swamping', to where they can really hold in water and make for a mucky fairway. I didn't see this myself, but it was brought up a few times (so take that for what it's worth)

(This part used to discuss the lack of professional signs, but now they have been replaced by professional, high quality signs)

Some times, bugs can be a bit of an issue (Again, just bring spray)
Other Thoughts: If you are looking for 18 holes of pure challenging fun, look no further. With both multiple teepads as well as baskets, you will seriously be hard pressed to be able to complain about variety.

Rollin' Ridge truly offers a championship caliber course, with absolutely anything else a golfer could need (in terms of amenities)

Some people would list the 'pay to play' aspect of this course under cons, but honestly I feel if you want to play the best, you should have no problem parting with a few dollars to do so. After all, just about any pay to play course will help to significantly cut back on the 2 disc wonders.

During the summer, Rollin' Ridge offers league play on Saturdays. (We played during a league night, but still didn't run into any heavy traffic)

If you are in the area (or planning on driving through/a road trip) you would be doing yourself an extreme disservice to miss out on this gem.

I consider my ratings of courses to be pretty conservative, but it should come as no surprise that I have given Rollin' Ridge a 5 disc rating. (There has only been one other course to score a 5 disc rating from me, and that is Flip City, in Shelby MI) It is quite obvious that a ton of work has gone into making Rollin' Ridge the top 3 course in the nation. Even greater yet, the fact that the course has only been around for 5 years (established 2011) means that things can most likely only go up from here.

I hope to make it back to Reedsville sometime this year to camp and play this wonderful course a few more times.

20 of 22 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf Players Paradise

5+    12/26/2015   12/28/2015
Review By: steve42
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: This course has it all: 3 separate long concrete tee pads on almost every hole, 3 different basket locations on each hole, lots of woods except a few holes and a clubhouse with a bar, pro shop, pool table and a fireplace. For $5 per day and tent camping available on site, you can have a fun weekend.
Cons: Can be a bit marshy on a few holes in the springtime until it dries out.
Other Thoughts: After you play this course you would think that its perfect and then they find a way to make it even better!

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.