Reedsville, WI 
Rollin Ridge Share
Uploaded By: koogs Hole #2 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 405ft.   3 / 440ft.   3 / 535ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 96
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Beautiful woods golf

1    10/16/2016   10/20/2016
Review By: Darkgreen
Played: 69  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Three tees and three baskets for every hole is great. The baskets are different colors to mark longs, mediums, and shorts. Though the type of shot might not vary much from tee to tee on the same hole, the difficulty of that shot certainly will be different between tees. This makes this course accessible to a greater variety of skill levels. It should still be understood that the short tees to the short baskets isn't easy. It can still be a challenge for an advanced player. The teepads are in great shape, plenty big with a follow through pad across a fault line. The only time I had to think a little bit about my footing was on the bridge tee which was a little slick, and that wasn't too bad.

The golf plays pretty great (see cons). A couple of wide open rip into a drive type holes are a nice change of pace from the rest of the wooded course. The wooded golf is a fun challenge and some of the wooded holes even have some distance to them. Hit your line. Play smart. Rollin Ridge forces you to attempt to do all of these things, which is a hallmark of a great course. There will also almost assuredly be times where you will have to be proficient at scrambling. Really, this course challenges almost every part of a person's game. There isn't huge elevation change as in there are no big top of the world shots or shooting up a ski hill type shots, but significant elevation change most definitely comes into play on some holes.

No manufactured OB. A sign of good course design when you have trees to work with.

A beautiful setting as most of the course plays around and under many old growth trees. The clubhouse/bar is very welcoming. They have a nice selection of discs for being in a rural area. Lots of garbage cans if I remember correctly. Great tee signs. Benches on a lot of holes. Practice putting baskets out front. I especially liked the warm up batting cage type net for drives. I wish more courses had one of those.
Cons: As much as I enjoyed all of the amenities, the most important thing to me about a course is how it plays. On about half of the holes there are one, two, maybe a few trees that I would like to take out. A couple holes I think are poke and hope type holes. I am thinking of the dragon hole in particular. On some holes you can lace a drive down a tight but very fair tunnel only to be kicked off to the left or right by a tree that is in the middle of the fairway 300 feet away from the tee. I am used to playing technical northwoods golf but many of the holes at Rollin Ridge cross the line from technical to random punishment. I can understand why the owners might be hesitant to cut down trees as so much of the beauty and character of this course comes from its wooded scenery, but some holes just don't play well because of the luck factor involved.

Not a fan of the pyramid basket. They always seem unnecessary to me, but especially so on a challenging course such as this. You would be more beautiful without it, Rollin Ridge.
Other Thoughts: I hope to go back to Rollin Ridge. I had a great experience both times I played there.

It might get a little muddy in spots on the course but it really doesn't affect play or the fun time you will have, just be aware.

If you are visiting, give yourself enough time to play it twice.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

A Disc golfers dream

2-4    10/1/2016   10/5/2016
Review By: HeatMcgreet
Played: 65  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Everything about this course is over the top. It starts out with the clubhouse that has some food, lots of craft beers (at decent prices), and a wide selection of plastic and clothing. Right outside the clubhouse, there are 2 baskets for putting. One bigger elevated basket and one regular height. There is also a cage to practice driving in which is something unique to me that I have never seen before. This course is $5 to play and well worth it. Camping is available on site and there are some secluded sites back by a couple holes. (number 15 looked like one of the best. There are 3 sets of tees here, as well as three sets of baskets. Orange (short), Red (medium), Black (long). I Think it is great that they always have 3 baskets in at all times. This gives alot of different skilled players a vast variety of options. The blacks are extremely tough and championship caliber, Red is still a tough layout that will challenge Advanced and Open players alike. Orange is a fun short course with lots of deuces, but you can also still find lots of trouble. The teepads are extra long and have a foul line with another few feet of space to follow through on. These are hands down the best teepads I have ever used. The tee signs here are on another level. Big circular signs that are mounted on a slant, and are very detailed. They shows everything from trees, to water, to bridges, as well as OB. Each sign gives you the distance and routes to eachieve layout from that teepad. There are alot of fun structures like Hole 4 (the pyramid) Where the basket is elevated up high on a wooden pyramid platform. Hole 5 has a big dragon in the trees. the baskets of Hole 6 are all placed around a huge bowl shaped of the dirt hill. Hole 14 has a fantastic wall with different tiers for the various baskets, with a sand tier that plays as OB in some tourneys. The upkeep of this course is some of the best in the game, and there are garbage cans at basically every hole; as well as very nice wooden benches. Some holes even have different wooden Walls to block errant shots hitting you from another hole. They even fetch discs out of the pond from hole 2, and have tons of lost discs there just waiting to be returned to their owner.
Cons: I honestly can't find much to say bad about rollin ridge. Sometimes it will get muddy here after rain, and it could also get really windy up here. But that doesn't take down the rating at all for me.
Other Thoughts: Rollin Ridge deserves to be in the top 3 courses no doubt, it may even be the best! I can't quite say that yet as I still haven't played Selah or Flip. But the variety of holes this course offers, the amenities of the clubhouse, camping, perfect sized tee pads, best signs in the game, the list goes on and on. If I could play one course for the rest of my life, it would be rollin ridge. I've played some really great courses, but this still trumps them all imo. Do not hesitate to plan a weekend golf vacation here. It is well worth it!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    9/2/2016   9/9/2016
Review By: dmsfun
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: I planned to camp overnight and get 2-3 rounds in, and had such a good time, ended up staying 4 days. There is wifi at the campsite also, so was was able to get some work done. Most courses have a mix of some great holes, with a few open, .uninteresting ones, but there aren't any filler holes at the ridge, all are fun and challenging, and lines can be very different from the 3 tees. Spotted Cow and many other varieties are served at the clubhouse bar for after rounds. Owners are very friendly and accommodating.
Cons: Some of my discs are a bit less stable than they were before playing 8 rounds here; as lumber hits are assured. Just one minor caveat with the campsite near the clubhouse, which is a bit noisy at night from the trucks on the Hwy. I plan to return again this fall, and will camp at the sites near 9 or 15, farther away from the road.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding Course

1    8/24/2016   9/5/2016
Review By: Kennan J
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There is very good signage, and it is almost impossible to get lost
Unlike most wooded courses, this course doesnt have a bunch of sticks, logs, and lots of leaves on the fairways.
Concrete teepads on every hole
Three different tees and baskets on each hole to make the course that much more of an amazing experience
Practice basket along with a driving range (which is basically a batting cage with a teepad)
Proshop with almost every disc on the market (For people wondering the size, it is a large room so you won't be disappointed.)
The bar/clubhouse is a great addition to the course
The staff is very friendly, inviting, and will help you with any problem you might have
There are wooden bridges that keep you out of swampy areas and the wet areas
Some teepads are put on the bridges which is an interesting twist
Excellent use of elevation both on the fairways and the baskets
Some open bomber holes are a nice mix with the woods
The alternation between long, short, and in between holes was nice
Most if not all holes have benches where you can sit
Not large amounts of bugs, and they have bug spray by course map if you think you might need it
Large range of shot varieties during each round here
OB is marked clearly by ropes
Cons: Water in low areas, and can be muddy. (I recommend not wearing your nice shoes)
The front 9 repeats the same teeshot often
Other Thoughts: This is a must play course. If you're going to be in the area make sure to stop here, you won't regret it.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Ratings are inaccurate

1    7/5/2016   7/5/2016
Review By: StevieWraithVaughan
Played: 104  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Everything. It's all about service and making the disc golf experience epic at Rolling ridge. From the property to the layouts, baskets pads, hole options. Ability to camp on-site. A clubhouse with a bar and food that awaits after hole 9 and 18. Lost a disc on hole 2 and it was fished out of the marsh and waiting for me by the time I finished my round.
Cons: I don't live closer.
Other Thoughts: After playing the #2 rated course in the country Flip City, I realize many of these reviews are likely biased and based on factors that shouldn't matter. Basing it strictly on the course itself at least should be rated #2 because I haven't played Selah. Not to dog on Flip because it was fun and a great course, but it isn't even the second or third best in Michigan. RR is far superior to any course I have ever played.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

World Class Disc Golf

5+    6/26/2016   6/28/2016
Review By: SneakyJedi
Played: 88  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 7.4 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Phenomenal amenities, equipment, and course upkeep

- Varied, exciting golf that you can tailor to your own skill level and desired level of challenge with 3 pads and 3 baskets per hole

- Very good course flow, and hole 9 ends back at the clubhouse easily allowing for two 9-hole loops or a mid-round break

- Dedicated disc golf course, no other activities on-site
Cons: - Low lying areas retain water for a long time, though bridges, woodchips, and wooden planks are placed throughout to help as much as possible

- One or two fairways push the boundary between challenging and "some luck required"
Other Thoughts: If Flip City is disc golf's Field of Dreams, then Rollin Ridge is its Yankee Stadium. This course combines some fantastic golf with truly phenomenal amenities to provide one of the best disc golf experiences available. I've camped on site for a couple of separate weekends now, and the fun level is really a cut above that offered most other places.

What really sets Rollin Ridge apart from a lot of other top courses are its amenities. Everything here screams professional and well done. The equipment is all top of the line with Mach X baskets, long concrete tee pads with marked foul-lines and extra run-off, and the best tee-signs I've seen anywhere with large, colorful depictions of the fairways with each basket position marked and its distance from the pad given. All of this is color coded as well. There is ample signage directing you to each of the next tee-pads, and the course abounds with large, wooden structures, both decorative and protective in nature. Each hole also has a bench and trash can.

As for amenities, it all starts with the clubhouse. On-site bathrooms, including a shower for campers, a bar, multiple TVs showing the latest Central Coast Disc Golf video and other sports, and a large selection of discs and disc golf apparel and accessories. Outside there is a deck with multiple tables, multiple practice baskets, a batting cage like driving range, and large colorful course map and scorecards. All of this is available for only $5 a day or $25 for a weekend of camping, an incredible value. There are several campsites available both nearby the clubhouse, and at two other locations further out on the course. You can fill a large wagon (also available to move gear from your car to campsite) up with firewood for $10.

The staff here is very nice and accommodating. I have always had my questions answered politely, and enjoyed many conversations with those on site. They routinely go through the pond on Hole 2 for discs, and a friend had his lost disc shipped back to him for no charge.

All of these fantastic features would be hollow if the quality of golf was lacking, but thankfully the golf is top notch as well. The three pads and baskets per fairway means you are guaranteed to find a layout suitable to your desired level of challenge (Red tees to Black baskets being my personal favorite), but all offer great and varied lines, even within the same hole. You will encounter: long, open fairways that challenge even those with the biggest arms; short, technical, wooded fairways that demand accuracy and line-shaping; elevated baskets and baskets located near cliffs and roll-away greens; water carries, uphill shots, downhill shots, dog-legs, and more. This course is never boring and always has something for you to think about.

A couple of holes could use a handful fewer trees to make the fairways more well-defined. As is, they walk a fine line between being challenging, and requiring luck to not hit a tree. Many have mentioned the low-lying areas of this course hold water for a long time and are frequently marshy. It had rained earlier in the week during my last visit, and while the ground was soft in many places, it was muddy in only a limited area by Hole 14. Bridges, woodchips, and planks are placed to limit the detrimental effects of water in these low areas, and outside of some serious landscaping requiring a lot of earth movement, just about everything that could be done has been.

Rollin Ridge is the gold standard for what private, pay-to-play disc golf can be. Different people prefer different types of disc golf. As excellent and varied as the shots at Rollin Ridge are, some will prefer the style of golf at other courses. However, to my mind, the amenities and equipment here are beyond reproach, and I am sure will only be improved over time. Do yourself a favor, and make plans to camp at Rollin Ridge for a weekend. You can spend an entire weekend here and not play the same layout twice, or travel 30-60min in just about any direction and play several other high quality courses in the area. If you have the opportunity, you shouldn't pass it up.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

5+    5/1/2016   6/26/2016
Review By: discingcaddie
Played: 44  Reviewed: 3
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Best facilities/pro shop/ concessions I have ever seen on any courses in the United States. I like the "choose your own adventure" style of play with multiple pads/ baskets.
Cons: There are four to five holes in rather swamp like areas that stay wet no matter the time of year (bring boots). The lines required through several fairways overall are extremely technical and could be very frustrating to beginning level to even advanced players.
Other Thoughts: The facilities are the best in the country, I'm just not a huge fan of the overall design. Its a top 50 in the country course. Not a top 10

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

The way of the future for disc golf

1    5/29/2016   6/20/2016
Review By: J.Bolton
Played: 26  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/22/2016
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The staff was and facilities are awe awesome. It can best be described as walking into a golf club house. Pro shop with just tons of inventory, driving range, bar with pool table, putting area, scorecards and pencils, free bug spray, and a legit lost and found where they'll call you if you mark your disc.

The course is awesome, three different concrete tee pads and three different holes per hole. Playing from a different set of tees here is like playing an entirely new course.

The signage is flawless and professional. Easy to read and follow without making you guess where to go next or how to throw.

A mixture of open and wooded holes. The wooded holes are not impossible though. If you can hold your lines and shape your shots it's definitely do-able. This is the number 3 course in the nation so if your looking for an easy open field course look else where cause this is a challenge but extremely fun.

Cons: The parking lot is gravel...seriously that's it.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed the beautiful blend of this course...length for those bombers, technicality for precise shots, water, man made obstacles and natural, favors righties and lefties. It all just flowed really well.

There was a number of other people there but it wasn't bad as most people who enjoy this sport are courteous to one another and let the fast/smaller groups play through.

Curious of the camping on site is because its on the course (must not be too close though because I did not see any tents while playing) I guess but ill find out soon enough as I have recently booked a weekend off either hole 9 or hole 15.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Slightly Overrated

2-4    4/29/2016   5/2/2016
Review By: Wetlawnmulch
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 18.6 Years
4 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: 1 - The experience, the workers were very welcoming, multiple teepads, multiple baskets.
Cons: 1 - Wetness, the course was really soggy on the lower section
2 - The orange and red colors are too close, it was difficult to differentiate on a few holes.
3. - General layout of course. Some holes have a general lack of "fair"way.
Other Thoughts: Our group was greatly disappointed. This was one of our last destinations we haven't visited on a 10 year annual 4 day disc golf weekend. This course just wasn't fun. We're mostly from the Twin City area so technical courses aren't foreign to us, but this was beyond technical. Guy at the clubhouse said they lose about 30 trees a year to weather so they don't want to cut down any trees, and it shows. It will be interesting to watch the DGPT.

4 of 13 people found this review helpful.


1    3/4/2016   3/4/2016
Review By: JuStYwHaT
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.4 Years
0 Helpful / 21 Not
Pros: First time playing. Played short to short and need to work on my game I guess!
Would be fun to see how long to long would go.

Time to work on my game.
Cons: I hit every tree on the property. But, I need work on my game.
Other Thoughts: Can't wait for the dubs tomorrow

0 of 21 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.