Reedsville, WI 
Rollin Ridge Share
Uploaded By: koogs Hole #1 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 248ft.   3 / 302ft.   3 / 368ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Short Tee

Reviews: 78
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8
One Heck Of A Course!!!

1    9/12/2015   9/24/2015
Review By: ForKyleigh
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Multiple tee box and pin selections available, so it can cater to all skill levels.

Scoring cards made with correct pars for each teebox/pin layout.

Country Club setting! Pro Shop, Pool Table, Drinks, Food!

Much nicer than the other "pay to play" parks I have been at. For basically the same price.

Some holes are more open and other require some precision shots.

A par 5 is an actual par 5! Over 800 feet in length using the longest tee box!

No litter on the course. There are garbages that are maintained.

Lots of signs to help you find your way.
Cons: The holes that show water on them were only swampy with the exception of one of the last holes.

Other Thoughts: I can't knock them for this but a beverage cart would be AWESOME!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Unbelievable amenities

1    9/15/2015   9/21/2015
Review By: cydisc
Played: 172  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 19.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - The amenities. On-site huge pro shop. Putting practice area. Driving 'range' (basically a batting cage). On-site camping.

- Private course. No conflicts with other park uses like you might have in a public park.

- Looping 9's layout. Holes 9 and 18 return you to the clubhouse, so you can reload on discs or beverages or have a bite to eat.

- Multiple tees and baskets on each hole.

- Logical flow. Short walks to the next tees from previous basket.

- Good variety. Good topography. Lots of trees and some water.

- Very good tee areas with benches landscaping. Some interesting elevated baskets.

- Clean. Not a speck of litter to be found.

- Fogging for mosquites.
Cons: - I wish there were more multi-shot holes (par 4's and 5's).
Other Thoughts: This is the poster child for pay-to-play disc golf. Nice wooded property and obviously a lot of work went into not only clearing fairways, but building the facilities into a 'country club' type of setting. The holes were challenging, yet fair. It's a full-service course, with a full pro shop with discs and accessories as well as food and beverages.

What I appreciated the most is the use of multiple baskets and tees on each hole. You essentially have 9 separate layouts to play, which means you're less likely to tire of playing and it can accommodate a wide range of player skills.

Above and beyond bonus points: This being in the woods of Wisconsin, I was armed with bug spray. However, not a mosquito was to be found, since the management fogs the course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Perfection in Wisconsin

1    9/20/2015   9/21/2015
Review By: smatthew854
Played: 16  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 14.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Each hole has multiple tees, most of them 3, and every hole has 3 baskets leaving you with numerous ways to play. The tees are all in immaculate condition with the only exception being hole 8, I believe, can be slippery as it's located under tree cover and never fully dries out. Add to that, the fact it's not concrete but a paver type attachment placed on a beautifully crafted deck and that's the only iffy tee in the entire place.
The baskets are mach x and catch like Jerry Rice using extra stick-em. The exception to that are the red baskets which are mach 3 or 5 I can never tell the difference. These however are set up with lights for night rounds adding even more reason why this course is amazing.
The lines are challenging but still open enough a clean shot will get you through. The only thing in question is the distance as the holes are not for the weak of arm. Especially anyone who plays black to black.... 1000ft is a crazy long hole. Fun, but crazy long. Orange to orange is their amateur set up and even that is a touch long for beginners but just about right for an 850 rec level player.
The grounds are immaculately well kept with paths mowed through any long grass so you can criss cross and more likely find an errant throw. The water hazards are well placed and easy enough to avoid but if you do drop in you can't go and get your disc back. You are to tell the staff and they drag the pond and search the marsh and woods occasionally and if your name and number is on the disc they call you to get it back. They also have a lost and found that seems well used.
The proshop is well stocked and fairly priced, internet is still cheaper but that is always the case.
There is a clubhouse for drinks food and beer, a deck for lounging between rounds, camping near by and many other amenities, really too many pluses to list them all. This place was set up to be a play all day location, and it serves that well.
Cons: The length can be daunting to beginners but nothing out of the question. The only real negative is it would be nice to have a bathroom or two along the course as it's a long round and there are times one is soarly needed before even the halfway point.
Other Thoughts: For $5 this place is a great price for a course this well managed and maintained. Easy to spend an entire day without blinking an eye and the best course I've ever played. There isn't even a close second. This is a must for anyone who loves to play and lives in Wisconsin, or is visiting.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

2-4    8/17/2015   9/8/2015
Review By: James McGirr
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
This review was updated on 9/13/2015
2 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: A great track of land.Almost can't believe some one put all this time and money into such a course. Some of the holes were magnifceint
Cons: As nice of a course I thought it was there were two or three heavily wooded holes to wear if there were gaps and alleyways to advance your disc I did not see it.If it were not for that. I would have rated the course at the highest level
Other Thoughts: A magnificeint place for disc golf.Parts of course are wooded and few holes are heavily wooded.The wooded parts are very playable a skilled player has a lot of workable space to play a shot in between the trees and toward the basket.

2 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

1    9/5/2015   9/7/2015
Review By: JRouse
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Multiple baskets for each tee pad
Great view
Tricky holes
Pro shop/employee was very friendly to first timers
Driving range
Deck to relax on between rounds
Locals were friendly
Cons: Water hazards were a bit dried up(not a big con)
Some spongey/ damp areas
Few holes get near each other making it a bit confusing
Other Thoughts: Definitely deserves it's rating of #1 in the state. Some holes are pretty long and pars are somewhat questionable for amateur players. My group played the red(middle) tees and the red and orange baskets can look similar color from afar.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Rollin Ridge - Where Dreams Come True

5+    8/22/2015   8/26/2015
Review By: Gleck33
Played: 45  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Outstanding Design
- Every line, approach and green is perfectly placed with altitude, OB and water maximized for the land
- No drive, approach or putt is a gimmie, with every shot continually challenging your mental game
Lines & Distances are extremely challenging/yet fair
- Lines will push you to your brink and have you coming back time and time again with a new idea on how to hit it, yet every line is fair. There are 0 holes in my opinion that are "throw and hope", but nearly every hole will require precise accuracy
- The distance is fair as well. Rarely are you required a 600 foot max drive, rather controlled distance is needed where placement is more important

Beautifully manicured
- The course is always in stellar condition and always a beautiful place to spend an afternoon
- Tee pads are the best I've played on, perfect size, follow through zone, surrounded by rocks
- Baskets are excellent, wood blockers, bridges & walkways, green settings with elevated pins & tiers/manicured greens, clubhouse with pro shop, fireplace, outdoor fireplace, bar, TV, driving range, practice green, score cards and & pencils all put this course over the top

- 3 tee pads and 3 baskets per hole!!!!!!!
o Variation between the 3 isn't limited to distance (although it adds that too), but completely changes the lines/greens/approaches to holes
o All formats offer their own element of challenge, some of the short baskets are actually the hardest placement in my opinion (2,11,12)

- Everyone at the Ridge continues to keep improving this course and it gets better every day!
Cons: - No cons to this course, sure cool tee signs would be a nice addition, sure it can get swampy in spots, sure there are no huge downhill bombers or prominent water factors, but absolutely nothing that will make you say "dang I wish this was better" on your car ride home
- Do think there was an opportunity to make the black pin on hole #2 out on a peninsula over the water
Other Thoughts: Overall the Ridge is the place I would prefer to play nearly all of my rounds. It is a true destination course that has a high difficulty level and a high fun factor. Come camp for the weekend and enjoy the wonderful hospitality. You must play black-black at least once. Pure definition of a 5 star course.

It is truly impossible to have a bad time out at the Ridge. Miss your lines and have your score climb to new heights, but yet any day at the Ridge is a great day to be alive.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Hard to imagine a better course...

5+    8/14/2015   8/18/2015
Review By: lxames
Played: 12  Reviewed: 1
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I'm going to try to avoid repeating what other reviewers have written. Yes, the clubhouse is great, and the course will make you throw every disc in your bag, yadda yadda...

What sets Rollin Ridge apart, to me, is its unique setup. I have played other courses with multiple tee positions, but RR dramatically changes nearly every hole by not only altering the distance with each tee, but the angle. Hole 2--the signature hole, in my opinion--is a great example of this. The longer tees require a heart-pounding shot over the reedy pond, while the short orange tee fronts the fairway to the left of the pond--though a shot over the water is still necessary to go for the birdie.

Even better are the three baskets ON EACH HOLE! Again, playing the longs (the black baskets) will not only make the course longer than the medium (red) or orange (short) baskets, it will change the direction of the hole. Dogleg right in one setup becomes a tunnel shot in another, and a dogleg left in another. Or, on the bomber 3rd whole, the black tees add mega distance and a downhill pin-placement in a tree-surrounded depression, making the hole feel different than the red or orange baskets.

With the ability to play nine different setups on each hole, the amount of fun to be had at Rollin Ridge far exceeds a typical course. And the best thing about this variety is that each setup is a heck of a lot of fun. While the short tees at a course like Vallarta-Ast in the Madison area (another of my favorites) are, in my opinion, pretty dull, my favorite set-up at Rollin Ridge is actually orange to orange--short tees to short baskets. Even though this is the amateur setup, few holes are easy; rather, they require finesse and touch with putters and mids, and make for an enormously fun 45 minute blast of disc golf that flows beautifully, tee to basket to tee.

I could go on, but I'll cut it there.
Cons: The cliche is that it's two hours from my house--but that is the main con. The owners have really thought of nearly everything to make the course a great play, and well worth the long drive.
Other Thoughts: I played three rounds here both times I've visited; for the majority of my weekday trips--in the middle of the summer--my playing partner and I were alone on the course. We felt like we were in our own private disc golf paradise. I'm sure the course will only get busier as disc golf grows in popularity. If you can, drive up on a mid- to late-summer weekday, pay your five bucks, and play all day. Stop for a drink and a disc and a chat with the owner in the clubhouse, then go play some more. It's a great experience, and one not to be missed for any disc golfer.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Top Flight

5+    6/4/2015   6/13/2015
Review By: Huckfreely
Played: 82  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Three sets of baskets . 36 brand new Mach x . The best. 3 cement tees per hole. High quality.
Cons: Wish there was a bit more spacing between holes and fairways, but the structures around tees, create good definition and keep u safe .
Other Thoughts: Gets better every time I go. Thanks Steve, Kat and Boogie .

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

We are all made of stars.

1    6/10/2015   6/10/2015
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 261  Reviewed: 256  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/25/2015
15 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Aesthetic-- area is 100% disc golf exclusive. You will NOT run into any non-discgolfers out here so just watch out for your fellow golfers.

Teepads-- 3 tees per hole (some shared), all concrete, all in great shape. The "foul line" could have been better notated (it may have been on the score card?) No complaints here.

Teesignage-- Tee sign at every pad showing all three basket positions. Teesigns appear to be a work in progress as they seem temporary.

Baskets-- 3 sets of baskets per hole. red, orange and black. The black baskets are a bit hard to pick out in the woods and are mostly blind (as they are the longest layout).

Routing and nav-- super easy. Next tee signs are abundant. I can't even think of a tricky spot.

Amenities-- what isn't here? Driving cage, pro-shop, bar, pool table, bathroom, shower, campground area, this place pretty much has everything to pamper the discgolfer before and after they are throwing.

Unique factor-- the man-made structures, the teeboxes built into the bridge, the bridges themselves all add to the unique factor. As I said under amenities, the disc golfer is well taken care of.

Water/ Risk/ Reward/ Challenge-- having 9 layouts the challenge factor here is whatever you want it to be. the water on the first two holes only adds to the risk v reward aspect of the course.

Multipin/ Multipad-- 9 layouts is insane to think about. but you can literally spend an entire week playing this course and not really run out of variations.

Upkeep/ on-course amenities-- the upkeep here is nice. Grass fairways are immaculate and there are garbages and benches at each hole/pad. Not much garbage around.
Cons: Drainage issues-- the low holes have serious spongy fairways that are way more than distracting. Not only are they unavoidable but they can almost take your shoe off if you're not careful.

Repetition-- there are some repetition issues here, mostly on the front 9. The back holes saved the day, in my opinion.

Hole 3-- I get it, a place to really open up your arm, however, it really kind of seemed out of place on this course. Everything else is more about placement and accuracy, to have a 500+ footer that is WIDE open seems a little uninspired.
Other Thoughts: So, I walked into the bar, flipped my Flip City mini on the bar and said, "whats up." All I got was a death glare.

In reviewing this course, I understand now why you can't really review based on amenities or the passion of the owner ( in the case of private courses) . I had a very hard time figuring out where my rating was going to land and went with a 4.5. This is truly a destination course in every sense of the word. You can pretty much live here for a while and disc your ass off.

This place may as well be a mega-resort for disc golf. Not all inclusive, but a resort exclusively for DG. I would say that this course breaks into the commercialism that can be anything as long as it's presented that way.

I will say that there were numerous HUGE groups of discgolfers on the course the day we were there but we never really ran into them. One of the biggest things I look for in a great course is the ability to get lost in my game and experience solitude while throwing. This is not really possible here with the huge groups and a lot of distraction.

15 of 25 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Course

1    5/29/2015   6/8/2015
Review By: DiscGolfNutt
Played: 50  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 29 Years
2 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Pro shop, camping, food, and a bar all on site. You could spend a whole week here and not have to leave the property.
Cons: There are no real cons to this course. Unless being to far away from my house to play daily is a con...
Other Thoughts: Keep up the great work Steve & company!

2 of 14 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.