Lincolnwood, IL 
North Shore Channel Trail DGC Share
Uploaded By: jasonc Hole #8 (Taken 8/2012)
3 / 185ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Sculpture Fun

5+    6/22/2014   6/22/2014
Review By: shai
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short mostly open holes, with hole 5 the signature hole - through a 220' foot tree tunnel. A 900 rated player -- I regularly shoot 3 or 4 under. The tees are excellent, and some holes are nicely tucked away behind protection by bushes and trees. The length keeps this course fine for beginners, but the proximity to a busy street requires accurate throws that beginners will find intimidating.
Cons: Many of the fairways and natural lines cross running and bike paths that can be busy. There are even park benches within 20 feet of some holes! These hazards make the course inappropriate for casual players. Experienced players need to yield to other park users, but will have no trouble avoiding obstacles. The left side of the course are heavy woods protecting a canal, and the right side is a busy highway with no barrier.
Other Thoughts: The course can be played in reverse with a nice variation and a tougher collection of 9 holes. This makes a nice 18 hole loop. Bottom line is that the course is a great plus for Chicago, and I enjoy playing it -- so I give it 2.5.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Dangerous, but OK practice spot

1    8/6/2013   8/8/2013
Review By: Furry Lint Trap
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice Concrete tees & New Baskets

- Free Parking north of course

- OK mid-range/putt practice

- Well manicured, easy to follow

- Fairly close to City
Cons: - Dangerous for beginners. VERY close to busy 4 lane

- No Tee markers with hole info

- 1 direction course, which means LONG walk back

- A couple baskets are just plopped right behind huge bushes, and with no tee signs with info, hard to tell where they are unless you walk to find it
Other Thoughts: - A beginner course, no doubt, that lacks any dimension at all. Most holes are short (one is even 90'..par 2?) and a mid-range (or even putter) can be used on all holes for the experienced player. Be careful using a driver as I had my XL turn on me and land in the median of McCormick (which I played obviously)

- Hole 5 is the coolest hole, but only because of the placement of the trees, and not the actual hole layout. (It's directly straight from tee to basket)

- Might play it again if up in the area, but IIT is a tad better IMO.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not great but great for practice

5+    6/18/2013   6/21/2013
Review By: kirkmanbrandon
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/1/2013
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The biggest pro is that it's a disc golf course in the city, which Chicago is in desperate need of more for people like me who want to practice without having to make a trek each time. I do realize this is a very small course with it's pitfalls but I feel it at least deserves a 1.5 out of 5 (passable) for the fact it is an easily accessible course within Chicago to play and improve at. As cramped as the course is, the premises are kept pristine and the equipment is kept in top shape. It's a very nice course and very fun to play around although a bit simplistic and minuscule in design.
Cons: There is no denying that it's a bit too small. It's also a bit dangerous for new players like me. If you release too far to the right at any given point, your disc is more than likely going to get ran over by a car going at 45 miles an hour due to the side road. A blessing and a curse, this is teaching me quickly how to throw straighter and figure out my technique.

Also the course going in one direction does lead to a long walk back but at least it's a pretty stroll.
Other Thoughts: I am glad to have the course around so that I can practice my game but here's hoping that Chicago can get a bigger and better one in the future. They could have easily put a few more baskets in going backwards to make it a full course and eliminate that long walk back.

Second Update: I have now played this course many a time and I am starting to see why it's lowly rated. After so many long walks back and having to worry about the safety of my discs, I am going to have to lower it down to a 1.5.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Chicago's northside

2-4    11/1/2012   11/2/2012
Review By: kingwo
Played: 33  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Holes are pretty straight forward as the land is flat.

Great place to practice RHBH hyzer lines of varying lengths between 90'-400'.

Plays within a sculpture park.

Couple of trash cans near teepads.

Large concrete teepads. New Innova discatchers. Newly paved parking lot. Well maintained park and grass.

Cons: It's 9 holes going one way.

The holes aren't very challenging for the competitive disc golfer.

If you're not careful or inexperienced your discs may fly towards McCormick Blvd or the Chicago River.

Check for pedestrians, roller bladers and bicyclists along the path.
Other Thoughts: Having grown up in the Rogers Park area of Chicago I never knew disc golf even existed. After moving to LA and picking up the activity I'm pleasantly surprised to come back and see a course pop up close to the old neighborhood. This is a newly installed course as of Aug 2012.

I only brought one disc on my trip here but it was really great to get out and toss the disc and get some fresh air and exercise. Not a destination course but I had a blast playing here and trying my hardest to (unsuccessfully) birdie every hole.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

The 1 way course

1    8/11/2012   9/11/2012
Review By: steven2361
Played: 170  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice new innova discatchers with great concrete tees. The tree tunnel on hole 5 is cool although the hole is rather short. Hole 7 plays over 400 feet and is the closest hole to the road so be careful.
Cons: This course plays south between the trail and the road. Once you finish hole 9 you must walk or play all the way back towards the beginning if you parked at Dominick's across from hole 1. This course is short and open. Playing next to the road is an accident waiting to happen. This is an awful design.
Other Thoughts: Be very wary of the other park users while playing. Park at Dominick's across from hole 1.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Dangerous and not very exciting

5+    8/27/2012   8/27/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 813  Reviewed: 749  Exp: 12.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through the sculpture park between McCormick and the river. There are nice concrete tees and brand new discatchers. The park is beautifully maintained, with mowed grass and no trash. The hole lengths have some variety, with a 90' hole and one over 300'. Hole 5 plays between two rows of trees offering a cool tunnel shot with a low ceiling.
Cons: The course is wide open for 8 of the 9 holes. There are RHBH hyzer lines on just about every hole, and LHBH hyzers on most. You don't need any line shaping skills to be successful here, nor do you need much distance. The course plays along and over a busy path, with lots of walkers, joggers and bikers and a few blind shots. This could be a major safety issue on a nice day. About half the holes play close enough to a major 40mph road, with nothing stopping errant drives from ending up in traffic. The course plays in one direction away from the first tee, leaving a ridiculous walk back to the beginning and making it so every hole has the same wind condition.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will find this to be an approachable course, with reasonable distances, limited obstacles and almost no punishment for errant shots. More experienced players won't find much challenge or variety here, and the conflicts with other park users can add frustrating time waiting. I played the course backward to get back to the beginning, but that only works if there aren't other groups playing.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Awful design

1    8/22/2012   8/23/2012
Review By: Chicagolandlefty
Played: 76  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 17.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New baskets with nice big concrete tees is a great start for a new course, but it's downhill from there.

The first 5 holes range from decent to good with some obstacles and moderate challenge. The alley shot on 5 is really cool, but quite difficult and frustrating.

The course is in a pretty park.
Cons: I didn't factor this into my score because the park isn't finished (parking lot barely under construction) so I hope tee signs are coming, but for now they aren't there.

The biggest problem with this course is having flight paths running parallel to McCormick Blvd., a constantly busy four-lane road. On hole 6 a lefty backhand player like myself can effortlessly throw a shot into the street with moderate wind, which is what I dealt with when playing. I avoided the street, but beginners will find the street daily. The back 4 holes all have a chance of a stray shot going into the street.

The bikers/walkers are also a factor, though bikers were more prevalent when I played and they're at least fast.

The set up of the park forces a one-directional layout, which means a long walk back to the start. As a result multiple groups played some of the holes backwards to get back to the start. Some of the holes play better this way, but if the course gets busier this could have multiple groups playing the same basket from opposite directions.
Other Thoughts: This area needs more and better courses, but this simply isn't good enough. I wouldn't be willing to take a couple of my beginner/intermediate friends for fear of them tossing one in the street. Walkers/bikers are easy to avoid if you pay attention, but it's only a matter of time until a disc hits a car and causes an accident. I saw a disc go into the street while playing and I'm sure it happens all the time. Eventually that will cause someone to swerve and force an accident.

I believe the course's problems could be remedied if some of the holes were shorter to make it a truly beginner friendly course. There's already a 90 foot hole on the course and the first 5 holes really don't need to be changed. However, replacing the slightly longer 6-9 that bring the street into play with shorter, more technical shots would drastically improve safety.

I had a group come up to me asking where they can buy golf discs so having a course in this area will expose disc golf to new players, which is always great, but it needs to be done better.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Close to ChiTown

1    8/14/2012   8/14/2012
Review By: #19325
Played: 315  Reviewed: 168  Exp: 13.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a brand new course that is located near Chicago. Chicago lacks courses so it's much needed. Park across the street at Dominick's. The first tee is near the corner of Northeast Parkway. If you cross the street at the light you can't miss the first tee. It's very flat and mostly open with a few scattered trees. Several holes have very thick rough to the left of the basket. There are tons of art on display. A trails runs the entire length of the park.

Brand new Innova Discatcher baskets.

Very nice concrete tee pads.

This course is going to expose tons of people to disc golf. It's in a highly populated area.

Hole #5 is a nice hole. 2 rows of trees and a tunnel to throw down.

Navigation is a breeze since you are playing south the entire round.
Cons: No tee signs.

The baskets do not have the number on them.

There are a lot of pedestrians using the trail. Be prepared to wait until they clear. The trail could use some signs near the path alerting users they are entering a disc golf area.

The road could come into play. Hole #7 is a prime candidate. It's the longest hole and I can see people ranking them into the busy 4 lane road especially with a head wind or left to right.

Hole #9 is a super long walk back to #1.

You play south the entire round. You are going to be throwing into the same wind every hole. There is only 1 hole that you have to throw a straight shot. You can throw a RHBH hyzer on every shot.
Other Thoughts: I would really like to see them install another set of tees so you can play it on the way back. It would be really unique. It's such a long narrow park we played our own holes back.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 joggers in sight lawyer's delight

1    8/11/2012   8/14/2012
Review By: Chainmeister
Played: 70  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 39.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is nothing in the vicinity and the area is sorely lacking a disc golf course. The Sculptures and the park are lovely. The Tee pads are excellent and the baskets are new DiscCatchers.Although the planners likely did not anticipate this the reverse path back to hole 1, as mentioned by Jason and Damon, provides a fun safari route. The deuce or die holes are reasonably fun to play.
Cons: I agree with Jason and Damon. This is a dangerous course. Experienced players will watch and wait before they tee off but can still hit somebody with an errant shot. A chucker is bound to hit somebody on the path or a car on the road.
Other Thoughts: This area is starved for a course. I am reluctant to post a negative review as I still want a course, even this one, available less than three miles from home.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 good intentions, but bad idea

2-4    8/12/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: dshort
Played: 104  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 16 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete teepads, and an easy drive for Northside/North Suburban disc golfers. (Technically it's not in Chicago, so we still only have IIT in the City.) Decent introductory course for beginners (I got several inquiries while playing the course.)
Cons: There's not much room here to make it more than deuce-or-die for nearly every hole, but beyond that, I'm afraid this course is a serious accident waiting to happen. While it's nice to have any kind of course this close to me, the Village powers evidently got bad advice or none at all regarding installation of this course. The walking/biking path is very busy when the weather is nice. Also, on a couple of holes you're throwing alongside or even semi-directly TOWARDS a busy 4-lane road (#8). They must have assumed that people would be playing with 'lids' or something. A 'real golf disc' is going to wreak havoc at some point.
Other Thoughts: A few trees/shrubs come into play on a few holes, but only #5 is particularly interesting. It's more fun to play the course backwards - the course runs 'vertically' along McCormick anyhow so you may as well play your way back. (Also feels like the main path is less in play for RHBH when playing in reverse.) A parking lot is going in near hole #1.

You could say that having a course here is better than not having a course at all. In that regard, I'll reiterate JasonC's sentiment to PLEASE BE CAREFUL with drives on this course so we don't lose what's there!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.