• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Advice on Fixing a Misshapen Oblong Disc

XC_Eddy

Eagle Member
Bronze level trusted reviewer
Tragedy has struck my disc golf bag. Riding in the trunk of my car, my son's stroller shifted while driving and crushed my discs. Not sure how long the stroller was on top of my bag, but all of them are currently oval-shape and feel terrible in the hand to throw. They mostly fly about how they used to, the worst ones with a little bit of noticeable wobble. I bagged mostly high end plastic and many discs that had been in the bag for years and years and a few with aces on them: PFN star wraiths, PFN Star Teebirds, a pearly 11x Teebird, and the old Wizard I've been putting with for over 10 years stand to be the biggest losses. I'm so bummed I could cry. :( Lots of sentimental value here that'll be tough to replace. I have backups, but I'd really like to save these discs if I can.

Now that I'm done telling that my sob story, any advice on attempting to fix my discs before re-working my bag? Digging through the archives of the internet I've seen suggestions of using boiling water on the stove, microwaving discs, leaving them out in the hot sun (it's cooling off here already), leaving them on top of a flat board with a stack of discs or a book on top, putting them in the oven, or even running them in the dishwasher. Most of these suggestions appear to be addressing discs that are bent, warped, or taco'd. I may have a different issue here as my discs are still mostly flat, but they aren't round.