• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Drives wobble out of my hand

DMLara89

On my drives, the disc seems to wobble out of my hand for the first 50' or so and then flatten out and fly like normal. I have been playing for 2 months and can throw about 320' consistently on drives but I feel like I am losing distance. Could anyone let me know what might be causing the wobble? I throw RHBH. Thanks

It is called OAT, or Off axis torque. Or so I'm told...

I have no idea how to fix it, doesn't happen to me, so I don't really worry 'bout it.

This thread talks a little about it.

Last edited:
Drive with putters. You will see that flutter a lot better and then be able to work on it. Work on your wrist orientation, and as that wobble works out, you will see your putters get more distance.

I know from recent experience with working on it, and then once you move back to drivers and etc. you should see some results in your drive (Im not to that point yet)

If your just having fun, don't worry about oat- if you want to be good, it's everyone main problem.
And yes, not to be rude, but juke- you probally have it too.
My normal group thinks I throw super clean and decently far. - when I'm with the big arms, they make my throw look like a 81 Buick with different color replacement panels.
Yesterday I got to see over a dozen 500+++ throws. Made me realize that even though you may not be eating oatmeal, your cereal may still contain oats;)

Actually, the disc wobbles b/c you touch yourself at night. Okay, not true. It's OAT. Work with putters and mids (Comet) until you get clean, smooth throws with some nice spin.

If your just having fun, don't worry about oat- if you want to be good, it's everyone main problem.