• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Is disc weight all preference?

DMLara89

I'm new to the game, just bought my first discs about 3 weeks ago, and basically have bought all my discs around 174 grams. I was just wondering if weight is really just preference or if disc weight has anything to do with distance or control. I'm a 21 year old college kid and just want to make sure that I'm not loosing distance by not buying discs in the 170 or 168 range, or if I am ok with what I have been buying. Can anyone give me some clarification?

Thanks

what kinda discs did you buy?

it's a pretty touchy subject, disc weights. But in general -- Heavier discs tend to be more overstable (curve harder) than their lighter counterpart of the same disc. A Firebird that weighs 167 will still be much more overstable than a Leopard that is 175.

IMO heavier discs tend to go a little farther if you got the power for it. Lighter weights are easier to "get all of", but they will turn over into the ground if you throw them too hard. Lightweights don't fly well into a headwind, but can be useful with the wind at your back (toss it high and let the wind carry it).

There are certain exceptions of course...

The short of it on weights is, all other variables (and there are many) being equal:

Less weight = more distance
More weight = more control

Of course its more about the archer than his arrows. What might be the ideal weights for your arm might be too light or heavy for someone else. If your shots are fading too early, you might want a lighter disc.