• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

LHBH Form Check - First Time

Swingfinder

Hello,

First of all, thank you to Brychanus for leading me here from youtube and for sharing his form journey. Thank you to SW for the treasure trove of knowledge and for sharing it so freely. Thank you to everyone else who contributes to these forums.

I have been studying backhand form for about 6 months, practicing SW's drills, and reading these forums. I have increased my distance from 300-320' to 350-380'. I have practiced SW's standstill drills at length. I can feel the lag and rubberband effect with throws up to about 320'. I cannot, however, translate that to a throw with an X-step. Please view the video below and let me know how I can improve.

https://youtu.be/VrK5ihX1k_8

From what I can tell, a few things are holding me back:
1) Weight too far back during x-step, causing me to "tip over" during plant, reducing lag, increasing pulling through and rounding, rather than rubber band effect from weight shift.
2) "Reaching back"/looking away from target a bit too early compared to SW's Eagle vs Garret video.
3)Planting with open hip and shoulder. Maybe a symptom of number 1?
4) Horse Stance. It appears that my plant foot is pretty flat-footed. My theory is that since I am off balance going into the plant I require stability of a flat foot to keep me from falling over.

Lately, I have been slowing the x-step way down and eliminating the hop in an effort to stay balanced inside of back foot which seems to help me coil and weightshift correctly without tipping over.

You are leaning away. Don't be a leany leaner like me.

As you detected you are never really loading back your leading shoulder behind the rear hip and you don't seem to get pulled taut. I think you may have opposite side bend too.