• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Saving a course?

Nussbuss

Hello,

I am a student at Oakland University in Rochester, MI. Since my freshman year, I have enjoyed playing on the campus course, Grizzly Oaks. This 18 hole course makes great use of the natural beauty of my school's campus with an even mix of right and left curves, length, wooded/technical shots, and a couple open holes. This course is also the course where I scored my very first ace in September 2010. As the university has undergone many cosmetic changes (medical building, engineering building, clock tower, new dorm, parking lots/structures), one particular project, a set of astro-turf fields and track and field facilities has led to partial deconstruction of this course. The project slowly dug into the first three holes of this wonderful course. It was speculated to be re-opened in May, yet it is now almost June. 12 out of the original 18 holes are still "playable." The only real reason that these holes are playable is because I knew the course like the back of my hand, and was able to find the baskets. Absolutely no maintenance has been done to this course, leaving fairways, baskets, and tee areas to be overgrown. Remaining tee boxes and baskets lie helplessly on the ground, and there appears to be no intention of repairing the damage done to this "grizzly" course (PUNS! :clap:). I ask you fellow disc golfers not necessarily for financial assistance, but rather advice and insight as to what I should do in order to maintain this course? I am currently in the process of contacting the original course designer (an OU alum). Since this course was a student initiative, it is up to us students to keep this course alive. :(

Any advice/insight would be extremely helpful. Thank you all for your time!

Attachments