• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Total noob asks a question

zensuit

Par Member
I'm 49. I used to play Ball Golf and was a legit 1-3 handicap, not bad but compared to the really good guys I sucked.

I found Disc Golf this year and play mostly on a really tight, wooded, technical course.

I'm playing mostly with a couple of Buzzz and a couple of putters and scoring in the mid to low 60's. I'm still developing my drive so I'm relatively short but I can throw it far enough to handle most courses that aren't super long. I had some Ultimate experience so I can throw a disc backhand and sidearm and throw Hyzers and Anhyzers.

I watch group after group of expert level players throw as hard as they can off of every tee. Then I hear them at the putting area discuss their poor scores.

So here's the question:

Do you need to throw with power always to develop enough confidence to eventually bust out some low scores?

Or is this like Ball Golf where everybody tries to hit it long and very few people can?

Just curious,

Z

My $.02...I believe the phrase "drive for show, putt for dough" applies to both ball golf and disc golf. Getting big distance is a plus, but I've always felt that accuracy, consistency, and a good short game will help you more when it comes to lowering your score. I don't have a big arm like a lot of other open players, but I feel that my short game is pretty solid and I've never had much of a problem being consistent out on the course...which is what allows me to be at least somewhat competitive with my peers. It also helps to be well-rounded and be comfortable throwing many different types of throws (including those trick shots that a lot of people think you'll never actually use in a round).