Phoenix, AZ 
Los Olivos Share
Uploaded By: MattN Hole #5 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
A Gem in the Desert!

1    8/30/2015   8/30/2015
Review By: JNichols
Played: 36  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I wasn't expecting much from this course, but WOW. Restrooms/Ample parking onsite. Beautiful park like setting with SHADE, picnic benches spread throughout the course, and plenty of lush, Green Grass,

Short, but Nice concrete tee pads at each hole. Fairways are well defined, BUT, Multiple routes are offered on each hole. There are also multiple basket locations available on each hole. The mature olive trees that line almost every fairway are very nice to look at, but also disc stoppers. You have to be able to throw low, straight lines, high lines, hyzers, annys, etc. An arsenal of different shots is needed to be able to play this course and grab the bird on each hole.

The layout is done very well. Great use of land and space, especially for how small the course seems to be by specs. It definitely feels bigger than it is, and that makes for more enjoyable play, IMO.

Signage indicating to other park users that they are on a disc golf course was very cool. Not that they cared, but it was nice to see.
Cons: I honestly don't see many Cons to this course IF you look at it for what it is. It is not a Championship level, 18 hole course. It is a tight, technical, shorter length 9 hole course that plays through an Olive Orchard. It is different from any of the other "Valley" courses.

We did encounter other park users chilling at benches near baskets. Watch out for non-golfers. Signage was adequate, but not Stellar.

There were also a couple homeless people sleeping in the shade of the trees, so keep your eyes open and be sure to check your fairways before you launch.
Other Thoughts: I play with my 10 year old Son quite a bit. He prefers 9 hole courses as 18 just wears him out to much. This course, which I personally would not deem a Recreational/Beginner course, has nice lines, is technical, and makes you pick your shots. What this course lacks in length, it makes up in technicality. If you are looking to go out and bomb your 14 speed drivers 500ft, this is not the course. If you want to work your fairway drivers, mids, and putter shots??? This course has A LOT to offer. I am Really glad we gave this course a shot and we will be back!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Selling it short

5+    9/7/2014   9/8/2014
Review By: MarkPettit
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Looks easier than it is. Players skip this course because it is short and flat. There are lots of challenges here and this course is really hard to master.
Cons: Getting players to join you here because they played it once, sucked, and didn't give it another chance.
Other Thoughts: Most reviewers give this a bad rap. You will be challenged here every time you play. Tunnel shots will leave you struggling. Bring an extending pole like a ball golf water retriever to knock your disc out of the trees. You'll see me here just about every morning carrying mine.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Want to introduce someone to disc golf?

1    10/12/2013   5/15/2014
Review By: Outdoor Craziness
Played: 19  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The terrain: the grass and olive trees are beautiful!

The length: usually would be a negative for me, but I think this is a phenomenal place to introduce someone to the game! Only 9 baskets, no long throws, beautiful trees and grass - perfect intro to disc golf.
Cons: The lacking: if you're not introducing someone to the game, there's no use in coming to this course. In general, the course is lacking - no long throws, no challenges, no back nine.
Other Thoughts: No one has ever called me and said "hey, let's play Los Olivos!"

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Los Olivos

1    3/3/2014   3/5/2014
Review By: jdogghuge
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Restrooms and a lot of shade. Great place to go for working on Ace Runs.
Cons: Too short and not enough change in elevation or course design except for a couple of holes.
Other Thoughts: Need to have a reverse/back 9 layout.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great beginner course

1    9/22/2013   10/31/2013
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a nice grassy park and takes advantage of the nice mature olive trees. Most of the shots have enough trees in play that you have to shape some kind of line, including a couple that bring narrow tunnels or low ceilings into play. The holes are short overall, but there's still nice variety in the types of shots you'll have to throw to score well here.

The signage is solid, the course is easy to follow and it's obvious where to throw. The tees and baskets are showing some age but are in fine shape. The park is nicely maintained, and the signs encouraging other park users to be aware of disc golf are a nice touch. With some longer courses around the Phoenix area it's nice to see one targeted at the beginner level players.
Cons: There are some conflicts with picnic areas and other park uses in some spots. The design minimizes these for the most part but there's still some potential for conflict. The holes are short and straightforward, there's not a whole lot of challenge and there isn't any real punishment for missing your line.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will have a great time here. There are enough trees to make things interesting but no length or underbrush to frustrate new players. More experienced players will have fun playing a putter only round or working on different shots here, but won't be really challenged.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Actually Has Signs Reminding Soccer Players That Designated Areas Are Disc Golf Only!

1    5/26/2013   6/4/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 767  Reviewed: 718  Exp: 37.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My favorite thing about this course are the two signs stating:

"FIELD PLAYERS-THIS AREA BETWEEN THE SIGN AND THE STREET IS FOR DISC GOLF ONLY"

And there is another alike sign on the side of the soccer field. These are both semi-shaded fairways of the disc golf course where soccer families would most likely set up picnic areas to rest between soccer games or during tournament. Yeah! Keep em off our disc golf course!

Los Olivos was an olive grove and thus the course plays primarily up and down rows of olive trees. The holes are fairly short but control is the key here. Being able to throw your drive 100-150 feet straight down the fairway and low will net you the birdie every time. If not, your disc will sail into the grabby olive branches.

The park is a typical small city park. The park is clean and litter free. It's flat. The signs are the basic fiberglass ones with a little graffiti just to add a local flavor. The concrete pads are a little on the smallish side although very little run-up is needed here. There is the possibility to hyser around the olive trees on a couple of holes. The disc golf course only utilizes about one half of the park's area.

The designers did a nice job creating a mostly enjoyable little course here considering the lack of elevation, water, etc. they had to work with.

It's a great little course to bring the beginner or girlfriend to.
Cons: Everything here is starting to show it's age. The pads, signs and baskets are all starting to look a little weary.

There's not a whole lot of challenge here for anyone playing above the intermediate level. It's a true recreational level course.

I think it would probably get a little boring after a few rounds. There isn't much in the way of variety.

Despite the signs, there's gotta be days when you'd be throwing around others park users or skipping holes. But that's just a fact of life for disc golfers, isn't it?
Other Thoughts: Like others, I liked # 9 as the signature hole on the course. I'd be disappointed if I got to that point and didn't get to try for that open ACE shot.

But having a green, grassy, partially shaded course here in Phoenix is a bonus. I'm sure it gets plenty of play.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/9/2012   10/10/2012
Review By: Psicko
Played: 24  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 11.6 Years
Pros: concrete tee pads
alternate pin placements
bathrooms and waterfountains
shade
Cons: short on holes, and lengthwise.
repititious
no practice basket to warm up on that I could find.
Other Thoughts: This is a good place to work on accuracy due to all of the olive trees. Good for beginners to play. I wouldnt drive far for this course, but if I was in the area, I'd play it. It would be cool if they made the course have the ability to play in reverse to make it a full 18.

 Good for beginners

1    1/4/2012   7/8/2012
Review By: zubeala
Played: 53  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I really can't say anything too positive about this course. Signage is decent. Bathrooms are available. Has some shade.
Good for beginners. Not likely to lose a disc.
Cons: Except for a couple of holes it is pretty repetitive. No elevation change. No real hazards. Lots of people use the park, so some holes may be unplayable. Trees are evenly space in rows.
Other Thoughts: One of the more boring courses I have played.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 a walk in the park

5+    8/14/2010   5/30/2011
Review By: pascal
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 18.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Green, well-watered park
-Accessible Restrooms with drinking fountains
-Innnova Baskets
-Concrete Tee pads
-Easy to Navigate
Cons: -Completely flat, no hills.
-Lacks some variety
-Olive trees have a way of eating discs and making them surprisingly hard to retrieve
-Well-used park can make pedestrian hard to avoid
Other Thoughts: I stayed at a hotel down the road and played this course once every other day in the morning.

The course tests your ability to throw a controlled drive and short putt on each hole. Intermediate players will have a chance for a deuce on every hole. The course is fairly forgiving and a bad/off target tee shot will often not exclude a par.

The park is watered at night by sprinklers set in the ground. It is a former olive grove. The fairways end up being mostly straight throws between two rows of olive trees. However, the well-watered nature of the course means thick grass, uncharacteristic of phoenix disc golf (in my experience).

Watch out for pedestrians and soccer players. Signs tell people to give disc golfers right of way (never seen that before). However, there are several places where you might have to wait, or throw carefully, and every once in a while you might encounter someone who decided to have a picnic in the way of your next tee shot.

7 brings a road into play, kind of nice. It is a back road with no car issues, and gives the challenge of water without the risk of losing a disc. 8 has a mando to prevent throwing a hammer or thumber. Nine is probably the signature hole as a straight, long, shot with an early tree-created fairway followed by relative long open approach to the basket.

This is the type of course one might play early in the morning on the way to work. Short, easy to navigate, doesn't require a big arm or much physical exertion. It's well watered nature means you won't get dirty or dusty, and before the noon-day heat of phoenix sets in, it is remarkably pleasant experience.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Los Olivos...

1    1/1/2011   1/1/2011
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/19/2011
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is located in what used to be an olive grove. The trees are all olive trees which are very low and branch out a lot, which makes a challenging course. Fairways are all grass and the trees are utilized well. The layout is easy to follow and fun. Since it was a grove, there are rows of trees, and sometimes you throw from one row to another or in between rows for a tunnel shot. There's a good variety of shots for a nine-holer here. Very clean, I didn't see any trash at all. Baskets are DISCatchers and seem new. Tee pads are small, but you don't need much of a run-up for these distances. Tee signs are very detailed and indicate which pin position the basket is currently on.
Cons: There aren't any elevation changes here. Hole distances are very short. Olive trees can catch your disc and like to keep them. There are only 9 holes. There are a lot of non-discers in this park and some hoboish people sitting in the shade of the fairways, but they shouldn't get in your way. Not too challenging of a course
Other Thoughts: This is an excellent course to show a beginner. Everything seemed very new. Every other player I saw carried an extension poles to get discs out of trees. My favorite hole was number seven. The pin is surrounded by an O.B. peninsula. The main thing keeping this course from being a "4" is that there are only 9 holes.

-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.