• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Backhand: Grip, wrist position, and don’t flick?!

ChrisinFL

Eagle Member
So, beginner here, 5 months, still learning and trying to progress. I just watched an Overthrow video, link attached below, starting with grip, then saying, in my words: curl/cock the wrist, THEN NEVER flick the wrist. To just throw, and keep the wrist curled throughout. Over the past 5 months, I have spent countless hours watching videos and studying proper form. I have seen some saying not to curl, others saying to curl and flick, but I don't recall any saying to curl and never flick the wrist. Is this correct technique/form? Of course when I get on the practice field again I will try it, and see what it does for me, but I am curious what more advanced players do, or don't do, or think of this advice. Any feedback welcomed!

This specific advice starts at about 5:04 of the video:

Try it. Some do, some don't. I don't like to curl my wrist much, or maybe I'm just not flexible enough or ape index enough. I think of the wrist like using a hammer, I wouldn't start with it fully cocked, I'd use the swinging weight to load the wrist like a spring and unload.

I like the wrist curl, grabbing the disc on the side gives me a nice bit of extra spin. If I don't preload it a bit I tend to forget haha, then I'm scrambling at the end trying to add some spin because my hand started out of position.

I always felt with discraft you could flick more (but I haven't used discraft driver in 15+ years. With faster plastic or innova, anything more than 10-15 degrees wrist pivot makes release timing/control impossible(then again practicing that way could help). I think I get my spin from rotating at the elbow. Shrug. Keep watching videos and practicing. You'll find what works for you.