• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Disc count - putters vs drivers?!

ChrisinFL

Eagle Member
About 4 months playing, and my addiction is out of control. I have to try everything that sounds like it might be good. I have over 30 putters and over 30 drivers. Curious about count, but also how many putters vs how many drivers everybody owns?

This sounds like a trap... did Mrs. "TheCatsAreInCharge" ask you to ask this?

Joking aside, I've been using the same couple of putter molds for 10+ years (vibram ridge + discraft zone... recently picked up the RPM Tui), so I've compiled a stack of back ups. Luckily, I've been able to sell off or donate extra putters so my stack probably stays at or below 30 putters.

The driver (distance and fairway) stack is much larger. Don't know the number off the top of my head, but it is definitely >30. For a while, tournaments always seemed to be heavy on drivers in the player packs. I'm partial to fairway drivers, so 7-9 speed are probably where I have built the biggest stack in terms of different molds and total count.

Having lots of putters is great for putter only rounds. When I first started playing I had 0 putters and 1 driver Elite z avenger ss. Now 6 years later I have about 8 putters and bag about 2-4.

If you just count "my" discs which I have thrown or will potentiailly throw rather than event leftovers and sales stuff I probably have roughly 40 putters, a dozen or so overstable approach discs, 20 or so mids, and roughly 50 drivers.

There are around 25 putters in my practice basket in the yard. My bag generally contains 4 putters, 1 OS approach disc, 2-3 mids, 2-3 fairway drivers, and 5-6 drivers.