• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

help a newish lefty out..

jspector

Hi all,
I've been playing for a few years now but mostly just goofing around with friends. This summer I've decided to try and actually improve since I've moved and mostly play alone. I'm a lefty and basically everything I see online is oriented towards right handers. I guess all I have to do is revers the words left and right and it should all make sense but it can get confusing when learning all the slang and specific vocab people use to describe their shots. I currently throw a pretty old beat up Discraft Eclipse. I love it because no matter how I throw it, it always flies in a straight line. I'd like to move on to learning to throw shots that turn over to get me more distance so can anyone recommend a good disc for a beginner lefty?
One more thing that has me a bit confused is fade vs. turn of a disc. As I understand it the turn has to do with if it were thrown straight it would naturally follow a curved flight path, like a car turning on the road, where as fade has to do with the way the disc "dives" to the right at the end of my throw, is this correct? meaning that a disc with a lot of fade for a lefty will need to be thrown such that when it turns over it becomes level rather than diving to the ground...is this somewhat correct?
thanks...
I'm open to any suggestions about references and resources for LEFTY DG'ers

Lefty, righty, doesnt matter at all. Just have to reverse everything, like you said. Check out the technique sticky in the technique sub-forum. It's a fantastic collection of resources.

Now looka here son, the elcipse is a fairly decent beginner disc. May want to try a Cyclone or Comet.