• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

[Vibram] Over head, thumbed tomahawk?

Squirrilah Fish

Birdie Member
I've become a serious player and enthusiast over night. Played another 18 after work. (My second today) that makes 54 holes in 24 hours (almost exactly) I am SORE!

Anyway, I find myself doing a lot of overhand shots. (Even though I'm just starting out again, I have a wealth of knowledge of it from working at play it again).

I know overhead shots are hard on discs, so I was thinking Vibram. I know you want an overs table disc, but there isn't an Olace to my liking available (flick neither) :(

Would an Accent be a successful thumber (over stable fairway)

Thanks

Last edited:
If you're thumbing for max-d, a champ firebird is your best bet. I have a champ bird that has 3 years of service. It's beat, but still flies fairly true to FB flight. That being said, I carry 4 different FBs plus a xXx for OH duties. Unless your throwing into asphalt or rocks, the champ plastic should be good. I know you're asking for vibram - never thrown a vibram OH. Summit is my understable driving putter, and the unlace is my go to for BH drives.

That's good to know about the firebird. The Accent is very very similar spec wise.

Don't know what you mean by search. I searched for this and got nada.
But thanks for taking the time.

Been using a light ascent for awhile for thumbers the m rubber works well.

The Flick is the best disc for upside down shots. The Firebird can't compare. All the FB has is overstability. The Flick has a shape that gives it more lift (or less negative lift) upside down=more distance.

Nuke OS or something similarly warp speed and stupidly overstable also go forever. But the smaller rim on the Flick is nice.