• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Rebuilding CLard's throw

clard

Double Eagle Member
I started playing disc golf about 4 years ago. For the first year or two I played on and off, but never really committed to improving my game. The people I played with are great guys, but none of them had a particularly strong game so there wasn't really anyone for me to "look up to" in terms of skill. During college I only played the occasional round, and stopped playing altogether for a couple six month sessions.

Last year, 2013, I practiced pretty seriously at the beginning of the year, and started playing twice a week in the local league. This was when I officially caught the bug. I practiced every day. I played as often as possible. During league rounds I was consistently finishing in the top 3 (out of 10-20 depending on the day). I could throw farther than just about anyone else, but still wasn't getting huge distance.

I played in a handful of pdga C-tiers and got two 1st places and one 2nd place in advanced as well as one 2nd place finish in open (granted this was an extremely small tournament and I make no claim that I am an open quality player). 59116

This brings us to the present. I had a hand injury at the beginning of November (followed through into a tree :thmbdown:) which put me out of commission for a month, and now I'm completely healed. However, over the winter I lost about 20'-40' off of my previous max of 380-390. I can throw about 320-350 consistently, rhbh, with my Saints and 340-360 with my trespasses.