• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Snap Putting.....?!?please help

Golferguy88

I have been playing for 4 years now and I have been on the up hill climb of improvement. I now have found a wall. Drivers do not bother me and when i have a upshot to take most of the time i put it close. I have now discovered that my biggest problem is putting. I have tried to develop a pre shot routine, and that helps calm me up to the point of the putt it's self. I have tried lob putting turbo putting and basically just throwing it, as i would a mid range with my side to the basket. For the life of me i can not find the factor that makes people snap putt. 1 How is the Disc held. 2 Where dose the power come from. 3 How do you practice this. 4 What do i stay away from so that i do not develop bad habits. Thank you in advance for you input. :popcorn:

I am not quite sure what you mean by the term "snap putting", but maybe this video could assist you in your search for putting tips.

I'm still new at the game, so I'm not really giving advice, but when I do these things, I putt better than when I don't do these things:
I pick a target(just right of the pole) and I don't take my eye off it until the disc is in the basket.
I concentrate on a level release, to the point of turning my wrist a degree or two more just before release.
I concentrate on my hand pointing at the target after release, in the "handshake" position.
On longer putts, say 30' and out, I take a step back and put the disc on my left pec so I can step into the release. Holding it up high helps me to keep it level and stepping in helps me get more "power" on it. I actually made the putt in this pic.

Attachments

• disc golf 008.jpg
    disc golf 008.jpg
    147.1 KB · Views: 59