• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

ZAM makes Tee Signs

I hate tee signs that do this. The sign should not tell me what kind of shot to throw, the sign should be providing enough information for me to make that decision on my own.

As this is for basically a complete newb course, they could use a little more help and suggestions before they can get to the point where they could make their own paths.

Edit...do know what you mean, though. I rarely look at the paths.

Probably not too many kids going to be throwing the exact line they see on a sign.

Where/how do you get the info for placing trees? Also the suggested flight lines are often on signs.

From the customer, course designer, google satellite view, other source?

I'm curious.
I get sketches from the designer or club member or otherwise most knowledgeable disc golfer associated with the project. For many local courses I've mapped it myself -- fine example is Steeplechase in Kyle TX. I went out there blind, found some locals, played one round with them, and proceeded to play 4 more rounds until I had the place memorized. I took lots of photos, made myself a guide for where the tree clusters were, and the terrain and shot logic was from memory. I mapped all 36 at Circle R based on memory from hundreds of rounds.