• Discover new ways to elevate your game with the updated DGCourseReview app!
    It's entirely free and enhanced with features shaped by user feedback to ensure your best experience on the course. (App Store or Google Play)

Beaverton, OR

Greenway DGC

Permanent course
2.75(based on 38 reviews)
Filter course reviews

Filter reviews

Filter reviews

Greenway DGC reviews

Filter
0 1
creeddude98
Experience: 6 played 5 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Horrible Course. 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 21, 2021 Played the course:once

Pros:

Holes 1 through 4 are great.

Cons:

After hole 4, the course is dominated by flooding caused by the beavers. The City of Beaverton refuses to fix the problem. Losing discs in fanno creek is not fun, especially when its filled with horrible algae.

Other Thoughts:

Don't even bother playing this course. There are others around that are lightyears better than this course. Unless you just want to play the first 4 holes, the rest is not worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 1
disc_destroyer69
Experience: 15 played 14 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Decent Short Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 14, 2020 Played the course:once

Pros:

Fun shots, well-manicured fairways, convenient location, and a really pretty setting. It was a course worth your time but only once in a while.

Cons:

There were a lot of pedestrians throughout this course which didn't bother our playing too much but on some holes we had to wait a few minutes. This was also a pretty crowded course with probably 10 other groups playing while we were there. It was a bit challenging navigating from hole 4 to the tee at 5 because beavers made a damn and flooded out the trail. The tee signs were fine but on hole 6 I think the basket was moved and the sign was incorrect.

Other Thoughts:

Was a pleasant experience overall especially in the warm summer sun. There was a variety of different characters playing, families, serious players, and even some crackhead looking type people. On a lot of the holes, it's pretty easy to get your disc caught in the rough, so I would advise keeping your shots low. There wasn't a whole lot of long holes anyways.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
Nate32
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 11 years 75 played 60 reviews
2.00 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jan 9, 2019 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Greenway DGC is located in Beaverton Oregon and has a very decent typical short course. This course has some fun shots and a variety of shots.

This course is equipped with concrete tee pads and mach 5 baskets. There are no tee signs which might make it a little tricky to navigate your way through but a course map might be helpful.

This course is short and pretty fun although it has its challenges. Holes 1,2,3 are all pretty much the same distance wise but these holes are sometimes impossible to play when pedestrians are walking in and out of the park. Hole 1 is apparently the longest hole although it does not look like it. Course is well maintained in the summer but in the winter it is another story.

The first few holes are pretty good although it can get very crowded. All course amenities are pretty typical for a standard course. This course can be pretty fun in the summer on a nice day.

Cons:

Set aside from that this course is super wet in the winter. One time it flooded when I went and they closed off 3 of the holes. The flooding looked pretty bad.

Not to mention this course is almost impossible to find on your first go. Although it is right next to a busy street parking is a issue. Apparently this park is right next to a very popular hiking trail so you get the stream of bikers, pedestrians and everyone else. Sometimes work out groups come to stretch right in the middle of one of the holes.

Beavers made a dam right in the middle of the course when it was flooding so some of the holes were gone for 5 months. I would recommend going to this course on a pretty warm day but not to warm.

I think they should have placed this course somewhere else.

Other Thoughts:

I am really only going to play this course on a summer day.
Holes 1,2,3 should be placed somewhere else as they are impossible to play when people are constantly jogging through here.

This was the first course I ever played and probably not the one I should have chose.

Lots of small issues with this course can lead up to big problems. All the holes are pretty short and don't offer much of a challenge if you are looking for a long range course. It is also kind of likely you could loose a disc on some of the holes in the back.

There are huge thickets left and right on hole number 5. The pictures might make the course look nice but in general its not a very good unless you play it in the perfect season.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 0
DumfriesLizzie
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 5.8 years 113 played 102 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Good neighborhood course 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 31, 2019 Played the course:once

Pros:

For a beginner, it's a good course to play. Most of the holes are open. Bordering rough not so bad in most areas. Maybe longer throwers are the only ones in jeopardy of losing a disc in the creek or deep in the tall grasses. Park is better maintained than I had seen in videos and pictures. Very clean and well-attended to. While there is the walker/disc golfer conflict throughout, I appreciate having runners and walkers in the park with me. The better holes are nos. 7 and 8. You have to get through a close gap at no. 7 and throw into a grove of trees for no. 8. I like that nos. 1-3 (especially 3) allow you to warm up your drive with their openness. Pads and signage very good.

Cons:

The linear park does mean conflict with other park users. Most of the holes are straightforward throws without much challenge. If you have a consistent drive, you will be bored to death. But if you are a beginner, trying to establish your technique, this is a great course for you.

Other Thoughts:

There is a business park on one side (where you park your car and walk over a footbridge; yellow farmhouse is crowded by business park buildings) and a nice residential neighborhood on the other side. I like that the park folks respect the beavers and their dam building that causes the flooding between 4 and 5. I don't mind walking around, and the alcove field that is nos. 5 and 6 is a nice break from throwing around or over pedestrian trails. I brought one of my nieces who is now hooked on the game.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 0
DarkRye
Experience: 30 played 7 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Better than expected 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 28, 2019 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Better fairways than I expected with decent variety of shots. If you enjoy Lunchtime, definitely check out this park. Nothing wooded or elevated per se, but they did a good job incorporating what was already there.

Cons:

Weird shaped park (long and narrow), and you have to navigate around a flooded area to get to hole 5 from hole 4. But, there is both a trail and a concrete path that will get you around the swamp so it's not a big deal. Because of the park's shape, hole 9 is pretty far from hole 1. Unfortunately the tree on hole 2 fell down and was removed (gorgeous tree!). Kind of wish we could add a water gap hole over the flooded area.

Other Thoughts:

I avoided this course for a long time because of the lack in quality of courses of this type (city park courses in South Portland are known to be meh). But I'm very happy I checked it out. Sure, it's not the most technical or advanced but it definitely finds a way to provide me with what I want out of a course. Interesting obstacles/fairways, a good use of the space. Definitely one of my go-to's for a quick round closeby.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 0
Pierparknut
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 11.2 years 90 played 87 reviews
2.00 star(s)

2+ years

Reviewed: Updated: Played on:Jan 9, 2016 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

-Nice little course in a multi-use park. It plays along the Fanno Creek Greenway in Greenway Park.
-Great beginner course. Longest hole now is only about 350, and it is fairly open.
-Well maintained
-I suppose it is a good after-work round. Quick and easy with just enough trees to make it interesting. The holes are well designed. Holes 4 and 8 were my favorites. 4 is a short tunnel shot through a grove of willow trees. 8 is a longer turnover shot with trees near the basket.
-Nice playground if you have kids.

Cons:

-Really hard to find. You have to park at the Fanno Creek Farmhouse and walk along this trail to the first tee. The park is secluded among office buildings and stores and this is the only spot to park.
-Old hole 5 was flooded by the mighty beaver damming Fanno Creek. To get to the new hole 5 follow directions on the new map on file. It's quite a long walk, with no signage.
-Course routing is terrible. I suppose they just squeezed in holes where ever they could, since the park is so small, but you need the map to find your way on your first time. Hole 9 is really far from hole 1.
-A very popular pedestrian path winds through the entire course. This is the biggest con, by far. On almost all holes you have to wait for bicyclists and pedestrians. They have the right of way, which is frustrating but I guess that's what it has to be. Weekend rounds are especially terrible.
-Hole 2 is the worst hole ever. 150 ft to a deformed basket, wide open.
-Most of the holes have bush thickets just before the creek. You won't go in the creek, but you will have to poke through thorny bushes to find your disc.

Other Thoughts:

-If you're a local it may be a good practice course but definitely not on the weekends. Joggers and cyclists abound. You'll end up waiting so much, finding another course or a disc store is a better use of your time. Play It Again Sports is nearby and they have a great disc selection.
-Not a course I'd want to play again.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 1
hotchkii
Experience: 9.2 years 16 played 1 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Beginner friendly course needs a bit more attention to detail 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 24, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

-The holes that do have signs have nice ones. Distance to the basket, par information, maps and out of bounds.

-Fairly short holes, good for beginners and families.

-Grass and brush is well-maintained.

-Nice mix of open holes and strategically located trees to keep shots interesting.

-Located in a very pretty park with a long paved walking paths and play equipment for the kids. Bathrooms available.

Cons:

-Holes 5 and 6 do not have signs and are several minutes walk away from hole 4. Finding the basket for hole 5 isn't intuitive for first timers, and because there are no signs you'll end up wondering if you're in the right place.

-Some informational signs are placed at a 90 degree angle from the tee, which makes it difficult to use the given map because you have to rotate everything in your head.

-No water fountains in the park.

Other Thoughts:

My biggest beef with this park was the spotty signage after hole 4. Holes 5 and 6 have no signage, and the signage on holes 7-9 are also spotty. One the whole it is an enjoyable quick course.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 2
wispoman
Experience: 12.2 years 104 played 4 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Not worth going out of your way for 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 4, 2015 Played the course:once

Pros:

Easy, good beginner course. Convenient location (it was 5 minutes drive from my hotel)

Cons:

Flat, no variety of shots, a few trees but mostly open, many pedestrians. Tee 5 took me a while to find since map on file is incorrect because of flooding.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
volklaero
Experience: 10.1 years 10 played 9 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Good practice course for locals 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 3, 2015 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Park setting, well manicured and maintained grounds.

Several fun and pretty holes.

Great course for beginner/intermediate players.

Great course for date night

Hole 4 and hole 8 are my favorites. 4 plays just over 200' under a weeping willow tree. 8 is a longer throw into the most wooded green on the course.

New hole 6 is a nice addition to circumvent the flooding.

Cons:

So....FLOODING is a big issue. There have been fences put up that block the walking path, but disc golfers have made a trail that wraps behind the fence to go right to tee pad 5.

The flooding smells, takes a few minutes to walk past.

The 9th hole requires a walk back (about 5 minutes) to the parking lot / 1st tee. Not a huge deal, but annoying if you want to play 2 quick rounds.

Can get crowded.

PEDESTRIANS have the right of way, and they are often in the way. Walking paths go right through the entire course. It is mostly safe, but you do need to watch for bikes and path occupants.

Basket 2 has been vandalized and the cage is tilted. It also might be the worst DG hole in Portand - 150 feet maybe with a banged up basket...throw a putter, move on.

Other Thoughts:

This will never be a very highly rated course.

With that said, I have had many good rounds here with some beautiful sunsets. It is a good practice course, especially for mids/putters or beginner/intermediate players. Great for date nights like I said before, and last time out my wife and I saw many couples playing.

Can play nine holes in about 30-40 min when not crowded.

5 minutes from my house, this course makes it super easy to get a quick DG fix and let off some steam. I complain about some things, but I am very glad to have this course nearby.

Flooding Im sure will be an issue in the winter. In that case, I usually play holes 1-4 a few times as they stay the driest and are close to the parking lot.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 1
jnicola
Experience: 14 played 14 reviews
3.50 star(s)

Great for beginners/quick rounds 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 22, 2012 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

1- Very beginner friendly.
2- Easy to navigate layout
3- Enough variation to require a few different shots or thought consideration.
4- Few longer distance holes to disenhearten beginners.
5- Grass is typically well maintained.

Cons:

1- Get's swampy when the rainy season hits. Borderline unplayable.
2- Foot traffic is a bit of a concern, but It never bothered me anytime I went?
3- Some built up vegetation if you throw off the course into the thick.

Other Thoughts:

It's not award winning, but I've played some pretty bad courses before, and honestly this is pretty good for what it is. Not every course has to be an experts wet dream to be a great course. It's good for what it is, and if you're trying to use it for something it isn't and don't like it, you only have yourself to blame!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 0
Ace of Fades
Experience: 11.2 years 9 played 1 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Great Practice Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 20, 2014 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

-Depending on the time, fast play.
-Great place for warm-up/practice with new disks.
-Middle of bustling metropolis.
-Great use of space.
-Grocery store very close-by.
-Well manicured fairways.

Cons:

-Can be very busy during prime-time weekend hours.
-Floods due to wildlife. (Beavers making dam's in particular)
-Popular for foot traffic and family's at the work-out structures around hole 4.
-Extended walk from hole 9 back to hole 1 (If you intend playing more than 9 holes which i commonly do)
-Kind of short for advanced players.
-Gets VERY wet during winter months.
-Some of the baskets tilted.
-Not very challenging hole locations.

Other Thoughts:

Overall it's a great course if your warming up, or just want to practice some accuracy. Many of the holes are mid-range distance, with a couple worth shooting a solid drive. I personally like it because it's within biking distance. Waiting for pedestrian traffic can sometimes be a little irritating and i've nearly hit people i did not see coming. On hole one, don't miss high right, because the small forest will swallow your disks. There are plenty of trails through it, but if you catch some wind, it will be hard to find. I've also found on windy days in particular this course is difficult to play. It's fairly wide open so wind plays a HUGE role in your shots in 10+ mph wind. I do really enjoy having a course this close though, with easy location holes for practice when i purchase new disks. It's definitely not a course worth making a trip out to just to play, but if your within a 5-7 mile radius, definitely check it out. It can be fun with a small group of buddies, especially with all the ace opportunities!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 0
Rakoz
Experience: 20.2 years 33 played 8 reviews
1.50 star(s)

Only if you have to 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 12, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

- quick play...when not too crowded
- very beginner friendly
- as good of use of space as possible
- take the kids/sig other/parents
- flat easy terrain
-decent upkeep

Cons:

- multiuse to the point of inefficiency for disc golf
- short. Putters only needed for the most part
- straight.
- Geese. They make a mess
- Floods
- Not a lot to offer
- much better courses in the area

Other Thoughts:

Just ok. There are superior courses in the area. Ok for warm up or cool down. Just too much other stuff going on in the park to be a useful disc golf park.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 0
Dadio
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 39.9 years 174 played 75 reviews
3.00 star(s)

Good park 9 hole 2+ years

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 23, 2014 Played the course:once

Pros:

This was a nice example of how to put a fun course into a fairly narrow mixed use space. This course is in one of the many narrow parks along creeks in the West Portland metroplex. Well maintained park with a ton of walking trails. The course has good pads and baskets. Good use of trees to provide some difficulty on this flat course.

Cons:

Some of the signs have been vandalized and not replaced yet so I was glad we played with a local young teen. Could have found the holes but would have been hard around 6-8.
Flat and fairly open so an easier course, not all bad but not very challenging for experienced player. Fairways often cross walking paths so I would not want to play this course when busy. We were there early on a Monday and still had to wait a couple times for walkers.

Other Thoughts:

One of the best examples of this type of course I have played. Just hard enough to be interesting in a really nice setting. Worth hitting on way through if don't have time for bigger courses.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
1 1
3j0hn
Experience: 21.4 years 87 played 11 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Decent Neighborhood Park Course 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Nov 27, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Good Baskets
-Good tee pads
-Good signage, fairly easy to follow once you find the first hole.
-Well maintained park.

A good variety of holes and enough ways to get into trouble to keep it interesting.

Cons:

It is a long walk back from hole 9 to hole 1 - a big con for a 9 hole course where I usually want to play around twice (or more).

The moderately populate biking and walking path is a factor on most holes

Other Thoughts:

It would be really nice if this course could be turned into a loop, but it is a pretty efficient use of land as is.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
5 0
forehandfranz
Gold level trusted reviewer
Experience: 32.2 years 226 played 128 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Great for Newbies, Practice for Advanced 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 23, 2013 Played the course:once

Pros:

This is a beautiful little course that runs along a narrow strip in a wetland. A paved walking path runs on the edge of most fairways, which (in my opinion) should be marked as an OB to make it a bit more challenging. The fairways are immaculately mowed where the edge is trees and grass (which IS OB for the most part, to protect the wetland for wildlife). This makes these fairways a bit more honest, but not terribly difficult, unless you are a newbie who is just starting to develop their distance. Only a couple of holes are really long, so it is an enjoyable pitch and putt for anyone intermediate level and above. The beauty, combined with the fact that there is a mixture of a few trees (but just a few) make it a fun place for people to work on their mid game.

By the way, all the gear is in great condition - signs (which have distances and OB marked) tees and buckets (except #2?, which is bent a wee bit)

Cons:

The pathway that runs the length of the park is popular for walkers and joggers will test your patience at times. If a slow walker enters the picture, you will have to wait a minute till they clear. OR you will see them coming and hurry your shot before they come into the danger zone.

There is a long walkout after you finish the 9th hole, since the entire course follows a straight line.

Other Thoughts:

I would take beginners here without fail.

I went here to test some discs out without having to do it in an open field and was not disappointed. I also found it fun and met a couple of really nice people to enjoy the experience with.

By the way, follow the directions listed here with the white picket fence, but realize you are in an industrial park. Just park in that lot past the fence and then walk down the path, across the bridge and you are there!
Was this review helpful? Yes No
2 1
mrDROCK
Experience: 14.5 years 22 played 3 reviews
3.00 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jun 28, 2013 Played the course:5+ times

Pros:

Great for beginners. I enjoy taking my wife and father out here so they can enjoy the sport along with me.
Easy walking. Flat lands make for a decent walk, but not drained muscles hiking up and down hill.
Confidence booster. After playing bogey golf at Pier Park for months it is nice to play Greenway and fully understand that you really are making improvement.

Cons:

Walking paths are in play at times. There has been some change in the layout to prevent this, but you still have to be aware of your surroundings.
Flooded fairways in the winter months. Doesn't really dry out until March-April.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
3 1
mbressler13
Experience: 12.3 years 50 played 26 reviews
2.50 star(s)

Greenway Park 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 15, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

-Makes good use of land
-Variety of hole types
-Good for beginners
-Nice signs and Tee pads

Cons:

-There was a lot of people doing their daily walk at the time
-Very narrow at some points, with people walking their dogs as well

Other Thoughts:

I played this course in September on my way to the girlfriends sisters place. Stopped and played after work. Seems like the place to be for after work activities. Lots and lots of people. I am so afraid of hitting someone that I'll just wait till I am completely clear, which made for a long round. All in all, decent course. Would really like to play it again, without the crowds.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 4
asshamburgers
Experience: 2 played 2 reviews
1.00 star(s)

Generally Awful 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Sep 24, 2012 Played the course:2-4 times

Pros:

Tees and baskets are in good condition. Really nice environment, in a beautiful park.

Cons:

IT'S IN A STRAIGHT LINE! This is a huge flaw, because once you finish the course you have to walk back through the mile+ to get back to your car.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 3
huckit541
Experience: 25.2 years 61 played 7 reviews
2.00 star(s)

Blah blah blah 2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Aug 11, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

close to downtown

Cons:

small park, tons of other park users, requires a lot of patience for joggers, bikers, walkers......

Other Thoughts:

I guss this course would be ok if I played it for something to do at lunch. I would take my young kids here to learn the game.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
0 4
alozano
Experience: 8 played 3 reviews
0.50 star(s)

2+ years drive by

Reviewed: Played on:Jul 15, 2012 Played the course:once

Pros:

This might be a good course for a beginner learning how to play but cant throw very far.

Cons:

Theres alot of people walking between you and the goal. i took my friend there to learn to play and he hit 3 people walking by. thats also because hes not a great shot.
Was this review helpful? Yes No
Top