Pittsburgh, PA 
Schenley Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / 189ft.   3 / 249ft.   4 / 534ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Pro Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 50
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Old, but never forgotten.

2-4    9/29/2017   10/18/2017
Review By: Jmk5704
Played: 46  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's clean, great course for beginners, always full of players
Cons: The blue tees (longs) are none existent once in a while they will spray paint there tee box on the ground. The tee signs are old and in poor condition, holes 6-16 are the same shot just right down the middle.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Keeping A Pittsburgh Icon Updated And Relevant!

1    7/19/2017   7/20/2017
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1167  Reviewed: 1115  Exp: 39.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/31/2017
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Like Jack Benny, Schenley Disc Golf Course is 39. The question is, How do you keep a 39 year old course fresh and modern? Courses built in 1988 tend to be old, faded and outdated by now. Back in 88, the top players were maybe throwing 325'. I think Schenley has managed to age very gracefully. She's had some cosmetic surgery to alter her appearance, new baskets, new signage and the new blue tees.

Schenley Park is a massive city park. I discovered something new and exciting. Using google maps on my new phone, I can enter Schenley Park Disc Golf Course and it will lead me right to the first tee! You younger, more tech savvy guys probably knew that. No more driving around some huge park looking for the course. The area around the first tee is sweet with it's view of downtown. Very impressive! Take time to sit on one of the benches and take it all in.

There is a kiosk with course map and benches for enjoying the view. There are two sets of concrete tees and nice colored maps with the next tee arrowI. The baskets are DGA models with the greatest, most easy to read numbers ever. The numbers are orange on black and show up well from distances. They are inserted on what used to be the old school fiberglass tee signs. There is one of these easy to read numbers on the back of each tee sign. They saved me a few steps many times. Thank you for those numbers.

I played from the white tees. I say they probably play at a solid recreational level. However, I am a shaky recreational player so the Whites were a perfect challenging level for me. The shorter Reds looked to be beginner easy. I only had time to play from the whites.

The long Blues added a lot of distance, like on # 15, the white tees play 213' on this little uphill throw while the Blue tees make it a whopping 537'. So, do the Blues play at an Intermediate level or Championship level? Either way, having three distinct and different pads should keep players coming back time and time again.

The holes in the wooded area offer players Ace run after Ace run. Playing from the Whites, few of these were really easy but every one was Aceable.
Cons: Wow, my Cons are probably pretty petty. I believe the course can get busy. Not really a con but a compliment. Others have talked about it being slippery after a rain. I could believe that. As far as complaining about it being too difficult or too easy, if you can't pick a level of difficulty on this course, then I don't know what we can do to help you?

Might be a problem with a couple of the earlier holes that play near the street.

Also could be an issue on # 8 and # 12 where you are throwing over a park service road. I had to wait here for a park vehicle to pass.
Other Thoughts: Trivia question? What city has three professional sports team that all wear the same color combination? Obviously, the answer is Pittsburgh with it's famous yellow and black. My question then is why did the course designers install wonderful 8" orange/black numbers on the baskets? Why not go with the yellow and black? Just curious?

One more question? Hole 18? Did course redesigners consider having this hole play all the way around the hockey rink? Making it a true par 5? I don't know but that could be a 700' hole from the Blue tees. Just another idea?

I think Schenley is aging gracefully. I really liked playing her and would love to come back and try my luck on the Reds and the Blues.

And on another note, the Pirates ballpark, PNC field, is awesome with it's views of the downtown skyline. And while you're in Pittsburgh, have a heart clogging, Pittsburgh icon, a Primanti Brothers sandwich, gobs of meat served with cold slaw, cheese, french fries, tomato, bacon and an egg, all heaped between two thick slices of white bread. I thought my wife was going to puke!




6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Solid course for beginners

1    10/18/2016   10/20/2016
Review By: Jcmb
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice park with multiple pins and tees. well maintained and fairly easy to navigate once you get started.
Cons: Has very short holes. Was hard to find inside the park. Not very challenging but good for a beginner.
Other Thoughts: This was the first course I was able to card a negative score on.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    6/29/2015   7/5/2015
Review By: Jags
Played: 29  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/30/2015
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice short course with lots of ace opportunities. Beautiful views of Pittsburgh from tee #1. Worth stopping if in the area.
Cons: Being close to the city the park can get rather busy. Just watch out where your throwing your discs. Can be muddy on some holes if it rained recently. Some people don't have the patience to wait for you to move before throwing their discs. I had discs land @ my feet right next to my young children. I understand it can get crowded but have some courtesy for other people who are having to wait for people in front of them too.
Other Thoughts: I rather enjoyed this short little course. Going to have to make this a stop when I'm in the city.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/2/2015   6/2/2015
Review By: oneCarney
Played: 36  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Nice Lay out in the park.
-I really like wooded holes.
-Nice Short lines with a few Ace run opportunities
-Concrete tees.
Cons: -Park itself can get really crowded at times.
Other Thoughts: Great view of the City Skyline by Hole 1.
I have Aced 16 and Just today chained out from the Red Tee on Hole 2.

If you park by Hole 10 and play the back 9 first, you finish right where you park.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Course

1    5/26/2015   5/26/2015
Review By: benwilly
Played: 28  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1. 3 tee offs at each hole providing different difficulties.
2. Directions to the next tee at most holes.
3. Large concrete slabs at the start of each tee.
4. Good variety of distances throughout the holes.
5. Course was easy to find once you enter the park.
Cons: 1. Most holes are straight shots not many left or right curve holes.
2. Some heavily treed holes making it difficult for new players
3. Could get pretty muddy after a rainy day
Other Thoughts: Overall a good course

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/7/2013   10/2/2013
Review By: Jabumbo
Played: 49  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 19.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love this park and its location, so it quickly became one of my most played courses once I got wheels. Most of the holes are in the woods and so it makes for some interesting shots. A great place to bring a beginner. It is short enough that a single player can finish inside of an hour.
Cons: The park tends to be crowded and people management can be a concern. It's also very tightly placed so you need to beware of the other players around you (my eyebrow will never be the same). The holes are almost all short enough that a candy arm like myself can have a chance to birdie every hole.
Other Thoughts: This is the only course that I have played under par and have an ace on so it has some sentimental value with that. The central location is great and I love swinging through on a whim to play a quick round after work and still getting home early enough to make dinner!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not Just a Pitch and Putt

2-4    6/21/2013   8/27/2013
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 146  Reviewed: 126  Exp: 5.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Located in a huge, well-maintained park right outside of Oakland, only a few miles from downtown. The park has pretty much everything you could ask for with bike trails, walking trails, ball golf course (including an indoor golf virtual simulator of famous courses), tennis courts, playgrounds, soccer fields, skating rink, a pool and more. This is definitely a park you can bring your whole family to and everyone can find something they enjoy doing
-Bathrooms, water fountains, parking, garbage cans, and course map located near holes 1 and 18
- This is one of the best parks I've played as far as little chance to lose discs. Virtually impossible here, allowing for a more enjoyable round
-Great view of downtown Pittsburgh
-3 tees (red, white, and blue) and 3 pin locations, giving the course a great variety. White and blue have very nice long concrete tees and the baskets are Mach 3.
-Variety with open (1-6,18) and wooded (7-17) holes. Good mix of straight, hyzer, and anhyzer shots
-Good course to take a beginner to. Advanced and serious players may get bored with this course, but I feel an intermediate level/average player would enjoy it as well
-Multiple benches located throughout the course
-A lot of things to do in the city after your round
Cons: -Schenley Park is often highly populated throughout the day, which can make finding a parking space difficult and sometimes can slow down your round with multiple groups out playing at a time. Also, holes 1-5 play on a huge field where many non-golfers like to sprawl out, causing conflict. Holes 2-6, 12, and 18 play close to a road
-Finding the next tee can be confusing in the woods, as some the holes are very close together. This also can create problems with discs landing in opposite fairways. My first time playing, I threw at the wrong basket once or twice because it was hard to tell which basket belonged to which tee.
-Only a few holes really stood out to me in any way
-There can be awful traffic returning to the highways in the evenings
Other Thoughts: A lot of people refer to this course as a pitch and putt - I would agree with them as far as a few holes playing from the red tees. However, 7/18 holes are over 300 feet from the blue tees, none being under 200 feet, and only 2 holes are under 200 feet from the white tees. Also, the shortest wooded holes play through some tight lines, so it's not just an easy layup to the basket from the tee. I do have mixed feelings about this course, as there are some definite cons to playing here, but I still find it to be an enjoyable round. My point being that there aren't too many holes that are definite ace runs or throw-aways. To me, the wooded holes are still technical enough to make them fun, even if some of them are fairly short. The course only plays about 45 minutes for one person to play, so it is quick enough to get 2 rounds in.
The holes I especially enjoyed were:
2- A chance to really bomb your disc while getting a great view and often times fighting the wind on your shots
15- A long par 4 hole starting in the open then playing through the woods to an elevated basket
17- Plays along a tight path uphill to a tight pin location
18- Tee is on a hill and plays across the road to another hill

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Course in the city

5+    9/11/2012   9/11/2012
Review By: hogwild428
Played: 141  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 18.6 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very nice signs and tee pads. Easy to navigate from hole to hole. Well planned course, could easily find next tees even if the signs weren't there.
Cons: After the first 6 holes it gets very heavily wooded. The first couple of holes play on a hill where there might be a lot of non golfers milling around. They are usually out of the way, but it could cause trouble on a nice day.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Another Great Pittsburgh Course

5+    8/10/2010   9/10/2012
Review By: timbur3
Played: 88  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 10.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The baskets, signs, and tee pads are great. There is a bunch of elevation change that went into the course. It is easy to navigate. The overall park is really nice. The course uses the woods well and the surroundings well.
Cons: Some shots you might hit people if the course is crowded. Some of the holes criss cross so you might walk into a fairway of another hole.
Other Thoughts: If you keep walking up the road past the ice rink from #1, there is a small buildling with rest rooms, water fountains, and a pop machine.

If you are not from Pittsburgh, I would not recommend going out of your way to play this course. Knob Hill is another par 3 course, but it's on steroids compared to this one. Deer Lakes, Moraine, and 2MRX are all superior, modern courses. But if you happen to be in Pittsburgh, or you live in the region...this one is definitely worth checking out.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.